Revlon • ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup • Crème

rated 3.9(1197 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 reneasnoke21 on 8/15/2013 4:03:00 AM more reviews by reneasnoke21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

OMG I think I have found my HG makeup finally. IF YOU HAVE OILY SKIN AND CAN'T EVER FIND A MAKEUP THAT CONTROLS THAT, STOP WHAT YOUR DOING AND GO BUY THIS. I've tried so many things to try to control my oil but nothing works, but this does! Yeah ill like a little oily feeling throughout the day on my nose mostly but NOTHING like how I did with other makes up. Where it gets all oily on your nose, chin, and cheeks and then rubs off. It does go on a little weird at first so definitely do not use it as a running-late-I-have-2-minutes-to-do-my-makeup foundation because the longer it has to set in the better it looks. :)) I wish you got more product for the price cause it is one of the more pricey drugstore makeups but I can't complain it's amazing <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 veelui on 8/14/2013 12:25:00 AM more reviews by veelui

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i love this foundation, it feels very good on my face, not too thick. i also like to to use this as a concealer and let it settle before putting it on my entire face. what i dont like-- bulky packaging is not travel friendly, and difficult to pick out color as you cant really tell by looking at the glass

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nreid on 8/13/2013 5:05:00 PM more reviews by nreid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I decided to try the creme version of this foundation after trying and returning both the combination/oily skin and dry skin liquid Colorstay foundations. While I have combination skin that tends very much toward the dry side with a slightly oily t-zone in the summer, I thought this cream foundation would be a more hydrating and less cakey version of the liquid versions.

I applied it to exfoliated, lightly moisturized skin using my fingers, as I've always found I can get a more even application of a cream foundation with my fingers than any brush or sponge.

The first time I applied it, it looked slightly dewy with a beautiful smooth finish that evened out my skin both in tone and texture. Every application afterward ended up with my skin being quite matte after application and very dry by lunch time, needing to be spritzed with water in the afternoons. The skin on my cheeks in particular felt and looked stretched in places, which elongated some of my pores on either side of my nose and made the skin there and under my eyes looked particularly lined. (See my comment below about the salicylic acid.)

Pros:

Coverage: Excellent. Definitely medium to full coverage, as I didn't have to use a concealer anywhere but under my eyes (this never happens to me with other foundations!)

Texture: It appears heavy in the jar, but it's actually quite smooth once applied to the skin. Easily blendable too. Doesn't settle into lines too much.

Colour: Despite a small colour range and the product looking very dark in the jar once it was opened, the foundation actually matched my skin tone once it was blended (I'm a MAC NW20 to NW25 and I can wear this creme foundation in Sand Beige ).

Finish: Pretty smooth (did not highlight any dry skin I might have) and, at first, not matte but oh so slightly dewy.

Cons:

Packaging: While the glass jar makes it appear as though there is a lot of product, it's actually an illusion of the glass. There is a lot less product in the jar than it appears. Also, as with the other two Colorstay foundations I tried, the creme foundation's lid left small black particles in the product when the jar was initially opened. I'm assuming this is due to the threading on the lids and the brittle nature of the plastic, which resulted in some of the plastic shredding off and falling into the foundation.

Scent: While the scent of the creme foundation is not the worst I've come across, it initially has a strong paint-like smell that isn't so pleasant. This does, however, disappear soon after application.

Staying Power: The staying power is indeed strong (it's still there on my face at the end of a 10-hour day), but it's also hard to remove. Those of us with dry skin using a cream-based cleanser should definitely use some sort of makeup wipes as a pre-cleanser. I found that not all of the product came off my skin after cleansing.

Dryness Factor: Another reviewer pointed out that there is apparently salicylic acid in this foundation, which surprised and dismayed me (no, I didn't look at the ingredients list) because I wrongly assumed that being a creme foundation this product was meant for dry skin. After two weeks of wearing this creme foundation, I had to stop because my skin was becoming drier and drier earlier and earlier in the day. It also made my skin look duller over time and really highlighted any age lines I might have.

Price: I bought my jar on sale in Canada at Shoppers Drug Mart for $15.95 (it regularly retails for $19.95 at that store). A week later I found it at the Real Canadian Superstore for their regular price of $12.95. That's a $7 difference, which is huge!

Overall, I really wanted to like this foundation and was hoping it would provide me a nice moisture barrier for the colder months when my skin gets extremely dry. I loved that it easily covered any slight imperfections and that I didn't need to use a separate concealer anywhere on my face. Unfortunately, it just dried my skin out and made me look older.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MTM123 on 8/13/2013 2:57:00 PM more reviews by MTM123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using the regular liquid Revlon 24hr for a while now. I didn't like that it was heavy and kind of hard to apply almost like a paint, but I love the staying power as I have oily skin and MOST foundations melt right off. I saw the whipped formula, and it applies much better. It has satin consistency and smooths well over face, and is easier to work with.

PROS: Excellent staying power, buildable coverage, creamy texture when applying, doesn't break me out.

CONS: Packaging (The inner ring on the plastic lid cracked and now it doesn't close). Can be kind of cakey and chalky looking, and settles in to pores unlike other foundations.

