Almay • Clear Complexion Blemish Healing Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.8(632 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MakeMeUp14326 on 5/12/2010 5:51:00 PM more reviews by MakeMeUp14326

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good foundation for oily skin. It has a nice finish and covers my blemishes well. I haven't used it long enough to see if it helps my acne, but it doesn't seem to be making my sensitive skin worse. I have only one (kinda major) problem with it: it makes me look like an oompa loompa. Yes indeed. I am white and Almay is orange. I KNEW it would be the wrong shade, yet I ignored my instincts and bought it anyway. I really like the foundation itself, but the color fails to match my skin, and so I must sadly return it and continue my search for foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanyav on 5/7/2010 10:31:00 AM more reviews by sanyav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a little gem in the drugstore. It shares my makeup shelf with foundations from NARS, MUFE and MAC, and for a reason. Coverage is medium, it goes on really smooth (liquid consistency), it first gives a dewy look, but it does dry down a bit, especially when set with powder. End result is really smooth and non-streaky coverage. Colours have excellent undertones – not like most drugstore foundations with orange/peach undertones (ehm...MAYBELLINE!!!!) – there are lots of neutral/yellow for light skin (I have it in ‘Neutral’). Lasting power pretty decent too – I go through my whole day (7 a.m. to 6 p.m.) without touch ups and my face is still pretty decent looking by the end of the day. Also I love the ingredients – salicylic acid and botanicals – I think it really helps clear my pores especially considering all the stuff on my face (powders, blushes, bronzers, concealers, highlighters...) I don’t have particularly oily or broken-out skin, but I still think this is great. I’ve heard people with dry skin also like to use this foundation, so don’t be scared about the active ingredients or that is says its for oily skin.


Only negative things – packaging sucks! It’s a pretty glass bottle, skinny and tall – but there is no pump and the liquid consistency of this makes it run everywhere! Do not wear clothing when you’re working with this foundation – it will get all over you, it will drip down your hands it you put it there to apply. PLEASE GIVES US A PUMP! Or I’m dumping this into another container.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princessa00 on 5/5/2010 3:46:00 PM more reviews by princessa00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was so surprised with the quality of this foundation. Unlike everyones holy grail revlon colorstay, this didn't oxidize or make my face greasy. The color match was perfect, really better than any high end foundation ive ever tried. I applied this first with one of those fat bronzer brushes (i love using those for foundation), and after it set I was blown away. It really did give a smooth finish with the amount of coverage (medium-full), and didn't just make my skin look a decent color while highlighting all my imperfections (i'm looking at you, stila oil-free). I cannot believe how lucky I got with this ds foundation.
I can't speak for it's blemish clearing properties as I don't have really problematic skin, but this doesn't break me out at all, and some foundations do.
It does get a bit shiny after a few hours, but not noticeably. It doesn't look quite as perfect as when you first applied it at the end of the day, but then again, does any foundation?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Periclymenum on 4/29/2010 2:27:00 AM more reviews by Periclymenum

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I've only been using this a few days but so far i'm impressed - I was fed up with my previous foundation being too pale/bright for my skin so I picked this up in 'buff' (2nd lightest shade I think) in Target, mainly for the colour rather than anything else, it wasn't until I got to the checkout that I realised it contained salicylic acid.

As I was hoping the shade is an excellent match for my slightly muddy, neutral-warm, fair skin, possibly the best I have found (Chanel's Mat Lumiere in 05, Faience was also good but too $$$ nowadays).

The texture is nice, feels like Revlon Colorstay for dry skin going on but imo this offers more coverage and staying power (but not more than CS oily skin version!) I got a bit shiny on a warmer day over the weekend but it's nothing a bit of powder can't fix. My skin is normal, tending towards oily and this hasn't dried me out.

I have a hormonal breakout at the moment thanks to various medications running out (my skin is acne-prone but under control) and existing spots are drying up, don't know if it's this product or just time. I've had one new little whitehead pop up since I started using this but nothing much and it's almost gone already.

Happy with this and would def purchase again, it maybe even deserves 5 stars but I will wait until i've used this for a bit longer.

Update: Changed rating to 5 stars - it holds up through 90% humidity and has never broken me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eyelashviper27 on 4/8/2010 4:49:00 AM more reviews by eyelashviper27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was really pleasantly surprised by this product. I didn't quite know what to expect, but it actually wears really naturally and feels very light. It covers pretty well, although I do get pretty shiny later in the day.

It doesn't make me break out (although it also doesn't really help my stubborn acne on the chin). It can get a little messy when you try and get the right amount out of the bottle, but apart from that there are no complaints. Will definitely repurchase if I don't find something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clp53 on 4/7/2010 5:53:00 AM more reviews by clp53

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

fav foundation. it is much better than other foundations because i do not break out with this! i can usually buy it for around $13 canadian. the only negative is the packaging because when i open it up the product is usually everywhere (in the lid and along the sides). the shades are great and it helps my skin not look oily. im a big fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JasonCC on 4/3/2010 1:40:00 PM more reviews by JasonCC

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like this. Its one of the few foundations that i've found that actually match my skin tone. It only has .5% salicylic acid, and some have said that this really isn't enough to treat acne. I have recently gone through a horrible break out that seemed to last forever! But whenever i started to use this, it cleared up a alot! It looks natural and has decent coverage, but can also be pretty drying, so I don't recommend this if you have dry skin..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xkillerxcrushx on 3/27/2010 10:20:00 AM more reviews by xkillerxcrushx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

this might be my HG foundation. i use a wedge sponge to apply and the coverage is medium; surprisingly good for DS foundation. it keeps my oily skin under control. i still need to blot a couple time during the day but the product doesn't disappear like a lot of foundations do on oily skin. this might be drying/irritating if used everyday but i only wear makeup on the weekends so it's not a problem for me. also, it stings a little in the eye area cuz of the salicylic acid.

EDIT: wow! it's been 2 years and this is STILL my favourite foundation. I've tried many others in that time and this is still the best for me. amazing colour match (not too pink) and has never broken me out. best of all, they've updated the packaging from the old plain glass bottle to a pump! it dispenses exactly the right amount of product so I waste a lot less than I did trying to pour it out of the old bottle. Plus it's more sanitary.
Gotta love when a great product gets even better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shamsiruhe on 3/22/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by shamsiruhe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

better than mineral makeup.
and that's saying a LOT.
if you have whiteheads or small pimples, this stuff is great.
i do moisturize with clean and clear mixed with olay regenerist night cream
as it can be a bit drying for my combination skin

give it a try
it's cheap and odds are you'll like it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelcake910 on 3/16/2010 11:12:00 PM more reviews by angelcake910

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have bean using those long-stay & alot-of-coverage liquid foundations for long time (like Revlon's Colorstay, Maybelline's Super Stay Makeup) since I have rather rather oily skin, big pores and small acnes that I had to cover, but I thought I should start using more light weight liquid foundation to let my skin breath, and not looking like I have a mask on . . .

So I did a research here, and tried this product. And I'm pretty amused with the result :) It feels very light on my skin, but it has decent coverage. I would defenitly recommend this to people with oily skin or acne like me. It
s good for your skin, looks great and feels great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Liquid products