LUSH • Ocean Salt • Scrubs

rated 4.0(655 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jkhan on 5/9/2010 1:16:00 PM more reviews by jkhan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this scrub, it smells nice and works great as a face and body exfoliant, but it's just too expensive for a salt scrub. both table salt and ocean salt are the same...NaCl. there aren't any added benefits from ocean salt. ocean salt sounds nicer but really...it's not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 5/3/2010 11:37:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Although Ocean Salt is supposedly a face and body scrub, I find thatI get much better results and more value for my money when I use it for my face only. Unless you have very sensitive skin or prefer very light exfoliation, the scrubby particles (salt) are too fine too give much exfoliation on the body. The salt melts too quickly on the body even when the water is turned off. Adding more scrub is just a waste since the salt dissolves almost instantly. At $34.95 for an 8.8 oz tub (I swear the price was just raised a few dollars sometime this year), Ocean Salt is just too expensive to waste on the body. For the body, I prefer a more substantial scrub such as Philosophy Hot Salt scrubs or even Lush's Buffy the Backside Slayer bar. Neither is cheap but at least they last longer and give me better exfoliation than Salt Scrub.


One thing to keep in mind about Ocean Salt, which I learned the hard way, is that the salt and citrus juices can sting cut skin or even skin that's just a little bit irritated. I cannot use Ocean Salt in very dry, cold weather when my skin is very stressed and dry. I prefer to use it in warm weather when my skin is oilier and can withstand more exfoliation. I absolutely love the mousse-like consistency and the clean fragrance. I bought the large tub and have only used up a little more than haf a tub in the last six months. I have already purchased a back-up tub and will definitely buy another when that one runs out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fabul0usxchic on 5/1/2010 10:41:00 PM more reviews by fabul0usxchic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

amazing product! A+ for this one lush! removes any trace of oil on my combo skin. also removes ALL dead/dry skin. leaves face silky smooth, no dents no bumps, no peeling skin. top it off with a great moisterizer and you're good to go.

smell is great, beatiful colours and cool texture.a bit pricey, but worth it. i don't recommend this for sensitive skin because it's very harsh. recomended for dry/dead skin & for removing oils. don't eat it. salty taste. you can also scrub your lips with this and top off with chapstick.

if it's too harsh for your face use on elbows, knees, heels etc.. don't use everyday. personally i use it once a week or once every 2 weeks. you can use it every 3 days tho depending on your choice. i would buy this product again!

tip * before going out or going to a party use this on your skin for fresh, glowing complexion. makes makeup easy to glide on, and makes your skin look awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rg1991 on 4/29/2010 5:00:00 PM more reviews by rg1991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this product for a long time now, and so far so good. I don't use it too often, so I'm not sure if my review could be accurate for those trying to find a cleanser to use on a daily basis. I find it a little harsh to use every day anyway, I mean it is an exfoliator and those aren't meant to use every day. Your skin is supposed to produce some kind of oil, just like your hair, etc. Anyway, I find that it really leaves you squeaky clean, whether you use it on your face or body. If you're the type that self tans, I definitely recommend this as your exfoliator, it leaves my skin like a clean slate for new color. As for acne, maybe if I used this like once a week, I might see more results, but so far, my breakouts are the same. Keep in mind guys that just like everyone's skin is different, everyone's acne is different too. The packaging isn't the greatest, considering if you stick your fingers in there, you get germs and bacteria etc, but then again it seems like most LUSH products are in tubs, so find a spoon or something clean to scoop it out. Overall, impressed at how clean it leaves you, will think about buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissButtons on 4/26/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by MissButtons

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

How could you not love this? It's visually stimulating and smells great.

The scrub can be very harsh, or very gentle depending on how you use it. I always wet my fingers and face before I scrub it in. This causes the salt to melt a little and not be so harsh. I have very sensitive skin and can use this a few times a week with no problems. My pores look smaller after using it and my face is brighter.

Use this on your feet and then slather on Lemony Flutter for "Oceany Flutter", a-mazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 codyeve on 4/26/2010 12:40:00 AM more reviews by codyeve

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did not like this at all. I tried it as an exfoliator for my face & the next day I broke out with little white heads. Definitely not cute. So I figured I would use it as a body scrub. It made my skin soooooooo dry! For days I had that dry skin film on my legs even after I slathered on moisturizer. I wish it worked out for me, but this is a no go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissNrrdGirl on 4/22/2010 9:52:00 PM more reviews by MissNrrdGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this scrub on my face and it was horrible! Definitely not for my skin type, I think this stuff smells so good though. It burned when I put this on my face, and I think the salt is too big. I didn't even think about using it on my body, I will need to try that now. It did feel nice on my hands when I tried it in the store. But I don't think I will purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kmaness930 on 4/21/2010 2:15:00 PM more reviews by kmaness930

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this! I have normal skin, I used it every night for about two weeks because I loved it so much.. until I realized my skin got a little dry, Now I just use it in the shower about every 3 days. It makes your face and chest feel so clean. It actually got rid of the pimples for me! (I only get one or two every month though.) I've almost finished my first tub, will be back for more. When it gets in your mouth, it's a little saltier than the ocean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rocknkittn on 4/7/2010 1:37:00 PM more reviews by rocknkittn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff, but man ... it's expensive. Every time I use it I find myself wondering if I could make my own cheaper version of it.

I have very dry skin, and I find this works FABULOUSLY as a scrub. It's surprising how gentle it is on my skin and I don't get that tight feeling after using it on my face.

Be careful when using his product, the blue dye in this product dyed one of my washcloths. It came out after a few washes, but still ...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 melissarae on 3/26/2010 8:13:00 PM more reviews by melissarae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the first Lush products I have tried, and I am quite smitten! At first opening it up, the bright blue color and the large salt granules are a little off putting, but you need to stir it all up. The scent is also fantastic!

I apply about a dime size and rub it in all over my face. It does a sting a little bit, but remember the citrus and the salt in the product. I'll scrub my face for a few minutes and then the salt starts to dissolve.

It is gross if you get it in your mouth, but you're not supposed to eat it!

It leaves my face glowing and all of the little dry flakes are gone. My face is so unbelievably smooth and soft, and it makes makeup application afterwards a breeze.

It can be drying, so if you have dry skin I wouldn't recommend using it everyday. I have combination-oily acne prone skin, and I can get away with twice a day with no problems.

Another thing, whenever I have a breakout this helps to dry it up very quickly, within 2-3 days. It's also really helping to keep the acne away!

I will definitely be buying this product again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Scrubs products