Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(798 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 11/25/2012 5:26:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried Vitalumiere Aqua numerous times, both from a sample container and the product bottle itself (I thought it might make a difference if I bought it since it tends to separate in the bottle, but it's the same). I ended up returning it because it just didn't do it for me. It was drying and I was disappointed with the oil control and lasting power.

I have dehydrated oily skin and I find that this product is a bit drying. Especially if I have some particularly dehydrated areas, I experience stinging. I think it's because there is so much alcohol in it, which also makes it dry rather quickly.

This is great for a natural look, but I find that it's only useful for those types of looks if you only use a little bit. This does provide some coverage, but if you use enough to get coverage, you're not really going to get a natural look. If you don't mind appearing made-up, then this might work because even with layering, this doesn't get as cakey as other foundations. However, I did notice that it emphasized dry patches, so make sure you exfoliate.

Vitalumiere Aqua has a runny consistency and blends in well, though you will have to work fast. As others have mentioned, you have to shake the bottle quite a bit before usage. You get a beautiful demi-matte finish, though be careful about those dry patches.

I find that the oil control is minimal and that the lasting power is not great, with or without powder. I saw no oxidation.

A skip for me. I might try it again in the summer when my skin isn't as parched.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RoseJade on 11/24/2012 2:20:00 PM more reviews by RoseJade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Everyone out there looking for their HG foundation look no further this stuff is paradise to your skin. Prior to this I was using MACs studio fix which broke my skin out and overall ruined my skin texture. Iíve been using this for over 6 months so I feel like Iíve had a lot of time to try out this product using many different techniques. Itís very versatile out of the fact itís a very lightweight foundation but donít get turned off by that because it can work up to a great med-high coverage. I more so spot apply it with my fingers if I need more specific areas to be higher coverage if not I just using a kabuki brush and buff it on for a really natural flawless look. A few months back I had horrible cyst acne and my skin just went insane thanks to Aveenoís sunscreen (never had luck w/ any of their skin line) There were a few other products as well but I donít want to go on about them since the shine should be on Chanelís amazing foundation! However I just wanted to say that I needed high coverage at one point or another and this is really buildable and covered up everything and I donít use any concealer! And for anyone else with uneven skin tone and rosacea this helps even all red blotchiness out.
Iíd like to point out a few other prosÖ You never worry about any problems with caking as long as you have a good skincare and are exfoliating you wonít get any buildup. My skin has gotten so much better using this because it can breathe! It looks too good to be true! Iíve never had a problem with the staying power it truly lasts all day from the second I put it on till I take it off its still there! Last pointer would be to remember you must shake it really well so you donít get a really watery consistency.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 11/22/2012 10:58:00 AM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Initially I thought this was the best foundation I ever used. Several months and two containers later, I am not so sure. It goes on easily but you have to really shake the container because the product separates - a lot. It looks nice when you initially put it on, but it seems to oxidize to a darker shade on me. It also settles into fine lines (I have very minor ones) - even when I use primer. It also gives a dewy to almost greasy look to the skin. I found it to be heavy on the skin and seemed to increase my hormonal break-outs.I will not be purchasing a third container.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautifulsah on 11/20/2012 2:08:00 PM more reviews by beautifulsah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

As with everything Chanel this product is pricey but worth it. You get what you pay for. I use Beige Pastel (B10) and it looks so natural on me! Its build-able so coverage can be sheer to medium. Downside is I need to set it with powder. A little of this can go a long way. It makes you look polished yet young and dewy. I'm now thinking of buying the cream form of this..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tsintsadzetea on 11/13/2012 12:22:00 PM more reviews by Tsintsadzetea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is amazing! coverage is light, but at the same time very build able. It's perfect for natural looking skin.I use it with Le blanc de Chanel (sheer illuminating base) and as a result my skin looks radiant and polished.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 htrrr0 on 11/10/2012 more reviews by htrrr0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really wanted to continue using this product, but its alcohol and fragrance content unfortunately broke out my sensitive skin. The coverage is medium, but very build able. The light texture sits on top of the skin flawlessly and is perfect for those "natural makeup" days. The staying power is not excellent, but like most other foundations. I would recommend this product to anyone who has moderately clear skin and enjoy natural finishes when it comes to foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catloveschanel on 11/9/2012 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Catloveschanel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I went to the Nordstrom Half Yearly Sale for some boots and of course the Chanel counter was right in the way! I wonder why the lady at told me this was brand new? I am so out of touch after buying the house and shopping at Home Depot instead of Nordstroms.... so anyway. Light, yet provides coverage. Does not stick in pores nor "fine lines and wrinkles". It is very easy to apply with a brush. Cha, cha cha, I love it.

Please note that I am a natural redhead wearing fall colors in the fall and she put me in a 32 Beige Rose, as she said I had pink tones or neutral. There is no hideous "neck line". Love it. How do I get this picture of this girl off this review?



Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 32 Beige Rose

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laetitia1978 on 11/9/2012 12:00:00 PM more reviews by Laetitia1978

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation, I've been using it for two years and the finish is so natural. It was my wedding day choice too and lasted and photographed well.

Apply with your finger not brush.

Shake VERY VERY well

A bottle lasts about 3-4 months with daily application.

It doesn't feel like you're wearing foundation it's so lightweight and it blends quickly and well - no tide marks or patches.

Do not apply too much though it does look cakey, less is more - if you have a big spot you need to cover use a little concealer rather than layering this foundation.

Sun Protection is really good too - no burnt nose moments.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 madeleine18 on 11/8/2012 11:22:00 AM more reviews by madeleine18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is great for my skin which is somewhat dry; but make sure to use a primer as it can help it look more flawless. I use rosewater spray for this purpose and a WET stippling brush. This is the fastest most effective application for me. It doesn't do well under/over the eye and tends to crease, but stays put all day and looks healthy and natural. Not sure I would buy again because it price is a bit ridiculous in Australia, but it should last me a year or so, so I'm happy.

UPDATE

This foundation is less than natural and flawless for me now; it gets cakey and oxidises - maybe its just not my perfect colour. However the formulation highlights pores and it fades away after a very short time - I wouldn't recommend it. I've now got the Body Shop BB cream which is a lovely, natural, creamy foundation with great staying power - a must in the Australian heat and with long days at work/uni. Chanel doesn't employ ethical practises regarding their treatment of animals; they test their products on animals, use ingredients tested on animals and use animal derivatives in their products. They are ridiculously expensive too. I suggest trying TBS range of BB creams and mineral foundations; they have been much more effective for me in the past and most are Vegan (however I acknowledge that their owner, Loreal, is less than ethical; yet this compromise works for me for the time being).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 11/7/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I would normally never try something that isn't specifically for dryer (or more mature) skin. This seems like it's meant for combination or oilier skins, but it actually works for me and isn't drying. My skin is very sensitive too, but the fragrance in this doesn't bother me (I can't go anywhere near anything by Lancome for example). This does indeed give a flawless finish with very little product. However I found that if you use too much, or use it all over, it does get a bit cakey looking after a while. It seems best used sparingly to even out skintone, here and there, so for me it's good for casual days. My other issue with it is the squeezy bottle. It's hard to get the product out, and then a whole lot blobs out and I wind up wasting it. I would prefer it in a tube (not very Chanel though I suppose). I have not found it to oxidise on me, and this is something I sometimes have a problem with with other products (the Chanel pressed powder for example). I am saying 'yes' to repurchase but I'm on the fence really. It is much better than any other Chanel foundation I have tried, and the first time I found one that actually matched my skintone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products