I gave this a 3 because while it's the best foundation you can find for staying power, and has decent coverage, it doesn't look very smooth or flawless, but it looks great at a distance, just up close it looks kind of like paint is on my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MilenaBR on 8/12/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by MilenaBR

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I've tried this foundation, I've used my fingers, as it's usually recommended and I really hated it. It looked heavy, cakey, dull, like it made my skin look drier, and I wasn't in my driest state then. But then I've seen many Youtube so-called gurus raving about it and many of them saying this is a foundation that you learn to love, not a love at first sight. Ok, I had to give it one more shot. Let's try it with the beauty blender now: Love!!! It looked extremely natural, yet gave me great coverage, and lasted all day long. This foundation looks good as soon as I apply it, but it looks better one hour after, like it
becomes your skin. I have no idea what I did wrong the first time, but since then I've tried using my fingers again and now it's my favorite way to apply it. It's my most natural looking foundation. It's of of the best coverages. It worked when I was combination/oily and now that I am combination/dry. It's lasted all day on me, even on hot days, when I have sweated considerably. It's almost perfect. The only reasons why I don't wear it everyday are: 1) it's a bit expensive for me (since I'm not in the US and I have to buy it on Ebay), 2) this is not a quicky-throw-it-in-your-face foundation, it requires a bit more attention in the spreading/blending, and finally 3) the package is a heavy bulky glass jar that's not travel friendly at all, so this bay stays at home.
Overall, one of my favorite foundations ever!

Best way to apply it: my fingers (also works beautifully with a beauty blender, I'd avoid brushes, though)

Texture: as the name says, it's like a thick whipped cream

Finish: natural, satin-y (leaning more to matte than dewy)

Coverage: medium to full for me

Color match: 320 warm golden is a perfect match for my NC25-35 skin

Does it oxidize? No

Skin type: Combination-dry at the moment

Smell: No

Longevity: excellent, lasts all day for me

Does it break you up? No

Overall rating (1 to 5): 5+

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikib18 on 8/12/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by nikib18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After reading a lot of reviews I decided to try this. Someone mentioned earlier that it creates a blank canvas. This is SO true. It is super light coverage but extremely build able. I prefer to put on one layer and then another layer on specific areas-- I have a lot of acne scars on my cheeks-- and then I use concealer. It is also super necessary to set it with a powder as it stays very tacky. But it looks extremely natural and allows blush Bronzer etc to go on very natural!!!! Love it!!! It also has salicylic acid in it which works magic for break outs. I've slept in this and did not break out which is a first. Best application I found was with a flat liquid foundation brush. Be sure to scoop some out with clean finger tips and put on back of hand for application as the container isn't super cleanly !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 marianagallardo on 8/10/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by marianagallardo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I read and watched a lot, A LOT of reviews, most of them or maybe... all of them were positive so I bought 200 Sand beige, it was pretty light for my NC30 MAC skin tone. Then I bought 250 Medium beige, againt just a tiny bit light for me... but well, Honestly I didnt wanted to buy it again because FYI, in Mexico (where I live) we are not as lucky as americans, we dont have testers and return policy in makeup so I didnt had any choice rather than wear it and warm it up with a bronzer. (I prefer a light foundation and adjust the tone with bronzer than a darker foundation and look like Im wearing a mask). The consistency is... Ok, you can turn up side down the container without the lid and keep it like this for 14 years and it will NEVER move. It is that thick.

So... I used it and I felt my skin a little bit heavy, I decided to keep the foundation on to see how it performed. It became an oily mess a couple hours later (2-3), my makeup looked so, SO heavy like if I was wearing 7 layers of the heaviest foundation in the world. I removed it and gave a second chance the next day... the same thing. Another chance the other day, the same damn thing!

I gave it to my sister who have super dry skin (it looks like recycled paper), I thought It would work great for her and yes... She loved it and she´s still using it.

She is very happy with it but both of us so as all of you agree and complain about the packaging. it is HUGE! Super bulky and heavy so dont even think about taking it with you in your purse or anything. Not travel friendly because it is a glass container, it feels and look expensive and glamorous but... Glass? No. The packaging reminds me (dont ask me why, I dont even know the reason) to Chanel products. Maybe because it look like a mini Chanel Universal Bronzer or I dont know.

The cap... Can we please talk about this? This is cheap, THIS IS CHEAP STUFF, GUYS! it closes well but with the time, the inside of the cap will break so you wont be able to screw it anymore.

The price of course doesnt match with the quality of the product, at least in Mexico it is expensive, like a MAC prolongwear concealer, something I love!!! I hate to remember I bought this thing instead of my HG concealer.

I wont buy it again. I wanted to loved it really much but it never worked for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egoh on 8/9/2013 7:45:00 PM more reviews by egoh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Foundation for almost 2 months now. The first two weeks that I was using this foundation, I thought it was good. Coverage is more medium than full. It has a slippery feel to it, which makes it blend easily and it doesn't dry as quickly as the regular colorstay. I use the ELF flat top powder brush to blend.
I gave it 3 star because after extended use : it really does dry out my skin :(
Staying power is average for me
Packaging: Really hate the bulky glass jar
The only positive is, it does well to neutralize "redness" on my skin, but other than that, there are many drugstore foundations that I feel are better and does not dry out my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Quista on 8/9/2013 2:13:00 AM more reviews by Quista

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I gave this product a 4 due to the fact that I bought it today and I am already in love with it, I just don't want to jinx my luck. I struggle with oily/dry acne prone skin and have always used high end foundations and makeup. Until recently I decided I could save so much more money after reading wonderful reviews on makeupalley. I heard great things about the revlon color stay whipped foundation and decided to give it a go! OH WOW I love the texture as soon as I put it on my face. It's soft, velvet like, and best of all matte finish but still enough glow to make my skin look natural. I couldn't say enough great stuff about this. The coverage is fantastic and makes my skin look flawless and it lasts until I wash it off. I highly recommend this product to anyone especially people with blemishes that they wanna cover without feeling cakey or like you put clay in your face! I love the lightweight feeling this product gives!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kamberc94 on 8/6/2013 4:28:00 PM more reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff for the winter. I have oily combo skin and I feel like it moisturized dry patches and controls oil too. It is not convenient in the jar but a little goes a long way for me. I think it's very buildable but if you are very oily it might melt off your face.

I feel like it is worth a try sure. I feel like it doesn't break me out either

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Crème products