Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5280 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 bellalinda1805 on 1/7/2009 3:03:00 PM more reviews by bellalinda1805

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this mascara for a long time, and sometimes I like the way it applies, and sometimes I don’t (maybe its my mood)…anyways, sometimes it would go on clumpy so I figure its time to get a new one, or maybe its just cuz my lashes need a little conditioning, either way, although its not HG for me, ( I still haven’t found my HG), I use it almost every day, and always go back to it in the drugstore, cuz it just feels safe…If you understand what I mean…try it…if it helps, Kim Kardashian just posted on her website that she uses this mascara and loves it….and I simply adore her make up looks…so hey…If its good enough for Kim K who can afford the absolute best, then I guess its worth a shot…u might like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rebeccaae on 1/5/2009 2:45:00 PM more reviews by rebeccaae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

for a drugstore brand, this works just fine. It can be clumpy if you're not quick however and it won't last as long as better quality products. When it starts to be clumpy regularly, toss it. It should last you over 6 months however. Anyway, this does a good job at making your lashes plumper but also leaves them feeling brittle. So no adding more coats later in the day. It just won't work. Take off the mascara with remover and start again if you must refresh your makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Aladyinredpolish on 1/5/2009 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Aladyinredpolish

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It is amazing what the effects of advertising can do to women and this product proves it. Time and time agian I have read in every magazine from Glamour to Instyle, to Interior Design Magazine with sections featuring interviews with women... it always recommends this mascara as the top rated. So time after time I gave it a chance, I thought maybe it was the way I was applying it or the way I stored it, or the wrong color, maybe IM whiping the brush too much... its just I didnt like it. Its not anything special. Its just the most simple mascara out there. It doesnt smell great either. I think it does do its job, but its not special, it doesnt make my eyes pop, it doesnt stay without flaking. Its just boring :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skslfksl on 1/5/2009 7:49:00 AM more reviews by skslfksl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i've tried so many mascaras, and this mascara is not good at all.
the formula is vary runny and doesn't hold curls much. i've actually used this mascara in regular one and waterproof one a while back. i don't recommend buying this product especially if you have straight asian lashes like mine. However, if you just need darker shade to your lashes with no curls, it just might be an ok mascara for you.

But still, DO NOT get this mascara because it's cheap. You can get so much better ones with same price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 honeydoll2 on 1/4/2009 6:05:00 PM more reviews by honeydoll2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this mascara a few years ago in 8th grade and absolutely hated it. At the time, I thought it did absolutely nothing for my lashes and was mad at the magazine (Damn you, Allure) who recommended this. I mean, at the time I wondered how anybody could like a mascara that did nothing but tint your lashes? Well a couple of days ago, I bought Great Lash again. And fell absolutely positively no going back this is it in love with it. I love the brush, I love how it thickens, I love how black it is and I love it because it's only three bucks and some change! Great lash is the type of mascara that you either hate or love it to death. And, I do admit ladies, it does flake on you. The only way that I can get over that is to use a lash primer. I use the Clinique one, but MAC has a really good one. Estee lauder's primer is excellent also. So I would say, just try it one more time. Here's some tips:

* As aforementioned, use a lash primer. It helps to build the lashes, protect them from the mascara, and it waterproofs.

*Use two coats. I don't wait in between for them to dry. This makes them clumpy and really brittle.

*Always use a eyelash curler! It's a must in any woman's makeup kit. Start from the base and clamp down three times then move to the tip of the lashes and clam down three more times. Though this is not recommended for obvious reasons, I always curl mine after mascara application. I get a better result. Just be careful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EasternPixie on 1/4/2009 12:28:00 PM more reviews by EasternPixie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is easy to apply with a small brush head, but I find it smudges under my eyes within an hour of application (usually about the time I arrive for work!) giving me dark patches under my eyes. This seems to be worse when wearing certain foundations, such as Stilla Illuminating foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 remmy on 1/3/2009 11:46:00 PM more reviews by remmy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product did absolutely nothing for me in addition to being clumpy.
I would be better off spending a little more money on a better quality mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hhcheung2000 on 1/3/2009 11:26:00 PM more reviews by hhcheung2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure why this product has gotten such good reviews from various magazines because quite frankly I don't think it works. I have very small lashes and need as much volume as I can get, but this didn't provide it. Unless you have a lot of lashes to begin with, it's not worth getting. Just save your money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JessieWW on 1/3/2009 1:09:00 PM more reviews by JessieWW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't a bad little product for the money--as long as I'm not wearing it very long.

The good:
(1) Considering that mascara should be replaced every 3 mo. due to bacteria, this is much less expensive than many other brands.
(2) goes on easily and more evenly than more expensive mascara has on me; doesn't clump on me as bad as more expensive mascara has
(3) lengthens my lashes a little (but not too much--gives a natural length look)
(4) does not irritate my sensitive eyes (mascara which was much more $$ did irritate my eyes--this is a biggie for me)
(5) gives my lashes a thicker look than a lot of more expensive mascara and did it without requiring multiple layers
(6) cleans off easily

The bad:
(1) doesn't stay put: definitely does create raccoon look under your eyes by the end of the day--which is very bad.

Summary: I wear this mascara only when I know I'll have it on for a relatively short time (less than 5 hours) and can take it off before the mascara can migrate to my skin.
________
Notes that might affect my experience versus others:

(1) Directly after applying mascara, I take a Kleenex and "bat" my lashes against it--this does a great job of removing any excess mascara that would otherwise quickly move to my under-eye area.

(2) I keep moisturizer away from my under-eye area when I'm wearing mascara as the water/oil in the moisturizer will inevitably attract the mascara when I blink.

(3) I avoid trying to put too many layers on as it always means pieces of mascara coming off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 krida12300 on 1/2/2009 11:53:00 PM more reviews by krida12300

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really have a love hate relationship with this mascara. I wear contact lenses, and I need a very good waterproof mascara. I tried this after reading good reviews from celebrities and normal people. My verdict is that if my eyes water just a little bit, IT ALL COMES OFF! It is incredibly annoying when I put on my mascara and ten minutes later it is running down my cheek. BUT, on the days my eyes do not water, this mascara lengthens my lashes a lot. Not much volume though. I will not re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products