Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 - Illuminating • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(166 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 12/10/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: I'm about halfway through the tube and I'm finding myself more dissatisfied with this product's short wear life especially in warmer weather. Still, it's proving very versatile. I've been wearing it as a sunscreen/primer, stippling over it with Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation, and sprinkling Too Faced Primed and Poreless Loose Powder. The effect is gorgeous, very beautiful polished skin but remarkably natural. In the office, a co-worker stared at me and finally asked, "Are you wearing makeup?" This application wears longer and is more easily maintained than the TM by itself.


Original Review:
FYI: I am a Latina woman with very fair olive skin, combination type (dry forehead, oily nose & chin, normal cheeks) in early maturity (minor facial lines, redness). Shade refs: LM Creme Silk in Cream Ivory, Bobbi Brown in Warm Ivory, Revlon Colorstay in Buff


I wear this product in Bare Radiance. It's a shade too deep for me, but it gives me an attractive, fair bronzed look, more "healthy" than "sun-kissed." I love LM products and am rarely disappointed in them. This product is unusually good and works pretty well for me.


It applies like a creamy lotion and the luminous finish gives surprising coverage. I reach for this product when I don't want to bother with concealer, just smooth on with fingers over oil-free primer, pat gently under eyes, and set with matte, oil-free powder. A light neutral lip gloss and I'm done. No other makeup. It gives me a healthy, radiant look and yes, it camouflages dark circles and red discoloration pretty well. Not invisible, but definitely minimized and less obvious.


If you are used to matte or ultra-matte looks, the dewy "glow" might overwhelm you. It doesn't look "fake" or "Twilight-ish" to me, and I apply this TM all over my face. That said, it's not matte or satin. It is luminous and that's what it looks like. I suggest sampling it and wearing a few times before deciding on whether it's the right look for you.


I dislike a few things about it. I think it would be better in a pump bottle or pump tube so consumers could control the application. In excessive heat (natural or artificial) it "separates" on my skin and looks patchy. The wear is decent for TM. I get about 5-6 hours good wear out of it, by lunch time I need to blot and brush on a little powder foundation to extend wear through the workday. Without the touch-up it deteriorates to greasy shine territory. If I were ten years younger -- with very oily skin -- I could never have tolerated this product.


I'm not sure how well this product photographs. It's pretty dewy, so I can't imagine it looking good in photos. Probably not the best choice for wearing to weddings or at events where one is likely to be photographed or filmed.


Also, as much as I like it, I don't believe it's worth $43. I cringe at paying so much for this, especially due to the poor wear time. But I don't think there's another comparable product on the market so I'll definitely purchase again.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 immortalkeanu on 10/22/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by immortalkeanu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was very hesitant to buy this product at first mostly because I do not need very much coverage and also because of the price. However, I'm very pleased that I did get it after all! I have extremely dry, pale skin and so I find most products just make my complexion look dull. But this product applied over top of my Benefit moisturizer gives me a beautiful, dewey glow that I have never been able to get before! Will definitely buy this product again

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 8/29/2012 8:36:00 AM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I am all for the dewy, glowy look. This product delivers none of that. The finish is also different from the regular Laura Mercier TM (the latter is better, more hydrated-looking).
.
In the store lighting, the "shimmer" seemed relatively finely milled and not at all OTT. Yes, i could see it, but it wasn't so blatant. On my face? Ew. I bought it to mix into foundation--omg. This is gross. The shimmer is more like glitter specks, not as large as say, NARS multiples, of course, but definitely there, not subtle--visible from a talking distance.
.
Yes, I mixed it a dollop into foundation as Sephora SA and reviews here advised--the end result was the same as Revlon Photoready--the Cullen-esque sparkle in it was similar, except Laura Mercier's TM gives a bit larger sized sparkle than PR!! On its own, it looks really looked bad, my face looks better with nothing on. It's a disgrace to pay so much for a product and find that it's so utterly not worth it VERY mediocre product, the price and brand name makes you believe it's better than it is. I even get better results mixing High Beam into foundation! I tried this several times--even just being indoors, near an open window, the sparkle is rather obvious and not in a good way. Will be returning this, thank God I have the option. I WANTED to like this--i have never before returned anything to Sephora, especially as I'm quite timid, i usually find a way to make the products work. This will be an unprecedented act driven by utter disgust.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kdids520 on 8/6/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by Kdids520

