Maybelline Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe

4.0

273 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 1/20/2012 7:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not crazy about this color at all. It's too muddy and cool toned. Will see if that changes on tanner skin in a few months.
As far as wear, normal eyeshadow with a really good primer might last a few hours. I started hair spraying my lids after eyeshadow application and it started lasting 6 hours or so. I've tried other cream shadows and the would crease almost immediately. THESE however don't budge...at all. I can get 18 hours no problem before I wash off for the night. And While I might have some foundation on my lids before hand, I haven't tried them with primer.



on 1/20/2012 1:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is really not a dupe for MAC Paint pots because (most of them) are not this dry. I can work with them but it is not as easy to blend with either my finger or a 217 MAC brush--paint pots are much easier to blend.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

At first glance I thought this shade was ugly & why would anybody want a raw clay color look on their eyes. While I still think the color on it's own on my eyes looks awful (NC25 here) it does make a wonderful base for all different shades of powder eye shadow. It deepened the colors and made them bolder and richer looking. The edges were a bit tricky to blend but not impossible. (So far Ive used ELF Pink Ice & Stila Kitten to blend out the edges) You must do one eye at a time because this cream formula tends to set up pretty quickly. I have tried 6 shades so far and this is the only one I have that is not shimmery. I am hoping they will add more toned down non shimmer colors of this formula. It is a wonderful d/s find! 6.99 @ wags.


on 1/17/2012 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really hate to review products that I didn't really like, but I found the formula of this particular color to be quite dry and quite "blah".. I was hoping that the taupe/slightly purple undertones of this product would bring out my green eyes but they made me look tired and made my skin appear sallow. On a brighter note, I do like the other one I have, which is bad to the bronze.


on 1/13/2012 4:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This product works out quite well for me. Though I have noticeable yellow undertones in my skin, I also have quite a bit of pink coloration in my facial skin, and this color looked really nice on my lids. I would describe it as a very soft dove grey. I could see it looking really nice in a makeup look featuring bold lips. The only reason I docked this product one lipstick, is because it doesn't wear as well as I would like it to if I use it as a stand-alone shadow, but it wears great if I use it as a shadow base, over primer. Even if I wear it alone over primer, I get creasing at the 6-8 hour mark, but used as a base it will help my eye shadows look great literally from the time I put on my makeup til I take it off, which is generally about 14 hours. I really like the soft pretty color of this alone though, so I think I'll have to experiment with setting this with some translucent powder to get the look I really like.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2012 2:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just bought all the neutral colors: Bad to the Bronze, Tough as Taupe, Gold Bold, and Asphalt. I like them all. Some colors are better than others. Im NC40. Taupe is more a matte grey color with cool undertones, I would describe it as a cement/dolphin color. Comparing it to Aspalt, taupe is completely matte, and asphalt is dark grey with alot of shimmer. I have an Avon Big pencil in Slate, and Tough as Taupe is a very similar color. Tough as Toupe stayed on like cement (no pun intended) for the rest of the day about 9-10 hours, and I have very oily eyelids. I get creasing in no time with powder showders, the wearability is very similar to MUFE cream shadows.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2012 12:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Omg these shadow bases are the BOMB i have 8 out the 10 didnt get the gold and bronze because i have those in mac paintpots. Some are pigmented enough to wear on there own and some should be a base but any who. Today i wore the tough as taupe on lid with sketch in the crease with carbon in the outer V and rice paper on my browbone & omg it was was beautiful. Just fyi i am NW45 mac and cappucino in revlon colorstay.lol im thinking about going bck to get that painted purple one.Ok my update i went bck and bought 2 more painted purple and bad to the bronze lol. If anyone was wondering if mac indianwood is the same as bad to the bronze kinda but bad to the bronze is a bit darker brown but any who i luv luv them.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2012 4:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So this is a Pretty purple gray shade.If you have dark circles as I do this definitely picks up those colors exaggerating it. So i will have to just use as a base color not alone or with a good concealer.dry formula less creamy than paint pots imo.unfortunately with my oily lids it did transfer too my upper lid about 3 hours in without a base and with a base still fades and transfers on me not as bad , around same time.would buy again because it is a pretty decent and inexpensive version of paint pots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2012 8:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a great product for the price. I used it as a base and it didn't start to crease until about 10 hours later. I don't feel that it made my eyeshadow more vibrant. The colour washes me out and makes me look like a drug addict so I have to use more face makeup to compensate for it. I wouldn't wear this on its own because there are way prettier taupe colours out there. If you have darker skin, it might look better on you. It has pretty good pigmentation and makes my eyeshadow last 10 hours so it gets 3 lippies. But I probably wouldn't but it again because there are prettier colours and better bases out there. I'm curious to see if these shadows will dry out in the pot.


on 1/9/2012 7:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used this on my eyes as a base, for my brows, and a quick wash of color on my eyes. I really like it for all of those uses. It is a unique color that I have not seem in this form. I think it is a cream dupe for copperplate as some have mentioned but I swapped that a while ago so I cannot really say. It is pretty thick but blendable. The color works for my brows because most brow products are way too orange for me. I have black brows that are sparse but large. A lot of brow products don't work on me and look very fake. This works because the color is taupey grey, ideal for brows like mine, and it lasts longer than pencils and powders. I really enjoy using it under all types of taupe shadows too (on my lids not brows lol). I would say its a must if you love those dirty, murky colors. Pass if you like brighter, shimmery colors, because this is not it. I personally love it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top