Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments

rated 4.0(500 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 rinae on 8/1/2009 7:39:00 AM more reviews by rinae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It is a decent product. I actually use it to control razor bumps after a fresh shave and wax of the bikini line; it works well for that =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 studybreak on 7/18/2009 7:03:00 PM more reviews by studybreak

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Saw this recommended in Lucky magazine in an article explaining that though it's counterintuitive for oily skin to need a moisturizer, this type of skin benefits such a product. Anyway, my skin has been as clear as it has been in months (though the birth control pills help as well.) The smell is pleasant and my face feels fairly well-hydrated. Light enough to use under my makeup as well. Someone mentioned that it needs to be in a pump bottle. I hadn't thought of that beforehand, but that would be more sanitary.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsFeli89 on 7/12/2009 4:52:00 AM more reviews by MsFeli89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS STUFF! Im just finishing my first tube and I bought this about 2 or 2 months ago. Well, I bought this at Target bc the makeup lady, yes Target has a makeup lady, told me to buy it bc i told her I really like Clinique Dramatically Different Gel Moisturizer, and she reccomended that i buy this. She said its just like Clinique's., she knows this bc she used 2 work for Clinique. Well I didnt believe her. I used it and i was like ehh its w.e. I used it off and on for the first month. But then I started using it every single day, and I fell in love. I have oily/acne prone skin. This is lightweight, feels like nothing on, the gel is a nice feeling to the skin not like lotion, that leaves my skin feel greasy and heavy. I put it on under my makeup and before bed. It controls my oily and has really healed my acne. Reduces redness and WHAT I LOVE MOST IS IT LEAVES MY SKIN SO SOFT!!!!! I can't stop touching my face, its not oily and nasty, its soft, smooth, and velvety, and CLEAN! Love that it hydrates my skin. what can' i say I LOVE THIS STUFF AND HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO OILY/ACNE PRONE SKIN!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pearbeary18 on 7/11/2009 6:53:00 PM more reviews by pearbeary18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a great product! I used to use L'oreal Pure Zone Astringent with 2% salicylic acid, and it worked great but was drying to my skin. However, I can't find it anymore so I tried this. This is amazing. I use it before I go to bed. It is not drying and doesn't irritate my skin. It does take a couple of minutes to dry, but that's the least of my worries. I didn't want to use a toner/astringent with alcohol in it, and I'm glad I found this.

Give this a try! I use 10% benzoyl peroxide gel only on spots in the morning and apply sunscreen. At night I use this all over my face. Even in the winter I sometimes don't need to use a night cream because this is hydrating enough.

Some of these reviews are from people who only use this and say it doesn't work- you need to use benzoyl peroxide with this. The bp kills bacteria while the salicyclic acid exfoliates so you need both in order to treat mild acne. For moderate to severe acne, you need to see a dermatologist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 audeespicey on 7/9/2009 10:52:00 AM more reviews by audeespicey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Hate to be the messenger of bad tidings, but this lotion did nothing for me. I was excited to see that it contains 2% salicylic acid because that used to be my HG when Neutrogena had it in the Multi-Vitamin treatment years ago. Well, they discontinued that, and I never found anything remotely even plausible from Neutrogena to replace it--until this, I thought. However, the results are inferior. The lotion itself feels greasy and viscous. I put it on and shine like I'm slimy. And worst of all, THIS CRAP MAKES ME BREAK OUT. I've experimented--my face can be fine for a week, I put this on one morning, and by that night, 2 or 3 zits have surfaced. Absolute rubbish "acne stress control" when it causes acne and causes stress.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 empresslestat on 7/4/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by empresslestat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am just finishing my first tube of this and just recently discovered the best use for this on my oily skin. I usually use Olay's Sensitive Skin Lotion under my makeup & before primer since it is so light, but decided to just use the Acne Stress Control before makeup since it has been so hot here (over 90 in the Valley in LA) and the gel-like texture is so light. Well, I discovered this makes quite a nice primer and I was not half as oily as I usually am several hours after makeup application (I do use long-wearing foundations & set with powder).

As far as acne control, I only see a difference if I have a mild breakout, otherwise I have to use their Salicylic Gel on the spot to get some good reduction. My other acne secret is Acnomel which has Sulfur in it & works great over this product.

In conclusion, this is a great overall moisturizer for oily skin that has a super-smooth texture and cooling application & does reduce redness. Great scent too! Don't think this would offer enough moisture for those with dry skin or enough acne-control for serious breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TampaBayGal on 7/4/2009 4:33:00 PM more reviews by TampaBayGal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

It goes on very smooth...just not sure it does anything. I may update this review in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bee123 on 6/22/2009 1:03:00 AM more reviews by bee123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and my problem areas are mainly located around my chin and a bit on my forehead. Upon the first application of this product the redness in my skin went down significantly! I find that the scent of this product (sweet cucumber) is wonderful and non-irritating. The watery, gel-like texture of this treatment is also very pleasant, soothing and helps to smooth the skin. I have found that acne on my chin has been slightly reduced in the past 5 days however I have still broken out a little on my forehead so I'm not sure that this product is the greatest for prevention.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluejeanbby on 6/20/2009 8:38:00 PM more reviews by bluejeanbby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! it immediately reduced my redness a whole lot (: It makes my skin unbelievably soft, and not only did it reduce my redness, it also made my pimples just a bit smaller and faded away my acne scars. Would definitely recommend and buy again! but I would say to buy a separate acne product like a cleanser or scrub, because with this product alone, it won't get rid of all your acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmc1234 on 6/19/2009 10:57:00 AM more reviews by cmc1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Only Neutrogena product I've been able to use. Works great clearing my clogged pores. I have very oily skin and I use this at night because it makes me oily. Update: made me break out in cysts even though it was clearing pores on my nose. Stopped using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments products