Physicians Formula • Eye booster eyeliner + serum • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(351 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tereserocha on 6/17/2011 8:53:00 PM more reviews by tereserocha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought Very Black on sale for $11 from Shoppers Drug Mart. It came with a full price mail in rebate (which I'm still waiting for after 1 month). It also claims to make your lashes fuller and thicker. Here's the run down:

PACKAGING
-The shiny silver pen-like packaging make it look expensive and attractive =)
-No maintenance or dipping required
-No button or twisty thing to make the actual product come out of the brush

BRUSH
-Very fine & soft
-Allows full control of the thickness of my eyeliner
-I can't really clean it (so there's an increased risk of contamination)

APPLICATION
-Absolutely no tugging!
-Oh so smooth!
-Perfect winged liner everytime!
-Difficult at first because the brush is so fine but once I got the hang of it, my whole universe changed!
-I only apply it on my upper lid. I haven't tried waterlining and tightlining with this yet.

COLOR
-"Very black" is more soft black
-It is buildable but if you're looking for a deep dark black then I am afraid this is not for you.

DURATION
-Give it 5-10 seconds to dry and it will last all day WITH PRIMER (I use Urban Decay)
-It doesn't say it's waterproof but I wore it to a funeral and to my convocation and I cried both times and the product held up pretty well---no cracks, smears,fading!
-Easily comes off with Clean & Clear Eye Makeup remover or drugstore makeup remover wipes

PRICE
-It normally retails for $14-$16 Canadian. To me, it's a bit pricey for a drugstore eyeliner but it's Physicians Formula and it is not on the cheap side of drugstore brands
-The mail in rebate helps but I haven't received it yet

PROS
-Precise and high performance application
-Fast drying
-Awesome staying power
-Easy to find in drugstores

CONS
-The concept is nice but no change in the volume or length of my asian eyelashes =(
-Pricey drugstore eyeliner.
-Color is lighter than described on the box.
-I think I'm allergic because after I remove it my eyelids itch which has never happened before. My friend has not experienced this with the product but says the lash boosting part is working on me, hence the itching (I don't believe her). So one lippie off.

BUY AGAIN?
I want to. I really love it but I'm concerned about the itching. So I'll say no for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RayvnNA on 6/17/2011 2:57:00 AM more reviews by RayvnNA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, Physician's Formula can be so day and night. Not that long ago I reviewed the felt tip eyeliner and found it to be horrible in terms of quality and pigment. I have the black of this eyeliner and find it a great liquid eyeliner! It's pretty similar to the Smashbox Limitless Liner Pen which I really love. I think this black is pigmented and goes on dark and smooth. The worst part of eyeliner pens like this is that they seem to dry out rather quickly which leads to bad application. This one has a good cap that helps keep the tip fresh. I've had it for a while now and it has not dried out one bit. Now I did not buy this expecting any lash growth, and I don't suggest you rely on this for lash growth either. For one thing, I don't use the same eyeliner throughout the week. For another thing, read the box. It says that the women who stated their eyelashes looked fuller were wearing the eyeliner and the mascara at the time. That's just hilarious! I might not buy this at full price, but I'd buy it on sale.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WhackyAki on 6/16/2011 12:47:00 AM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really really like this liner. It's easy to use, has a great design, and I did notice some lash growth. Unfortunately it does tend to flake off a bit during the day, but maybe I just bought an older tube...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sylviaangelina on 6/12/2011 12:37:00 AM more reviews by sylviaangelina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this liner/serum combo. I use this in the morning and another eyelash growth serum at night (currently I use Silk Natural Eyelash Conditioning Gel) to maintain my eyelashes. It's easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DarkCircIes on 6/12/2011 12:03:00 AM more reviews by DarkCircIes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I owned kat Von D tattoo liner, Lorac liquid liner, and I've already purchased a backup, you can tell how much I love it! I don't see much different in lash growth but I love the formular and consistency of this product. It stays on my upper lash line until I take it off. No flaking, no smudging. I hope they never discontinue this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jesticles on 6/8/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by Jesticles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in clear and love it. It seems like there's been an increase in my lash length, not so much of width but we'll see. I like the applicator and makes my lids feels moisturized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 benfoldsfivealive on 5/27/2011 11:04:00 PM more reviews by benfoldsfivealive

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I never use pencil liners, only liquid. Having said that, this is a pretty nice eyeliner, but I had a reaction to it, so I won't be repurchasing. I've never tried any other growth serum, so I'm not sure how it compares to others. I applied this two days in a row, and on both days my eyes were REALLLY dry and itchy, forcing me to want to rub them. For a few days after using it I felt the aftermath, and my lids were puffy and felt like something was stuck in them. Not cool. Funny thing is, after just two uses, the lashes on my right eye are significantly longer and thicker, so I'm actually quite PO'd that I can't use this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 divasinger5 on 5/24/2011 8:56:00 AM more reviews by divasinger5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently discovered this liner/serum combo product and so far I am very pleased with the results. I've been using it for 2 weeks, and I've notice a significant growth in my lashes. It's a great liner also.
The brush is a stiff synthetic brush that kind of looks like a sponge tip applicator. But it's much easier to use than a stiff sponge. The brush allows me to easily apply a very thin line or go as thick as I want.
I give it a 5 because overall it is inexpensive for the quality and easy to use. I will be keeping this as a staple.
I have it in black, and if I want to use a colored liner, I can simply apply a very thin line of the a serum/liner to the lash line before applying a colored liner. Plus it dries almost instantly and is water proof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nycxbabiixgurl on 5/22/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by nycxbabiixgurl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LoVee this liner!! reminds me of asian cosmetics and they're usually hard to find in the u.s. I went out and bought this b.c (fuzkittie) on youtube loves thisnand i trust her opinion cuz she definitely had tried tons of product from low to high end.. i cant believe how thin and precise this brush is.. i just hope the price was a lil lower cuz its pretty expensive for drugstore's liner.. i think its very comparable to the LORAC's liquid liner.. that works wonder.. but certainly for cheaper.!! one again I LOVE this!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sashkagirl on 5/20/2011 8:27:00 PM more reviews by sashkagirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My eyelashes actually grew within 4 days! It was amazing...the eyeliner itself is good, does tend to flake off a bit during the day and it not very pigmented (have to go over the line several times), but the brush is very precise and the packaging is very convenient and sleek. It is also VERY easy to take off (a plus with me, since any other eyeliner is very hard to take off for me resulting in red, itchy eyes). This one you can literally take off with just plain water. Overall highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eyeliner products