Bare Escentuals • Matte Foundation spf 15 • Powder

rated 3.4(667 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 macaholic123 on 4/19/2011 3:49:00 PM more reviews by macaholic123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a love/ hate relationship with this product. I hate that it doesn't have very much coverage, and if you try to build up it can get cakey. But I love that it doesn't break me out, and evens my skin tone. I'd compare this to a tinted moisturizer. Not much coverage, it just evens things out. I like this on day when I'm in a rush or just running around. I also love to wear this if I'm going to the beach or pool because I don't like wearing makeup there and it doesn't look like I'm wearing any. Oh yeah, I also don't know how I feel about the new packaging. I like the no-mess but you can't open it to get the last of the product out anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 akyky on 4/18/2011 3:14:00 AM more reviews by akyky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The matte formula is much better than the original formula. I use it as my daily foundation although it isn't that great. I guess it was just routine since I have been using BE for over 5 years now. I keep trying to switch to liquid but can't seem to find the right one for me -- its tends to always oxidize on me, and I have a lot of trouble because of wrong shades, breaks me out, makes me more shiny, or too much/too little coverage. The BE matte foundation is buildable but the coverage is limited. You can still see my acne scars and pimples but it's less red and blotchy. The oil control is mediocre. If I don't use my blot powder on top of it, I have to blot around 4 times a day.


You might ask, why do I continue to use this then? I'm one of those girls who don't like to look super made-up so I don't mind the light-medium coverage. I get the kind of acne that always raises to a large bump, and there is no makeup in the world that can cover that. There is also nothing that can control my oily skin, so sadly I have low standards for makeup. Basically, the matte formula:
1.) doesn't irritate my skin
2.) doesn't add a sheen to my face or change color on me
3.) has a handy "click, lock, go" sifter
4.) has a large color range so I get a somewhat close match to my shade
5.) gives me a little oil control
6.) makes my acne/scars slightly less noticeable (but still apparent)
7.) is on the lower price range in terms of quality mineral makeup


This product might be great for those who have combination skin with little to no acne and scarring. Otherwise it is pretty mediocre. I ran out of my matte foundation a few days ago and have upgraded to Laura Mercier mineral foundation. Let's hope that this finally makes me drop BE altogether.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 giasabine on 4/9/2011 12:51:00 PM more reviews by giasabine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I could never find a color match, even with mixing different shades to get a better result. It stayed on ok, but over time I started noticing a bunch of whiteheads coming up on my skin. It did not happen right away, but gradually. The same happened to a friend of mine. No, I will not buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 4/9/2011 12:30:00 PM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this foundation. I was previously using the original Bare Minerals Foundation but decided to try the matte one out as the original left me itchy and cakey.


The website I purchased this from said that the Matte version ran slightly dark than the original line due to the nature of the ingredients, and recommended to go down a shade, so I did and got the 'Golden Fair' that is a shade below Light. Golden Fair is much too light for me (when I was an NC25), but fitted ok in winter when I was an NC20. I then just purchased the Light shade like I used in the original and I actually think it's the same as than the original! It is slightly less orangey but that's all. I'm not pleased with the colour match as it's a sloppy mix of yellow and pink tones to my eyes, which doesn't flatter my golden tones at all. Perhaps I would've been better going for the 'medium' category then 'light' but the SA said light would be better for my golden tones...:|


The packaging has a lock which makes it really easy to carry around for travelling but it can still get a little messy as powder flies everywhere!


The finish it gives on the skin is EXTREMELY matte and flat. It makes my skin feel dry and tight (I have normal/combo skin) and I have to apply a load of moisturizer beforehand. It evens out my skintone and gets rid of reddness but looks rather cakey. My skin does look near-flawless when I wear it though as it gives medium coverage.


I have very sensitive skin that reacted to the bismuth in the original foundation and thought this one would be great as it doesn't contain it...however, my skin still itches! Not gentle like I thought it would be :( It stays that way all day and I don't have to blot or touch-up. Lasting power is good, about 9 hours on me WITHOUT primer or setting powder. Doesn't transfer onto anything.


