Bare Escentuals Matte Foundation spf 15

3.4

737 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 15% and Zinc Oxide 5% INACTIVE ingredients: Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Calcium Silicate, Soil Minerals. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides


on 10/16/2011 10:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

It provides sheer to medium coverage, is quite comfortable on my skin and does a decent job on controlling the oil on my face for about 3 hours. And I actually didn't believe the hype about mineral foundation being good for your skin but now I do! After washing this stuff off, my complexion is glowing and oh-so-smooth, no breakouts whatsoever. But the price is a tad too high for my budget though.



on 10/10/2011 11:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I go back and forth on this product. I have it four stars because of the cost. I love this foundation with the combination of Smashbox primer. It makes my skin look so smooth & natural. However, there are times when I don't get the best coverage with this and need to use something a bit more.

I will buy again!


on 10/8/2011 8:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I own this in the color Medium Beige. Medium Beige in the Matte version runs a shade darker than than the same shade in the Original version. Also, it doesn't have a neutral undertone to it, but more of a brown undertone. And, after it starts to oxidize on the face, your face just gets browner and tanner looking in tone.

Also, it doesn't provide a lot of coverage at all. Thanfully, I dont have major discoloration or lots of pimples to hide. Otherwise, this foundation would have been a total waste of my money.

Now, the Matte foundation does have mattifying properties to it. However, I do not find it to be overly matte-to the point where a finishing powder is not needed. Now, its oil control properties are definitely better than the Original version. However, the usage of a finishing powder over it is still needed in my opinion.

Thankfully, the foundation has never caused breakouts for me. And, I actually think that this may be due to it active soil complex that's supposed to help increase cell renewal. So, at least that's one big positive that I can attribute to this powder.

The main times that I will wear the Matte foundation is when the weather is warm/hot out. Otherwise, I really am not a big fan of it. And, after I've used up all that I have, I do not plan to re-purchase any more of this stuff.


on 10/1/2011 1:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This gives remarkably great coverage for a powder. It's also very natural looking. I've heard a lot about how mineral makeup improves the look of skin over time, and I'm excited to see if that claim is true. It's easy to apply (I use the bare escentuals feather light brush to buff it on) I don't really like how the product comes out, and it doesn't work well as a concealer for the eye area as I was told it would, so I gave it 4 stars, not 5. There is a HUGE shade selection. I am extremely pale, and usually I can never find products light enough. Usually things like foundation and concealer are so dark, even the lightest shade is 5 shades too dark. But I was matched to golden fair, which surprisingly, isn't the fairest shade. It has slight yellow undertones to neutralize my pink ones. I really recommend this.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is HORRIBLE. It doesn't work by any stretch of the imagination. I have clear skin with the exception of my dark circles and it did nothing no matter how much I applied.


on 9/27/2011 1:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It's a very light makeup. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who has great skin, but just wants a nice, flawless touch. However, for anyone trying to use it as a full coverage or a nice concealer of blemishes, DO NOT USE. It wears soo easily and it actually makes your skin look worse with it on after it has faded than if you were to wear none at all. However, it didn't make me break out at all...probably the only good thing about it. But, if you're looking for something that lasts, conceals blemishes, and leaves a nice glow....this definitely ISN'T your product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2011 3:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

After finding the original Bare Escentuals a bit too 'shiny' on its own, I thought I'd give this one a go. I bought it in 'Fair'. I think it doesn't gives quite as good a coverage as the original version and it *sort of* keeps the oily t-zone at bay for a good few hours, but I still find myself having to touch up my t-zone by late afternoon.
I'm not sure if I'd purchase the Matte version again as it's too expensive for what it is (and not to mention time consuming!), but I've done a bit of alchemy and mixed half of my original Fairly Light with half of this pot of Light Matte and got the coverage and consistency I love! But sod that for a long-term solution, I think I'd be sticking to my MAC studiofix powder once this has ran out (yes, I'm lazy)!!

EDIT: I've given this a month, gone back my unmixed version (just the matte that I bought), tried my mixed version numerous times and hate hate hate it! I look like one of those old women who cake their face in too much powder and that's even with my light hand! Ugh. Wish I'd never bought it.


on 9/16/2011 9:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Blech, gets dark and greasy pretty quickly. I used to use the original formula until I realized how shiny it was and how much it settled into lines. I also had difficulty matching my pale yellow-toned skin. I thought this one might be a better bet, since the palest shade, Fair, tested well in the store and it advertizes as "matte". Within an hour it had oxidized to an orangey-red shade. My neck and face were very obvious! It also felt heavy. For some reason, I imagined this would provide good coverage, but feel light and airy. Not so! I have combination, sensitive skin and it became greasy in about 2 hours, more so than normal. This is definitely a miss for me, it's going back to the store. There are several easy powders for sensitive skin out there- I will stick with Dior Extreme powder, which never breaks me out, has a great pale shade, lasts all day and takes 10 seconds to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2011 12:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried out a sample of this and decided against buying the full size product for several reasons. For one, this powder foundation emphasizes my pores and imperfections. It looks worse after it has been on my face for a few hours. I also noticed that any lines are accentuated, especially in my eye area, making me look older. This would probably work for someone with near perfect skin, but I'm not that candidate so I will stick with liquid foundations.


on 9/4/2011 7:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I agree with Weezie24. As a matter of fact, I thought I was the only person who has oily skin who knows your skin care routine and products you use will effect how your makeup will look on you. With that being said, I use Korres skin care products which are awesome. I started out just using the oil control products, but seeing as I will be 30 in seven months I started using the anti-aging and oil control products. I also realized that it is essential for those with oily skin to exfoliate at least once a day. Since my skin care routine has been figured out, any makeup I put on my face looks good regardless. Adn I'm not a makeup artist. I'm just someone who likes to take care of their skin and body.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review/Comparison: BareMinerals vs. It Cosmetics Celebration Foundation Illumination by TheKatalicious17



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Rose Radiance

76 reviews
image

Faux Tan

257 reviews
Back to Top