L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2988 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 9/24/2005 9:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First, the positives: I really appreciated the color range when trying to select a shade, and I had little difficulty finding a match. I have yellow undertones (i'm asian) and it's often a challenge finding yellow-based foundation - especially at drugstores. *grumbles* Anyway, no problem finding a shade. I liked that a lot about this product. Thank you, L'Oreal! Also, generally satisfied with the product's packaging - it's just an uncomplicated little glass bottle with an average-sized opening. Simple enough, so no real complaints.

Now the downfalls: The foundation itself felt alright on the sponge (ie upon application), but I had slight blending issues. Not the smoothest blend, in my opinion. Strike one. After applying for the very 1st time, I was generally pleased, however, and all things considered I thought this was a decent foundation. But not very long after, my face became shiny and for the 1st time actually FELT shiny [greasy] -- gross, I thought :( I have normal-combo skin, and out of control shine has never been a problem for me. It was almost as though the foundation worsened the appearance of my complexion (which is rather flawless on its own, might I add! thankyouverymuch!) hehe...but seriously. I wear foundation on special occasions and when I've got time to, with the intention of improving my skin's appearance and perhaps even giving me that inexplicable "glow." But this, much to my dismay (I typically love L'Oreal products <3) was ultimately a disappointment.

Oh, yea. Cost: priced alright. Not too expensive, but kinda costly for a drugstore foundation. All in all, shade variety/selection could not be better, and the consistency is fantastic...until it's on your face :(



on 9/23/2005 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a very good product. I have really oily skin, but this goes on very well...I usually mix it w/ a little light moisturizer and it blends very very smooth. In addition, the half dried-up foundation on the cap can use a Q-tip and use them as concealer. I just love this product.


on 9/21/2005 10:50:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I threw my Stila and shiseido foundation away upon discovering true match. W3 is the perfect perfect color for a light Asian skin like mine...just love the dewy look and light texture. I have rather good skin, except for frequent redness on the cheeks. This covers well and doesnt give you that "mask" feel like other foundations
love, love it. And the Blush in the true match line is great, too. I;m using innocent flush. got free blush with purchase of foundation at $5.00 for both of them, what else can i say?
True match is really a breakthrough for L'oreal. dont like the packing , though. small and hard to get the stuff out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2005 10:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this but I find it hard to spread and a little yellow on some areas on my face. I think the fact that there is a huge range is great and I would continue buying this if I don't find anything better (which I am hoping I will) I find the best results are after exfoliation, like any other foundation I suppose!


on 9/18/2005 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I just bought this foundation today and am trying it out for dinner tonight...so far I like it. I'm pretty fair skinned but still warm toned so W3- nude beige was a perfect color for me. It covers pretty well (i have a few healing zits around my nose....ouch) and doesnt feel cakey at all. So far it's a YAY!
I'm going wearing it tomorrow for 11 hours straight (school plus after school things) and see how it goes........ if it doesnt work, I'll be updating this
UPDATE-
after using this stuff for a few months I've decided that I really dislike it....it leaves me really oily and shiney even with loose powder to top it and it transfers to anything it touches....yes the coverage and color is great but gee


on 9/16/2005 11:32:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Many of you note that True Match does not have SPF. I just bought a bottle at my local drug store that does have SPF-- maybe it's being test marketed in my area (Detroit)?
Be careful what you ask for: The SPF version is very disappointing. In comparison to my last bottle without SPF (which I loved), this sits on your face like a mask. It feels slightly waxy and oily. It settles noticeably in creases. It is streaky and hard to blend in. It leaves greasy goo on the bridge of my sunglasses and regular glasses. I feel like a greasy Goth in this.

The color matching of this product WAS really good, especially for a drugstore product. Adding SPF has ruined it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2005 6:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have NEVER been able to find a concealer that covers up my imperfections because my skin doesn't have normal undertones. Having red spots and sometimes dark under-eye circles, this is relatively inexpensive and works wonderfully to cover everything up.
I didn't give it a 5 because it doesn't have SPF, but if it did, I'd be stocking up right now.


on 9/9/2005 1:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i liked this product. i guess this is my second best foundation for me. i recently discoverd max factor lasting performance and i'm loving it so far.
true match matched my colour, i'm asian so i have warm, yellow undertones. it was hard for me to find thid kinda colour b4 cuz usually they're pinkish and looked like i was wearin' a mask. i've been using this for almost a year now. i decided to get max factor cuz it got rave reviews here. i noticed in my pix when using true match that my face would get greasy. i have oily face but this made my face extra greasy after a couple of hrs.
this aint a bad product but just isnt for me i guess. i need something dat will give me better coverage cuz this is sheer. i wont buy this again cuz i will b usin max factor now :) n they're in the same price range


on 9/8/2005 9:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I finally had to try this stuff out, I played around with the foundation to get a hang of what kind of texture and finish this gave, after reading some of these reviews i didnt expect much,I found that beacuse of the 'dry' finish that it tended not to blend as flawlessly over dry areas, it did have a tendency to move into creases if not blended well with a sponge, but after experimenting with different moisturizers and sunscreen the best one to use with this foundation was Neutrogenas Dry Touch sunscreen,(also make sure to prep skin too, use a scrub to exfoliate to give a smoother texture to skin, helps alot) shake well and apply small dots where needed and let the dots 'set' for a few seconds and blend with a sponge,with some light powder(loreals translucide or Alexandra de markoffs powdermist) and the finish was pretty flawless, the sunscreen has the same dry texture and silicone base so that helped alot with the blending, lasted a good amount with the ocassional touch up( i use blotting papers and then powder) the selection of colors was very good, In my case I had to mix C1 and W1 together to get my True match, didnt like the "sparkle" and the bottle needs to be with a pump like they have in the UK version, I just use a swab instead of my fingers to get product from bottle, Overall a good product and selection of colors for the price.


on 9/6/2005 5:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A great foundation for the price - granted it's a small bottle. Has a very good selection of colorshades to choose from and the formula really is smooth and blendable. Coverage is sheer to light but I usually top it off with some mineral powder makeup for extra coverage.

Lacks any SPF protection but would buy it again. I have oily skin and it does leave my skin 'dewey' so For me it works better in winter.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top