Overall I'm not happy with it, especially when I paid 25. I will definately not be repurchasing. I occasionally just use it as a setting powder not (VERY light layer) so it doesn't go to waste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BreeBee on 4/8/2011 9:24:00 PM more reviews by BreeBee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Meh..its okay but there really isn't any wow factor from this foundation. This is my first time using BE and I really expected it to be amazintg..it wasn't. Its not shiny so thats good but it doesn't cover very well at all. I mean, I know its suppose to look natural but it just looks powdery, no bueno. And so much for only using a little, I have to use a bunch to get any coverage at all, which is slim. Pretty dissapointed, I'll be going back to liquid foundation, at least it covers. What a waste of cash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Harley09 on 4/5/2011 5:48:00 PM more reviews by Harley09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had switched to this last year from their original formula because matte was new and sounded interesting to try. After using it for almost a year I can honestly say I am not impressed, it's not full coverage, maybe medium at best which isn't a problem but it still doesn't feel like it's doing anything aside from making my face look powdery. I liked the original formula but when I tried it on again recently I noticed how shimmery it was, I'm going back to liquid foundation not only for coverage but also so I can have a coordinating compact for touch ups.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Pher1447 on 4/5/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by Pher1447

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product breaks me out. The coverage is poor and comes off easily. I will not buy this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cristalle65 on 4/4/2011 11:10:00 AM more reviews by cristalle65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation in Fairly Medium, it works very well on my fair/med. skin tone. I love the matte look, and the lack of sparkles on my cheeks and nose! It feels smoother than the regular BE foundation upon application, and I use less of it than I did the regular also. One thing I have learned from using BE powder foundations that moisturizer is mandatory for me. I let it dry then go to work with my long handled kabuki brush (from everyday minerals) it takes just a minute or two and my facial skin is presentable and ready for blush, contouring, etc. (I conceal beforehand with BE Bisque multi-tasker) I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miksterrr on 4/3/2011 8:44:00 PM more reviews by miksterrr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

when i first tried this out in sephora, i LOVED it. the assistant that helped me found me my perfect shade and applied it so for the first time since 6th grade, i appeared to have flawless skin.

since then, i haven't been able to achieve the same look. it's still great, but i'm on the hunt for something a little better. it needs to be reapplied throughout the day, and without a good primer, it's hopeless. i CAN get a good coverage with it, but i find i have to use a little more product that i would like with this..

i'll repurchase if i can't find anything better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 3/31/2011 5:12:00 PM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been wearing the original BE foundation in #1 for about seven years. I'm pale and I liked the coverage it gave me but after a lot of years of wearing the original, I started to notice I looked too shimmery. I started looking a little sweaty in the foundation. I was excited to try the matte version. I have dry skin and sometimes I will get a flaky patch on the right side of my face between my chin and lip. I exfoliate it, moisturize it, but it won't go away. The matte foundation will accentuate any dry areas if you're not careful. I also need to mention that I am pale but have a lot of redness to my skin. I need a medium to full coverage. BE is buildable but it's not a full coverage foundation. When I bought the matte shade, the sales person told me 1.2 was a better match for me. It's yellow based and she said it would help to combat the redness I have. I've been using this for a few weeks and I prefer it to the original. The finish is matte, which I like. There's no "glow" to it. I would rather put highlighter where I want glow than have my whole face dewey looking. I have noticed that I have to use more matte foundation to get the coverage I got from the original. I always use a color corecting concealor under my BE so I don't have to use as much BE foundation. It gives me better coverage that way. A good brush is key with application. I use the NARS bronzer brush or Bobbi Brown's kabuki. Those both work great for me. It blends the foundation in nicely. Also, to get a more even application, it's important for me to exfoliate my skin, apply lotion and primer before the foundation. Now that I'm getting older, I like the look of the matte foundation more than the original. I would recommend this to people who like mineral foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products