MAC Satin Lipstick - Myth

4.0

589 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor oil, trioctydodecyl citrate, glyceryl triacetyl hydroxysterate, candellla wax, octydodecanol, silica, jojoba oil, beeswax, sesame oil, ozokerite, carnauba wax, cetyl ricinoleate, microcrystalline wax, ascorbyl palmitate, tocopherol, vanillin.


on 3/22/2010 3:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fell in love with this lipstick! The best complete nude lipstick by far. Is perfect for my skin tone, does not wash me out and looks fantastic with a smokey eye! Got it dirt cheap on eBay as 'packaging was damaged' however the only visible damage was that the shade sticker on the bottom had folder over it's self. Will deffinately buy again! My favourite lipstick ever!!



on 3/20/2010 1:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I never use Myth by itself - it just looks weird on my NC30 yellow undertoned skin. I like to use this to get rid of any pigmentation on my lips before putting other nude lippies on that give more of a sheer coverage. I don't swipe this on either - I use my finger and rub it on the lipstick, then dab on my lips lightly. It gives the perfect amount of colour and doesn't leave my lips dry or looking flaky either. Turn out as a milky pink slightly peachy colour on me. Would repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2010 12:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So I bought myth a few years ago after watching a few MA's using it on YT. I applied it straight from the stick and it felt fairly dry. I then applied clear glass and to be honest it looked too thick and uneven. Fast forward two years and it is now my everyday lippie! What's changed? My application technique! Back then I was applying it straight from the stick it was coming out too thick and pigmented and that teamed with clear glass made it look unnatural and uneven. I now use MAC's 316 lip brush to apply it, teamed with clear glass it looks amazing. I wouldn't recommend this on it's own though as it's too dry for me. Creme de nude is a good more moisturising alternative.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2010 3:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Being a nude lipstick (and gloss) addict, I can't believe I haven't tried this yet. Well, yes I can... For some stupid reason, I was thinking this was the lipstick I had tried years and years ago that was just hideous on me, when the one I had it mistaken for was Eden Rocks. Fortunately I finally realized this and gave it a try! This is already my HG nude lip color. I *adored* my Peachstock when it first came out a long time ago. When I found one on ebay about a year ago I jumped on the opportunity and bought another one. Unfortunately for whatever reason, that Peachstock was quite a bit darker and more of a deep peach than my lovely pale peach/beige lipstick! I was totally bummed out, but I've now found the perfect replacement. It's not identical to Peachstock but it's close enough and I love the fact that it's a peachy nude. Those work best for me. I don't have any problems with it accentuating dryness or lines. Amazing, amazing lipstick. I will undoubtedly be repurchasing many times! For reference, I'm NC15 and I can wear this alone without looking dead. It looks great with gloss over it too. :)


on 3/19/2010 2:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i was a little disappointed with this although i've since found ways to use it. it's useful for cutting down brighter colors or creating a base to put brighter colors over, but it's extremely necessary to use a dabbing/blotting motion when applying. the texture is quite dry and not very buildable, as it tends to become chalky and uneven with repeated applications. i'm nc-25ish so that might be why the color was just straight up unflattering on me, but i still wasn't too impressed with the consistency. i initially purchased this hoping for a good 'concealer effect' nude lipstick but my search continues.


on 3/17/2010 9:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This color is one of M.A.C.s most popular colors. If you like to do smokey eyes then this is the perfect color because it cancels out your lip color so the attention is focused on your eyes. Looks great when paired with C-Thru lip glass.


on 3/10/2010 11:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is probably one of my favorite nudes but I hate how drying it is for your lips. You have to apply lipgloss over it in order for it to not look cakey. Be careful when you apply it because if you put on too much, you'll look dead.


on 3/10/2010 7:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I like the colour but not the consistancy-it's way too dry! I wear a gloss over the top as alone the dryness makes my lips look rough. I think it looks better without a liner but if you wanted to pair one with it, i would say subculture would look good. I said i would get it again but im not too sure now.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I returned this lipstick, it looks like nice tanned color in the store when I put on. But as I got home it was horrible concealer mess. It was ridiculous. If you want a lip that looks rly fake and concealer colored, this is your lipstick. For reference it was super light on me im NC15


on 3/7/2010 9:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Myth is my absolute favorite lipstick. its so versatile, you can use it under any lipstick or glosses, basically the combinations are endless and it never fails to deliver a beautiful result.
if you have a color that is too dark or you dont particularly like, you can just mix it with this lipstick and it will be absolutely perfect!! i bought this because i didnt have a real nude lipstick and i used to use concealer or foundation all the time to tone down my lipcolor which is not a bad solution but IMO these products are not meant for your lips so they can get into the fine lines on your lips and dry them out and also taste gross.
though i dont think that everyone can pull it off on its own but its not at all impossible to do that. in fact i really like it on me on its own as well, it gives a somewhat mod look, reminds me of those retro models with buns, heavy eyeliner plus really pale and matte lips, very artsy. if u happen to seek that sex kitten, Brigitte Bardot-lip, you just pair Myth with a nude, shiny gloss, et voilá, there you have it!;)
i love the smell, its different from all other lipsticks, its like vanilla/chocolate/cake batter. the taste is also pleasant.
the consistency is good, though it can easily give you concealer lips if you apply too much. the pigmentation is absolutely amazing and you can nicely build up the color from a more natural to a bolder look. the color lasts a long time, coz it doesnt slide off of your lip due to the almost powdery texture.
the price is a bit high but at least its a very good quality product.
im planning on buying many other shades as soon as i have the money because the color range is just amazing.
if i run out of Myth i will think about buying Creme d'Nude, because i heard that its the creamier version of Myth, though not so pigmented but maybe easier to work with.
if you are not afraid of paler nude lips and tend to use concealer to reach this effect, i suggest you try it, u'll love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top