L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2977 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 9/2/2005 9:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The colour match I get with W1 is fantastic, and I found when testing these that it's lighter than C1. I also think it goes slightly lighter once it's applied on the skin. Unfortunately, this foundation has a knack for showing up *every* single dry patch I have! I find I can get away with wearing it on some areas, after exfoliating and thoroughly moisturising, but it's so much effort. It would be lovely for someone with normal/oily skin I think, as it leaves a dry finish, but is still slightly glowy. I'm not a fan of the shimmer in it either, not sure if other people would notice it on my face, but I sure do! Overall, a decent buy if you're after something low end.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This does not give me the amount of coverage i need and it does not work very well with my dryer skin type. It is hard to get the right amount of foundation out of the bottle. i have just stoped trying to wear this foundation.


on 8/31/2005 4:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a truly great drugstore foundation. Having very light skin, I was surprised I found a shade (N1) that matched my skintone exactly. It goes on very sheer, it blends superbly and virtually disappears, leaving the skintone evened out. The finish is quite dry, which is good for oily skin types. It didn't make me break out. The foundation doesn't have an SPF, so I had to wear an additional moisturizer beneath it. The foundation has its problems (it's for oily skin, but the silicones make it a problem for breakouts prone skin), but on the whole it offers great performance in its price range. I'll definitely buy it again and use it both in winter and summer.


on 8/30/2005 12:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like the campaign for L'Oreal's True Match. There is a wide variety of colours for almost everyone. The Warm, Neutral, and Cool sections are clearly divided so it is easy to pick what is right for you (if you know if you are warm/cool). I have W2, which is the second lightest warm shade. Not a perfect match but it really doesn't matter. Blended in, it looks nice on my skin. It is thicker than other foundation I have used, which means blend a lot. The bottle...eh, cute design but not sanitary. Anyone could have opened that bottle before you. Makes my skin look nice but I have to be extra careful not to look too "make up-y". I think it's a decent foundation but not for everyone. There are sample packs available.

One tiny complain: the display says it contains spf 17. Some of the bottles were marked 'spf 17' and some were not. Mine was not. It bothers me because I'm not 100% sure mine contains sunscreen. :-/


on 8/29/2005 3:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

1/2015 edit: sorry for my horrible review below. No idea what I was talking about lol. 10 years later and I am a nc/c 30 and don't have an exact match in this so there is no point in using it. Pretty sad. I would not repurchase.


Old edit 2005: real sh** listen to lilcutey pple return it if u dont like it and moisturize. i have oily skin and i use neutrogena moist/sunscreen. also, i dont apply this everywhere like a mask, only where i need it. this found is awesome and the concealer is even better. it has never made me break out unlike some higher end stuff- prescriptives, lancome (loreal owned too!), origins, estee lauder...and the colors for my skin tone, mac nc 35, true match n5, concealor in n3-4. i must admit tho they have to work on their packaging, its so easy to break a bottle and the colors for fair cool skin tones r kinda ugly. EDIT: i still really like this stuff and the last time i got my hair cut, the ladies were raving about my "perfect" skin! ha ha! if they only knew i was wearing loreal true match over some red spots and blotchiness! hee hee


on 8/27/2005 1:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Is it just me or does this have sparkles in it? Explain to me why a liquid foundation should have sparkles in it...


on 8/27/2005 12:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

They had a lot of colors, but im super pale, and they didnt have a flattering choice for me. It only matched in certain lights, and looked chalky most the time.
I have combo-skin and it just didnt cut it for me. I didnt think the concealer was too great either. Theres better foundations out there, and in much better packaging.


on 8/24/2005 10:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great for day-to-day coverage, not recomended for special occasion unless you have skin on the drier side. I put it on at 6 pm and it faded by 9 pm. I have combination skin and I can see it doesn't hold around my T. But I like it quiet well as at home foundation, such as when inviting friends for dining, girl getting together,etc. Nice texture all in all.


on 8/23/2005 4:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty foundation, except that the slight shimmer in it makes my face look greasy around the nose even when just applied. Spreads easily with a smooth light texture. Coverage is light-medium. Hardly any oil-control, so this is better for normal skin. I found I have to stay in the "Cool" tones because the "Neutral" tones are too yellow for me. Thankfully, the cool tones are still neutral (not pink). I'm blown away by the reviewers who find this to be chalky, heavy, or masky. I can't imagine it with this product. However, I won't repurchase because it made my face itch continually and I didn't like the shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2005 3:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

IMO a very good match for my particular skin tone and type. I am blemish prone but not completely oily but my make up always tends to fade. Not only does this not look chalky but it has pretty decent staying powder(then again it is not marketed as a long-wearing foundation). The color palette is flattereing I think to most skintones and for the price you could even buy two and blend. People this has many of the same ingredients as expensive formulations (silicones). Lilcutey had some good advice below, get matched , return if you are not satisfied, and apply correctly or with different methods(sponge opposed to fingers or brush).It seems I have returned more high end foundations to their respective counters than the drugstore ones.


Back to Top