Too Faced • Chocolate Soleil • Bronzers

rated 4.5(317 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kmakie3414 on 12/28/2009 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Kmakie3414

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this bronzer in a set and it's pretty much the only bronzer I use because I don't really like shimmery bronzers for some reason. This blends really well and lasts a pretty long time. I also love the smell yeah I love this bronzer it looks so natural and I love the smell-will definitely buy again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lorizzle33 on 12/27/2009 8:53:00 PM more reviews by Lorizzle33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG bronzer, great for sculpting cheekbones. I love that it's matte and so pigmented and the perfect color to fake a tan. I was slightly freaked out by the chocolate smell when I first bought it, and how the smell stays in your makeup brushes. My only gripe is that it contains cocoa butter which can clog pores and I have very acne prone skin, so I try to only use this on special occasions.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bombasticclassic on 11/17/2009 6:05:00 AM more reviews by bombasticclassic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This product is great as far as fulfilling it's promises- it is a matte, semi-deep brown bronzer with no orange or red hues (I'm not sure what everyone else is talking about), which makes it great for regular bronzing or contouring (what I use it for). As a contour I have to say this is HG material. Its color makes natural looking shadows across the face and honestly I haven't found many other suitable shades for contouring that haven't been discontinued (MAC I'm looking at you). It doesn't cake, blends well, and lasts respectably throughout the day with maybe only one light touch up. I do wish it wore off a little more evenly but I can't blame the product since I do touch my face a lot. I like the fact that they use real cocoa (antioxidants!) in the powder, which I think my skin likes. No breakouts here, and I do consider myself somewhat acne prone. The metallic chocolate colored compact with pink fishnet patterns across it is to die for, as well as the chocolate/ vanilla cupcake scent, which is strong but doesn't stay on your face so it's ok. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 is actually the reason why it makes such a good contour (le sigh, we'll never be happy haha), which is because it lacks color. I find that on days where I use this, I'll skip the blush and then wonder why I look so colorless for the rest of the day. Even though I do prefer my perfect contour color to be colorless, I guess I don't want my bronzer to be. Stupid, I know. Therefore it is my HG contour powder (for now) but not HG bronzer/ blush

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Saramela on 10/24/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Saramela

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

UPDATED: I returned this to Sephora. It needed a really light hand and a couple of times I overdid it and it looked awful and a red undertone appeared. I replaced it with Sephora's Bahama bronzer which really is a dupe of Hoola in compact form.

ORIGINAL OVERENTHUSIASTIC REVIEW: I've been a dedicated Hoola user for as long as I can remember. It's been my HG for at least 6 years, but that was until I discovered TF's Chocolate Soleil. I love matte, pure brown bronzers, and the only complaint I had about Hoola was the cardboard box packaging. (I know some people think it's cute, but I hate it with a passion.) Chocolate Soleil is the perfect replacement in my stash. The color looks the same on me and the compact is what I've been wanting all along. I use MAC's 187 to apply it lightly all over my face and I love the tan glow it gives me. I wish TF didn't have the chocolate scent, but it doesn't bother me since it fades quickly. If you're looking for a matte brown, non-orange, non-pink bronzer, give this a try. If you're pale you can use it with a light hand, and if you're dark you can build the color. Very flexible to use and worth the investment!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mu5icbtch on 10/4/2009 2:50:00 PM more reviews by mu5icbtch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm disappointed with this. I don't like the scent - it smells fake to me, not like real cocoa. The price is ridiculous although I guess you get quite a bit of product for your money. I like that there's a mirror included.


My real gripe is 2 things - firstly, it looks slightly orange on my skintone. I'm biracial but my skintone is light, but very tanned (NC37-40 depending on time of year) if that makes sense? Anyway, whenever I applied this I couldnt help thinking it looked sort of orange. My second gripe would be that it broke me out. Seeing as it looked orange, I decided to just use it as a contour colour on my cheekbones and on my temples. Needless to say, after about 1 week of using, I broke out ALL along my cheekbone where I'd been putting this, and along the left side of my temple. I switched back to my MAC emote contour and the breakouts disappeared 2 days later.


I wouldn't repurchase this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinchopeach on 9/16/2009 1:18:00 AM more reviews by pinchopeach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

i'm nc30 in the winter with yellow undertones. i just went to sephora and tried this bronzer on because of the great reviews and this was just too flat brown for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elizsafox on 8/20/2009 10:19:00 AM more reviews by elizsafox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I appreciate this bronzer because it isn't glittery and does not make your face look too shiny. The smell (chocolate), of course, is wonderful, and the packaging very cute. The only concern I have with this is that it is fairly dark. I'm a medium - tan skin girl and it is even a bit dark for my taste. Faces are usually lighter in complexion than the rest of the body and this makes my face look just as tan as the rest of me. I am going to try using a different brush though, as that may reduce the amount I am putting on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettyreckless on 8/14/2009 3:36:00 AM more reviews by prettyreckless

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite bronzer as of now. The color is natural and is very buildable but could be sheer depending on your brush. It has a tint of brown instead of orange (like most bronzers) which makes it seem like you just got back from a vacation. Perfect for summer, but we'll see how it works out in the fall/winter. Smells pretty good, but I'm not too crazy about it. Will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MarilynMalibu on 8/2/2009 2:56:00 PM more reviews by MarilynMalibu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this bronzer! It has a really nice and fine texture so it goes on smoothly and you can control how much you apply (just don't use a heavy hand). It gives an all natural tan color - gives my extremely fair skin a nice healthy does of color that does look believable. The packaging is great - the compact is sturdy and heavy. The best part? The smell is delicious! It has a great chocolate smell - and not your fake, sickeningly sweet smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikkilici0us on 7/25/2009 9:24:00 PM more reviews by Nikkilici0us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Today I went into Sephora, searching for a new bronzer. I've been trying for a while to branch out from my usual Benefit Hoola, but haven't been able to find a bronzer that's matte and NOT orange. Just upon passing the Too Faced set-up, I was instantly drawn to the chocolate soleil bronzer (and there was one left!!!). My sister, who is barely into makeup, picked it up right away and loved it, so I snatched up the last one and basically bought it on a whim. I already had the MUFE mat bronze #4 in my hand, but I bought both, brought them home, and totally am loving the chocolate soleil (the MUFE bronzer is beautiful, too, though I actually am preferring this one)! First, it's actually BROWN! No orange tones at all... second, the packaging is very chic, with a cute little mirror on the inside... third, the powder is smooth and super pigmented... and fourth, it smells absolutely amazing! So happy to have found this, I hope they don't stop making it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Bronzers products