MAC • Cleanse Off Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.3(534 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sdelory on 10/16/2009 5:30:00 PM more reviews by sdelory

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my standards, it does a great job of taking off your make up, including eye make up and it is very gentle but still leaves your skin clean. Also, it's not greasy even though it is an oil, I've repurchased it over and over again. I only use it at night to remove make up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluelegend on 10/16/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by bluelegend

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A staple for removing sunscreen or heavy coverage makeup. In the past I've been getting acne because I did not fully wash off my foundation. This DID NOT cause me to break out (for those who are afraid to try oil cleanser). I repeat this OIL cleanser does not cause acne. If you get breakouts while using it, then either its another product you are using, or you are allergic to one of the ingredients (unlikely). It is simple to use, very effective, leaves the skin smooth and moisturized. I can't say enough good things about it.

PS: Excellent for cleaning makeup brush. Removes all the foundation from my white brush. Pretty cool!

PS: on the side note the packaging could be improved, the pump is inconsistent. However this does not take anything away from the actual product itself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 10/1/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOOOOVE this for my end of day makeup remover/pre-cleanser. I use a great day and night cleanser for deepcleaning my normal but super clog prone skin but always have used a seperate cleaning oil just to effortlessly remove all my heavy eye makeup (liners etc) at the end of the day before I wash with my cleanser. My favorite has always been MAC Cleanse Off Oil because it honestly is one of the best oils out there that has all natural fruit ingreidnets, smells like an organce creamsickle, takes off every last bit of makeup while leaving my eyes soft as possible, and doesn't clog your skin completely like all the other oils out there and many contain cheap and really clogging ingredients like mineral oil (aka Shu Uemura! etc) and just don't have the results in removing even the heaviest, thickest, and most waterproof makeup like Mac! Take it from someone who used to used liquid makeup removers/soap through all my teens years just being ignorant and lazy in tugging and roughly removing all my eye makeup until one day I just woke up with alligator texture and dryness on my eyes, not fun! lol. Anyhow took me a months to get my eyes back to normal and made me realize how important a moisturizing makeup remover is and why I was so glad to stumble upon Cleansing Oils. This will ALWAYS be a staple in my routine (whether I am wearing makeup or not) and maybe for only the few people who have very dry skin I just don't see using this as a stand alone night cleanser as it will take off all your makeup but will not truly deep clean as well as some of us need (as the very slight film it can leave behind easily leads to clogged pores) so I simply follow with my regular gentle cleanser after using this all over my face at night, which alone has just had so many benefits on helping in keeping my skin clear, balanced, so soft, and fading marks This is the only cleansing oil out there that is light, smells amazing, feels so great to massage into your skin at night, isn't overpriced, goes a long way, and most importantly doesn't clog your skin and litreally takes the heaviest of any makeup completelyy off in one rub and wash, which still amazes me and not one of the million other oils or cleansers that are safe for eyes has ever come close for me! MAC is the best option out there for many things but this cleanser #1 imo! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pd3234 on 9/19/2009 11:11:00 PM more reviews by pd3234

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm new to the whole cleansing oil idea and after reading the reviews for fancl, DHC, MAC and DIY recipes; I decided to purchase the MAC version because it was just a trip to the mall (rather then ordering products/emulsifying agents online).

The only thing I wear on a daily basis is sunscreen, blush and lipstick. I bought the oil primarily to remove the sunscreen. The oil has a runny texture and I find that I require 2-3 pumps to have adequate oil to massage into my face.

At this rate I see myself going through the bottle very quickly. I always follow-up with my regular facial cleanser afterwords. I use this only as a make-up remover. I think that I will probably shop around before I consider re-purchasing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 linseyp on 9/18/2009 1:46:00 PM more reviews by linseyp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Well after 6 months of continued use I've decided this is NOT the cleanser for me. I loved the way this got off every spec and molecule of make-up. I loved how gentle it was. I loved the bottle and the pump. What I did not love was the never ending cystic acne. My skin just does not tolerate oil of any kind and this unfortunately was no different. I have now moved on to a new cleanser that I am head over heels in LOVE with: Bliss Steep Clean Deep Pore Cleanser. It's everything I ever wanted and it WORKS!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katematch on 9/13/2009 4:04:00 PM more reviews by katematch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

BEFORE: As someone who wears a great deal of face makeup (full coverage foundation, bronzer, cream blush, powder blush, powder, etc), I felt as though my cleanser was not able to clean my SKIN because it was too busy trying to take off my thick makeup.

ENTER MAC CLEANSE OFF OIL: I use the oil as an all over makeup remover, so it replaced my eye-makeup removal process. I use circular motions all over my face and eye area (it's effective on my waterproof, heavy handed mascara!), taking little concern about what parts I do when and smearing the black all around. The rinse off is very effective, surprisingly. One might think the oil and water wouldn't work well together, but they do!

I follow the oil with my cleanser, finding that it's much more effective at doing it's job (fighting my oily, slightly acne-prone skin), meaning I get more bang for my buck with it! This definitely makes the oil worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SayidtheAnkleAssassin on 9/6/2009 6:44:00 PM more reviews by SayidtheAnkleAssassin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've used Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm for a couple of years. I love that product and I love MACs Cleanse Off Oil just as much. They both do a brilliant job of melting all my makeup away and rinsing off cleanly. I have the MAC in rotation at the moment but they both do a great job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aychan on 8/19/2009 9:28:00 AM more reviews by aychan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in s sample kit after a MAC makeup class. I usually use EVOO or baby oil to remove my waterproof makeup, and to be honest this is just as good as EVOO, and probably way less oily than that. I might actually consider getting this when I run out of baby oil!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bublebulle on 8/19/2009 7:19:00 AM more reviews by bublebulle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best makeup remover I've ever used by far! I've tried every type of textures (mousse, milk...) and I never thought oil could be the HG for me as I have a combination skin with an very oily T zone and very dry cheeks. I was first introduced to cleansing oils with the Shu Uemura products but though they worked very well, I was a bit worried by the fact that they contain mineral oil and by the price tag.
I heard about the MAC one on Christine/Temptalia's blog and read positive reviews on MakeUpAlley, so I had to check it out and buy it.
Well, I can positively say that it changed a lot of things in my makeup-removing routine:
1/ No need to use separate products for the face AND the eyes: it gets rid of sunscreen, foundation, waterproof mascara... without irritating my skin and my eyes. Good bye to my coton pads!
2/ It made the process working way faster and easier - no excuse to skip it even if I'm very tired.
3/ It didn't make my sensitive, acne-prone skin break out.
4/ It's less expensive than the SU oils and works just as well.

Use it with DRY hands on your DRY face and massage. Then put some water on your hands - it will transforms into milk - and continue to massage your face. Then, rinse it out. My MAC MUA told me that I only needed my moisturizer after that, but I feel like using a face cleanser after is more appropriate for my skin.
I wish it was of a thicker consistency, so that it doesn't run out of my face too fast! Also the pump is very hygienic but can provide too much product if you press it too quickly and splash everything around. Nothing that would affect the quality of the product but it can be annoying sometimes.

Overall, a very good product which I'm very happy about. I've reached the half of my 2nd bottle and will definitely re-purchase it!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniezombie on 8/19/2009 12:13:00 AM more reviews by stephaniezombie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The only makeup remover than can get EVERYTHING off without scrubbing -- even waterproof liners and mascara! I've tried many other products and I would have to say this is my number one choice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Cleansers products