Chanel Lift Lumiere Fluid

4.0

84 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (water). Cyclopentasiloxane. Titanium dioxide. Ethylhexl Methoxcinnamate. Dimethicone. PEG-10 Dimethicone. Glycerin. Phenyl Trimethicone. Butylene Glycol. Boron Nitride. Polymethylsilsequioxane. Pro-Pylene Glycol. Sodium Chloride. Talc. Stearic Acid. Phenoxyethanol. Alumina. Camellia Kissi Seed Oil. C30-45 Alkyl Cetearyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer. Methylparaben. Aluminium hydroxide. Disteardimonium Hectorite. Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate. Tocopheryl Acetate. Psium Sativum. (Pea) Extract. Propylparaben. VP/Dimethiconylacrylate/Polycarbamyl/Polyglycolester. Alcohol. Sodium Citrate. Sodium Hyaluronate. Silica. Potassium Sorbet. Chlorphenesin. BHT. Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract. Ethylparaben. Tocopherol. Denatonium Benzoate. [+/- (may contain) CI 77007 (Ultramarines). CI 77491, CI 77942, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides). CI 77891 (Titanium Oxide). Mica]


on 1/6/2013 12:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation after my frustration with Perfection Lumiere. I was matched to 20 Clair intensity 1.5 (I'm not sure what the numbers for intensity mean but from what I had gathered, any intensity ending with a Zero has pink undertones and those ending with a 5 has yellow undertones). My face is usually flushed so this was superb at taking out any redness from my cheeks (making me an even NC20 with the rest of my neck and upper chest area).


This foundation has a thin, runny consistency. Despite this, it covers very well and evenly too. I still need a little concealer with undereye circles though, especially on days where I can pass off as a panda. The finish is not matte or shimmery. Just a little luminous. I apply it with my fingers and buff it with a sigma kabuki brush like F82 to get it out of my pores or it would settle there (i can't see it with a normal mirror but I do see the settling when I use a magnifying mirrior). It lasts through most of the the day on me, even without a primer.

I can't tell if it has any lifting benefits or not. The only"liftng" part I can see is the illusion of the skin being brightened. I think this is a good foundation but I am not wowed by it. I have tried cheaper foundations that can do the same job or better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/3/2013 1:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i like my lift lumiere if im going for a non full coverage look. i would say is medium coverage. it iluminates my oive skin and it stays matte if i apply my dream matte maybelline powder after it. this foundation does not matches well with silicone primers so dont go there! is best used with a bb cream or just a good moisturizer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2012 7:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am in a love-hate Battle with this foundation right now! When I first apply it, it looks terrible...patchy, uneven, yellow...BUT about 15 minutes later it sinks into my skin beautifully and the finish is quite nice. Even my husband commented on how pretty it looked, which is what made me hang on to it because he never notices things like the finish of my foundation. I've found that finger application is working best for me so far...I tried my trusty MAC 187 brush and for the first time, it was a no go. I haven't tried a beauty blender yet, as I need to grab a new one in a bad way. I'm partially to blame for the application frustration I think...I've gotten so used to the sheerness of most of the recent "raved about" foundations, I have become rather rusty at applying a full/medium coverage fluid. The shade range is not great here in the USA (but we have a better rage than the French release of this formula thankfully!). I'm usually the lightest shade in most formulations/brands, but the 14 Ivoire in Lift Lumiere made me look sick and sallow. The shades then jump up to 20 Claire here in the States, and although it was a better match, it was the tiniest bit too deep so it's taken some tweaking with powder to get it right. I really wish we had the shades between 14 and 20 available to us like the lucky folks in Sweden! Anyway, Lift Lumiere is a keeper for now...it is a bit heavier than Vitalumiere Aqua liquid and compact, but that's to be expected with a full/medium coverage product. It's not so heavy that I'd be deterred from wearing it. As I said before...if you apply it and hate it, wait about 15-20 minutes before you throw in the towel because it totally transforms as it dries and settles onto the face. I wait that long before applying any powder/blush/concealer, and it makes a big difference. Will I repurchase? Probably....I'm still on the fence with that decision and will update when I'm sure :) Happy Holidays to everyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2012 3:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I was so excited by the finish of this product when I tested it that I bought it despite there not being a shade that works for me at all. This line begins at what would normally be classified as a 2.0/20 by normal standards and is very, very yellow-toned (or orange, depending). I'm going to give it to a friend so that she can benefit from my mistake, because it really is a stunning product otherwise. I have dry skin that can look a bit lifeless and this gives a very soft glow while almost totally concealing all but the most over the top blemishes. If you're lucky enough to have a match in the line (which also has no colors I would classify as actually being dark... it's all just shades of light-to-medium beigeness!), then I would recommend it.
UPDATE: I didn't end up giving this to my friend (selfish me!) but I discovered that when applied with a damp foundation brush, the color match becomes more passable without messing with the finish of the foundation. I just dot on a little extra in patches where I have spots; the yellowness/darkness actually helps camouflage them a bit better than my actual concealer, I think.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2012 5:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love it. Goes on super smooth. Not as matte as perfection lumiere but good coverage. Really perfect for my combo skin than tends to dry out except for tzone. Smells wonderful too. Moderate coverage

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2012 9:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I'm in two minds about this foundation. I got given a sample to try along with every other chanel foundation (awesome SA). I prefer a lighter coverage foundation that breaths with my skin and isn't too high maintenance. But I gave this a try with an open mind.

