Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2220 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Alliecat333 on 1/5/2015 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Alliecat333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, I thought long and hard about this review, didn't want to Jump the gun and say how much I loved it to only end up hating it weeks later as I've done so before. I've been wearing this as a daily foundation for awhile and I'm ready to say I love it.

Reading the reviews I was totally turned off from trying this. People seem to live it or hate it, and since I struggle hard to find loves I knew this wasn't for me.
One afternoon I was in Sephora returning yet another foundation that didn't match my skintone and was so fed up I said the hell with it let's try this since this line seemed to cater to multiple undertones, not just yellow and pink. Im very neutral anything slightly yellow or pink looks way off on me.
So the SA matched me to 118, in the dim lighting I couldn't even see the swatch on my cheek so I just jumped into the wind and purchased.
Perfect match to my light honey beige skin. I was expecting a sheer greasy mess but what I got instead was what is been looking for all along.
***Product- I get great solid medium coverage applying with my fingers, a brush seemed not to work as well. I can apply more where needed for stubborn spots and doesn't look piled on.
Surprisingly I found the finish quite matte. *almost* flat. Setting with NARS light reflecting powder remedied that real quick. Also the hourglass ambients or WNW reserve your cabana come in very handy here.
As the day goes on the finish does become less matte but not greasy( I do have dry skin though) those with oil's may need to touch up. It wore well all day and had experienced no patchiness.
I find it to be very light weight on the skin almost as light as a powder foundation. Some say it looks great in pics but not in real life, well idk what there seeing, but I think it looks amazing in both.
It didn't settle into any fine lines or crease, it hasn't upset my sensitive acne prone skin, it's a perfect color match, it's lightweight, it lasts all day,what's not to love?
No it's not a full coverage, but if it's to be undetected on camera(HD) wouldn't you think it needs not be an unnatural full coverage ? You can conceal spots if need be.
Yes I will repurchase. I appreciate the pump, the bottle is plastic instead of glass which I feel more comfortable with ( butter fingers) it could still crack but hey can't win everything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MiracleNicole1 on 1/4/2015 7:03:00 PM more reviews by MiracleNicole1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Looks great in pictures.... Not so great in person. Didn't provide the coverage & long lasting wear that I needed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueSeaHorse on 1/4/2015 2:34:00 PM more reviews by BlueSeaHorse

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Other    

If you need an everyday foundation I don't think this is the foundation for you (unless your everyday work consists in taking pictures of yourself). When I bought this at Sephora I was looking for a high quality foundation and the girl at sephora recommended this one. What she forgot to tell me was that this foundation is great "for pictures" not for every day use. Don't get me wrong you can still use it everyday if you want to, but keep in mind that if what you are looking for is an every-day foundation that gives you great coverage you should keep looking.

I was going to return this the next day but decided to keep it since I took a couple of pictures to test it out and it sure makes your skin looks flawless. Definitely will be using this for special occasions were I know I'll have pictures taken.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alexaober on 1/3/2015 2:26:00 AM more reviews by alexaober

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great packaging but sadly I've found better foundations I like it but don't love it. Good skin variety options and didn't break me out! It's around $42 without tax.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leeleenewin on 1/2/2015 10:55:00 PM more reviews by leeleenewin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product gives me an amazing, radiant look. It is full coverage, easy to use, not drying... I REALLY want to love this liquid foundation.

But this breaks me out, for sure! Every time my acne starts clearing, I use this product because I like the way it makes my skin look, and then the next day, I have a full face of painful cysts and pimples. I've done this to my face about 4 times now and had this foundation for 2 months. Of course, every one's face is different, so maybe try a sample first to see how your face reacts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bubbly_soaps on 1/2/2015 10:27:00 PM more reviews by bubbly_soaps

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive, combination, sometimes acne-prone skin, and am always looking for products that don't trigger reactions. I purchased this product after getting my Color IQ done at Sephora (3Y05), and 120 Soft Sand is my perfect match. This foundation is fragrance-free, and is a relatively thin liquid, but gives pretty pigmented coverage. I use the Sonia Kashuk Synthetic Buffing Brush to apply this in a circular motion, and the finish is smooth and natural. It evens out my skin tone without looking like cakey makeup. If you get the right colour, you can easily apply to uneven spots only without a noticeable difference between the covered parts and bare skin. Some foundations change colour on my face throughout the day, especially on oily parts, but this one never has.

The pump bottle keeps everything hygienic and easy to dispense the right amount, even if it's just a little bit for blemishes. This brand comes with a lot of shades, so I highly recommend the Color IQ, then getting the SA to help you with test patches in store, one shade lighter and darker, just to make sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Askellenbeauty on 12/31/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Askellenbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful lightweight foundation.
I got this recently because I wanted a summer colour makeup to replace my NARS sheer glow in Fiji. It's super thin, but gives a nice coverage, wears well, doesn't seem to get shiny and looks good in pics.......but... I'd still go back to NARS in preference. The NARS has a beautiful way of reflecting the light which I find more flattering on me, I'd also use by terry densiliss for preference for better coverage. It's a beautiful makeup, I think I just like something more ' makeuppy' for me. It would suit girls who like Mac face and body or possibly the Armani luminous silk girls. My take? Great makeup, would definitely recommend it to someone who wants an ultra natural look. Makeup junkies- not so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsMasala on 12/31/2014 1:28:00 PM more reviews by MsMasala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have medium skin with a mixture of yellow and pink undertones and surprsingly it's never been very easy to find a foundation that really matched without drowning out half of my color: but this foundatoin hits the mark and I have been hooked enough to purchase it several times. As a liquid it provides medium coverage and looks dewy and flawless in photo's (especially when applying a primer beforehand). It stays on all day and while it might feel a little heavy upon first applicatoin, it starts to feel lighter as the day progresses (and for me it does stay all day).

It is however a little on the expensive side, but so far I have yet to find a liquid foundation that matches what this one provides for me.

I would recommend to this to women who fall within the medium skintone spectrum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tab624 on 12/31/2014 11:13:00 AM more reviews by tab624

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have had this for less than a week and plan on returning. It made my face so greasy after just a few hours. It does look okay in a picture but in real life it looks pretty crappy and it did not cover my red marks from acne very well. I will be going back to Estee Lauder Double Wear Light.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TKhamvongsa on 12/30/2014 3:28:00 AM more reviews by TKhamvongsa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry sensitive acne prone skin with normal to oily t-zone.

Pros:
-Looks amazing in photos!!!
-Medium to full coverage
-Hydrating for dry skin
-Does not accentuate dry skin at all
-Satin Matte finish
-Shade 118 matches me well

Cons:
-Feels heavy
-Looks amazing in photo but not as great in real life
-You'd still need a concealer for blemishes

This is an okay product, definitely a great product for photos/video (makes your skin looks flawless in photos/videos) - You can definitely find a better product for daily wear. I'd only use this if you plan on taking photos/videos.

For reference - NC 25-30/ Diorskin Star 021 Linen/ MUFE F&B 32/ YSL TE BD50/ Chanel Vitalumiere in 010 Limpide/Dolce and Gabbana Perfect Reveal Lift in 120/ Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum 53

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products