Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5192 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nerdcat on 11/24/2008 9:31:00 PM more reviews by nerdcat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the control mascara in my on going mascara testing experiment (a lab that I have been running for the last 10 years.), not because it is anything spectacular, simply because it: a) was my first ever mascara, and has been re-purchased too many times to count b) is pretty decent in that it makes your lashes blacker and thicker than NOT wearing mascara, but nothing too WOW.
It is a cheap staple product that does the job it claims to do with no big hype or false promises.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JoshuaTree on 11/24/2008 6:08:00 PM more reviews by JoshuaTree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, Great Lash...I used you in high school because I just didn't know any better. I really think this is the worst mascara on the market. As others have said, it's watery, it smudges, it clumps. It doesn't do what a great mascara should do- lengthen and/or volumize. The pretty packaging is the only redeeming quality of this mascara. If you want to try a great drugstore mascara, I highly recommend Cover Girl Lash Blast in the big orange tube. I would never buy Maybelline Great Lash mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 popsiclepout on 11/23/2008 2:44:00 PM more reviews by popsiclepout

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think Great Lash spells "o-v-e-r-r-a-t-e-d". It is the best advertised product of all times.

It is just a terribly watery mess and feels more like "crushed charcoal added some water" than mascara. It has a terrible brush that does nothing but putting more mascara on my lids than my lashes. And it has no consistency - I got different lashes in each application... most of the times, even my two set of lashes looked different than each other. And I won't mention the terrible smudging, because it gives me nightmares.
Such a crap! Went directly to the trash.
I wonder, how Maybelline dares to call it "America's #1 Mascara.", and how dare all the magazine editors rave on it so consistantly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Irishgurrl on 11/22/2008 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Irishgurrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Good lord!
Panda eyes doesn't even describe how my face looks after a few hours wearing this stuff.
I heard great reviews about it on youtube so bought it...on first application my lashes looked really nice - not clumpy and lenghtened.
I was impressed and went off to work thinking I was gods gift.
3 hours later I headed to the bathrooms and peered in the mirror at the hot mess that was my face. I will never forgive this mascara for making me look like I'd been weeping!

Not recommended by this girlie. Oh no!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meljolie on 11/22/2008 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Meljolie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Out of all the drugstore mascaras I've bought, this one was the worst for me. It makes my lashes look clumpy and it's just not he mascara for me. I love the cute mascara bottle, with the green and the pink but other than that.. there's nothing special about this mascara.

UPDATE: I actually quite like this mascara now. The key is to use a metal lash comb to get rid of the gross clumps. My lashes are much longer and fuller using this than the covergirl lash exact one. The consistancy is hard to work with at first but once you're use to it, this mascara isn't bad at all. My lashes use to droop immediately after I put this on but ever since I switched to the Shu Uemura eyelash curler, my curl has definitely stayed put! Giving this 3 more lippies. :) I have two of these since I get them for a 2-for-1 deal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katlanta on 11/21/2008 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Katlanta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nothing impressive. "Great Lash" is a beginner's mascara. It isn't horrible, but there are much better mascaras out there for just a little more cash. The brush has no form and has not changed since the product came out. No lengthening, no volume, nothing. The only reason I have this product is because the "Royal Blue" mascara actually has good pigment and gives even my black lashes a good tint of color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jojos4eva on 11/21/2008 8:56:00 AM more reviews by jojos4eva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't say this mascara is bad... the only problem i have is that when you apply the second coat, it starts to clumb. BUT after one coat, you already see good results...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatMc on 11/17/2008 11:15:00 PM more reviews by CatMc

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been hearing for years how bad this mascara is, despite the supposed raves from makeup artists. I always passed it by, (although I remember using it when I was a teen), but I guess curiosity got the best of me. How bad could it be, I wondered? So, when it was on sale this summer, I picked a tube up in dark brown. I've been wearing it ever since! The brush is not nearly as plush as the ones I've been using, and it took some getting used to, but once I got the hang of it, I really liked it. The mascara goes on nicely, doesn't clump, and lasts without smudging. It doesn't give me 'it looks like I'm wearing falsies' lashes, but it's a good everyday mascara. It does seem to take a little more effort to remove, but I don't mind that. So I'm not really sure what everyone has against Great Lash, but it works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 purpleicefairy on 11/17/2008 8:44:00 PM more reviews by purpleicefairy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i'm surprised that this product received such low ratings here. I really love this mascara. It goes on smoothly and doesn't clump, and really helps my lashes appear darker and longer. i love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rbyars1 on 11/17/2008 7:51:00 AM more reviews by rbyars1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Teenieboppers keep this stuff going, otherwise it would have died along time ago. When your between 12 and 15 (pre job) this is about all you can afford to buy and guess what folks, there are ALOT of them out there. The advertising pimping this crap doesn't help either, even Carmindy from "What not to Wear" uses it and I thought she would have a little better taste..hmmm

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products