Sally Hansen • Natural Beauty Inspired by Carmindy Your Skin Foundation [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 4.2(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 ensayles on 5/23/2011 12:14:00 PM more reviews by ensayles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I put that I would buy this product again since I was pleased with the coverage, consistency and ease of use. That being said, I'm actually returning my tube simply because I cannot make the shade work. There are very few shades to choose from, and since I'm light-skinned and tend to show orange if there is any at all in a foundation I chose porcelain. Even with powder, though, I can't seem to make it work. And I refuse to buy 2 foundations and mix the shade every time I want to use it...if the foundation was $3 for a bottle maybe it would be worth the effort, but for $12 a bottle I can't be bothered.

I did find that this foundation offered a variety of coverage, though. I noticed that if I spread it right after putting it on, the coverage was light and the foundation spread thinly. I prefer a little thicker coverage, however, so I would put some on my face and let it sit just a few seconds and then spread it. I actually did 2 layers on my face and did not get a cakey appearance. I even wore it outside all day in the heat and it faired pretty well. I didn't use the pump, however...I unscrewed the lid and pulled it up just a bit so I could tap my finger against the tubing and used it that way. I was pleased with how easily this worked.

Perhaps in a year or so they'll expand their color selection and I"ll give this foundation another go. If you can find your shade, it's worth giving it a run!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Zaries on 5/13/2011 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Zaries

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was able to buy two for the price of one, I got the two lightest shades and even after mixing the two, I wasnt able to match my yellow undertones. This is very moisturizing, but it never seemed to dry, instead it always looked wet on my skin, even when I stayed home with the AC on. Adding powder to it made it look cakey. So this is probably not the best makeup for fairly oily skin in humid, summer weather, hence why I didn't like it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsomevinyl on 4/9/2011 9:37:00 PM more reviews by playsomevinyl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so excited about discovering this foundation, thanks for MUA! My current holy grail is Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk. However, I wanted to find something cheaper to alternate with Luminous Silk since it is so expensive. I am so happy to say that I like this just as much! This is one of the best foundations I have ever tried. It performs better than most high end foundations and I've tried them all!

I have dry, flakey skin but you would never know with this on. The texture is creamy, but looks and feels extremely light on the face, yet covers magnificiently. I just look like I have great, radiant skin with this on, not great makeup. It also lasts all day on me without oxidizing or fading. I still can't believe I found a holy grail foundation for only $12 at CVS! I am a high end makeup junkie and never thought I'd be able to find something like this at the drugstore. This is a hidden jewel that I hope they never discontinue.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dsbbhome on 3/22/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by dsbbhome

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't think I'd ever wear liquid foundation again! I have been using Everyday Minerals for the last few years, and had sworn off liquid foundations until I found this! Liquid foundations are usually too dark for my skin...or too pink....or too peach etc. I am not even the lightest shade in this range. I wear the Ecru Beige and LOVE it. I dot it on all over and then use a flocked sponge to apply. I get great coverage without the heavy cakey feel and even with a bad cystic acne breakout did not need to use concealer over.

The pressed powder is also awesome and really lays a good foundation for other makeup to layer over top (eyeshadow, blush etc.).

I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 psychobunny8 on 3/14/2011 9:31:00 PM more reviews by psychobunny8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great everyday foundation! I was on a hunt for something light weight with good coverage since I didn't want to feel like I was wearing a mask all day. I was tired of the heavy Revlon Colorstay and I'll probably go back to it for parties or special occasions. The color selection is awesome though you have to find the right place that carries more of the Sally Hansen Carmindy products. I wear Tawny Beige and it matches me pretty well. It is a little difficult to blend with a sponge so I'm gonna try it with my fingers tomorrow morning. The coverage is good with some of my dark spots still showing but thats what concealer is for (still looming for a good one). I love that I can barely feel it on my face!! Best drugstore foundation I've found and the packaging is awesome!! Pumps all the way!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rwaheb on 3/3/2011 4:38:00 PM more reviews by rwaheb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. Its not my HG drugstore (that goes to my Revlon colorstay) but its my second favorite. This is my favorite everyday foundation.

Right off the bat, the first pro is the packaging. Thank you drugstore foundation that is smart enough for having a pump. The bottle is cute and frosted. Some may not like that because it gives a false sense of color for the foundation.
Next, the foundation comes out not to thick and not to watery...perfect consistency. I was thrown off when i first saw it because of its was slightly gray hue, however its one of those foundations that perfectly matches your skin when rubbed in (i guess its the whole "your skin" idea). I don't know if its because it slightly oxidizes or if it just looks better blended in, but hey it works amazingly. Another positive is the coverage. I have hyperpigmentation from previous acne and a breakout every now and then; but just one pump covers my whole face beautifully. I also think its very blendable. I'm a sponge or flat top brush kind of girl but this foundation actually just looks great blended in with my fingers.
Very mild for those acne-prone people out there. I'm acne prone too but this has never broken me out.
I really recommend this to people that want a nice natural foundation that has medium to full coverage, from a drugstore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jmb217 on 2/21/2011 6:48:00 PM more reviews by jmb217

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am a green eyed blonde with fair skin. The foundation is 75% off at CVS. I bought porcelain and ecru beige. They both work, but the ecru beige is a little better. It's very neutral...almost has a little green it it which neutralizes the redness in my cheeks. If you're super fair, the porcelain would be great. I apply this to moisturized and primed (Laura Mercier hydrating primer) skin with the sephora brand foundation brush (not the taklon,but the bristle brush). I've been told my skin looks perfect. I really love it. I will say that it's not very moisturizing on me, but it goes on beautifully and evens out my skin tone very well without looking heavy or masky. I've been wearing it for two weeks and have not had any reaction and I have sensitve skin. I like it so much, I went and bought one to put away in case it's being discontinued.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Avg_Jane on 2/14/2011 8:08:00 PM more reviews by Avg_Jane

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is one of the best kept secrets at the drugstore. The quality of this foundation is stellar. Darn near HG status (and I've tried just about everything). I'm an NC-27, BB #3 Beige, Revlon Colorstay Medium Beige. The color Creamy Beige is right on. The finish is natural and light. Plus, the container has a decent pump. The makeup is very similar to Revlon's Colorstay (normal to dry skin), but not nearly as heavy. Yet, this covers sunspots and minor acne scars beautifully. Plus, it has decent staying power. My local CVS had some darker shades for 75% off which worries me. I hope this isn't going to be discontinued!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 VickieT13 on 2/9/2011 5:24:00 AM more reviews by VickieT13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sad that there aren't many reviews for this foundation. I'm NC40 and find the color Tawny Beige matches perfectly! I went to Sephora today to get MUFE foundation match bc I'm a bit lighter in the winter. The MUA went ahead and started applying MUFE without taking off the foundation I was wearing. She was shocked when I told her I have foundation on my face, she thought I just have good skin. YES this foundation looks VERY natural and I get compliments all the time whenever I have it on! If you could find your color match, you will definitely love it! CVS is having a 75%off sale so I got 3 bottles as backup for $3.37 each!!!!!!!! Coverage is medium to full, depends on your liking. I only use a pea size for an everyday look. It's a great alternative if you don't want to waste expensive more high end foundations like I do.
LOVE LOVE LOVE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WantClearSkin on 2/7/2011 4:51:00 PM more reviews by WantClearSkin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product was around $12. I got awesome coverage and compliments on how my skin looked. By the end of the day, I was a bit oily. I finally got my skin clear and then started using this and unfortunately, it made me break out all around my nose and chin in a week. I will still wear it every once in a while when I need fuller coverage other than my everyday tinted moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Liquid products