MAC • Cleanse Off Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.3(529 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 katematch on 9/13/2009 4:04:00 PM more reviews by katematch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

BEFORE: As someone who wears a great deal of face makeup (full coverage foundation, bronzer, cream blush, powder blush, powder, etc), I felt as though my cleanser was not able to clean my SKIN because it was too busy trying to take off my thick makeup.

ENTER MAC CLEANSE OFF OIL: I use the oil as an all over makeup remover, so it replaced my eye-makeup removal process. I use circular motions all over my face and eye area (it's effective on my waterproof, heavy handed mascara!), taking little concern about what parts I do when and smearing the black all around. The rinse off is very effective, surprisingly. One might think the oil and water wouldn't work well together, but they do!

I follow the oil with my cleanser, finding that it's much more effective at doing it's job (fighting my oily, slightly acne-prone skin), meaning I get more bang for my buck with it! This definitely makes the oil worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SayidtheAnkleAssassin on 9/6/2009 6:44:00 PM more reviews by SayidtheAnkleAssassin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've used Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm for a couple of years. I love that product and I love MACs Cleanse Off Oil just as much. They both do a brilliant job of melting all my makeup away and rinsing off cleanly. I have the MAC in rotation at the moment but they both do a great job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aychan on 8/19/2009 9:28:00 AM more reviews by aychan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in s sample kit after a MAC makeup class. I usually use EVOO or baby oil to remove my waterproof makeup, and to be honest this is just as good as EVOO, and probably way less oily than that. I might actually consider getting this when I run out of baby oil!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bublebulle on 8/19/2009 7:19:00 AM more reviews by bublebulle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best makeup remover I've ever used by far! I've tried every type of textures (mousse, milk...) and I never thought oil could be the HG for me as I have a combination skin with an very oily T zone and very dry cheeks. I was first introduced to cleansing oils with the Shu Uemura products but though they worked very well, I was a bit worried by the fact that they contain mineral oil and by the price tag.
I heard about the MAC one on Christine/Temptalia's blog and read positive reviews on MakeUpAlley, so I had to check it out and buy it.
Well, I can positively say that it changed a lot of things in my makeup-removing routine:
1/ No need to use separate products for the face AND the eyes: it gets rid of sunscreen, foundation, waterproof mascara... without irritating my skin and my eyes. Good bye to my coton pads!
2/ It made the process working way faster and easier - no excuse to skip it even if I'm very tired.
3/ It didn't make my sensitive, acne-prone skin break out.
4/ It's less expensive than the SU oils and works just as well.

Use it with DRY hands on your DRY face and massage. Then put some water on your hands - it will transforms into milk - and continue to massage your face. Then, rinse it out. My MAC MUA told me that I only needed my moisturizer after that, but I feel like using a face cleanser after is more appropriate for my skin.
I wish it was of a thicker consistency, so that it doesn't run out of my face too fast! Also the pump is very hygienic but can provide too much product if you press it too quickly and splash everything around. Nothing that would affect the quality of the product but it can be annoying sometimes.

Overall, a very good product which I'm very happy about. I've reached the half of my 2nd bottle and will definitely re-purchase it!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniezombie on 8/19/2009 12:13:00 AM more reviews by stephaniezombie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The only makeup remover than can get EVERYTHING off without scrubbing -- even waterproof liners and mascara! I've tried many other products and I would have to say this is my number one choice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Iammelody on 8/12/2009 4:29:00 PM more reviews by Iammelody

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitley an industrial strength m/u remover. Anything else I've used always left bits and pieces of mascara here and there and I'd wake up with raccoon eyes even though I was sure I removed everything I could. With this, everything leaves my face, and I can go to bed feeling fresh and clean with no surprise residue the next morning.
I'm acne prone with sensitive skin, I haven't experienced any problems or breakouts, and I'm almost on my 2nd bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AbbyAnne on 8/11/2009 5:41:00 PM more reviews by AbbyAnne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've recently switched from mineral makeup foundation to liquid foundation, Revlon Colorstay to be specific. It covers so well, but it definitely is a bitch to take off.


This is an awesome makeup remover! It really does take everything off. However, I only gave it 4 lippies because of a couple things: I wish it was a thicker consistency because I feel like I pump it 2-3x to get the amount of product I need to take off the makeup. Another thing that bothers me is the lock on the pump. Like many other bottles with a pump dispenser, it locks when you move it in one direction; however, it can easily unlock itself in bags/luggage so it might leak everywhere which def. sucks.


Other than that I love this product. One thing you def. need to do though is use a facial cleanser afterwards. This product does NOT replace your everyday cleanser unlike what some of these reviewers are saying. It's not smart to leave that residue on your face & besides it even says not to on the bottle. READ THE LABEL PEOPLE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mutschi on 8/10/2009 8:34:00 PM more reviews by Mutschi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    


This is my HG cleanser/mu remover and I have repurchased many many times.
The important thing is to use it the right way. Apply it with dry (!) hands to dry (!) facial skin (yes, on top of all your m/u, dirt etc) and massage it in. Also around (closed) eyes. Then take a little warm water and put it on your skin and make a milky lather by massaging the water with all the dirt and oil on your face. Then rinse. Voila! Done.
I work in theater and sometimes I am wearing VERY heavy m/u. This takes everything off at once. No need to cleanse with a regular cleanser afterwards.
It is quite pricey but I don`t need an extra eye m/u remover or regular cleanser for afterwards so it`s okay I guess.
I have also tried dhc cleansing oil and I like MACs much much better, it has a nicer texture, smells nicer and seems to rinse cleaner.
I will repurchase again and again.
btw I have dry, sensitive, acne-prone skin and I have never had problems with this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Twiggy12345 on 8/8/2009 6:10:00 PM more reviews by Twiggy12345

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't want to totally ruin the high rating for this product, because for the most part, it did what it was supposed to do - remove all my makeup, including sunscreen and w/p e/l, and left my skin soft and smooth. Unfortunately, it also made me break out. It sort of creeped up on me, I was almost 3/4 through the bottle before it dawned on me, honestly, I think I was in denial, I didn't want to admit it was this because I loved it. Oh well, try it anyways- it works well, and maybe, just maybe YOU won't break out... :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 biankix on 8/5/2009 9:37:00 PM more reviews by biankix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i've repurchased over and over again.
quite a hefty price tag, but i would say it's well worth it. doesn't break me out and a nice pleasant smell.
the key is knowing how to use it. never really understood why people complained about it being messy.
i normally do one full pump, rub it on DRY hands and rub gently on my DRY face. Massage gently for a bit until you see some of your crazy makeup dissolving. (i use sunblock, revlon colorstay, waterproof mascara, liner and shadow) and then you wet your hands a bit and massage until you look like a homeless person with all the makeup on your face dissolving. that's when you can rinse with water. sounds convoluted, but it's pretty easy. not a lot of steps. worth doing because you will never have to wake up looking like a raccoon and you can rest asssured all that gunk is gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Cleansers products