BeneFit Cosmetics • Dallas • Blush

rated 4.2(517 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 resco on 11/14/2008 11:41:00 PM more reviews by resco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the perfect "pick me up" for the face. It gives you that healthy glow without giving you that fake "Californian-wannabe-look". It goes on this skin beautifully as it has a transluecent plum pigment, which you can build by applying more product. It can be worn as either a blush or bronzer as it is a wonderful, clever mix of both. Personally, I wear it as a bronzer to give me an extra boost of color, over my forehead, temples, chin and nose. It is attractive and natural looking. The only downside to this product is the poor quality of the packaging. Although the cute, decorative box is fun and exciting when you first purchase the product, the box falls apart after a couple months of carrying it around in your purse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lolochka on 11/1/2008 2:19:00 PM more reviews by Lolochka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is THE BEST BRONZER (I don't know why it's listed as a blush here) This is the first bronzer I tried and bought. Since I have a very fair skin tone I used to avoid bronzers before. I just love Dallas! It really gives you a healthy glow. Every time I use it I think that I should were it every day. Now I have many bronzers in my collection (few Guerlain, two other bronzers by Benefit -Hoola & Perfect 10, Too Faced, Bare Minerals, etc) but Dallas my favorite of all.
I will repurchase it again and again (hope that Benefit will never discontinue it)
The only minus: after carrying it for some time in my purse, the pretty package doesn't look good)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katie_alti on 10/24/2008 1:10:00 PM more reviews by katie_alti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Since I am super pale I tend to avoid true bronzers. I've had this product since it first came out and it still has yet to be replaced. It is such a vertsatile color. In the summer I use it as a bronzer and it gives me a nice faux tan look, and in the winter I use it as blush to keep me from looking pasty. I will never be without it. It is the rock in my blush collection. It goes with pretty much anything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lipglosseater on 10/23/2008 4:24:00 AM more reviews by lipglosseater

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

*Click on "Continued>>" to view pics / full review*



At a Glance:
Price: RM129 / US$28
Website: Benefitcosmetics.com
Weight: 12.0 g net wt 0.42 oz
Made in: USA
Ingredients: Talc, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Manganese Violet (CI77742), Ethylhexyl, Palmitate, Magnesium Myristate, Dimethicone, Iron Oxides (CI77491), Zinc Stearate, Iron Oxides (CI77492), Ultramarines (CI77007), Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides (CI77499), Boron Nitride, Lecithin, Methylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Fragrance (Parfum), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Red 7 Lake (CI15850), Tocopherol, BHT, Retinyl Palmitate, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Limonene, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Linalool, Hexyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Salicylate, Citral, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Citronellol, Eugenol.


Product Description:

The perfect combination of bronzer and blush.

Give your complexion a natural-looking glow that will leave you looking younger, healthier and more vibrant. This sheer wash of color dusted across your cheeks, forehead and chin gives any complexion a healthy looking radiance... it's a glow that defies even Mother Nature.


Actual Product Pic:


Pigmentation & Color (Plus Swatches! :D):


Benefit Dallas looks scarily dark in the pan, but it actually goes on a lovely sheer muave rose with slight silverish shimmers. Pigmentation wise, it is the best out of the 3 i owned (the other two being Dandelion & Georgia). It has a tendency to look "muddy" on some people though, so the trick is to apply it with a skunk brush for a light, airbrushed look! :)

Swatches:


Looks quite dark right? But look how natural it is on my NC20 skin! I applied twice on each cheek.


And if you're wondering how different this is from the other Benefit powders, here's a comparison:


Packaging:

This powder comes in a cute little box complete with a brush and a plastic tray! I know alot of people complain about the box, but i like it (partly because i don't travel with this blush as well, so i don't have problems with it's bulkiness)! haha! :D


Like the other Benefit powders, the brush that comes with this powder is quite scratchy, so i do not recommend using this!! Use a big fluffy brush instead! :)

Texture & Scent:
This powder has the best texture among the 3 Benefit powders i own! It goes on quite smooth! It used to have a lovely scent, but has long disappeared! :)

Time Test:
The lasting power of this powder is alright... it starts to fade after 6 hours, which is ok.

Price & Availability:
This product is priced at RM129 / US$28, which is a little more expensive than your regular blushes, although you get quite alot of product in a box. It's available at all Benefit counters and on Benefitcosmetics.com.

Usage:
I usually use this as a contouring powder! I love how it looks as a blush too! :)

Note: this powder is NOT eye safe, so do not apply it too near to your eyes or directly on your eyelids! :)

My $0.02:
I bought this powder when it first came out for collection sake, thinking that the dark rosey color will never suit my fair skin. Imagine my surprise when i first put this on! It made my skin look so naturally glowy that i forsake my other Benefit blushes for a few months after that! lol! As with all Benefit stuff, this blush is a little pricey though. While i did not regret my purchase, i'm still on the fence whether i would ever repurchase it! hehe!

