MAC • Brush Cleanser • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(516 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Arizonah13 on 3/15/2009 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Arizonah13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

How have I used MAC's makeup brushes for years, yet never once used their brush cleaner?? All this time I've been using regular handsoap - yes, antibacterial HANDSOAP!

I am so glad I decided to fork over the $11 and buy this stuff. My thoughts:

1. Surprised by its liquidy consistency (I was expecting a gel-type of cleaner)
2. Doesn't seem to foam all that much, but good grief my brushes get clean QUICK!
3. Speaking of clean brushes - all of my white and white tipped brushes (hello 187) are BACK to actually being white. I was amazed.
4. It could be my imagination, but it actually seems like its conditioning my brushes (then again, I WAS using hand soap before). My brushes have all returned to their fresh-from-the-counter softness.

In conclusion, for the love of your brushes, buy a bottle and at least TRY this glorious cleaning tool.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lrinke218 on 3/8/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by lrinke218

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this with every intention of using it, but have to force myself to remember it. I deep clean my brushes once a week with olive oil and shampoo and bought this planning to use it once every couple days or something as a quick clean in between.

I have used it a few times in the 1+ year I've had it - but I actually find it unnecessary. All you're doing is paying for some cleaning solution with a fancy name on it.

On a positive note, it does smell good! I just don't find that it's necessary and if I ever finish the bottle I have, I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jesusloverx3 on 3/8/2009 9:14:00 PM more reviews by jesusloverx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This brush cleaner is nice. It's good for the price, since I don't clean my brushes everyday. I don't see why you would need a spray cap. This stuff doesn't come pouring out, since I feel the need to squeeze the bottle a tad to get product out. This cleans, and conditions my brushes nicely, and the price isn't bad either. I would definetly buy again ;]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jrc82 on 3/4/2009 11:02:00 PM more reviews by jrc82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff works great for cleaning brushes. I especially like that it's not insanely expensive, considering it's MAC. But honestly, I'm probably just going to make my own cleaning solution and use the empty bottle when I'm done with it. I think homemade solutions work just as well, and you save money in the long run.

My only big complain is that it's not a spray! The dispenser cap is very annoying and I find that you waste a lot of the cleanser when you use it that way. All of this stuff dumps out and soaks your paper towel when you didn't want that much in the first place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Abrial on 3/4/2009 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Abrial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this product, it very little product to clean alot, but if there was a spray pump there would be less waste and be alot easier to use thats why this product gets only 4 lippies

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 manthanoelle on 3/3/2009 4:06:00 AM more reviews by manthanoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

For the price this brush cleanser is worth the buy. I am not too picky about how my brushes get cleaned as long as the do get cleaned.

I usually split a cap full of brush cleanser with a cap full of water in a brush cleansing jar and brush scrub pad from Michael's.

I don't really see the hoorah in how this brush cleanser really leaves you brushes dry in a short amount of time. My brushes usually take 2/3 hours to dry after using this brush cleanser.


I would completely buy this again, but I do wish there would be an optional spray cap you can attach to the bottle. I think being able to spray this would be a lot more helpful for random spot cleanings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beebop808 on 3/2/2009 8:37:00 PM more reviews by beebop808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Bought 2 bottles within the last 2 1/2 years, it's a good solution, but not the best. Priced about 10 + tax.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tawnyinthepink on 3/2/2009 6:38:00 PM more reviews by tawnyinthepink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not a bad brush cleanser, not the best either. I use this daily for wiping down brushes after use. I fully clean my brushes at least once a month, but this cleanser works fine for daily cleansing. It's a bit pricey, but works fine. Has a bit of an alcohol smell that will stay on bristles if you don't let them dry a bit before tossing them back. I dunno...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaleIsTheNewTan on 3/2/2009 5:45:00 PM more reviews by PaleIsTheNewTan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't have a ton of experience with Brush Cleansers [Sephora's generic/house brand, J&J Baby Shampoo, MAC], but of the three, on soft, non-stiff brushes, I like MAC's cleanser best.

I used it on Yves Rocher brushes, my 187, 195 & 219, my Kat Von D for Sephora set, and Body Shop brushes. This worked well on all the soft brushes, and didn't leave residue on my BS Kabuki, my KVD set, or my 187, which was an issue I had with J&J shampoo.

I do not find it gets my 195 brush - which I use with Studio Sculpt concealer - as clean as I like. It can get it clean - but it takes far more of a concentrated effort to get the 195 clean with MAC's cleanser.

The packaging bothers me. I'm glad I can use this for Back to MAC, so I'm sure I'll be using this for a while to come and re-buying. But the lid bothers me. Holding the bottle upside down, while attempting to deposit 1 part brush cleaner to 4 parts water into a spray bottle, when it's got one of those push-down shampoo bottle lids, isn't the greatest method.

The smell is a weird mix of Philosophy's Hope in a Jar, and watered down Carmex balm. It has a terrible medicine-esque smell. It's not overpowering - but it is noticeable if the brush is constantly around the nostrils. I guess that's the price to pay though, for a cleanser that disinfects too.

All in all, it does it's job. But if MAC didn't have the Back 2 MAC program, and I weren't using it often, I'd just go for the old J&J or Sephora stand-by.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rinstarangel on 3/2/2009 1:27:00 PM more reviews by rinstarangel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this for touch-up cleaning in between my full-out cleaning of my brushes. I, too, wish it were in a spray bottle. My solution has just been to buy a mini spray bottle from the dollar bins at Target and pour it in there. I just spray each side, brush back and forth on a paper towel, let it dry for a minute or so, and it's good to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Misc Beauty Tools products