Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.5(694 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jacbaby on 6/11/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by jacbaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i used bare minerals foundation for over a year and i thought i really liked it. i didnt get any zits after my face seriously looked like a pizza before switching to bare minerals and i thought i was happy with it. i really think i was fooling myself. everyday i didnt like that it didnt cover much and my face looked a little oily actually! and i do not really have oily skin! i tried revlon colorstay (fan of makeupgeek!) ONCE and i immediately bought 3 jars of it :). i suggest bare minerals foundation if you are one who doesnt like liquid or have very sensitive skin. if youre not pleased with their foundation definitley buy other products! i LOVE LOVE LOVE bare escentuals lip glosses, blushes, and eyeshadows. :D

p.s. find a BE outlet. they are so so so so much cheaper there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KaseyLynn on 6/11/2011 12:25:00 AM more reviews by KaseyLynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bare Escentuals is the best of the best for mineral foundation. I recently bought the new matte version, and it works just as great as the original formula. To be completely honest, I do not notice a difference between the matte and the original so I may go back to the original formula to save a couple of bucks. I like how they updated the packaging so that there is now a plastic filter that keeps the powder from spilling everywhere. This is definitely a good product, I am just not sure it trumps the original.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annaeJ on 6/7/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by annaeJ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had tried this in the past with not so good results, but decided, out of desperation, to try it again. The application is not as silky as the regular formula. It is VERY, VERY MATTE. The first time I put it on, I felt like my face was hurting from it being so dry.

What I LOVE about it is that it can last all day and not be a greasy mess like the regular formula. It also does not break me out because it doesn't have bismuth in it like the regular version.

The factor that is making me not use it again is that this is ORANGE. It is not "golden" like the name I picked. Golden Fair in the regular version is golden. This one is orange! It also has less coverage. If you have any acne scars, this won't cover them up well..

Such a shame.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 6/5/2011 1:41:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this first in Medium but it was too dark for me, also little too orange/red. Then I got it in "Light" and it seems perfect for my skin. I apply this with BE Full Flawless Face brush. The coverage is not what I want, it is too light for me, you can see all the little scars or blemishes, it is impossible to hide it. I tried with primers, I tried adding more and more of this foundation, I tried to wet the brush as per reviews, nothing worked. At the end I use it only when I do not want a good coverage or I also use it on top of my liquid foundation, it gives nice matte finish and my foundation lasts much longer.. so yes, sometimes I use it intead of a powder.
UPDATE: I returned this horrible thing - it broke me out. It contains bismuth smth and other ingredients that clog pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maeshiil on 6/5/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by maeshiil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried the regular Bare Minerals foundation and it broke me out. THIS however, does not. This stuff is really good. It has a matte finish, obviously, unlike the regular foundation which gives a "dewy" (in other words, greasy) look to the skin. The coverage is nice for a mineral foundation and if you use the Prime Time primer, the staying power is really good. The color range is superb. I have golden/yellow-ish skin and it's VERY difficult for me to find a foundation that matches my skin. However, the Golden Light matches me perfectly perfectly in the Winter and the Golden Medium or Golden Tan is my perfect Summer shade.

The cons are that you have to use a lot of product to get really nice coverage. Or at least I do. And if my skin is dry at all it will accentuate the dry patches and flake.

But it's pretty much flawless in the summer, when my skin is oilier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PamperedPrincess842 on 6/3/2011 3:29:00 PM more reviews by PamperedPrincess842

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently stopped using liquid foundation and concealer and switched over to Bare Escentuals because I didn't wanna spend another summer with an oily mess on my face and foundation dripping down my skin. I use the Bare Escentuals Bisque concealer to cover any blemishes and acne scars then use a Sephora brand kabuki brush to buff the foundation on my skin. I finish off with Mineral Veil. The result is more natural looking and longer lasting than my liquid foundation ever was. And I used Laura Mercier and Dior foundations, it's not like I was using cheap stuff.

