L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2813 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ChicElle18 on 5/28/2004 9:52:00 AM more reviews by ChicElle18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was reading through the magazine one day and saw this product as a sample. I couldn't wait to try it but when I finally did I didn't like it. I cannot lie and say this is a horrible product because its not. It provides awesome coverage but I myself prefer a more natural approach to makeup. This was very thick and did not allow my skin to breath. This isn't to say this isn't a good product though because it is!

If You Don't Like This Try: Mark C-Thru-U Tinted Moisturizer or Mark Speedway Stick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SophieKitty on 5/27/2004 9:34:00 PM more reviews by SophieKitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really enjoyed having such a near perfect match for the first couple weeks...Then I broke out. I haven't had a break out like this since I was 15!! I quickly went back to Almay's skin stays clean. It's cheap, and I'm now recovering from all of the acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jt_in_canada on 5/27/2004 2:30:00 PM more reviews by jt_in_canada

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first drugstore foundation, after years of not wearing any (I used CG and Clinique briefly in the past but hated how they looked). I figured with a change in careers, that it was time for a more polished face.

This time around, I'm pretty impressed so far. I have pale Asian skin, so I went with W2 (fearing W1 might be tooo pasty and light) and it's an amazing match.

The finish is slightly sheer, and matte. I really didn't need to apply powder afterwards. It also has great slip, which makes blending really simple.

I went to a big drug store that had testers for all the colours and mirrors everywhere, so that helped with picking out the right shade.

The price also didn't hurt either, at $12CDN.

For reference, I have normal-to-slightly dry skin.

***UPDATE*** 1.)Don't apply this fdn to dry areas...it emphasizes flakies. 2) Also, this foundation has total staying-power, so you have to be extra careful about removing every last trace or it will make you eventually break out. I apply this foundation by putting a dollop on the back of my hand (I use my hand as a palette) and there's always a layer on my hand that's really hard to wash off! 3.) Also, start with a super thin application...a little goes a long way with this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LoriRB on 5/26/2004 2:58:00 PM more reviews by LoriRB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I liked this product, matched my skin very well. It stayed on all day without caking or fading. I also didn't have to touch up the makeup during the day with a face powder. Although, the packaging could be better (comes in a glass, hard to handle bottle). This product is the same as Lancome- Photo ID, so it's a great deal for the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PixyAnne on 5/25/2004 10:49:00 PM more reviews by PixyAnne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So far, I'm liking it. I've been using it regularly for about 2 months and it's very decent for it's price - however, it has it's negative points. For exmaple, I don't like how sometimes it's matte and soemtimes it's dewy. I prefer dewy to matte since my skin leens towards the dry side most of the time, but this is just unpredictable and i like predicatbility with a daily product like base. And I think the color I picked was a wee bit too light, so I might want to go 1 shade up if I plan to re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 trixkiddo on 5/23/2004 8:42:00 PM more reviews by trixkiddo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I got this at Ulta after asking one of the salesladies for help trying to find a foundation that wouldn't break me out or make my skin flake. This hasn't so far, but I'm keeping an eye out. True match in Nude Beige did match my skin perfectly though, a first for me. It's sheerer than I thought it would be, but it does cover and give my skin a glow.
*edit* So sad, this covered perfectly, stayed on for hours...and broke me out like mad. I've given up on foundation and now my skin in more clearer, so I don't need it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anooshka on 5/23/2004 1:00:00 AM more reviews by anooshka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I hardly every wear foundation...not because my skin is perfect by any means. I just can't be bothered, never find a good match (except for MAC Studiofix powder foundation), and hate how it comes off when I go to blow my nose. So, I am not sure what compelled me to try this stuff. But hey, I did. And I really really like it. It was CAD $10 (so great price). The container is a glass jar. ie. sucks for travelling and getting the product out. But the colour match I found is quite good. The best I have ever found (except for the Studio Fix) and it does blend really well and doesn't feel greasy on my skin at all ( I have oily skin that has been relatively clear after my Accutane regimen last year). I also tried mixing this with a bit of oil free lotion with SPF to make a tinted moisturizer and it was gorgeous. I am not saying I will be wearing this every day because that's truly too high-maintanance for me, but it will be great to have on hand for days when I want to look a bit more polished. As for how well it wears, when I used a tissue to blow my nose I did get some foundation on the tissue but it wasn't too bad. And I used Clean&Clear blotting sheets throught out the day to keep it fresh. I think if you can find a good colour match and your skin is not too oily or too flaky it might be a nice option to try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillysilly on 5/22/2004 3:35:00 AM more reviews by sillysilly

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awful. I bought it because I was intrigued by the promise of a good color match, since I have difficult to match skin (a light/medium olive tone), and it actually did match... but... it wears horribly and offers paltry coverage. I wouldn't be wearing makeup at all if I didn't have a couple marks and redness that I wanted to tone down. When this is put on over marks though, it looked grey, which is just as bad as the original problem. Plus, even though my skin is hardly dry (more on the oily side, in fact), it made my skin look that way- it didn't smooth out in a nice way and seemed to make my skin look flaky. The results were the same with and without sunscreen and/or a light moisturizer. This stuff is going back to the store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cinmun226 on 5/21/2004 11:18:00 AM more reviews by Cinmun226

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I must have bought the wrong color (I know that is not supposed to happen, that is the point of this foundation, right?) but on me it is very visible, going on almost chalky and streaky, even after blending with a sponge, fingers, etc. It just will not sit right on my skin for some reason. I will not repurchase, I hesitate use it even as a backup foundation, when I run out of my favorite Prescriptives. Good thing I bought it at a buy one get one free sale with my friend, I think she did like hers however.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eanj on 5/19/2004 1:37:00 AM more reviews by eanj

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is fabulous! I am a PPP (NC 15) and find that the N1 shade is perfect. I should mention that my skin is fairly clear and even-toned to begin with, but this foundation nicely covers up any redness and leaves a very natural finish. It also holds up well in any weather. I have used it in northern Canada, Florida, and the dry desert of Arizona; it lasted all day everywhere! In addition, my skin can get a little dry. This formula is very forgiving in that it doesn't make my "flakies" any more noticeable. It also doesn't break me out! The SPF 17 is an added bonus. I recently tried Clinique's version of this, but was disappointed with its lack of sun protection. It was also very good, but still not in the league of True Match. I've tried them all (MAC, Shiseido, Estee Lauder, Lola, etc.), but after 3 years, I still love this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products