Physicians Formula • Eye booster eyeliner + serum • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(353 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 boilerscuba on 6/25/2011 10:26:00 PM more reviews by boilerscuba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What PF claims:
-High-tech formula enhances the appearance of lashes while providing the instant definition of a liquid eyeliner, in one easy step!
-Lash Boosting complex targets the base of lashes where it is most effective.
-Innovative and easy to use eyelining tool delivers effortless definition.
- High-tech Japanese formula is long-wearing, water-resistant and smudge-resistant.
- Hypoallergenic. Fragrance free. Paraben free. Dermatologist approved. Safe for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers.
-For the thickest, lushest lashes, use Eye Booster along upper lash line daily. This easy to use liner will add an instant lash-boosting effect and its high-performance formula is designed to enhance the appearance of lashes in as little as 2 weeks! After just 4 weeks, 91% of women saw longer and fuller looking lashes!

The last statement is based on individual participants PERCEPTION, btw. Not actual measurements, but just perception. lol Anyways onto the review:

1. The eyeliner: 4/5
-Good wear, and can withstand a day of muggy weather However, it cannot withstand rainy weather even when my face WAS NOT directly rained on. Weird. The e/l flaked like mascara (I wasn't wearing mascara this day).
- Easy removal
- Like other reviewers have noted, the brush is thin enough not to give a look like from a felt-tip, but also is stiff enough to offer control. This is my first 'brush' liner, and I have no difficulty controlling the brush.
- Colors: I have black and Brown. Both are not in your face, but still apparent even with one... stroke? Anyways, they are also build-able without worrying about looking like raccoons. That would take a LOT of e/l. :)
- Hypoallergenicity: In all honesty, NO PRODUCT CAN BE TRULY HYPOALLERGENIC. A product may exclude certain chemicals that are harsh or known to cause allergic reactions, but if with a hyper-reactive immune system, anyone can become allergic to anything.... seriously. It annoys me when companies say that they are hypoallergenic. A company should state "contains non-hash chemicals" or "excludes known allergens," in stead. But I deviate... I have very sensitive eyes, and for some reason, I have reacted to each and every eye product that I have tried from Maybelline and Covergirl. I have also reacted to Sephora eye products as well. My eyes were only slightly irritated from use, but this does not occur every time I use it.
- Price 10.95 + tax. NOT cheap for a DS product.

2. Lash booster: 1/5
I did NOT see any improvement in length or thickness or number of my lashes. I have been using this eyeliner consistently since march, and see NO improvement whatsoever.
The results PF mentions on the packaging is not a trial conducted by PF but rather a participant-based non-controlled report... VERY MISLEADING. I did not really buy it for the lash boosting qualities though I can imagine some people did. It would have been nice if my lashes were really longer. No standard measurements were conducted for a control, and honestly, I think people can make-believe a lot. In other words, they see the results they want to see (longer/ thicker/ whatever lashes) than really see the reality...
- Ingredients: MYRISTOYL PENTAPEPTIDE-17 seems to be the stimulant to lash growth, so I did some research on it.

I found an article on Tarte MultiplEYE that concerns the said peptide:
"Instead of bimatoprost or any other prostaglandin analogs, the active ingredient in MultiplEye is myristoyl pentapeptide-17, which is also the star of Jan Marini Eyelash Conditioner. Peptides are believed to stimulate hair growth at the follicle, but it needs to be stressed that all peptides are not created equal. Though certain peptides have shown to stimulate epidermal cell and hair growth in mice, myristoyl pentapeptide-17 does not seem to crop up in any peer-reviewed, independent studies documenting hair growth. On the other hand, Jan Marini is known for impressive in-house research studies and must have a substantiated reason for its choice of ingredients."

So at best... maybe this peptide does actually help growth. The rest of the ingredients are normal in e/l (when compared to MUFE waterproof liquid liner, etc).

All in all, I would def repurchase as many DS have deals for PF and is a decent e/l that can be bought for a decent price. I would never purchase full price. 11+ for a DS product is not the way to go. [I'd rather buy UD 24/7 Glide-on] The 3 was given based on the 2 separate parts of the review: 4 + 1 divided by 2 = 2.5 And I like rounding up... so yeah. :) Hope this helps.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 electropop3545 on 6/19/2011 7:13:00 PM more reviews by electropop3545

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Finally something that DOESN'T SMUDGE! Man years and years of trying find anything that doesn't smudge on me and physicians formula finally does it! Gotta love this, pigmented , smooth, I absolutely adore the brush tip. My only concern is that it does flake a bit on me(but what doesn't), but out of all the hundreds of eyeliners I've tried, this lasts the longest. Also sometimes the liquid doesn't come out so I have to shake it and draw a couple of lines on my hand but other than that HG babyy!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tereserocha on 6/17/2011 8:53:00 PM more reviews by tereserocha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought Very Black on sale for $11 from Shoppers Drug Mart. It came with a full price mail in rebate (which I'm still waiting for after 1 month). It also claims to make your lashes fuller and thicker. Here's the run down:

PACKAGING
-The shiny silver pen-like packaging make it look expensive and attractive =)
-No maintenance or dipping required
-No button or twisty thing to make the actual product come out of the brush

BRUSH
-Very fine & soft
-Allows full control of the thickness of my eyeliner
-I can't really clean it (so there's an increased risk of contamination)

APPLICATION
-Absolutely no tugging!
-Oh so smooth!
-Perfect winged liner everytime!
-Difficult at first because the brush is so fine but once I got the hang of it, my whole universe changed!
-I only apply it on my upper lid. I haven't tried waterlining and tightlining with this yet.

