Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5192 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babykitten9 on 11/17/2008 4:33:00 AM more reviews by babykitten9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I purchased it twice because I really wanted to know what was there in it that others liked so much. It's still a mistery to me! One of the worst mascaras (if not the worst) that I've ever had! Dry, flaky, no volume, no length... What a waste!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 urbana on 11/17/2008 4:08:00 AM more reviews by urbana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This would be an OK product if it did not without fail produce raccoon eyes . I have tried it numerous times in numerous formulations (waterproof/not waterproof) and colors and worn it under numerous conditions and it always, always leaves huge smudges. That said, it does look nice when first applied and is my sister's go to mascara for falsies. I don't find it very dramatic on it's own though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 11/17/2008 3:39:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It may be over estimated by the media and underestimated here on MUA, but this is a more than decent mascara. For what it costs, it's a good honest product with a regular and well-working brush (I learnt to hate all those new "revolutionary" brushes that end up leaving grumpy color on lashes, no matter how good the product is), just learn to apply correctly and it will deliver good results.
Of course the photo uploaded by a MUAer seems to be taken from the Blairwitch project and doesn't do it justice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snacksizegrl on 11/17/2008 2:55:00 AM more reviews by snacksizegrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The worst buy, and I have tried it several times to see what all the hype and write up was about. I think the last reviewer was right, people must be paid to compliment this stuff, just so it will sell. It is that bad. I love Loreal's Voulumious. Great buy a little bit more, but lasts long and really fattens up your lashes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 0heather0 on 11/17/2008 2:23:00 AM more reviews by 0heather0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Magazines promote this stuff because they're paid to. Most people don't know this, but companies will ask magazines or makeup gurus to promote their products in exchange for money. So all those "awards" that go to this stuff are probably paid advertisements.

Anyway, this stuff is really bad. It had that "ashy" color and texture. It was flakey/stiff/dry and the brush caused it to be coated too heavily. It didn't lengthen or volumize or separate or do anything. It actually made it look like I had fewer lashes because they would clump together instead of fanning out naturally.

Definitely one of the worst mascaras ever -- and I've tried nearly all of them.

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SparrowsPerch on 11/17/2008 1:01:00 AM more reviews by SparrowsPerch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara clumps on my eyelashes so horribly, it feels like I have chunks of unknown dark blobs on my eyes and it is not flattering at all. I truly don't understand what all the hype is about this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bartley on 11/16/2008 11:28:00 PM more reviews by Bartley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Simple :

Looks like glue, smells like glue, acts like glue.

Hype Hype Hype and for what? A clumpy, sticky, horrible mess.

So confused as to why this gets such good reviews in magazines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetoblivion on 11/16/2008 4:06:00 PM more reviews by sweetoblivion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to mascara (in blackest black). Every other kind that I buy I'm always disappointed, but this is the one that I can always count on.
I have to admit that when you first open it, it's a little too wet and barely does anything. After a few times using it though (and the consistency seems to dry out a tiny bit), it's absolutely perfect. I'm Asian and I have short, hard to curl lashes, but applying this actually curls my lashes (without needing a curler) and keeps the curl. Not to mention that it's really cheap and I can find it packaged in two at Walmart or Target sometimes for only $4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heinyliciouz on 11/15/2008 12:11:00 AM more reviews by heinyliciouz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Great Lash Mascara is sort of my safety mascara. When my other mascaras fail me, I can always count on this one. It really defines eye lashes, but this mascara doesn't give you a "natural" makeup look. It gives me dramatic full volume/thick eyelashes, which is what I like about it, but cleansing is a little hassle.
Deffinitely recommend it. I buy the small travler's tube, which is even cheaper than the regular tube. There's a reason why it won so many beauty awards.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RMulieri on 11/14/2008 2:05:00 AM more reviews by RMulieri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype on this product.It makes my lashes look skimpy and spindly looking.It is cheap and it looks it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products