LUSH Ocean Salt

4.0

701 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Fine Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Fresh Grapefruit Infusion (Citrus grandis), Coarse Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Stearic Acid, Fresh Lime Extracted in Vodka (Citrus aurantifolia), Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Glycol Cetearate, Triethanolamine, Fresh Avocado Butter (Persea gratissima), Coconut Fat (Cocos nucifera), Lime Oil (Citrus aurantifolia), Seaweed Absolute (Fucus vesiculosus), Violet Leaf Absolute (Viola odorata), Glycerine, Lanolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, *Limonene, *Linalool, Perfume, FD&C Blue No. 1, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Overall rating; 5
Price; 1
Packaging quality; 3
Would I buy this product again?; Yes, over and over!

This is my absolute holy grail exfoliator. I have normal skin which sometimes gets a little dry. I recommend this for people who prefer more abrasive scrubs as the salt in this is very chunky. I'm not sure what skin types this would be best for as I only know three other people who use that and they also have slightly dry skin.

I think you get a lot of product for the price. I buy the large tub which is around 11 and it lasts me six or seven months. The small one which costs 6 tends to last me about three months. I think this is one of the better 'value for money' scrubs out there. I don't find price to be a big issue with it.

I have no problems with the packaging except that sometimes the product gets caught in the side of the lid and its impossible to get out which makes it hard to close. Also, it's kind of unsanitary with the having to dip fingers into the pot. However, if you store it in the bathroom like I do and wash your hands before you use it, everything should be fine.

I don't exfoliate my body so I can't sprak for this as a body scrub because I've only had one experience with it on my body. Though I will say, it left my knees, hands and arms so smooth! I follow the whole working Monday to Friday, going out Saturday and chilling on Sunday routine. I use this on a Sunday morning, when I stay in all day, because it's very abrasive and it leaves my face red afterwards. It leaves my face so smooth and I suffer from blackhead on my nose, but it completely clears these! I can literally go the entire week (Sunday to Sunday) without having to exfoliate again - but I can go two weeks until I get blackhead again, I just like to keep to my weekly routine! Though this product leaves my skin feeling so clean and refreshed so I use it on a daily basis.

If your not sure if this is for you, LUSH will hand out samples of literally anything you ask for so you can always try before you buy!



on 1/30/2011 2:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a big fan of Lush bath products. I tried this product in the summer and it was too abrasive for my skin. But a month ago, I decided I would try it again, and it's amazing! It leaves my skin clean and fresh! It doesn't moisturize or leave any residue. Just make sure you mix the product really well before you use it and be gentle on your skin!


on 1/23/2011 10:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this product beause i'm an exfoliating junkie, but it's pretty harsh on my dry skin. I can only get away with using it once a week, but when I do my face is incredibly soft afterward. My only gripe is that to me, when I'm rubbing this into my skin, i find it smells like cigarette smoke??? Kind of off-putting. And I'm only about half way through my container, but I feel like it was more exfoliating the first few times I used it because of the big sea salt chunks on the top... but there are none in the rest of the product...


on 1/2/2011 6:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received this product as a sample from Lush and it is my least favorite Lush product so far. I have oily, blemish prone skin, so I love to exfoliate, but this product just didn't cut it for me. I've read some reviews that say that people loved the scent, but I hated it! It was too cologne-y and aftershave-like for my personal taste. And the salt was just...salt. I feel like I could have added a dash of salt to some lotion or cleanser, rubbed it around my face, and have gotten the same effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2010 8:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this one! I use on both body and face without any drying issues, which surprised me given that it's salt. The liquor-y smell is fantastic! A month or so ago I started using AHA to exfoliate so I have started using this less frequently b/c I don't want to overdo it. About once or twice a week works just fine! The old St. Ives apricot scrub has been replaced.. :)


on 12/30/2010 3:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm still sitting on the fence with this one. I have used it about 4 times, but 2 of those times it has made my face sting. I'm not sure if its got too much lemon in it. Or if my skin is getting more sensitive. However, it is great for the body. The smell is amazing and very refreshing in the morning.


on 12/30/2010 5:54:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love the tub, as when you take a few back (don't know the number off the top of my head), you get a free facemask!

I love the scrub itself, it is a tad abrasive, so I only use it once a week, but it sloughs off the dead skin and leaves a glowy canvas for my makeup.

After it I use my Full Of Grace Serum Bar to moisturise.


on 12/23/2010 6:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I loved this product back in 2007 when I wasn't conscious about parabens and their side effects. In fact i would keep buying it and using it, if it weren't for parabens as I love everything about it.

I posted on LUSH 's website - a review for it noting parabens, but LUSH decided not to let my review through. Oh well. Parabens still there and they claim to be natural? too bad, because my bucks are not going there until they truly do get natural.


on 12/21/2010 10:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

UPDATED: I really am LOVING this thing more than ever! My acne scars are fading and I have not been breaking out. This is def a keeper :)
Wow! All I can say is what a difference it has made upon my skin condition. I am an oily/combination/acne prone and I bought this on a whim because of the good reviews it had. I use this along with Love Lettuce Mask - and I must say, I am so GLAD I bought into the hype because my skin condition has greatly improved: no breakouts, scarring faded, reduced redness, smooth skin, and even complexion! What more could I ask for? I use this on my face 3x a week and what I do is I rub the salts in between my palms until it has disintegrated - this will help make a smooth application. Keep in mind, it is pretty expensive, but it is so worth it.


on 12/18/2010 7:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this scrub, it's one of my favourite facial products and one of the few I find actually makes a difference.
I have oily skin that's prone to dry patches, and get the odd breakout with redness around my nose and cheeks. After using this my skin always feels soft and much more even toned. It also helps clear up my skin when I get a breakout, or it's just a great skin-fixer on days when my face is feeling a bit icky.
The only problem I have with this is the massive chunks of salt - it can't be good to scrub your face with them.. to many sharp edges! I'm really careful about rubbing this into my face, and do it VERY gently! Over the time it's sat on my shower soapdish, it has accumulated quite alot of water, so it's alot more watery and the salt grains are finer than when I first got it. Still works just as well though :)
I'll keep purchasing this forever and ever and ever as it does so many great things for my skin. However I won't rely on it as my one and only exfoliator as I want something I feel comfortable scrubbing all over my face!


Popular Scrubs


Ocean Salt
701 Reviews
Apricot Scrub
2617 Reviews
Green Tea Scrub
331 Reviews
Back to Top