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my go to product for when I want to look pulled together without looking made up. My skin is normally very clear with some redness around my nose and on my chin. I spot conceal and then just use my fingers to apply this. It looks amazing. Will definitely be repurchasing this

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lulu4 on 7/26/2012 8:13:00 PM more reviews by lulu4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

is not to be applied all over the face. Manufacturers would like us to think otherwise. It is to illuminate cheek bones and your strong features. This is not to cover up anything. It is to highlight your own beauty. The illumination looks classy and lasts over 2 hours. I'm sorry about the SPF20 in it. A thin layer of foundation with sunscreen is never enough to provide protection from the sun, but it is well enough to irritate the hell out of any skin types. I recommend this product, because there is nothing else in the market to compete with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bflournoy on 7/17/2012 10:33:00 PM more reviews by bflournoy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually surprised how much I liked this product. I picked up the golden bronze shade on a whim at Sephora after I exchanged another product. I think this is a great sheer coverage tinted moisturizer with a pow! I have been using it for a few days, applying to my face with my hands and then dusting a little MAC skin finish natural over top and it gives my skin the perfect lit from within summer glow. This product doesn't seem ideal if you have problematic skin, as the coverage is very sheer. I will say I don't think this is a need to have product though, just a nice to have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 p030jle on 6/23/2012 1:11:00 PM more reviews by p030jle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used this product since it was introduced 4 years ago. I have dry/combination acne prone skin and have never had a problem with breakout due to this product.
I use this in conjunction with the original Laura Mercier primer and the universal setting powder.

My skin always looks even and dewy when I leave the house. I would definitly buy this product again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ambereyes on 6/18/2012 7:51:00 AM more reviews by ambereyes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I truly hated this and sold mine on eBay!

I have ordinary skin: a little dry on the cheeks and a little pimply on the chin but not oily. I wanted to love this product but it made me look SO sweaty and greasy.

Even if I only used a little and blended it with my fingers I looked like a teenage oil slick.Once I went out with a tiny dab on my forehead and nose and I couldn't wait to get home again and wash my face. Pure shine, no fun.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 5/14/2012 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm very happy with this. I am realizing I have to use some type of coverage and need spf, this gives both. I typically wear her loose mineral powder fndtn in rich vanilla, and picked this up in warm radiance. A tad lighter but works and covers up my ruddiness perfectly. Yes it is shimmery, but in an illuminating way, not a MAC or NARS Orgasm kind of way. Blend with another product if you prefer to tone it down. I really prefer it alone, for a special night out. I've worn it during the daylight hours and no comments re: the illuminating factor. I think it's lovely, really. My fiance has an eagles eye for shimmer or anything unnatural looking and this got the thumbs up from him. Coverage is sheer and you may have to layer. I am okay at picking out shades online, and am happy I tried it out in the store first to get the right match. I highly recommend doing so to confirm if it's too much illumination for you as well as for a match. The shimmer seems to lighten the shades a tad and that may or may not work for you. I don't use this all over. I concentrate it in all the areas they recommend for "brightening"--around nasolabial folds, orbital bone, brows, cupids bow, cheek bones, between brows. I may or may not use on nose, depends on how dressed up I'm going, but if I use all over, I'll use a bit of a powder in some areas to tone down.



I was raised a no-base-makeup girl, no one in my family wore base make up, it was considered a waste of money and bad for your skin. LM has changed all that for me. She really has the market cornered on base coverage. If you want perfect skin (or atleast the illusion of) go for LM. Price-wise, there are far more expensive products on the market that do no deliver. Her line consistently does. Worth every penny.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 5/1/2012 2:31:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have nude, a very skin-natural toned light caramel-beige shade especially nice on neutral to warm skin. However is so intensely shimmery that it glitters like a crazy diamond in direct sunlight. I doubt anyone would actually want to use this all over their face in the daylight which is when you usually need an SPF product! If you are considering this I'd recommend treating it like a bronzing tint to mix in a little shot of "glow" into your regular tinted moisturiser, foundation or sunblock. Or use as a cheekbones and brow highlighter. Its very pretty used this way. It melds more naturally into skin than most powder highlighters as the particles are very fine. At my age I prefer to gleam & sheen rather than glitter, haha. A tiny bit on the backs of hands covers age spots nicely and makes hands look tanned too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products