Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5345 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 1/31/2009 12:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I must concur with all the dissenters. In my opinion, this is one of the worst mascaras in the market. However, it should be said that there are other Maybelline mascaras that many love...like Lash Discovery Waterproof and Full n Soft that have excellent performance and reviews. However, I have found all Maybelline mascaras to dry out lashes and cause more breakage and fall-out. Beware.


My HG mascara is Max Factor Volume Couture waterproof. To bad it will be discontinued in the US in 2010. I've stocked up and put several packaged tubes in my refrigerator while I hunt for a non-Maybelline replacement.



on 1/31/2009 12:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So glad to see others who did not like this product! This mascara does not lengthen. It doesn't build volume. Worst of all, it leaves clumps. The brush is not luxurious or efficient. I don't know who thinks this is the best mascara - maybe they have never actually tried a mascara that works??


on 1/31/2009 10:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Don't like it. It doesn't work on me.


on 1/31/2009 1:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The formula is runny and goop always accumulates at the end of my wand! This does nothing for me except smudge around my eyes. I regret buying this!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It doesn't work well at all. The brush doesn't lengthen or volumize. It does nothing for me except for adding colour. I don't know why it's America's #1 mascara because I was pretty disappointed. I guess it's good for an extremely natural look because it hardly does anything.


on 1/30/2009 4:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Never understood the hype and votes for being a #1 mascara?!?!? As a makeup junky I had to try it... it was clumpy, gumpy, and gave me a raging eye infection *gross*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2009 2:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I understand that there is a huge hype about this mascara-being the #1 mascara in america and all that...so it's not that great...but its not that bad either.
I have medium length lashes, kind of sparse, but with a natural curl. This mascara gives me long, thick, feathery lashes with three coats, using a curler and an eyelash comb. In terms of pigmentation the color is just a regular old black, but i have black lashes so it doesn't really matter. but I took of 1 lippie cuz the staying power sucks and within a few hours i had black smudges underneath my eyes-and i don't have oily lids. I think its worth giving a try if mascara doesn't smudge on you easily and i find it volumizes, lengthens and keeps a curl well. I prefer using L'oreal voluminous in carbon black which does all these things but without the smudges.


on 1/29/2009 1:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

L'Oreal tried to hype up this mascara by pumping through the publicity grapevine that top models swear by Great Lash and only use this backstage. What a load of crap. It goes runny and wet on your lashes, sticking them together as if you've been crying and then it goes all flaky onto your cheeks. I have big lashes and I was expecting to see some definition, if not big volume and length. It just makes your eyes look wet.


on 1/29/2009 2:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I was quite glad that it didn't get good reviews here, cause i've been finding it as not that a great mascara. i very much prefer volum' express mascara, which in my opinion isn't as "wet", thus making it easier to apply

i also find because it takes a while for it to dry, you really have to make sure you don't blink for about 10 seconds. which isn't an easy task. as a result, i usually end up having very very smudged mascara!!!

i would def not buy it again.. but maybelline has made better mascara since, and i love the later ones very much!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara a long time ago because of its reviews and also because I had tried Maybelline's Full and Soft mascara, which i thought was pretty good ,so i figured it was worth a shot. This mascara is not at all what i thought it would be. The mascara would smear and not last long at all. It would clump and it didn't really add any definition. In the end I would rather go back to the full and soft mascara than this one.


Back to Top