Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 - Illuminating • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.7(171 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lady_vanilla on 4/29/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by lady_vanilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This gotta be my favorite formula for Laura Mercier TM. I have dry skin so it is rather on the dull at times. There is a glow-y and pearly-finish with this formula. I applied this all over my face after the hydrating primer and it didn't look like a disco ball.

Another use would be to add this formula to another foundation or tinted moisturizer or just use it as a highlighter.

I don't think this would be a bad purchase either way cause you can still find a way to use it. It will last longer if you use it as a highlighter and in a long run, it saves money.

Compared to Stila's, I prefer this formula. Stila's has more shimmers to their illuminating tinted moisturizer and it's as moisturizing.

I applied this over LM Hydrating primer and still no issue with the glow. A definite repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zhoo on 4/26/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by zhoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy moly sparkles! I was expecting something 'wet looking', like a high end version of Etude's Pure Nymph Aura but this is just plain shiny and oily, suffocating my already oily skin. Returned it promptly. Not for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Madimayt on 4/16/2013 3:03:00 AM more reviews by Madimayt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love love love this product!
However, I could totally see how not everyone will love this. It is shimmery...do I think it's unwearable? Absolutely not, but I think it's a matter of preference.
It's a tiny bit shiny on the tzone for me, but if you powder it's no big deal.
I have very dry skin, and this didn't highlight that.
This is probably my favorite Tinted Moisturizer I've ever tried, it's a little pricey at around $45, but totally worth it in my opinion, to have natural looking glowing beautiful skin!
I would absolutely recommend this product, it's totally worth dropping by your local counter and getting a free sample!
By the way, I applied this with a brush, not my fingers, and I really think that this formula does better with a brush, not your fingers.
:)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 3/20/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for months and growing to like it more and more. I prefer this to the tinted primer which i only tested in the store because the tinted moisturizer is more luminious. I only use this on the dry areas of my face (combination skin), my cheek areas. Sometimes i mix it with something not luminious to mute it alittle. I love the glow it gives me. When i first got this, i made the mistake of applying it all over my face, and my T zone looked disgustingly greasy. Do not use this on oily areas.

I live in a humid climate and this did not give me any problems and stayed on well throughout the day. I am NC25-30 and the shade bare radiance match perfectly.

I could hardly detect the light scent, which is pleasant. Its a light creamy texture, sets quickly and feels great on. Does not feel heavy, overall really liked this even though you most probably be able to mix a normal foundation with alittle liquid highlighter to get the same results.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Bainsy on 1/16/2013 8:26:00 AM more reviews by Bainsy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I had I high hopes for this product since I have been using the regular tinted moisturizer SPF 20 in sand for 7 years. This product was disgusting! It was too heavy and glittery on its own and when mixed with foundations. I bought golden radiance for my nc 40 skin and it just looked oily and came out as a muddy color on me. Not sure what the purpose this product is trying to fulfill but I had to return mine. Such an expensive product for no benefit to the face whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 12/10/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: I'm about halfway through the tube and I'm finding myself more dissatisfied with this product's short wear life especially in warmer weather. Still, it's proving very versatile. I've been wearing it as a sunscreen/primer, stippling over it with Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation, and sprinkling Too Faced Primed and Poreless Loose Powder. The effect is gorgeous, very beautiful polished skin but remarkably natural. In the office, a co-worker stared at me and finally asked, "Are you wearing makeup?" This application wears longer and is more easily maintained than the TM by itself.


Original Review:
FYI: I am a Latina woman with very fair olive skin, combination type (dry forehead, oily nose & chin, normal cheeks) in early maturity (minor facial lines, redness). Shade refs: LM Creme Silk in Cream Ivory, Bobbi Brown in Warm Ivory, Revlon Colorstay in Buff


I wear this product in Bare Radiance. It's a shade too deep for me, but it gives me an attractive, fair bronzed look, more "healthy" than "sun-kissed." I love LM products and am rarely disappointed in them. This product is unusually good and works pretty well for me.


