Physicians Formula • Mineral Wear 100% Mineral Facebrightener • Pressed Powders

rated 4.2(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jeii on 6/19/2009 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Jeii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was browsing through a local drug store yesterday and came upon this product (PF Talc free 100% mineral wear facebrightener). I was a lil' curious as to what this pressed powder REALLY does. I decided to go ahead and purchase it and gave it a go ! It's very light and sheen. It has a very subtle glow to it. Not too much shimmer. Two things that caught my ATTN was the fact that it's translucent and it contains silica. Which it's PERFECT ! It's great to wear alone, & gives your skin a colorless subtle glow. The silica contained in the product worked great as it didn't decrease the shine 100% ( but no matter how low or high end the product is I will always have a subtle shine) but I did notice less oil build up and shine. I also saw that in the morning it did make me skin look brighter and healthier. Over all I think it's a wonderful product. $13-15 was worth the price. THOUGHT : This product (FOR ME) kinda works as the MAC blot pressed powder because of the non-color results and the silica provided which helps control my shine. I liked the MAC BPP but thought it was a little heavy on my face as oppose to the Physicians Formula product which gives me the same results but less heavy, makes your skin look "awake" in the morning, and adds a low- key glow. Hope PF doesn't discontinue this product !

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BolshoiBallerina on 6/10/2009 5:28:00 PM more reviews by BolshoiBallerina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most heinous packaging I've ever seen. The compact is a fat oval shape and the lid is this strange bubble thing, which makes it difficult to store. The bottom of the compact swings open to reveal another compartment where a small (and completely useless) brush is stored. With that being said, I love this product. I am NC20 with combination dry acne-prone skin and the facebrightener has not irritated or broken out my skin. I don't think it actually does anything in terms of controlling oil, but what it does do is give you a gorgeous glowy finish to your skin. It's VERY subtle. When I first bought the product, I was a bit disappointed because I was expecting a more obvious sheen. For those of you who are used to more shimmery highlighters, this may not be for you. I bought this in translucent and it just barely shows on my skin. I have to work to pile it on my cheekbones if I want actual shimmer. I usually just use a big fluffy powder brush and apply it all over my face for a subtle glow. Darker girls may want to go with another shade...translucent may not show up at all on you. My only complaint (and this goes for almost all of Physicians Formula products) is the price. I balked a little paying so much for a drugstore product but I gave it a chance due to the positive reviews on MUA and the 40% sale at Zellers. In Canada, the original price of this is around $22 (ridiculous!). I'm not sure if I would purchase it again at that price, but if I found it again at 40% I would.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RitaPerfect on 5/11/2009 12:35:00 AM more reviews by RitaPerfect

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I had to return this product, which I don't usually do. I guess the reason is because it just wasn't what I was looking for. I wanted a sheer pressed powder to put over my foundation and I saw that this one was on sale. My friend had been telling me about how MAC Mineral Skinfinish Natural gave her face a beautiful glow, so when I read that this product "brightens" the skin, I thought maybe I had found a cheaper alternative. I bought this is the medium shade and instantly hated the brush provided. Instead, I used a round pressed powder sponge. I honestly don't really know what this product is supposed to do. It is too sheer to give any coverage. And if you layer too much, your whole face becomes sooo sparkly! I noticed this when I walked into the sun. I didn't get the glowy look or a nice highlight that I had expected. I just got a ton of little sparkles sitting on my face. For coverage, I would rather use a pressed powder. For highlighting, I would use an actual highlighter! (I've heard that Wet n WIld's "Acapulco Glow" Bronzzer is an amazing drugstore find) Lastly, the packaging is terrible. There is a huge space for the brush, which leaves very little room for the powder. Don't be fooled by the thick compact. The powder itself is very little. I also hated the hinge because it made this thing very hard to open and use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 5/9/2009 10:14:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with the previous reviewers when they say that this is pretty much foolproof and subtly gorgeous. I can actually apply this all over my face and just look glowy and radiant - not glittery, not even shimmery. I have this is Light Glow as it was all they had and looks just fine on my skintone. They have a few other shades, like Translucent (which I really wanted but I'll get it next time). It just really adds a beautiful light - nothing too obvious or OTT. Doesn't cause breakouts nor does it get cakey. You really cannot go wrong with this one and I highly recommend this to anyone who is afraid of trying or don't like the shimmer/glitter of highlighters. This really isn't one however it does add amazing, healthy glow. I would definitely purchase this one again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misscolette on 5/9/2009 6:51:00 PM more reviews by misscolette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, the brush is not worth your time. But besides that the product is awesome! I bought this at Wally's for about $10 ($11 without $1 off coupon in the Sunday paper) and I think it was worth every penny. The packaging is unique, but a bit on the bulky side as another MUA member commented earlier.