In a Nutshell:

A lovely rosey color that makes me look healthy! :)

Likes: Perfect "healhty glow" shade for me, lovely packaging
Gripes: The lousy brush
Repurchase: Probably No, as i seldom reach for this blush nowadays.

Rating:
4 Stars ! Pretty decent stuff!

Credits: Product photo from Benefitcosmetics.com.

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Faithersk on 10/21/2008 2:36:00 AM more reviews by Faithersk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap and THIS is the reason I love swapping. I never would have bought this for myself...it looks like dirt in the bottom of a box! hehehe =) But it goes on *gorgeous* bronze/nude/plum/rose color. Just what I was looking for. Shimmer is subtle enough that I can use this as a contour color, which is exactly what I was going for. When I am paler in the winter months (NC20-25) this is perfect, but can look muddy when I am a touch darker in the summer (But I prefer bright popping cheeks in the warmer months anyway). I LOVE it and would highly recommend. Would be great if they sold refill pans......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dizzied on 10/20/2008 1:49:00 AM more reviews by dizzied

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This color was made for me! I love the consistency of this product, as it gives a nice glow to my face without being too "bronzer-y." I think the packaging is cute. Dallas lives on the top of my vanity but I would like this product to be more toteable. I hate the brushes that come with these products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nycki on 10/16/2008 7:39:00 AM more reviews by nycki

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this blusher. Definitely HG for me. It is a very natural looking plummy shade on my cheeks with the perfect amount of shimmer - just enough to brighten the face without looking like a nu-raver. It is very hard to over-apply making this practically foolproof. I have a few grumbles with this though. The price: as like all benefit products definitely overpriced, the packaging: the fact that it's a box means I can tap excess off my brush and not waste any but I'm also too scared to take this out with me in case it explodes in my handbag and lastly the staying power: I normally put a little too much on in the morning just so it'll last me the day and if I don't wear foundation this just doesn't show up at all. I will repurchase if I can't find something similar for cheaper (which I doubt) as 22.50 for a poor student is a bit much but this is an absolute gorgeous blusher. For reference: NC45

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mrsnewbill on 9/21/2008 11:00:00 PM more reviews by mrsnewbill

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a benefit lover, through and through. I bought Dallas because i already LOVE Georgia and Dandelion. It has all the same great appeal as those two. Unfortunately, the color just isn't right for me. I have been able to use it as an "eye blush" for a gentle, fresh look, but not so much on my cheeks. I definitely should have gone to a Benefit counter for this one, rather than getting it online.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sparklespin on 9/17/2008 5:39:00 AM more reviews by sparklespin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this a couple years ago when it first came out... I guess it's just not for me. I'm pale, so it makes me look too red when I use it as a bronzer and the colour is too concentrated and dirty looking as a blush, doesn't blend easily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 benz909 on 9/12/2008 12:09:00 AM more reviews by benz909

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think it was just about time to review this. I've had this since hmm my birthday which was may..so (lets do the math together!) about 3-4 months. Here's my story.
Do you ever get grabbed by those crazy ladies at benefit? yes they are nice, but sometimes *especially in london* they insist so much you just end up doing it. Anyways, me and my friend got our little makeovers, of course over done. But the lady used dallas on me, and suprisingly *even though she put on a bit too much i think* it looked good!
The powder boxes run for about 22 which is a hard cold $44! thats why i didnt buy it right away. But then my best bud got this for me for my bday, and I LOVE IT!
Pros:
-great color. simple as that.
-a good amount of shimmer. not too strong, its subtle
-lol i like the smell of this :)
-applys nicely soft to the touch (like most powders!)
-will last me AGES. (maybe another 2 years? i dont use it everyday)
-can be used a blush, or a bronzer (in otherwords it can be applied as an allover face powder)
- the box is uber cute :)

cons:
-the price. (do i need to say it!?)
-the stupid brush it comes with is SO useless.
-when you dab your brush in the box it generates alot of powder (but in a way the box is good for this so it keeps the product inside and not like a compact which will loose the powder)
-the box is chunky, cute, but kinda annoying to carrying around of you plan on doing touch ups (which i suggest i dont but you might want to)
-doesn't last long enough! (on the face i mean :D)

I don't know if i will buy this again. i guess if i really miss it wheni run out of it, i'll get it, but I also plan on trying dandelion :)

btw, for the record i have medium skin, that can look very dull and this perks it up great!

edit: I did a review on this on youtube, so if you want to get a better idea of the color, just search the youtube search engine for benefit dallas review :) have fun!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Blush products