It applies like a creamy lotion and the luminous finish gives surprising coverage. I reach for this product when I don't want to bother with concealer, just smooth on with fingers over oil-free primer, pat gently under eyes, and set with matte, oil-free powder. A light neutral lip gloss and I'm done. No other makeup. It gives me a healthy, radiant look and yes, it camouflages dark circles and red discoloration pretty well. Not invisible, but definitely minimized and less obvious.


If you are used to matte or ultra-matte looks, the dewy "glow" might overwhelm you. It doesn't look "fake" or "Twilight-ish" to me, and I apply this TM all over my face. That said, it's not matte or satin. It is luminous and that's what it looks like. I suggest sampling it and wearing a few times before deciding on whether it's the right look for you.


I dislike a few things about it. I think it would be better in a pump bottle or pump tube so consumers could control the application. In excessive heat (natural or artificial) it "separates" on my skin and looks patchy. The wear is decent for TM. I get about 5-6 hours good wear out of it, by lunch time I need to blot and brush on a little powder foundation to extend wear through the workday. Without the touch-up it deteriorates to greasy shine territory. If I were ten years younger -- with very oily skin -- I could never have tolerated this product.


I'm not sure how well this product photographs. It's pretty dewy, so I can't imagine it looking good in photos. Probably not the best choice for wearing to weddings or at events where one is likely to be photographed or filmed.


Also, as much as I like it, I don't believe it's worth $43. I cringe at paying so much for this, especially due to the poor wear time. But I don't think there's another comparable product on the market so I'll definitely purchase again.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 immortalkeanu on 10/22/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by immortalkeanu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was very hesitant to buy this product at first mostly because I do not need very much coverage and also because of the price. However, I'm very pleased that I did get it after all! I have extremely dry, pale skin and so I find most products just make my complexion look dull. But this product applied over top of my Benefit moisturizer gives me a beautiful, dewey glow that I have never been able to get before! Will definitely buy this product again

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 8/29/2012 8:36:00 AM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I am all for the dewy, glowy look. This product delivers none of that. The finish is also different from the regular Laura Mercier TM (the latter is better, more hydrated-looking).
.
In the store lighting, the "shimmer" seemed relatively finely milled and not at all OTT. Yes, i could see it, but it wasn't so blatant. On my face? Ew. I bought it to mix into foundation--omg. This is gross. The shimmer is more like glitter specks, not as large as say, NARS multiples, of course, but definitely there, not subtle--visible from a talking distance.
.
Yes, I mixed it a dollop into foundation as Sephora SA and reviews here advised--the end result was the same as Revlon Photoready--the Cullen-esque sparkle in it was similar, except Laura Mercier's TM gives a bit larger sized sparkle than PR!! On its own, it looks really looked bad, my face looks better with nothing on. It's a disgrace to pay so much for a product and find that it's so utterly not worth it VERY mediocre product, the price and brand name makes you believe it's better than it is. I even get better results mixing High Beam into foundation! I tried this several times--even just being indoors, near an open window, the sparkle is rather obvious and not in a good way. Will be returning this, thank God I have the option. I WANTED to like this--i have never before returned anything to Sephora, especially as I'm quite timid, i usually find a way to make the products work. This will be an unprecedented act driven by utter disgust.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kdids520 on 8/6/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by Kdids520

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my go to product for when I want to look pulled together without looking made up. My skin is normally very clear with some redness around my nose and on my chin. I spot conceal and then just use my fingers to apply this. It looks amazing. Will definitely be repurchasing this

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lulu4 on 7/26/2012 8:13:00 PM more reviews by lulu4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

is not to be applied all over the face. Manufacturers would like us to think otherwise. It is to illuminate cheek bones and your strong features. This is not to cover up anything. It is to highlight your own beauty. The illumination looks classy and lasts over 2 hours. I'm sorry about the SPF20 in it. A thin layer of foundation with sunscreen is never enough to provide protection from the sun, but it is well enough to irritate the hell out of any skin types. I recommend this product, because there is nothing else in the market to compete with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products