Revlon ColorStay Whipped Creme Makeup

3.9

1229 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Water, Isododecane, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, C13-16 Isoparaffin, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silk Powder, Alumina, Polyisobutene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Cyclodextrin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylene Carbonate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxide, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 9/16/2013 2:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me tell you a story of how I came about this foundation.

A couple weeks ago we were running late to a birthday party for my niece, so I decided to do my eyes at home and my face makeup in the car. I packed up my MAC foundation, my Smashbox concealer, my good Korean BB cream, a couple brushes I loved, and headed out to the car. We went to the party, everything was fine. Then I get a job interview scheduled, working at a cosmetics counter at Macy's. I'm super excited and I'm going through all of the things I need to do to get ready and I remember my makeup bag. I CANNOT FIND IT. All of my makeup, gone. We checked the car. We checked our house. Everywhere. Can't find it. All of my good makeup. Gone. My good makeup, made for my fairest of fair skin, gone. I can't replace it all. Not on my current budget. So... I decide to venture into foreign drugstore foundation land.

I gave up drugstore foundations several years ago when I couldn't find a shade light enough for my skin. The lightest shade was always a bit dark and always turned orange. I was turned onto Bare Minerals and gave up the drugstore stuff. So here I was, back again, having hope, but only a little. I looked for a long time at everything there was. I had read online that a lot of fair skinned women liked Revlon Colorstay. I wasn't particularly interested in a liquid makeup. Then I saw the whipped cream. The 001 Ivory color looked light enough. What do I have to lose?

I am so surprised at how nice this foundation is. It covered scars that my MAC didn't even cover. It was easy to apply with my foundation brush. Didn't turn orange and matched my skin well. All this for $15! I also purchased the concealer and it worked just as well. I'm very, very happy!

Edit: I forgot to mention that I did not set it with the Colorstay powder. I am not a fan of powder in a compact. I instead used a light dusting of e.l.f. HD powder and it was perfect.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 9/15/2013 11:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Great foundation. Even greated ontop of Napoleon perdis stick foundation for a full coverage. Which I need to cover dark freckles. The price could be cheaper I bought it on special at $20AUD which was a good offer, but I don't think I'd like to pay $30+AUD for it again. But I really need to buy another stock soon so I'll have to. The packaging is bulky and would be better in a tube dispense like the tester.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2013 1:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION SO MUCH! The texture isn't 'mousse-like' but it's actually quite creamy, which works wonders for my normal/combination skin. I prefer light-medium coverage foundations and this one is just perfect! Lasts all day long on me even after I sweat and the oil control in this is waay better compared to the original liquid revlon colostay foundation imo. The packaging can make getting the product out quite messy but I deal with it. I am so repurchasing this when I run out! My new HG foundation! I wouldn't recommend this for dry-skinned girls though, because the formula would enhance and dry patches and etc. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am about 2/3 through my second jar of Colorstay Whipped in the shade 220 Nude.
This is a nice, full coverage cream foundation that works great for oily/combination skin :) It doesn't look cakey or fake.

It has a true matte finish and does help control oil to an extent. I still use a powder and blot throughout the day but those with less oily skin probably won't have to. This foundation has great staying power; I would especially recommend it if you live in a hot climate.

The price is not bad, I paid 10.99 USD at Walgreens.

I took one lippie off for the atrocious packaging! It is bulky, unhygienic, terrible for traveling, and its not very user friendly unless you are using a spatula or a traditional foundation brush.

Although this is a very good foundation, I don't think I would repurchase it again because I feel like there are better options out there for drugstore foundations that may work better without the hassle of bad packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2013 6:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My new HG foundation. I used Revlon colorstay (the liquid version) before and that was my HG until I realized that It made me look like I was wearing a mask of makeup. So, I went on a search for a long time to find a new HG foundation at the drugstore and I went through just about every company, repurchasing some but not all and eventually moving on to the next one, before my new school year started I really wanted to find a nice foundation that stays on for a long time without transferring, without me re applying looking flawless and trapping my oil but NOT looking like im wearing a lot of makeup or giving me the mask-like effect the other one did. when I tried this foundation I was seriously WOWED to the max. it really is amazing, I think the bad reviews are from the people who didn't really work with it. I think this foundation works really amazingly with certain brushes or techniques. I use the real techniques brushes from walmart. the buffing brush really really does the trick small fast circular motions make this foundation blend so beautifully with your skin.
Take it from me I literally have tried almost every single foundation in the drugstore market this one is the best one out of ALL of them. I give it a 10/10 and I have never rated one so high. I have combo oily skin but when its hot my skin gets pretty oily. Today it was 94 degrees and I go to a highschool with about 1800 kids and there is no air conditioning anywhere in the building so you can just imagine how hot it is. I think out of my 4 years of going to my school it may have been the hottest its been and I also washed and waxed my car in that heat and let me tell you it looks almost exactly how it did when I first applied it and I only use 1 department store product that is fairly cheap. I am truly amazed by this foundation and I do believe it is the best out of the entire drugstore foundations today.

