L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17 • Liquid

rated 3.3(2733 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 cdoliver on 6/7/2004 9:42:00 PM more reviews by cdoliver

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I really didn't like this product at all. I usually wear MAC Studio Stick in NC45, but I figured I would try this since it was cheaper. I was wrong, it's not cheaper when you have to buy 2 different shades to mix together to get the right shade. And the colors don't really mix very well, even after vigorous shaking there were still streaks in the color. Not worth it for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sumita on 6/7/2004 1:05:00 PM more reviews by Sumita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

After years of using higher end foundations because of my frustration with the lack of good yellow colours in drugstore lines, I was pleasantly surprised by True Match. I use the W6 shade for my GGG/MAC C35/Armani 6.5/RMK #104 skin and while it's not as perfect a colour match as Armani or RMK (still a wee bit orange and not olive enough), it's close enough to look very natural. The foundation itself has a light, thin, smooth texture with good slip, is very nice and blendable, and offers light to medium coverage. Not very buildable, but since it has good coverage, that's not really necessary. Natural, matte finish, similar to Px Unmakeup, but doesn't stay as matte through the day as Unmakeup or Chanel DPF. No breakouts for me after 2 weeks of use, though I know others have experienced some breakouts with this. All in all, a foundation very worth checking out, especially as it's available in sample sizes and often goes on sale for about $7-$8. Thanks to a kind MUAer, I also had a $3 off coupon that made this a real steal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaestu on 6/6/2004 11:14:00 PM more reviews by kaestu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say that this is one of the best drugstore foundations I have ever used. I stopped using them completely for a couple of years because I could never find one that matched my skin tone of that I liked the texture of. But I LOVE the texture of this foundation. It glides on smoothly and the coverage is just right. And, it actually matches my skintone exactly. I am an LLL with brown hair and eyes and I got C2 - Natural Ivory. I was surprised to learn that a "cool" foundation was right for me, but it is. This is my everyday foundation. My favorite is still Armani MSF but I can't bring myself to wear it just for everyday kind of stuff, so I use True Match instead and I'm very happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachel781 on 6/6/2004 3:53:00 PM more reviews by rachel781

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My fav. foundation now...color matches great, covers my acne, blends nice and feels like velvet

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleNesha on 6/6/2004 1:26:00 AM more reviews by LittleNesha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I haven't bought this foundation b/c not a single one of the colors work on me. I'm always between 2 shades & I will not buy two bottles. A true match? Maybe for some people, but not for me I 'spose...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 6/5/2004 9:48:00 PM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this foundation, got this in just a bit too dark, I picked the w4 in Natural Beige. It doesn't contain sunscreen, but that's okay, I apply spf of at least 15 before foundation. I don't know that I would call this my HG foundation, I can't quite figure out why, the color range is superb, the coverage is a nice medium, can't put my finger on it. Maybe it's just because of my color miscalculation; guess I'll try one from the neutral beige color range and report back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lismith on 6/1/2004 11:42:00 AM more reviews by lismith

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation feels great on my combination skin. I always apply foundation over a moisturizer. True match applied over moisturizer blends easily and feels velvety. The transparent color-matching sheets on the store display worked great to pick a shade that matches my skin perfectly (true beige). The coverage is good for evening out skin tone, but doesn't leave me looking "made up", it still looks very natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 parrottheadmd on 5/31/2004 2:26:00 AM more reviews by parrottheadmd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! I love this stuff! Matches my skin perfectly and the texture is great. Definitely stays on, so be careful when you wash your face.....I've started following up with a toner to get rid of all traces. I know some poeple break out from this foundation, and I think it might be because it's kind of hard to remove.

I've also heard that it's not oil free, but there is no oil listed on the ingredients. I have oily oily skin and I like the way it wears and looks on my skin.


Update: It is now summer here in Hotlanta, and my skin is OIL SLICK city! Since i've tried changing everything else, I've come to realize that it is this foundation that is making my skin look super "dewey", and not in a good way. I love this stuff, but i'm going to have to shelve it until the winter when my skin can take this stuff again. Sad, it was my perfect color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smiles4c on 5/29/2004 5:54:00 PM more reviews by smiles4c

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love everything about this foundation. The color match is great, the texture is silky and easy to blend, it gives good coverage on my very ruddy cheeks and looks very natural. It is light-medium coverage, but it is buildable without getting cakey :D I'm an NC20/C2 and W2 is a perfect color match. Lots of foundations break me out, but this one is one of the few that doesn't. I strayed from this foundation for a little while, but I went crawling back to it :P It's the best foundation that I've ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 miss_mae on 5/28/2004 7:08:00 PM more reviews by miss_mae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this after I paid $40 for a Shisheido foundation which appeared to perfectly match my skin but I later found that it turned white in a camera flash. As the whole reason I was even buying foundation in the first place was because I needed something for my wedding, this simply wouldn't do. I later learned that foundations with SPF often reflect pale in camera flashes. I went down to Rite Aid and picked out Sun Beige. It matched better than the Shisheido foundation, and it felt more light- weight. The pictures from my wedding day came out great, even though I had gotten a few small zits right before. The coverage was just enough to even out my skin-tone, and obscure the zits, but it didn't make me feel like I was suffocating. My face did get a little shiny toward the end of the reception, but over all, I am quite pleased with the product, and that's saying a lot because I hate foundation. I put that I will not buy this again only because I don't wear foundation. UPDATE: I have lowered my rating on this from 5 to three not because the True Match has shown some previously unnoticed flaw but because I have found my Holy Grail Foundation - Monave Mineral Foundation - which matches my skin perfectly, contains no allergy or pimple-inducing chemicals, contains sun block and feels weightless on. Now that I know how great foundation can be, True Match has fallen in my estimation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Liquid products