Pros: Smells great (actually all of Chanel's foundations smell great) not overpowering. The texture is really lovely and smooth and it goes on nicely. I used a wet sponge to apply this and applied it very lightly as I'm aware that this foundation is a medium to heavy coverage. It sat really nicely on my skin and absorbed well and after a couple of hours there was NO SHINE. Amazing considering that every other foundation will shine considering I have oily skin.

Cons: It's a heavier foundation so if you want ligh you need to apply it sparingly.

I MAY purchase this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2012 11:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A great product !
I have Lift Lumiere No 66 Tawny Beige.
If Vitalumiere Aqua is too 'fluid ' and watery and Vitalumiere is too sticky or oily for your skin type , then try Lift Lumiere.
Good ,even, medium coverage and gives your skin a healthy glow with anti ageing properties in the product for an extra * bang* . Very natural looking.

Lift Lumiere is also easier to apply than the Vita Lumiere solid compact foundation which drags your skin as you apply with the round sponge .


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Before using this, I was using Koh Gen Do (the moisture foundation in the squeezable tube). I was gifted the Chanel, and I love it. It has SPF 15 in it - always a perk, and a dewy (but not overly dewy) finish on me. I've used it with the Smashbox primer, the Laura Mercier Radiance primer, the NARS primer, and a Sunday Riley primer. I'm a big fan of using primers, it just makes the foundation lasts longer and sets better.

With Lift Lumiere, you have to let it set for a minute or so. When I first put it on (with my fingers) it didn't seem like it blended well in my skin. I wait for a minute, and then put on my bronzer/blush/highlighter, and my face looked flawless.

I did have to touch up one time throughout the day, but I'm very picky about how my face looks. My mom uses this Chanel too, and she doesn't find the need to touch up.

No breakouts or skin reactions for me with this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great foundation, but it just wasn't for me. Please keep in mind that the Lift Lumiere shades are different from other Chanel foundations. The SA told me the shades were the same across Chanel foundations but they are not. I used a 20 Clair (Intensity 1.0) in Mat Lumiere, which was a great match for my skin (I am NW20, btw). The 20 Clair in Lift Lumiere was darker upon application and also oxidized after a couple hours of wear, which only made the shade darker and more orange. The next lightest shade was too light and pink-toned, so this foundation did not have a good color match for my skin. Lift Lumiere has a very dewy finish and provides medium coverage that can be built up to full coverage. I had to set this foundation with powder to bring down the shine a bit because sometimes it looked wet as opposed to a nice dewy glow. I was very satisfied with the wear time of Lift Lumiere. It is one of the only foundations that lasted all day on my skin without melting off my forehead and nose around the 8-10 hour mark. Lift Lumiere also photographed beautifully. I liked that the bottle had a pump, but I was not impressed with the plastic bottle. It felt cheap, and it seemed like a bit of a ripoff given the Mat Lumiere foundation was $10 cheaper and it would come in a lovely frosted glass bottle that added to the luxury experience of using the foundation. I would not repurchase this foundation as it is not right for my skin type: I have oily skin, but it gets drier in the winter so the SA recommended this. This foundation is not oil-free, so it clogged my pores despite diligent removal. This, combined with the lack of a good color match and the price of the foundation (over $65 CAD after taxes - the most I have ever spent on a foundation), make me very unlikely to repurchase this foundation. However, Lift Lumiere would probably be great for someone with drier skin that likes foundation with a dewy finish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2012 3:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is currently my HG foundation and I am on my third bottle right now. My mom's also on her second bottle. This possibly fits pretty much any kind of skin type because I have oily but dry and sensitive skin (with disgusting pores and some lines around my eyes) and my mom has typically dry and aging skin.

This foundation is absolutely great with a matte-luminous finish. It is 2nd skin-like and has medium-full buildable coverage. The key here is to stipple it on if you have dry or problematic skin (with your fingers or a wet sponge), or if you have great skin I guess you could just sweep it on with your fingers.

It kind of looks slightly make-upish at first, but after 5 min or so, it sinks more into your skin creating a nice flawless finish that lasts for around 6 hours (without setting it with a powder; more if you set it I guess, I don't).

The only gripe I have with this is that my skin becomes oily after 6 hours, and I typically look like a greaseball at the end of it. But the product never purported oil-control capabilities anyway, so that's not a fault per se.

Personally, I'd get it again really.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top