Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5191 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Crystalj007 on 12/1/2008 9:56:00 PM more reviews by Crystalj007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, so the first time I bought this I really didn't like it, but I started layering my mascara. I start with a base coat of something cheap, then I use a good mascara to make my lashes look good. I think the brush on this is pretty crappy, but it is super cheap, so I use it as my base coat. If you have thin lashes, this stuff really doesn't help you out much at all the brush is one of the worst I have used. I agree with everyone else that says it is not very good, but it works for a cheap base coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Marty065 on 11/30/2008 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Marty065

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought it when it just came out, tried it once and toss it right away! It is undoubtedly the worst mascara I've ever tried and I would suggest to everyone who's thinking of buying one - don't, just don't!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ladycallie on 11/29/2008 4:27:00 AM more reviews by ladycallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am still confused as to why people think that this stuff is the "absolute best cult-mascara of all time" kind of thing. Its utterly crappy. Bottom line!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 C10 on 11/28/2008 5:36:00 PM more reviews by C10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Everything about this mascara is average. The applicator isn't the best, but I've used worse. The mascara itself is good for the price, but I am looking for something that gives a bit more volume. I mainly just use it to hold the curl in my eyelashes. I would buy this again if I forgot my mascara while traveling or something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iloveyousilly on 11/28/2008 2:27:00 AM more reviews by iloveyousilly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Well, i thought HEY! since i just *painfully* tried this product not 3 minutes ago, i should review it.
so i had this in my backup makeup stash as a *just in case* product. and i wasnt really planniing on using it, but after visiting this reveiw page earlyer i though i should.

so first off, i put it on and it look okay, kinda thick, and it didnt separate my lashes. it was also VERY WET. causing it to get in my eye, BURNING like crazy. so i shut my eyes, and i knew that was a mistake, i opened them and i hage these huge black racoon mascara rings around my eyes. so blindly i stumbled around my counter looking for my makeup remover so i could get that crap off my face.
now with sore red eyes, im reporting to you, If you clumsy, this product is NOT for you.
OW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 squirtle78 on 11/27/2008 6:17:00 PM more reviews by squirtle78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Crap. Total crap. I just DON'T understand how this crap can still be available for sale. I was over at a friend's place and forgot my usual mascara (L'Oreal Voluminous) so I hit up the drug store near her place. I figured the price was right, so why not? Bad idea.... first of all, this took forever to dry. Way too wet. I also couldn't get ANY volume whatsoever. My lashes are naturally long, so length wasn't a problem, but about an hour after application, there were greyish black shadows stretching from my lids to my eyebrows.... no joke. I tried to wipe them off only to have them re-appear a short time later. By this time though, I had wiped off almost all of my eye shadow off in the process. No wonder girls in high school use this stuff... they don't know any better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xyoungchic on 11/27/2008 1:51:00 PM more reviews by xyoungchic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow. I guess my sister and I are two of the few people who like Great Lash. It looks gorgeous on her. She used the curved brush and her results are: long, curled/lifted, defined with a bit of volume lashes. Rarely clumps. For me, my results are: long, curled/lifted, defined with nice volume lashes. Again, no clumps. I'm not sure how long she has been using Great Lash. It was my first mascara but then I strayed from it to other mascaras. After being fed up with false promises, I return to my old friend. This is the best I've tried. It gives you beautiful lashes and rarely clumps. I think the "too wet" problem is only when you first use the mascara or when you haven't used it in a while. That's what happens with me. My first tube was too wet the first time and then I stole my mom's (she never uses it) and it was too wet when I applied it the first time. But now, it's perfect with gorgeous lashes. My sister never has the "too wet" problem, either. One of my favorite things about this mascara is that you can use it for a natural or dramatic look. Overall, I love this mascara and will never leave it again.
*EDIT:* Squirtle78 "No wonder girls in high school use this stuff... they don't know any better." First off, I'm a dancer and have been wearing makeup since I was 3. I'm pretty sure that I've learned what's a good mascara and what isn't. And my sister is 25 so I'm pretty sure that she knows, too. People shouldn't stereotype. With that said, this is a valid review. I hope my review helps someone :)

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tracyjill923 on 11/26/2008 11:47:00 PM more reviews by tracyjill923

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so glad to read all these reviews and confirm that this is nothing great! Every magazine swears this is the best mascara and I just don't get it, but figured I miss be missing something. so I keep buying it for daily use, but it does clump. Also, it's down my face by the end of the day, but I figured that was just my eyes. I bought WP just to avoid that! But didn't stop the mess under my eyes AND...it's a nightmare to take off. I wash my face well, use a ton of eye makeup remover and there is still a good amount when I wake up n the morning. Time to try another one

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 phatsjunx on 11/26/2008 6:45:00 PM more reviews by phatsjunx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I used this a long long time ago when I didn't know much about make up. All I know is that I tried it once and stopped using it. Enough said.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nerdcat on 11/24/2008 9:31:00 PM more reviews by nerdcat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the control mascara in my on going mascara testing experiment (a lab that I have been running for the last 10 years.), not because it is anything spectacular, simply because it: a) was my first ever mascara, and has been re-purchased too many times to count b) is pretty decent in that it makes your lashes blacker and thicker than NOT wearing mascara, but nothing too WOW.
It is a cheap staple product that does the job it claims to do with no big hype or false promises.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products