Bourjois • Volumizer Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(49 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 skwerlie on 4/16/2012 4:50:00 AM more reviews by skwerlie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I primarily use the first step of this mascara- it's become my daily mascara and the first step alone gives a nice defined but not too dramatic look, which is nice for work. I find that I can layer several coats using the first step setting and the mascara does not get clumpy. The brush also separates lashes well and gives them a fair amount of length and volume. The second step is a little harder to work with- it loads a lot of mascara onto the brush and definitely can leave some big clumps unless you either scrape most of the mascara off the brush or comb through after application (though even then it can be a bit clumpy as the wider opening just puts SO MUCH mascara on the brush). If you work carefully and are willing to take more time it can create a very dramatic lash look! I wouldn't at all recommend using the second step on the lower lashes though- only the first. This mascara doesn't smudge or flake on me, and I find that it holds a curl pretty well while still leaving the lashes on the softer side (especially when just using step one, though even step two doesn't give that crispy feel that some mascaras do). The tube can feel a little flimsy at times, like when you are selecting/changing steps, but I suppose that's part of the nature of a convertible product like this. The colour is pretty dark, though not the blackest I've come across. Overall a good mascara for me, though I do feel that step two leaves something to be desired.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twinky13 on 3/22/2012 4:51:00 AM more reviews by twinky13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have read a review about bourjois replacing her Chanel mascara and one day I was lucky enough to shop with bare lashes n came across the bourjois counter. I was thinking,'just have a try.' I was very surprised that this in fact can replace my old discontinued Korean mascara!!! If not, this is even better! Have been searching high n low for my replacement after my fav Korean is gone. Have tried Chanel inimitable, dior n loreal 4d(it's very dry and crumpy). I think the bourjois is very rich in formula in step 2 wand and it really volumises til you decide it's enough. So happy that the search is over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sharonnn on 2/4/2012 12:04:00 PM more reviews by sharonnn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Step 1 for me is a good look for someone who wants a very natural look. I use it when i want to look like my lashes are naturally long and separated eg. at school, at work etc
Step 2 for me, i find the brush is too clumpy and even though i take the effort to try to get the clumps off the brush, sometimes they can cling my eyelashes together so it looks like i have very spidery lashes which is not a look i like.
However if you have the time and patience to use eyelash combs to remove the clumps afterwards, this mascara does what it says and volumizes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Marisglady on 1/24/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Marisglady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Did NOT like this. As other reviewers have said, step 1 does absolutely nothing for me. Step 2 is like applying mascara with a spatula! So much product. I've tried taking off the excess, but still the lashes look clumpy and wet. Also, it leaves lashes feeling really hard, and it is really difficult to remove, and when I do, because it is so hard, it feels like I'm breaking every lash! Lastly, I started to notice that depending on how the light hits my lashes, they look grey, or lighter than they should, and came to the conclusion that the finish of it is slightly shiny, with causes it to not look as dark ....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mayafree on 1/5/2012 12:49:00 PM more reviews by mayafree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

it's a normal mascara it's not wow

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tring010 on 12/21/2011 1:05:00 PM more reviews by tring010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My favourite mascara is the Maybelline Falsies however as that dries up ridiculously quick I needed something that would last a little longer. The first step does little at all besides separate my lashes slightly. I could actually do without this step and feel it is a little unnecessary. The second step however is amazing. It is very clumpy and thick so I wouldn't recommend this for shorter lashes however mine are quite long so I feel I can work with a more clumpy product. I sweep this over my lashes several times to create a very dramatic almost false lash effect. This mascara makes my eyelashes look fab and I have had several comments asking whether I am wearing fake lashes. I must say however that this cost me around 10 from Boots which I feel is absolutely too much for a high street brand!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 erikakakaka on 12/17/2011 5:27:00 AM more reviews by erikakakaka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I had high hopes for this mascara after hearing some rave reviews but unfortunately, it didn't live up to the hype for me. I found that although I like the effect of using 'step 1' for separating my lashes and giving them a first coat, 'step 2' deposits FAR too much product on the brush and ends up instantly clumping my lashes even though this product claims to be non clumping!! I like a fair bit of volume on my long lashes so I find 'step 1' to be not enough and have been using a different mascara altogether for the second coat as I really hate 'step 2'...wanted to love it but will definitely not repurchase. However, I have since purchased Bourjois 'Elastic' mascara which I LOVE and have written a review on...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pjoopi on 12/8/2011 10:31:00 AM more reviews by pjoopi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the WORST mascara I have ever used! The texture of this product is really unusual and dries REALLY fast. And when I say dry... I mean dry. Your lashes will not move at all but not in a good way. They feel like tiny sticks and after applying a generous amount of this mascara I ended up looking like I had about 3 lashes all in all. Adding several coats with this mascara is out of the question as it only makes the end result worse. I guess the "first step" isnt as bad as the second but this mascara is horrible. It was a complete waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eve8 on 12/7/2011 4:01:00 PM more reviews by Eve8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for a mascara to replace "They're real" of Benefit, which I was quite satisfied of before realizing that it dried out after only two month.
I read several good reviews about Volumizer so decided to go for it.
The first step doesn't do much for me, it slightly gives lenght.
The second step may be quite messy if you don't have a lash comb, or an old mascara wand to comb the huge amount of mascara!
So it's a bit complicated and takes some time to get used to but it's really worth it, my lashes are full of volume, and the mascara stays on all day, it doens't dry, nor smudge.
Update 28/12/11: I added a lippy in the overall rating. Honestly, I don't think I'm going to bother and try to find another mascara ever again. This one is just perfect! I've been using it for a few weeks now and each and every morning I'm just amazed at how long, full and perfectly defined my lashes are. A few people even asked me if I was wearing lash extensions!
I've been really disapointed by high end mascaras, such as Lancome Hypnose Doll eyes, but now I know I can get an amazing result for half the price. I don't really mind if a put loads of product on the second step, I just have to "comb" my lashes with an old wand and it's just perfect.
I LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 11/30/2011 5:03:00 PM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If u have short lashes I wud not recommend this. The first step does separate n define the lashes well but it does not add a lot of volume. The second step deposits quite a lot more product, on short lashes, like my lower one, it smudges n smears like crazy. On medium lashes like my upper one, it pumps up the volume really nicely, but I do have to use a comb to further separate the lashes. If u got super long lashes, I can imagine the second step to get really clumpy for u. However, u can wipe some of the product off on a tissue before applying, n get good results from it. Of cos that means some product is wasted. But I really don't think the wastage would be very high with the tissue blotting, so in general I do think that this is a very good mascara for adding volume to lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Mascara products