L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2784 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* protobiont on 9/17/2004 9:04:00 PM more reviews by protobiont

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a foundation queen (means I'm always on the serach of the perfect foundation. ) This is the BEST drugstore brand foundation I have ever used in my life!!! The coverage is sheer but covers most minor flaws. With a touch of concealer, I think that this can easily compete with MAC and Estee Lauder.

I have combo/dry skin with flaky cheeks. This foundation DOES NOT accentuate the dry patches on my cheeks and does not settle in the pores. This is in fact quite a surprise because even for department store foundations,it is not common to come across a foundation with these 2 superior qualities....

This foundation gives you an appearance of healthy skin. The key to get it to work well on you is to find the right shade. I have never seen a foundation that blends so well like this before. No streaks or anything like that..

The only drawback is that even in the warm tone shades, the colours are still too peach..not yellow or gold.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beckishness on 9/16/2004 4:05:00 PM more reviews by beckishness

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this hoping that it would be great but it wasn't. The color did match my skin perfectly though...it did not come off at night when I washed my face. It sort of seemed like it was absorbed...it made me break out - badly. I was so upset, I really liked this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emisgreat20 on 9/15/2004 5:57:00 PM more reviews by emisgreat20

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Depending on your purpose, this is a good product. Being extremely fair, I don't have much choice in the color spectrum, I just grab the lightest shade which can sometimes be too dark. I tried the little sample bottles of this stuff (pick your shade and you get a little warm, neutral, and cool vial) and I love the little "spatulas" that come hooked into the lid. Very cute and multi-use (I hate 1x use samples). As far as color goes, I still got the lightest shade, but it really works with my skin. But as far as the product goes, I'm not much of a foundation person anyway, but I tried entire-face application and I don't especiall care for it. It really works though to use it over yellow concealor on under-eye circles to get everything blended harmoniously. I can also use it as a spot treatment for light coverage of things like facial veins. I decided to buy the big vial of W1 because Walgreens was having a bogo on face products so I got it free with some pressed powder (my foundation alternative)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 subpop001 on 9/12/2004 3:34:00 PM more reviews by subpop001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

where do I start? I'm not much of an expert on foundations but I've been using drugstore brands (maybelline, covergirl, loreal etc) for years due to my strangely-toned skin. I'm half spanish, half white with "light" olive coloured skin with not a HINT of pink/orange in it. this is half the problem with finding a right shade, I also have very oily skin with major skin discolourations so I never leave home without makeup (maybe im too vain!). When I first saw an ad for true match in ALLURE I was hoping it woud be my HG for colour/coverage, I was in a rush so I quickly searched through the warm shades for the yellowest/non pinkest shade and grabbed W4. It seemed to match my skin from what I could tell, although I didn't like the glycerin based oily feel of the make up at all. It felt like I was literally painting my face with this stuff. I also applied it heavily to make sure it covered the red scarring & skin discolourations. BIG MISTAKE. this product isnt meant to be slathered on at all - it WILL look like a mask/turn a darker colour if applied layer upon layer - my friend pointed out my "make up line" while I was giving her a ride home and I held a mirror up in natural light - you could SEE the line under my jaw all the way to my ear of a darker-orangeshade. SO EMBARASSING! Anyway I went to the store and bought one shade lighter in the same undertone (w3) and while it does seem to match my skin better, it has a more pink/orange undertone rather than gold. Ive onlybeen using this colour for a couple days ill update soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jawa on 9/11/2004 2:11:00 PM more reviews by jawa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very nice foundation. I've always liked L'oreal, and this is another good one. I have combo skin and this is not too dry or too oily for me, but I think it would not be suitable for people at either extreme end of the spectrum. Colour is great, goes on smooth and has a silky matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* egoh on 9/8/2004 2:44:00 AM more reviews by egoh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think TRUE MATCH is one of the better "drugstore" foundation i have tried so far :) The coverage is sheer to light and natural, I did not have a problem with it being chalky or powdery. all the shades are very close though... so if you are off a shade or two, I don't think it would make too big of a difference. Besides the coverage, I think it lives up to it's claim of being blendable and with 24 shades available, this is the best chance to getting as close to your own color as you can get in a drugstore brand :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashantiqueen on 9/6/2004 9:38:00 PM more reviews by ashantiqueen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Women of color, especially DDD's like me (I am a pecan/hazelnut shade) do not waste your money on this product!! I followed the color chart in the store and bought the color recommended and it looked all chalky and ghastly. I then bought the 3 shade sample pack to see if I was off on the color...none of the shades disappeared on my skin, even after I blended a couple of them. I even went to the website for help on custom blending and they didn't even have it updated to include the deeper levels 7 and 8. Could possibly work on lighter complexions wonderfully, just didn't work at all for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 swicker on 8/29/2004 3:05:00 PM more reviews by swicker

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I was so optimistic about this product before I tried bec. of all d/s brands L'oreal is the only one w/ shades fair enough for my PPP. While the color was a nice match (the lightest cool shade), the texture left a lot to be desired. It seems to dry too quickly as I applied it. Also, it ended up making my skin look atrociously cakey and dry (have combo skin). I could not wait to get home and wash my face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 biomechmonster on 8/23/2004 11:35:00 PM more reviews by biomechmonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is actually my first foundation ever (purchased at age 23!). Before L'Oreal True Match, I was afraid of wasting $10 on a foundation to discover it didn't match my skin. Well, L'Oreal's super-easy matching grid (and it's right there by the foundation too!) at Ulta/drugstores changed my mind. I picked out the right shade in under 5 minutes. Coverage is excellent and leaves my skin soft and non-greasy. It doesn't break my skin out, either. I'd definitely buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Buzibug on 8/21/2004 9:20:00 PM more reviews by Buzibug

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Great match especially for fair skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products