MAC Cleanse Off Oil

4.3

541 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cetyl Ethylhexanoate,Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Squalane, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Germ Oil, Tocopherol, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Water / Aqua / Eau, Rosa Canina (Rose) Fruit Oil, Limonene


on 11/27/2009 7:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

add my name to the list of Cleanse Off Oil groupies! i had been interested in trying cleansing oils for the last year and a half or so and started off my experimentation with the supposed best in show, Shu cleansing oil. i did NOT like it. i felt that it was *insanely* overpriced, took a lot of the product to get the job done and never rinsed away cleanly. after hearing/reading all the raves on the Shu oil i was really disappointed to find that it was a flop for me and so when i got MAC's Cleanse Off Oil last year for Christmas, i parked it on my shelf and that's where it sat untouched for almost a whole year! what got me thinking about trying it was the fact that i started wearing liquid foundations and specifically the Sally Hansen Inspired by Carmindy foundation (which i LOVE, read my review if you're interested) which i noticed was very difficult to rinse off of my MAC 187 brush. this got me thinking that if it was hard to rinse off of my brush bristles, it was probably something that needed extra help to be removed from my skin as i'm kind of fanatical about getting every last microscopic speck of makeup removed before i put my treatment products on. so i took two pumps in dry hands and massaged the oil onto my dry face for a good two minutes before rinsing and i was so pleased! the oil melted away all my makeup, even eyeliner and several coats of mascara, and rinsed away cleanly leaving my skin soft and supple feeling. now i use it every single time i wear foundation and i'm hooked! i do follow it up with a cleanser but only because i want to, not because it's necessary. i think most people would do fine using the Cleanse Off as their main cleanser unless they had other specific skin issues. you get a good amount of product for the price, it seems to last forever and the packaging is genius. no muss, no fuss, no mess! i'll be repurchasing this for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/27/2009 3:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love. This has become my hg cleanser, I'm on my second bottle. It removes every last trace of even the heaviest waterproof eye makeup. It leaves my skin soft, not greasy, not dry. And I adore the smell. Love it so much that I actually look forward to washing my face at night. :oO I use one pump, on dry hands, and massage it in. Then I rinse off. The only down side is that it seems to sneak into my eyes sometimes and makes my vision blurry for a few minutes, but I can live with that (I have freakishly sensitive eyes and it doesn't irritate them). I have tried other cleansers after buying this, but keep using the MAC stuff. I should mention that my skin is EXTREMELY breakout prone. I've never ever had a problem with this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2009 5:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Removes heavy make up pretty well! You can use it on the eyes, also it didn't make me break out. The smell is not too strong.
I also like to use the DHC one which removes make up even better than mac but the strong perfume of olive is really horrible.
I will keep buying the mac oil, really satisfied!


on 11/10/2009 2:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love using oils to get off my makeup, and I had high hopes for this product. But after using it for about two weeks, I knew that this was not the product for me. I felt like the solution was runny and it did nothing to get off my mascara and eye liner. I ended up with dark streaks running down my cheeks every time I used it, it never could get off all my eye makeup. I visited my local Mac counter a few days ago and the ma tried to give me this product as a freebie, I just said no. Shu Uemura cleansing oils work way better for me, have a much better texture and consistancy, and I will be sticking with them in the future.


on 11/9/2009 3:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! It removes all my makeup with no problems. Dependant on how much makeup I'm wearing I sometimes use another cleanser afterwards to cleanse my skin but regurlarly I find that this works fine by itself. I love that it comes in a pump bottle which make it easy to use the right amount and it's hyginic too. I just use 1-2 pumps, spread it in my palms, then in my face and just rub it around, especially around my eyes to remove all my mascara. Then I just wash it off with luke hot water and tadaa, I'm done. It's a bit pricey but on the contrary it lasts really long. I've bought a bottle about four months ago and the bottle is still more than half full - and I use it everyday. It's really worth the money and I would definetly recommend this product. Though it's oil I don't feel smudgy or oily afterwards so don't worry about that. Just try it! It's amazing!


on 11/1/2009 11:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've used this oil for 6 months or so now. I really love the way it removes ALL my makeup - even mascara/liner - and leaves no residue. I have come to the conclusion, however, that my skin dislikes oils in general. I have more blackheads at this point than I've ever had in my life, and I've changed other products around, upped my exfoliation, and use MMU. this is the only thing that has been consistent along with the blackheads. I'm sad, as the product is a great value (one pump is really all you need) and i like how soft it makes my skin feel. Alas, back to my basic cleanser.


on 10/31/2009 4:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Amazing. I've tried loads of products from Mac's skincare line (Green Gel cleanser, Micro refiner, moisture lush cream and studio cream) and while i wasn't that impressed with them (too irritating), I fell in love with this cleanse-off oil.
The first time I tried an oil based cleanser was with eve lom, it's a thick mineral oil based cleanser that doesn't rinse off easily. Therefore, it just clogged my pores really really bad. So I was a bit scared trying this one from MAC. However i was happy to find that this completely rinses off with water- no residue means no clogging my pores! And this stuff removes makeup like a dream, there is no need for cotton pads and horrible eye makeup removers that sting! It can be drying if you don't moisturize though with a good moisturizer.


Update 12/12/09: OMG this messed my skin up soo bad. It over dried it resulting in my skin texture becoming really rough (i have combo- to-oily), and then i started to break out in red bumps all on my cheeks.i stopped using this about 2 weeks ago and still they have not cleared up 100%. i guess it was a bad idea using it 2x a day, too much for my sensitive skin. I could try using it again but only 1x a day however i'm too scared now I think generally its a harsh cleanser which is too much for acne sensitive skins... going back to simple skincare.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2009 10:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use (love) this product religiously. Once at the end of everyday when I am removing all make up. I think the most effective way to use it is one pump into the hands and massage directly onto face (no wetting beforehand!) It's actually very relaxing to spend about a minute massaging it well into you skin as it really breaks down the make up. Afterwards rinse with warm water and I think it's best to wash your face with your cleanser/face soap too because it removes the oil completely (as it's a bit clingy). When I wipe my face on my towel afterwards it always stays totally clean!

I really like the pump as I think it's pretty much the ideal amount and one pump per day lasts a really long time! Since I travel a lot, to keep the price down I try to buy a bottle everytime I pass through duty free.

The only thing is though, although it's not irritating it's quite an odd sensation and my eyesight feels distorted for a while so be sure to massage gently with just your fingertips around the eye area I think :)


on 10/16/2009 5:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my standards, it does a great job of taking off your make up, including eye make up and it is very gentle but still leaves your skin clean. Also, it's not greasy even though it is an oil, I've repurchased it over and over again. I only use it at night to remove make up.


on 10/16/2009 3:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A staple for removing sunscreen or heavy coverage makeup. In the past I've been getting acne because I did not fully wash off my foundation. This DID NOT cause me to break out (for those who are afraid to try oil cleanser). I repeat this OIL cleanser does not cause acne. If you get breakouts while using it, then either its another product you are using, or you are allergic to one of the ingredients (unlikely). It is simple to use, very effective, leaves the skin smooth and moisturized. I can't say enough good things about it.

PS: Excellent for cleaning makeup brush. Removes all the foundation from my white brush. Pretty cool!

PS: on the side note the packaging could be improved, the pump is inconsistent. However this does not take anything away from the actual product itself.


Back to Top