Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(262 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 1/6/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've been looking for a gray shadow that will work with my skin tone FOREVER with no luck. Unfortunately, this is not the exception. In the pot it looked like it had some plum or lavender undertones which I thought might make it wearable for me, but on my lids it was very, very cool gray. The color is really quite soft and beautiful, but sadly, all wrong for my coloring.(red hair, green eyes, super pale complection with sallow undertones). If you are remotely warm, my suggestion is to pass this one by. If you are a cool gal, this will rock your world sideways.


That said, the product itself impressed me very much. The pigmentation was very deep and intense upon initial application, but I found it could also be easily blended out for a softer look. It did not crease at all, even without priming my lids with any product beforehand. It lasted through an entire day and even stayed put during a workout. It was just a little difficult to remove, but the eye makeup remover that I'm currently using is garbage. I think with a good product, it would remove with very little effort.


There is a LOT of product here, given the amount I used. I barely touched my brush to the surface and had enough to do the entire upper lid up into the crease and line the lower lashline. This will last a very, very long time, so if it doesn't dry out to the point of being unusable before I actually use it all, it will be an excellent value.


Now I want to go back and get some of the colors that will actually suit my skin tone. I'm excited to see the results. Historically, I have not had good results with Maybelline products, but this little gem really wowed me.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hpolanek on 1/5/2012 11:09:00 PM more reviews by hpolanek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have loved this shade as an eyeshadow and as a liner right above my black liner and on lower lashes(really gives a smokey look for daytime on brown eyes) but as of today I have started using it to fill in my brows. Some might think its strange but let me explain. For years i have searched for a brow product that was a TRUE ash brown color for my brows. I would buy something thinking for certain that i did not see any warm/reddish tones only to see myself in a picture or catch myself in the sunlight in the mirror and see those dreaded warm/red tones!! I have medium cool ash brown hair and suprisingly this blends great with my brows even in the sparse areas. NO warm tones in any light. It also seems to stay on a lot longer than any brow product i have tried (and i ahve tried tons of high end/low end) It actually dries and sets unlike other pencils/waxes/gels/powders. If you have ashy cool brown hair and need something long lasting for your brows I would give this a try. I think this can work for light/med/dark brown hair just depends how much pressure you apply. I use an slant tip brush and apply with not much pressure and glides on perfect..totally matte as well! Will update if i change my mind!

EDIT: When i was outside yesterday, i whipped out a mirror and thought that my brows did looked like a grey brown and too ashy on the sprase areas so i dont know if i will continue to use..maybe in conjuction with another brow product. Its a shame because it had really good staying power. I did however use it to contour my nose and it works well. It has the same grey/taupe undertones as the NYX blush in taupe that everyone raves about as a great contour (which it is, i love it and use it all the time) but again, i think this has better staying power.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tvkristen7 on 1/4/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by tvkristen7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

What a joke! I once again tried a product based on reviews. I applied this at 7am and loved the color and consistency. Problem is - it creased and completely came off my eyes by the afternoon. I use many products and this has never happened. What was left was a line of product in my crease. Yuck! 24 hour wear? Ha! Didn't even make it 8 hours! Oh, and I was wearing a base, too. I do not have oily lids. I wish I'd learn already and stop listening to drugstore hype. I'm always disappointed and go back to the dept store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 1/4/2012 4:49:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First: this does not look taupe at all after I apply. When I first dabbed my finger into the jar, the taupe-y shade was just a thin layer over a soft bluish-grey (which I find VERY strange), and it looks more like a soft steel blue on my eye. I have cool-toned skin so it could be pulling more blue, but others have said the same thing in their reviews so I don't think it's just me. It's still a nice color, anyway. It applies beautifully, very smoothly and evenly. The consistency of the product is extremely high-quality, and it's quite pigmented. The formula gave me a lot of control over how much color you want, and it's easily layered without resulting in an uneven color or texture. You have to blend very quickly because it dries and then that's it, game over. It creased after only about 30 minutes without a primer, and creased after about 3 hours with TFSI. It fades a bit but stays intact and color-true for the most part. NOT a 24-hour eyeshadow. MAYBE a six-hour eyeshadow. I'll give it 3 stars because of the consistency, ease of application, and the fact that it can be very easily touched up throughout the day. But I'll still try to find a really great cream eyeshadow that doesn't crease so quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 1/3/2012 7:54:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ah, someone beat me to it. I just applied this and kept looking at it because it reminds me of something I have. MAC Copperplate. If this shade goes on too sheer for you, then use this as a base. Although, I think this is pigmented enough to wear alone since the texture is so nice. It sets much faster than most new Paint Pots. The longer you have it, the more they get thick and tend to set faster. Update: I wore it alone last night on my bare lids. I do not have oily skin, but this began to fade and crease after a few hours. While the idea is nice, I'm glad I only bought one.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 1/2/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm an NW15-20 with greenish hazel eyes and this looks fantastic as either a smoky eye base or as a neutral mid-dark for every day. I am quite surprised to find maybelline putting out cream eyeshades of this quality, as most cream shadows (even "creaseless" ones) smudge, smear, and crease on my oily lids. Not so with this stuff! It stays on where I put it on till I take it off. Applies a bit darker and cooler an I expected, but that was a pleasant surprise for me. I find fingertip application to work best.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 j0m0 on 1/2/2012 10:16:00 PM more reviews by j0m0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I really love cream shadows and they are hard to find these days. I bought taupe because I thought it would be a nice neutral color. It's much cooler on my eye than it looked when I tried it on my hand. It made me look like I hadn't slept in days- it really brought out the dark shadows under my eyes. I used Too Faced primer underneath and it still started to feather and wear off after several hours. Because it's called Tattoo Color I was expecting it to last all day. I probably wouldn't buy this again, especially not in this color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HeCallsMeGorgeous on 1/1/2012 9:32:00 PM more reviews by HeCallsMeGorgeous

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

For reference I'm NC40 coloring and this shadow pulls quite a bit of cool-toned grey on me. I wish there had been a tester of this in the store as it would have saved me from purchasing it. I was really wanting a matte cream eye shadow and this fits the bill in that respect. The color is not flattering on me in the least bit so in that respect I'm displeased. Also, the consistency is not like I'm used to with other cream eyeshadows in that it's much more chalky and much less creamy. I found it difficult to achieve a consistent application across my eye and even more difficult to blend.

I would not repurchase and would not recommend.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 12/29/2011 11:27:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

A long-lasting cream eyeshadow/base that looks like dull putty in the jar but comes to life on the eye. I'd searched for a cream colour like this for ages but never saw anything comparable at MAC, EL, BB etc.: a cooltoned matte grey-mauve-taupe which looks ultra-flattering on its own, and also makes a wonderful foundation for neutrals, purples, and darks. Fantastic product!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shimmi on 12/26/2011 10:51:00 PM more reviews by shimmi

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Even though this creases on my oily upper eyelids -- as do every eyeshadow and concealer known to man -- it wears well on my lower lids and I very much like the consistency and colour of this shadow. The quality is surprisingly high -- absolutely comparable to a much higher-end product.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products