Since switching over to the Bare Escentuals makeup my skin is about 80% clearer and I have less clogged pores. I was getting so fed up with my acne that I was considering ordering Pro Activ. But my skin is clearing up so much now. I used the Original formula of Bare Minerals in the past and hated it. It made my face look oily, it didn't hold up well over the course of the day and it made my skin itch and gave me weird bumps along my jawline. This Matte formulation is amazing though and I have had no adverse reactions to it. I use the Fair shade and it's a very good match for my skin. Everyone has different skin and not everyone is going to like this. But if you have oily, acne prone skin I urge you to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* realpeak on 6/3/2011 12:21:00 PM more reviews by realpeak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I really like this foundation. The original BE was a nightmare - broke me out in cysts, irritated my skin and made it itchy, oxidised, gave that 'tin man' effect, made my t-zone oily after a while. I decided to try the matte version as it did not contain bismuth and didn't have the shine that the original does.


I chose the shade 'FAIRLY GOLDEN' for my skintone. The colour match is very good, almost perfect. I have golden tones to my skin and this goes really well with it. I use my MAC 134 fluffy brush to apply (I've tried kabuki's and duo fibre brushes but this brush works the best) and it gives me a nice light dusting of powder over my sunscreen. Despite being called 'matte foundation' it does not look flat or dull on my skin at all. Over my sunscreen it actually has a glowy finish that stays like that throughout the day. You really need to moisturize well beforehand though as if you don't it will look cakey and dry. I think it works best for normal/combination-oily skintypes as it can be pretty drying if you have much dryness. It controls oil really well - I've worn this foundation in the hot humid summers in Korea and it held up ALL DAY without a primer underneath. Doesn't require touch-ups throughout the day.


What I love is that this foundation evens out my skin and masks redness, and doesn't look like a cakey mask. I love it for days when I'm just going for coffee with friends or out shopping, when I don't want to wear much makeup. It actually looks natural, my skin but better, and nobody can tell I'm wearing foundation when I have this on, not to mention it feels lightweight on my skin.


I do really like it but it's very overpriced (25 for not much product). Despite that, I will repurchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missxcindii on 5/28/2011 11:22:00 PM more reviews by missxcindii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite mineral foundation. If my skin is looking particularly clear I like to just use this foundation and a little bit of concealer. I'd say the coverage is light but buildable to a medium. Your skin definitely shines through. I have never tried the original so I can't compare. I do like the packaging and because I dont like to pile on the product in the cap I use a bowl to tap the foundation into and tap into my brush. Overall a great product for sensitive or oily or acne prone skin. The fairly light shade is my perfect match.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Brighteyes77 on 5/26/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Brighteyes77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I went to a BE event were I was treated to a facial with there new active soil line. Anywho, afterwards they asked did I want a free makeover to which I said of course! We decided to use the Matte formula for my foundation since I have combination skin. I never know if it's going to be oily or dry. Well, I do not like Matte. Like most reviewers I just don't feel the color match is right. I normally wear Warm Tan in the original. In the Matte, I wear something like Golden Yellow. Besides the coloring, I find my face to look like a grease-ball before the end of the day and I thought that was one of the benefits of this line was that the ingredients in the Matte absorbed the oil better!! I love Bare Escentuals/ Bare Minerals but I will be going back to the original formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yankeesweetie35 on 5/26/2011 8:08:00 PM more reviews by yankeesweetie35

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this because I have very oily skin, but I must say that I had much better luck with the original formula. First of all, the shades seem really off compared to the original formula. I've used Fairly Light in the past, which matched me well (NW20). However in the matte it was a lot more yellow. I also didn't like the feeling on my skin. It almost felt kind of itchy and I found it didn't cover as well as the original formula.

Since using Bare Minerals, I found an ever better option: Silk Naturals. Better ingredients, better performance, and cheaper! But if you're a BM devotee than stick with the original formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products