Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(259 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 1/4/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First: this does not look taupe at all after I apply. When I first dabbed my finger into the jar, the taupe-y shade was just a thin layer over a soft bluish-grey (which I find VERY strange), and it looks more like a soft steel blue on my eye. I have cool-toned skin so it could be pulling more blue, but others have said the same thing in their reviews so I don't think it's just me. It's still a nice color, anyway. It applies beautifully, very smoothly and evenly. The consistency of the product is extremely high-quality, and it's quite pigmented. The formula gave me a lot of control over how much color you want, and it's easily layered without resulting in an uneven color or texture. You have to blend very quickly because it dries and then that's it, game over. It creased after only about 30 minutes without a primer, and creased after about 3 hours with TFSI. It fades a bit but stays intact and color-true for the most part. NOT a 24-hour eyeshadow. MAYBE a six-hour eyeshadow. I'll give it 3 stars because of the consistency, ease of application, and the fact that it can be very easily touched up throughout the day. But I'll still try to find a really great cream eyeshadow that doesn't crease so quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 1/3/2012 7:54:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ah, someone beat me to it. I just applied this and kept looking at it because it reminds me of something I have. MAC Copperplate. If this shade goes on too sheer for you, then use this as a base. Although, I think this is pigmented enough to wear alone since the texture is so nice. It sets much faster than most new Paint Pots. The longer you have it, the more they get thick and tend to set faster. Update: I wore it alone last night on my bare lids. I do not have oily skin, but this began to fade and crease after a few hours. While the idea is nice, I'm glad I only bought one.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 1/2/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm an NW15-20 with greenish hazel eyes and this looks fantastic as either a smoky eye base or as a neutral mid-dark for every day. I am quite surprised to find maybelline putting out cream eyeshades of this quality, as most cream shadows (even "creaseless" ones) smudge, smear, and crease on my oily lids. Not so with this stuff! It stays on where I put it on till I take it off. Applies a bit darker and cooler an I expected, but that was a pleasant surprise for me. I find fingertip application to work best.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 j0m0 on 1/2/2012 10:16:00 PM more reviews by j0m0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I really love cream shadows and they are hard to find these days. I bought taupe because I thought it would be a nice neutral color. It's much cooler on my eye than it looked when I tried it on my hand. It made me look like I hadn't slept in days- it really brought out the dark shadows under my eyes. I used Too Faced primer underneath and it still started to feather and wear off after several hours. Because it's called Tattoo Color I was expecting it to last all day. I probably wouldn't buy this again, especially not in this color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HeCallsMeGorgeous on 1/1/2012 9:32:00 PM more reviews by HeCallsMeGorgeous

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

For reference I'm NC40 coloring and this shadow pulls quite a bit of cool-toned grey on me. I wish there had been a tester of this in the store as it would have saved me from purchasing it. I was really wanting a matte cream eye shadow and this fits the bill in that respect. The color is not flattering on me in the least bit so in that respect I'm displeased. Also, the consistency is not like I'm used to with other cream eyeshadows in that it's much more chalky and much less creamy. I found it difficult to achieve a consistent application across my eye and even more difficult to blend.

I would not repurchase and would not recommend.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 12/29/2011 11:27:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

A long-lasting cream eyeshadow/base that looks like dull putty in the jar but comes to life on the eye. I'd searched for a cream colour like this for ages but never saw anything comparable at MAC, EL, BB etc.: a cooltoned matte grey-mauve-taupe which looks ultra-flattering on its own, and also makes a wonderful foundation for neutrals, purples, and darks. Fantastic product!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shimmi on 12/26/2011 10:51:00 PM more reviews by shimmi

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Even though this creases on my oily upper eyelids -- as do every eyeshadow and concealer known to man -- it wears well on my lower lids and I very much like the consistency and colour of this shadow. The quality is surprisingly high -- absolutely comparable to a much higher-end product.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 12/26/2011 10:18:00 AM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

In terms of color, this is like a paint pot version of MAC's Copperplate shadow. I've been applying this using the CS MAC 217 dupe, in the crease. The color is a greyed taupe. This color would work well as a nice base for other taupe shadows, and maybe also some other shadows that can have a bit od depth built up with this product. So far, this is lasting through the day, and blends nicely with the right brush. I had searched high and low for this, and finally found it at Target of all places (my Targets are never the first place to have these new items!).

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 12/19/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

tough as taupe is a cream gel eye shadow.it's taupe,matte,creamy,last verry long,perfect for a base for taupe-bronzy,taupe-pink,taupe-nude eyes.love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products