Products I use for face:
Aveeno positively radiant mostrizer
Monistat chafing gel for primer (also amazing)
Revlon colorstay whipped (with the real techniques buffing brush in small, fast circular motions)
mac mineralize skinfinish natural (with the real techniques powder brush)

TRY IT YOU WONT REGRET IT

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2013 3:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm used to buying expensive foundations but this was pretty expensive for a drugstore foundation and I didn't like it. it made me break out and it oxidized badly. I still got oily and I felt it on my face. it felt thick and it clogged my pores. when I got oily it just melted and sat on my face looking like a thick oily mess. will never repurchase again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had to update my last review because I have had a complete turn with this foundation. Before I had tried applying it with a beauty blender, it hadn't worked for me at all. Blotchy application, an spots continued to wipe away as the day wore on. However, the beauty blender with this foundation has changed my life. I'm happy to say I've been using this EVERYDAY for 3 weeks, and haven't budged from my favorite. It's officially my holy grail. Here's why:

I am NC20, oily/combo skin with major dry spots in winter, and hundreds of red acne scars and active hormonal acne that I thought nothing could hide.

Que the whipped colorstay:

I bought it in natural, I believe the 3rd lightest color, and it matches me perfectly. I place my BB into the lid (I keep the container upside down) instead of directly into the container, so it fits perfectly and I don't get too much. The coverage is FULL. Before with my MAC pro longwear, I needed a pound of acne concealer before I even applied the foundation. Now, all I need is a layer (or two, depending) of this stuff, and my face is flawless. No bumps, no traces of red underneath, only a perfect smooth, matte complexion. Honestly, it lasts 14 hours. I barely get oily with it, when compared to a usual day without it where I need to blot every hour or else I'm a flashlight. I've never felt so good about my skin. I need to moisturize before this or else it dries out my face, but yet it never looks dry, or oily, just...perfect. I've never been so satisfied with a foundation. This is my HG winter foundation until further notice. Will definitely keep repurchasing...I think forever.


on 9/10/2013 6:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

PROS
*Good, buildable coverage.
*Lasts a decent amount of time, but not as long as the original Revlon Colorstay
*Does not oxidize

CONS
*Difficult to determine color because of packaging. Luckily I am always the lightest color.
*Transfers, unlike the Revlon Colorstay for Combo/Oily that doesn't transfer
*Hate the extra, unnecessary, bulky packaging.
*I have to use a primer to even use this foundation because otherwise it does not go on smoothly. It was just a hassle to have to experiment with so many different methods of application and primers to pair it with. Should not be that difficult to use the foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2013 11:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Quick background about my skin - As a pre-teen and going all the way into my mid-teen years, I suffered from horrible acne that had eventually covered almost my entire face before I was finally diagnosed with Acne Rosacea which apparently caused my skin to react exactly opposite to all the harsh acne treatments I had been going through. I was left with unseemly amounts of dark scars everywhere once my face had finally cleared up, and on top of that, skin so oily that I would have to blot my face every 20-30 minutes post-foundation (without makeup, it would just be a constant oil-blotting fest for me). Because of my specific skin demands, my choices of foundation were very limited. I ended up becoming a loyal customer of Estee Lauder's Double Wear Matte for 6 years right up until they changed the formula and turned it to dog poop (not really, but might as well have been).

Thus, I was forced to start my search for a new foundation that could meet (or beat) the expectations I was so accustomed to. I was keeping track of how many I tried but gave up after the 10th one and still hadn't come close to finding one that had the medium/full coverage I needed without making me break out more than I was comfortable with.

I did finally settle with using Revlon Colorstay Liquid Foundation for Combination/Oily skin after reading a bunch of reviews, but I just wasn't happy with how it made me look like I was wearing a mask and always dried faster than I could evenly apply it no matter how many techniques and brush types I tried.

FINALLY I decided to try out the new Revlon Colorstay Whipped Foundation mainly for the heck of it and to see if there would be any difference at all from the liquid one. OH MY HEAVENS! On the very first application, and for the first time in over a year, my skin truly looked completely flawless. No mask, complete coverage and matched my skin better than any foundation I've ever used. It even covered my ginormous pores on my nose and cheeks (worst part about Rosacea *hands-down*) and would stay like that for about 5 hours before I would notice a little bit of sinking, which even after leaving it on overnight (it was on accident, oops!) still looked good the next day! It hasn't clogged my pores or at least enough to notice, hasn't made me break out and just looks really flippin' good!

- I apologize for this being the longest review ever, I just hope that maybe someone out there who has had similar issues like mine might benefit from my story :)

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2013 1:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My new HG foundation for my oily skin. This is even better than the mineral foundation I was previously using. This is everything I wished Revlon Colorstay Liquid was.

Pros:

- Great color match: buff for an NC 15
- Ideal for oily to very oily skin types
- Full coverage; doubles as concealer
- Doesn't crease around eyes
- Controls oil & excess shine
- Semi matte natural finish
- Sets well even without powder
- Long-lasting
- Transfer-resistant
- Whipped texture


Cons:

- Dries somewhat quickly
- On the pricey side
- Jar packaging may be unhygienic
- Requires makeup remover for removal

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Crème Foundations


Stick Foundation
182 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

HOW TO: HIGHLIGHT AND CONTOUR YOUR FACE!!!! by gossmakeupartist

Back to Top