COLOR
-"Very black" is more soft black
-It is buildable but if you're looking for a deep dark black then I am afraid this is not for you.

DURATION
-Give it 5-10 seconds to dry and it will last all day WITH PRIMER (I use Urban Decay)
-It doesn't say it's waterproof but I wore it to a funeral and to my convocation and I cried both times and the product held up pretty well---no cracks, smears,fading!
-Easily comes off with Clean & Clear Eye Makeup remover or drugstore makeup remover wipes

PRICE
-It normally retails for $14-$16 Canadian. To me, it's a bit pricey for a drugstore eyeliner but it's Physicians Formula and it is not on the cheap side of drugstore brands
-The mail in rebate helps but I haven't received it yet

PROS
-Precise and high performance application
-Fast drying
-Awesome staying power
-Easy to find in drugstores

CONS
-The concept is nice but no change in the volume or length of my asian eyelashes =(
-Pricey drugstore eyeliner.
-Color is lighter than described on the box.
-I think I'm allergic because after I remove it my eyelids itch which has never happened before. My friend has not experienced this with the product but says the lash boosting part is working on me, hence the itching (I don't believe her). So one lippie off.

BUY AGAIN?
I want to. I really love it but I'm concerned about the itching. So I'll say no for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RayvnNA on 6/17/2011 2:57:00 AM more reviews by RayvnNA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, Physician's Formula can be so day and night. Not that long ago I reviewed the felt tip eyeliner and found it to be horrible in terms of quality and pigment. I have the black of this eyeliner and find it a great liquid eyeliner! It's pretty similar to the Smashbox Limitless Liner Pen which I really love. I think this black is pigmented and goes on dark and smooth. The worst part of eyeliner pens like this is that they seem to dry out rather quickly which leads to bad application. This one has a good cap that helps keep the tip fresh. I've had it for a while now and it has not dried out one bit. Now I did not buy this expecting any lash growth, and I don't suggest you rely on this for lash growth either. For one thing, I don't use the same eyeliner throughout the week. For another thing, read the box. It says that the women who stated their eyelashes looked fuller were wearing the eyeliner and the mascara at the time. That's just hilarious! I might not buy this at full price, but I'd buy it on sale.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WhackyAki on 6/16/2011 12:47:00 AM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really really like this liner. It's easy to use, has a great design, and I did notice some lash growth. Unfortunately it does tend to flake off a bit during the day, but maybe I just bought an older tube...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sylviaangelina on 6/12/2011 12:37:00 AM more reviews by sylviaangelina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this liner/serum combo. I use this in the morning and another eyelash growth serum at night (currently I use Silk Natural Eyelash Conditioning Gel) to maintain my eyelashes. It's easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DarkCircIes on 6/12/2011 12:03:00 AM more reviews by DarkCircIes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I owned kat Von D tattoo liner, Lorac liquid liner, and I've already purchased a backup, you can tell how much I love it! I don't see much different in lash growth but I love the formular and consistency of this product. It stays on my upper lash line until I take it off. No flaking, no smudging. I hope they never discontinue this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jesticles on 6/8/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by Jesticles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in clear and love it. It seems like there's been an increase in my lash length, not so much of width but we'll see. I like the applicator and makes my lids feels moisturized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 benfoldsfivealive on 5/27/2011 11:04:00 PM more reviews by benfoldsfivealive

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I never use pencil liners, only liquid. Having said that, this is a pretty nice eyeliner, but I had a reaction to it, so I won't be repurchasing. I've never tried any other growth serum, so I'm not sure how it compares to others. I applied this two days in a row, and on both days my eyes were REALLLY dry and itchy, forcing me to want to rub them. For a few days after using it I felt the aftermath, and my lids were puffy and felt like something was stuck in them. Not cool. Funny thing is, after just two uses, the lashes on my right eye are significantly longer and thicker, so I'm actually quite PO'd that I can't use this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 divasinger5 on 5/24/2011 8:56:00 AM more reviews by divasinger5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently discovered this liner/serum combo product and so far I am very pleased with the results. I've been using it for 2 weeks, and I've notice a significant growth in my lashes. It's a great liner also.
The brush is a stiff synthetic brush that kind of looks like a sponge tip applicator. But it's much easier to use than a stiff sponge. The brush allows me to easily apply a very thin line or go as thick as I want.
I give it a 5 because overall it is inexpensive for the quality and easy to use. I will be keeping this as a staple.
I have it in black, and if I want to use a colored liner, I can simply apply a very thin line of the a serum/liner to the lash line before applying a colored liner. Plus it dries almost instantly and is water proof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Eyeliner products