The shimmer is VERY subtle. I love that- it is difficult to put on too much of this product. This is great for Spring and Summer. I like adding on even more shimmer with my other highlighters on my cheekbone to make the look even more ethereal. You wont end up looking greasy or too shimmery with this product. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 safin1 on 4/24/2009 2:47:00 AM more reviews by safin1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this powder this week. I like it because it gives a glow. It is a face brightener. I haven't tried a face brightener before. I like how it has gems in it. I can see some sparkles. It doesn't give much coverage since it is not a foundation. I like PF.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 4/10/2009 1:20:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I already love PF and this is no exception. I use the Translucent (Citrine?) one because I didn't want any color, and was initially drawn to it during my continual search for something to mimic the effect of MAC Lightscapade, and this is the closest I've come so far. It's not a blot powder, or any kind of oil-controlling or touchup powder, nor does it have any coverage to speak of. It's a highlighter/brightener type thing just like it says, something you'd use for a soft-focus glow. I could care less about the 'mineral' properties, but the talc-free part is great because it's not as dry or flat looking as most talc-based powders are. I apply it with a fluffy brush or 187 over foundation and it looks amazing as well as sets my makeup without looking dry, cakey, flakey, flat or matte. I notice a slight sheen but no overt sparkles or glitter, and it's not shiny so I can wear it during the day without blinding anyone or looking like I'm about to hit the club any minute. The brush they give you is useless so don't bother, but I like the compact itself. The silver gives a nicer touch to the normally fugly PF packaging. Mine even had a "Try Me Free" sticker on it so I could have sent in the UPC and register receipt for a refund but honestly, I like it so much I didn't bother getting my money back and I will repurchase this if they continue to make it.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lanpho on 3/23/2009 12:55:00 AM more reviews by lanpho

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful packaging. Love gem sparkles in compact! Never used a face brightener before. Very light and natural. Slight shimmer. Love to look at it so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 piyopiyo127 on 3/21/2009 8:44:00 PM more reviews by piyopiyo127

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

keep in mind this is NOT a pressed powder compact so the coverage is very minimal (not that PF ever does anyway, it's always been a very "light" natural brand). i use it as a highlight so my face is not ridiculously matte like i have caked on powder. it works great (not too shimmery at all, just great for summer) to give ur skin that natural looking radiance.

the compact looks much nicer than their other compact packages too. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jandi on 3/7/2009 4:35:00 PM more reviews by jandi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in translucent glow. It is a light beige powder, with specks of white, gold and lilac-pink. It is free of talc and parabens, and includes a blend of "precious mineral gems" like Pink, Orange and White Sapphire, Green Tourmaline and Citrine. I am not sure how beneficious for the skin is to have those precious gems, but this glow is GORGEOUS. It gives the skin a little bit of glow, without being shimmery or sparkly, it is very subtle and natural looking. It is also goof proof, and it is nearly impossible to end up looking like a disco ball.

The packaging is beautiful as well, although a little on the bulky side.

I'll probably go back to fetch a few more shades of this gem.

Edit: Just wanted to add that the glow from this powder is very, very, very subtle. If you've found any other highlighters/glows to be too shimmery, this one should be perfect. If you are used to higher shimmer, it might be a disappointment.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Pressed Powders products