Essie Mademoiselle

4.3

386 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl Acetate, Butyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, propyl acetate, Tosylamide/Formaldehyde Resin, Isopropyl Alcohol, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Tripheneyl Phosphate, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Ethyl Tosylamide, Steralkonium Bentonite, Styrene/Acrylate Copolymer, Diacetone Alcohol, Camphor, Polyvinyl Butyral, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Benzophenone 1, Citric Acid, Dimethicone, Silica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain: CI 47005:1 (D&C Yellow #10), CI 47000 (D&C Yellow #11), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica CAS 12001-26-2, CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), Polyethylene Terephthalate, CI 15850:1 (Red 7 Lake), CI 15850 (Red 6 Lake), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 15880 (Red 34 Lake), CI 77491 (Red Iron), CI 77499 (Black Iron), CI 77510 (Ferric Ammonium Ferrocycyanide), CI 75170 (Guanine), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 60725 (Violet 2), CI 17200 (Red 33), CI 77000 (Aluminum Powder), CI 73360 (Red 30), CI 26100 (Red 17), CI 42053 (Green 3), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Green), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77266 (Black 2), CI 45380 (D&C Red 21), CI 45410 (D&C Red 28), Polyester-3 (D&C Colorant)


on 10/22/2013 7:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have every color nail polish under the sun, I'm a bit of a nail polish freak and out of all the ones I own this has always been my top favorite is one of the few polishes that I've finished! I've gone through about 4-5 bottles of this stuff.

PROS
-very nautral and classy looking. i wore this on my wedding day and I received so many compliments. it's perfect for a DIY french manicure but also looks gorgeous on it's own!
-it's nude but no too nude. some nude polishes dont look like you have anything on your nails, this one has just the right amount of color. it's not too sheer or too opaque. it's perfect.
-you can build up the polish to your desired opaqueness, you can layer it all day long and it won't get stringy or sticky on you.
-beautiful baby pink. not too bright, not too light. just perfect.
-i can go about 5-6 days without noticing any chipping or peeling.
-dries pretty fast. i usually do 2 coats and it takes about 3-5 mins for them to dry.
-doesnt have a really strong smell. some nail polishes make me wanna pass out but this one isnt bad at all.
-easy to find. i got mine at walgreens. you can find the best essie collections at target though. atleast where i live. however im sure youre bound to find this shade in almost any drugstore cause it's their most popular one. no wonder!

CONS
-it is quite expensive. 8 dollars, sometimes 7 depending on where you go. for me that's pretty pricey for a nail polish. but would i say it's worth every penny? DEFINITELY.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 10/8/2013 3:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

At last I have found my own perfect Holy Grail of sheer pinks. I've been searching for ages trying to find a sheer pink for French or American manicures or just for a subtle, ultra-subdued polished look that was "natural nails only better", and here it is. I don't even know how many sheer pinks I've tried at this point. Some were too milky, some were too white, some were too sheer, some were too opaque, some were too pink, some were too peachy... on and on. THIS polish is perfect for my skintone and the colour of my natural nailbeds. Finally!

So, the actual polish is a very sheer, very slightly milky pink, with what appears to be a very slight lavender undertone, which is probably why it looks good with my pale, cool-toned complexion (frankly, I don't believe this is going to be good for "all" skintones, any more than any other polish would or could be). I can wear two coats of this without feeling it's too milky or too opaque, and it provides just enough gloss and colour to disguise little flaws in the nail and nailbed, without hiding the nail. So it is the perfect "natural but better" that I was searching for. It's just too perfect, at least for me. :)

So, ladies with cool, fair skin, if you're looking for a sheer pink, please give this a try. After years of trying one sheer pink after another (many of which I've now given away), I'm delighted with this. We could say I'm tickled sheer pink, I suppose. ;)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2013 1:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Mademoiselle is a lovely, barely there pink with a gel-like finish and fool proof application. It has quickly become my go-to nude polish because I can wear it literally anywhere- out, at work, etc. It is very classy and gives you an elegant, polished look. It lasts a good amount of time since it is sheer and chips are barely noticeable. I can go a few days without chipping- I use a base coat and quick-dry top coat but imagine it's just fine on its own. I have several Essie polishes-I only purchase shades I know I will wear regularly because of the steep price (around $8). Mademoiselle is one of those shades. I love Essie nudes (I have Ballet Slippers and Adore-A-Ball as well), and reach for Mademoiselle often because it is so versatile and simple. If you're looking for something that's basically a cross between a clear and nude polish, you can't go wrong with Mademoiselle. It's noticeable enough to look nice and elegant, but translucent and gel-like, so you can wear it out literally everywhere. Will repurchase for sure.


on 8/16/2013 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this for a French mani base and am very happy with the results. Sort of a "YNBB" beigey creamy sheer pink. My coworkers today have been asking if I got my nails done. "Naw, y'all, I did this all by myself!" I paid $8 for the bottle and am happy to pay more for an Essie than a cheaper quality polish. The polish self-levels and dries really fast with no dents (the bane of my existence). I would definitely buy again. Recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this polish on my nails. I was first introduced to it while at the nail salon through one of the manicurists. I go through phases where I like having matching fingers and toes, and then I'd rather have a brighter color on my toes and clear polish on my nails and on one particular day rather I felt the need to have the latter, the manicurist asked if I had tried the color before, saying that it was a popular shade and looked very natural. I've been hooked ever since. It's like a barely-there glossy pink color and I find that it makes my nails look clean and elegant. Definitely my whole grail.


on 5/31/2013 2:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this polish. My nails are a wreck right now so I cut them all really short and was looking for something that would be a sheer wash of color to give a finished look but not call too much attention to my nails while I wait for them to grow back out a little. I saw this shade and decided to give it a try. It is very sheer so I understand why some will not like it. It is almost like you have no color on your nails at all, just a very sheer, very pretty glow. I have been using it with OPI Nail Envy at a base and top coat and I am really loving the look. I agree with some of the other reviewers, this will be a very pretty French manicure shade. I love the look of this color and plan on always having a bottle around for when I want a pretty "no polish" look.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Its pretty just not what i wanted. I've been looking for a pretty pinky peach opaque nail polish. something that looks natural but visible, sadly this is not it. this is a sheer nail polish, great if you want a french manicure but not if you want color. however the polish for what it is, is beautiful. nice and glossy unlike some other brands that leave a dull look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I do understand why some don't like this polish, it isn't for everyone!
I bought this knowing what the polish looked like beforehand (swatches)!
Since this polish is so lightly colored, and is more of a really light pink, i use this for a french manicure, it is perfect for a natural looking french mani, especially if you want the light pink tint! I either use it for the french mani or when i am not really wanting to paint my nails and want a natural look i go for this! Definitely recommend if you want something like i listed above, or maybe for something else, but i don't think everyone will like this, obviously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2013 10:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Goes on without streaking. I was really surprised at the quality of this nail polish. It complimented my deep complexion well. I'm giving myself a American manicure with Eddie's Allure on my tips and it looks fantastic.


on 4/13/2013 4:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this nail polish and it looked really pretty in the bottle but when I tried it on my nails it was rreeaallyy clear. I thought it was to expensive because the it took 4/5 coats to get the colour it looked like in the bottle. Not impressed




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

49 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top