Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup

3.9

1237 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Water, Isododecane, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, C13-16 Isoparaffin, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silk Powder, Alumina, Polyisobutene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Cyclodextrin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylene Carbonate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxide, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 10/6/2013 4:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really, really like this stuff. I used the ColorStay Normal/Dry formula for about 2 years before this stuff came onto the market and I actually like this one better now, especially since the Normal/Dry formula has recently been reformulated and is now in my bin! I love the way this feels on the skin, it is so lightweight and easy to blend. I use either my fingers or my real techniques expert face brush and I always get a really smooth finish. I usually end up with caking around my nose if a foundation is no good for me but this stuff just sets so nicely and leaves a gorgeous satin/semi matte finish with medium coverage that still looks natural.

This stuff doesn't budge either, although I've only worn it for a maximum of 12 hours so I can't attest to the 24 hour claims. It doesn't transfer and in hotter weather when I am a little sweaty or oily this stays in place. I think if you were oily you would need to use a primer or blot because I am not particularly oily and I do find some shine coming through by the end of the day, nothing major though. I was worried that as whipped creme foundations are usually better suited to oily skin that this would accentuate slight dryness in my cheeks and the dehydration lines on my forehead but it absolutely doesn't!

I took 1 lippy off because when I first started using this I was using it every day and it did break me out a little, so now I only wear this on extra long days or when I am going out and want flawless skin. Packaging is also a little (unnecessarily?) bulky and quite heavy, this took up so much space in my beauty bag when I was travelling!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/4/2013 11:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Out of all of the foundations I have tried, this is my favorite! I first heard about this when Jaclyn Hill (on YouTube) mentioned it in one of her videos and I am so glad that I gave it a try.
Pros:
- Smooth finish-- I absolutely LOVE the way this foundation looks. It's so nice and smooth.
- Long lasting--I have fallen asleep wearing this a few times (bad, I know, but things happen) and when I wake up the next morning, my makeup looks the same as it did when I fell asleep.
- Has a nice coverage
- No SPF--This would be good for anyone who is getting their picture taken with flash photography.
- The price--For how great this foundation is, I think that it is fairly cheap. It runs at $10.99 at Target.

Cons:
- The packaging--I don't like how I have to stick my fingers in the pot every time I need to get foundation, but this is the price I have to pay to have whipped foundation. Also, the way the packaging is, it makes it hard to match your skin color. However, I have noticed that the regular Revlon ColorStay foundation comes in the same shades so you could use that as a matching guide.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2013 1:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this product! hands down one of the best drugstore foundations! Creamy, full coverage, does not break me out and most of all covers all imperfections.

On the downside the packaging SUCKS!! the inner part of the jar constantly breaks and I cant screw the top on properly which makes it impossible to travel with! I am on my 3rd jar and it always happens!


on 10/3/2013 6:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If you need a long lasting, full coverage foundation you will like this. It was neat to try, but I prefer a more sheer foundation.

Also I have sensitive skin and this broke me out a little.


on 9/30/2013 3:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this foundation! I recently found a brand new jar with my perfect shade for 3 dollars in a discount section for only $3 . Why it was discounted was beyond me because the date is perfectly fine and none of the seals had been broken. I use this foundation in conjunction with the Neutrogena shine control primer and they keep me shine free for 5 hours so far which has never happened. The texture really is that of whipped cream which is a lovely feeling. It is quite thick but did not feel so on my face. Over all I'm in love with this foundation so far such. I know the price is more than 3 but would gladly re purchase at full price.


on 9/26/2013 5:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The only full coverage foundation I have ever liked, and let me start by saying it is incredible. I am probably going to remain a BB and TM advocate forever, so the only reason I tried this was because I saw Nicole G on YouTube rave about it. Nicole and I are not foundation compatible, but her video was very convincing and I strangely found myself purchasing this. I'm glad I did! The packaging reminds me a lot of Chanel, and at first impression the whipped formula seems very alien and thick (even to fullcoverage lovers, from what I hear and read), but it goes on like a dream. This foundation is very blendable and the finish is satin and exquisite. I can sheer it out to make it look surprisingly a lot like my own skin, but the coverage remains. No matter how much I apply, it lasts all day and blends in very very well. It is advertised as being 24h wear, and this is true. I have fallen asleep wearing this and it was still there in the morning! I am complimented on my skin and not my makeup all the time while wearing this. Lastly, the best thing about this foundation is that it has an uncanny tendency to look better and better throughout the day. Don't ask me how, but it does. I now own both a summer and a winter shade and will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2013 1:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. All my friends seems to love it, so I decided to try it as well. I'm more a high end type of girl, especially with foundations. At the moment this is the only foundation from the drugstore that I own. In the past I tried the liquid Colorstay foundation and I hated it so much!

Pros:
- Photographs well (no SPF in it)
- Medium coverage (if you have acne scars you will need a concealer)
- Price

Cons:
- Clogged my pores (I have acne prone skin)
- Even when I apply a primer before it my pores are still pretty visible if not bigger, other foundations that I use don't cause that.
- Heavy feeling on the skin

So, overall, I don't think I'll buy it again.. I just feel that I'm wearing a mask when I apply it, the foundation it's noticeable on the skin. I think the Colorstay line isn't for me :/


on 9/21/2013 12:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My favorite. Great coverage, no concealer needed. Top with finishing powder for all day flawless finish!


on 9/16/2013 2:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me tell you a story of how I came about this foundation.

A couple weeks ago we were running late to a birthday party for my niece, so I decided to do my eyes at home and my face makeup in the car. I packed up my MAC foundation, my Smashbox concealer, my good Korean BB cream, a couple brushes I loved, and headed out to the car. We went to the party, everything was fine. Then I get a job interview scheduled, working at a cosmetics counter at Macy's. I'm super excited and I'm going through all of the things I need to do to get ready and I remember my makeup bag. I CANNOT FIND IT. All of my makeup, gone. We checked the car. We checked our house. Everywhere. Can't find it. All of my good makeup. Gone. My good makeup, made for my fairest of fair skin, gone. I can't replace it all. Not on my current budget. So... I decide to venture into foreign drugstore foundation land.

I gave up drugstore foundations several years ago when I couldn't find a shade light enough for my skin. The lightest shade was always a bit dark and always turned orange. I was turned onto Bare Minerals and gave up the drugstore stuff. So here I was, back again, having hope, but only a little. I looked for a long time at everything there was. I had read online that a lot of fair skinned women liked Revlon Colorstay. I wasn't particularly interested in a liquid makeup. Then I saw the whipped cream. The 001 Ivory color looked light enough. What do I have to lose?

I am so surprised at how nice this foundation is. It covered scars that my MAC didn't even cover. It was easy to apply with my foundation brush. Didn't turn orange and matched my skin well. All this for $15! I also purchased the concealer and it worked just as well. I'm very, very happy!

Edit: I forgot to mention that I did not set it with the Colorstay powder. I am not a fan of powder in a compact. I instead used a light dusting of e.l.f. HD powder and it was perfect.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2013 11:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Great foundation. Even greated ontop of Napoleon perdis stick foundation for a full coverage. Which I need to cover dark freckles. The price could be cheaper I bought it on special at $20AUD which was a good offer, but I don't think I'd like to pay $30+AUD for it again. But I really need to buy another stock soon so I'll have to. The packaging is bulky and would be better in a tube dispense like the tester.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Crème Foundations


Future Skin
307 Reviews
Stick Foundation
182 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

HOW TO: HIGHLIGHT AND CONTOUR YOUR FACE!!!! by gossmakeupartist



Back to Top