LUSH • Ocean Salt • Scrubs

rated 4.0(660 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 danielledeleon1 on 6/4/2010 2:25:00 PM more reviews by danielledeleon1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a big fan of the tub it comes in. I feel as if Im grabbing too much by just dunking my fingers in there.... I only use this in the shower so I don't know notice any kind of greasy residue. I think it does exactly what it claims to do, I just wish it wasn't so expensive! I really dig the smell and how smooth makes my skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* celevia on 6/2/2010 11:59:00 PM more reviews by celevia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love lush products in general but this one really didn't make the cut,,i actually got in as a sample to try out,,the lush girl who offered me this sample was really nice she said this would be good for oily skin and i thought oh perfect just what i need!! i really want to like this product since it's by lush but i have to say i do not like it at all....i found the salts to be too abrasive,,and i don't even have sensitive skin to begin with,,i mean i enjoy using the st.ives apricot scrub while some people find it harsh...anyways, back to the sea salt,,it also sting my face,,not in a good way...and you have to dry your skin a little before applying or else it will just melt with the water..on top of all of that,,it sometimes gets into my mouth and it does not taste good...so in the end,,it's a cool product to look at but not so effective when using,,not recommended,,but ask for a sample if you are curious

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rosse86 on 5/15/2010 9:57:00 AM more reviews by Rosse86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Nah, this wasn't as great as many of the reviews here stated. I like the concept and smell, but not how it feels to use it. I don't feel like it really cleans or exfoliates my skin, it just wraps it in grease and the salt pieces are too sharp so I have to be really careful, which means they don't do me much good anyway. I don't think it actually harms my skin in any way, it just doesn't really help much either. Nope, I don't think I will be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1987 on 5/14/2010 8:35:00 PM more reviews by 1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

WOW! I love Ocean Salt! It's one of the best cleansers out there! I love that LUSH has done a great job with their products. I am acne prone and this stuff works like wonders. I had a generous sample and it lasted me about 2 weeks. I just ordered a huge tub of this! It's great because it exfoliates well and doens't make me break out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShellyMtz on 5/12/2010 11:47:00 PM more reviews by ShellyMtz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very often, I find that I over-treat my acne prone skin with lots of chemicals, and my skin turns red and flaky. I decided to take a more gentle aproach and ordered several LUSH products with great results.
I use Ocean Salt as a face scrub, 2 or 3 times a week. The smell is quite intriguing and fun, and some 20 secs of scrubing does the trick. My skin feels smooth and all my flakes are gone. With all Lush products, I have to be very careful about contamination and storage, and I wish this would be packaged differently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jkhan on 5/9/2010 1:16:00 PM more reviews by jkhan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this scrub, it smells nice and works great as a face and body exfoliant, but it's just too expensive for a salt scrub. both table salt and ocean salt are the same...NaCl. there aren't any added benefits from ocean salt. ocean salt sounds nicer but really...it's not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 5/3/2010 11:37:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Although Ocean Salt is supposedly a face and body scrub, I find thatI get much better results and more value for my money when I use it for my face only. Unless you have very sensitive skin or prefer very light exfoliation, the scrubby particles (salt) are too fine too give much exfoliation on the body. The salt melts too quickly on the body even when the water is turned off. Adding more scrub is just a waste since the salt dissolves almost instantly. At $34.95 for an 8.8 oz tub (I swear the price was just raised a few dollars sometime this year), Ocean Salt is just too expensive to waste on the body. For the body, I prefer a more substantial scrub such as Philosophy Hot Salt scrubs or even Lush's Buffy the Backside Slayer bar. Neither is cheap but at least they last longer and give me better exfoliation than Salt Scrub.


One thing to keep in mind about Ocean Salt, which I learned the hard way, is that the salt and citrus juices can sting cut skin or even skin that's just a little bit irritated. I cannot use Ocean Salt in very dry, cold weather when my skin is very stressed and dry. I prefer to use it in warm weather when my skin is oilier and can withstand more exfoliation. I absolutely love the mousse-like consistency and the clean fragrance. I bought the large tub and have only used up a little more than haf a tub in the last six months. I have already purchased a back-up tub and will definitely buy another when that one runs out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fabul0usxchic on 5/1/2010 10:41:00 PM more reviews by fabul0usxchic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

amazing product! A+ for this one lush! removes any trace of oil on my combo skin. also removes ALL dead/dry skin. leaves face silky smooth, no dents no bumps, no peeling skin. top it off with a great moisterizer and you're good to go.

smell is great, beatiful colours and cool texture.a bit pricey, but worth it. i don't recommend this for sensitive skin because it's very harsh. recomended for dry/dead skin & for removing oils. don't eat it. salty taste. you can also scrub your lips with this and top off with chapstick.

if it's too harsh for your face use on elbows, knees, heels etc.. don't use everyday. personally i use it once a week or once every 2 weeks. you can use it every 3 days tho depending on your choice. i would buy this product again!

tip * before going out or going to a party use this on your skin for fresh, glowing complexion. makes makeup easy to glide on, and makes your skin look awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rg1991 on 4/29/2010 5:00:00 PM more reviews by rg1991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this product for a long time now, and so far so good. I don't use it too often, so I'm not sure if my review could be accurate for those trying to find a cleanser to use on a daily basis. I find it a little harsh to use every day anyway, I mean it is an exfoliator and those aren't meant to use every day. Your skin is supposed to produce some kind of oil, just like your hair, etc. Anyway, I find that it really leaves you squeaky clean, whether you use it on your face or body. If you're the type that self tans, I definitely recommend this as your exfoliator, it leaves my skin like a clean slate for new color. As for acne, maybe if I used this like once a week, I might see more results, but so far, my breakouts are the same. Keep in mind guys that just like everyone's skin is different, everyone's acne is different too. The packaging isn't the greatest, considering if you stick your fingers in there, you get germs and bacteria etc, but then again it seems like most LUSH products are in tubs, so find a spoon or something clean to scoop it out. Overall, impressed at how clean it leaves you, will think about buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissButtons on 4/26/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by MissButtons

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

How could you not love this? It's visually stimulating and smells great.

The scrub can be very harsh, or very gentle depending on how you use it. I always wet my fingers and face before I scrub it in. This causes the salt to melt a little and not be so harsh. I have very sensitive skin and can use this a few times a week with no problems. My pores look smaller after using it and my face is brighter.

Use this on your feet and then slather on Lemony Flutter for "Oceany Flutter", a-mazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Scrubs products