Chanel Chance Eau Tendre

4.3

171 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Alcohol, parfum (fragrance), aqua (water), alpha-isomethyl ionone, linalool, citronellol, butylphenyl methylpropional, hydroxycitronellal, hexyl cinnamal, limonene, feraniol, benzyl benzoate, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane, ethylhexyl salicytate, ci 15985 (yellow 6), ci 17200 (red 33), ci 60730 (violet 2)


on 5/7/2014 11:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is the very first expensive perfume I ever bought for myself. After reading good reviews about it in Marie Claire magazine I decided to give it a try. I bought it at Isetan and damn pricey, very pricey, like most Chanel perfumes. Eventhough the bottle wasn't fancy at all, it was a pleasant perfume though, didn't turn sour on my skin, it remained citrusy and flowery.

I don't wear it often, but when I do, I find it has nice long lasting staying power, heavy sillage after effect and when used sparingly, receives lots of compliments. I love the fact that it gives me that clean, fresh inoffensive smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This feels very gauzy, ethereal, and feminine. Like something a delicate water nymph would wear. A soft, floral powdery musk that is reminiscent of water lilies; very soft, very pretty, and, unfortunately, quite forgettable. Staying power is minimal, and the powdery floral got on my nerves a little bit. Maybe it was TOO ladylike or Stepford Wife-ish? I imagine this is what the rich PTA yoga soccer moms would wear on their date nights. Not that there's anything wrong with that, it's just not for me.


on 4/26/2014 8:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I fell in love with this while looking for a gift for a friend at Qatar Duty free. Perfumes usually make me feel sick or bored after a while and it's been a long time since I've been drawn to any. I found myself sniffing the card the salesperson sprayed some on for me to test, I decided to try a sample off eBay to see if I could stand having it on me all day. I have to say this is one of the most pleasant perfumes I've smelled in a long time. It's sweet but not sickly or cloying and it's very non-offensive in my opinion. I can't tell you layers or anything as I'm not well versed in these matters but I can safely say I really, really like this perfume!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2014 3:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Would you all believe that I didn't care for this when I first smelled it? I thought it was very "meh." I work at a perfume counter, and would show this to anybody who came up to me for help. I wasn't fond of it, but I knew it was the top seller. And sure enough, most of the people to whom I showed it bought a bottle. So I was smelling it pretty regularly, and finally one day I realized that I REALLY liked it. Strange that it had to grow on me.
To me, the quince and grapefruit predominate, even after drydown. Very light and ethereal. It brings to mind being in a large, cool freshwater body at sunrise on a comfortably warm morning. Makes me want to drink water, lol, how odd is that?
This will be a regular for me, even if it is expensive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2014 4:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my signature fragrance, ever since I smelt it while I was in Paris. I was purchasing a Chanel lipstick just as a keep sake (you know, buying chanel while in paris felt like something i'd always remember) and the sales lady gave me a spritz of this and a sample size to take home. I was hooked ever since. The bottles I purchase are the travel twist up ones, where you in one package you get three refill jars of the fragrance and the twist up holder itself. These retail for $80 CAD I believe, but with my Shopper's employee discount it brings it down to about $54CAD which is awesome since one of these lasts me about a year. It is quite similar to the mark jacobs daisy, but slightly less floral. I accidentally bought the eau fraiche one time and returned it immediately, it wasnt even close to how lovely this one is! I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2014 1:38:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

While Christmas shopping in 2012, I was walking through Belk's perfume dept and caught a whiff that spun me around and made me backtrack. Whoa, something smelled *so* lovely -- I had to find out where that beautiful light whiff had come from. Not merely pretty -- it had a subtle sensuality about it also. Mmmm!

There was a tester of Chanel Chance Eau Tendre (= French for "soft", I believe) sitting on the counter on a stand -- that was it! I sprayed some on, then went to Books A Million -- and the young female cashier who checked out my coffee told me that I smelled soooo good -- so I volunteered the name of the perfume to her, since I could tell she was dying to know but was too polite to ask.

I have seen Chance Eau Tendre on Sephora's best-sellers shelf in third place (behind Flowerbomb and Viva La Juicy) -- and for awhile now, Eau Tendre has been the only version of Chance that our Belk's now sells. Eau Tendre must sell very well -- maybe even better than the original Chance or Eau Fraiche versions? I don't know, I've never heard any statistics -- but it seems to be quite popular.

Eau Tendre launched in 2010, and according to parfumo.net, its notes are:

Top Notes: Grapefruit, Quince (a fruit between apple & pear)
Heart Notes: Hyacinth, Jasmine
Base Notes: Amber, Iris, Musk, Cedarwood

This smells nothing like the original Chance, it's a completely different scent. To me, it's a very sheer fruity-floral -- delicate and breezy -- ethereal -- very feminine -- and it smells like its color -- which is a delicate pink.

It's airy, dewy, fresh, watery, and smells almost melony, in a way (ie, delicately fruity -- might that be the quince note?). It makes me think of a ballerina. Or a blush -- a shy blush. Vaguely takes me back to the 70's, but I don' t know which scent from back then it reminds me of.

In spite of being light, sheer, & wispy -- and an EDT strength -- it's actually quite strong and tenacious. I don't know how Chanel managed that, but they did. Be careful, it can be oversprayed -- and it lasts very well.. In my humble opinion, this fragrance would work on women of any age -- any season, any occasion. It's just a very pretty, light, inoffensive fragrance -- and it's sensual too.

ADDENDUM 6/18/15: I was gifted Marc Jacobs Daisy "Eau So Fresh" for Mother's Day, and I'm wearing it now -- and to me, Eau So Fresh smells similar to Chance Eau Tendre, but it's brighter. Bond No. 9 Madison Square Park (pink bottle) smells similar to Eau Tendre also IMHO, but the Bond is also brighter -- and stronger (all Bonds last like crazy).

All three scents are in the same basic wheelhouse, to my nose, but IMHO Eau Tendre is the smoothest, softest, most cohesive, most sensual, and the nicest. For me, it's a very calming, soothing, soft, dainty fragrance. Good anytime, but I'm finding I enjoy it most in warm/hot summer weather.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am on my second bottle of this. It's such a great any time scent. I've worn this in all seasons and it's perfect for when I want something light but still present. It definitely has an effervescent quality to it, as others have described. I find the lasting power to actually be pretty good! I notice it lingers more in my hair/clothing than on my skin. But it does last. It just gives a great clean, almost soapy smell with a hint of light musk. Any sharpness at the initial spray fades very quickly. I don't see how this could offend anyone unless you went way overboard. I don't reach for this as much as I did at first, but it's still in fairly heavy rotation for me. I would buy bottle #3 if I ran out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2014 8:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this perfume! It's my signature scent! I normally switch perfumes with the seasons but I wear this all year round. Every time I wear it I get a ton of compliments (especially from men). Such a sexy scent! Remember: A little goes a long way! Don't drench yourself in it or you'll have a headache!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2014 9:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This isn't my signature scent (love Vera Wang classic), but I really love this. I get compliments every time I wear this. It smells a bit soapy and is a bit unusual to me, but I really enjoy the scent and it lasts all day.


on 1/3/2014 9:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't won this one yet, but the couple times I tested it, I really loved it. It's not even really my normal fruity, or vanilla, but I really like it. I buy lots of perfumes on ebay, but there are so many fakes of this one, that it looks like I'll be heading to the big name store and paying top dollar. In this case, because I like this one so much, it's probably worth it. I just hope it has decent silage and longevity for full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top