MAC • Satin Lipstick - Myth • Lipstick

rated 4.0(586 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellar on 3/19/2010 3:23:00 PM more reviews by stellar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Being a nude lipstick (and gloss) addict, I can't believe I haven't tried this yet. Well, yes I can... For some stupid reason, I was thinking this was the lipstick I had tried years and years ago that was just hideous on me, when the one I had it mistaken for was Eden Rocks. Fortunately I finally realized this and gave it a try! This is already my HG nude lip color. I *adored* my Peachstock when it first came out a long time ago. When I found one on ebay about a year ago I jumped on the opportunity and bought another one. Unfortunately for whatever reason, that Peachstock was quite a bit darker and more of a deep peach than my lovely pale peach/beige lipstick! I was totally bummed out, but I've now found the perfect replacement. It's not identical to Peachstock but it's close enough and I love the fact that it's a peachy nude. Those work best for me. I don't have any problems with it accentuating dryness or lines. Amazing, amazing lipstick. I will undoubtedly be repurchasing many times! For reference, I'm NC15 and I can wear this alone without looking dead. It looks great with gloss over it too. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bubblewarped on 3/19/2010 2:47:00 PM more reviews by bubblewarped

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i was a little disappointed with this although i've since found ways to use it. it's useful for cutting down brighter colors or creating a base to put brighter colors over, but it's extremely necessary to use a dabbing/blotting motion when applying. the texture is quite dry and not very buildable, as it tends to become chalky and uneven with repeated applications. i'm nc-25ish so that might be why the color was just straight up unflattering on me, but i still wasn't too impressed with the consistency. i initially purchased this hoping for a good 'concealer effect' nude lipstick but my search continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AJT711 on 3/17/2010 9:15:00 AM more reviews by AJT711

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This color is one of M.A.C.s most popular colors. If you like to do smokey eyes then this is the perfect color because it cancels out your lip color so the attention is focused on your eyes. Looks great when paired with C-Thru lip glass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 guineapigdi on 3/10/2010 11:39:00 PM more reviews by guineapigdi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably one of my favorite nudes but I hate how drying it is for your lips. You have to apply lipgloss over it in order for it to not look cakey. Be careful when you apply it because if you put on too much, you'll look dead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rivera25 on 3/10/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by rivera25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the colour but not the consistancy-it's way too dry! I wear a gloss over the top as alone the dryness makes my lips look rough. I think it looks better without a liner but if you wanted to pair one with it, i would say subculture would look good. I said i would get it again but im not too sure now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 3/9/2010 10:17:00 AM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I returned this lipstick, it looks like nice tanned color in the store when I put on. But as I got home it was horrible concealer mess. It was ridiculous. If you want a lip that looks rly fake and concealer colored, this is your lipstick. For reference it was super light on me im NC15

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FUNgurl on 3/7/2010 9:55:00 PM more reviews by FUNgurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Myth is my absolute favorite lipstick. its so versatile, you can use it under any lipstick or glosses, basically the combinations are endless and it never fails to deliver a beautiful result.
if you have a color that is too dark or you dont particularly like, you can just mix it with this lipstick and it will be absolutely perfect!! i bought this because i didnt have a real nude lipstick and i used to use concealer or foundation all the time to tone down my lipcolor which is not a bad solution but IMO these products are not meant for your lips so they can get into the fine lines on your lips and dry them out and also taste gross.
though i dont think that everyone can pull it off on its own but its not at all impossible to do that. in fact i really like it on me on its own as well, it gives a somewhat mod look, reminds me of those retro models with buns, heavy eyeliner plus really pale and matte lips, very artsy. if u happen to seek that sex kitten, Brigitte Bardot-lip, you just pair Myth with a nude, shiny gloss, et voilá, there you have it!;)
i love the smell, its different from all other lipsticks, its like vanilla/chocolate/cake batter. the taste is also pleasant.
the consistency is good, though it can easily give you concealer lips if you apply too much. the pigmentation is absolutely amazing and you can nicely build up the color from a more natural to a bolder look. the color lasts a long time, coz it doesnt slide off of your lip due to the almost powdery texture.
the price is a bit high but at least its a very good quality product.
im planning on buying many other shades as soon as i have the money because the color range is just amazing.
if i run out of Myth i will think about buying Creme d'Nude, because i heard that its the creamier version of Myth, though not so pigmented but maybe easier to work with.
if you are not afraid of paler nude lips and tend to use concealer to reach this effect, i suggest you try it, u'll love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sheng315 on 3/7/2010 8:03:00 PM more reviews by Sheng315

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my first Mac lipsticks ever and I love and still use it. I usually pair it with NYX lipgloss Tanned or Smokey Look or I use NARS Giza on top...its the perfect nude lip. Everyone should know that if you wear a nudie-matte concealer type lipstick, you have to pair it with a slightly colored lipgloss to make it look right.
I have two backups. =)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 3/4/2010 5:53:00 PM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this lipstick and didn't use it for a while, what was I thinking! Now I always wear it when I have smokey eye, LOVE IT! I like to pair it w/Oak lip liner. It's not drying on me even though my lips been super dry this winter season. I try to moisturize my lips w/lip balm and I'm good to go. For me, I like it better than Creme d'nude lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princessjuicydiva on 3/4/2010 5:33:00 PM more reviews by princessjuicydiva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is my number 1 lip colour, I have continued to use this since I was 16 (along with HUE and Sandy B) no matter what make up look im wearing wether it be a super smoky eye which is my usual night look or my everyday earthy smoky look (using MAC Bronze eyeshadow) this lipstick looks amazing with everything, its long lasting and even though I use a tube a month its worth every penny. I either wear it alone or when I am going out on an evening I use it with either Stripdown liner or Spice liner with a gloss in either Sugar Rimmed or Baby Sparks. The satin texture is my fav of all Mac textures as its more forgiving then Matte but longer wearing then Glaze. If in doubt ask the MAC MUA to give you a sample before you buy. x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products