MAC • Brush Cleanser • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(512 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Abrial on 3/4/2009 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Abrial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this product, it very little product to clean alot, but if there was a spray pump there would be less waste and be alot easier to use thats why this product gets only 4 lippies

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 manthanoelle on 3/3/2009 4:06:00 AM more reviews by manthanoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

For the price this brush cleanser is worth the buy. I am not too picky about how my brushes get cleaned as long as the do get cleaned.

I usually split a cap full of brush cleanser with a cap full of water in a brush cleansing jar and brush scrub pad from Michael's.

I don't really see the hoorah in how this brush cleanser really leaves you brushes dry in a short amount of time. My brushes usually take 2/3 hours to dry after using this brush cleanser.


I would completely buy this again, but I do wish there would be an optional spray cap you can attach to the bottle. I think being able to spray this would be a lot more helpful for random spot cleanings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beebop808 on 3/2/2009 8:37:00 PM more reviews by beebop808

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Bought 2 bottles within the last 2 1/2 years, it's a good solution, but not the best. Priced about 10 + tax.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tawnyinthepink on 3/2/2009 6:38:00 PM more reviews by tawnyinthepink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not a bad brush cleanser, not the best either. I use this daily for wiping down brushes after use. I fully clean my brushes at least once a month, but this cleanser works fine for daily cleansing. It's a bit pricey, but works fine. Has a bit of an alcohol smell that will stay on bristles if you don't let them dry a bit before tossing them back. I dunno...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaleIsTheNewTan on 3/2/2009 5:45:00 PM more reviews by PaleIsTheNewTan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't have a ton of experience with Brush Cleansers [Sephora's generic/house brand, J&J Baby Shampoo, MAC], but of the three, on soft, non-stiff brushes, I like MAC's cleanser best.

I used it on Yves Rocher brushes, my 187, 195 & 219, my Kat Von D for Sephora set, and Body Shop brushes. This worked well on all the soft brushes, and didn't leave residue on my BS Kabuki, my KVD set, or my 187, which was an issue I had with J&J shampoo.

I do not find it gets my 195 brush - which I use with Studio Sculpt concealer - as clean as I like. It can get it clean - but it takes far more of a concentrated effort to get the 195 clean with MAC's cleanser.

The packaging bothers me. I'm glad I can use this for Back to MAC, so I'm sure I'll be using this for a while to come and re-buying. But the lid bothers me. Holding the bottle upside down, while attempting to deposit 1 part brush cleaner to 4 parts water into a spray bottle, when it's got one of those push-down shampoo bottle lids, isn't the greatest method.

The smell is a weird mix of Philosophy's Hope in a Jar, and watered down Carmex balm. It has a terrible medicine-esque smell. It's not overpowering - but it is noticeable if the brush is constantly around the nostrils. I guess that's the price to pay though, for a cleanser that disinfects too.

All in all, it does it's job. But if MAC didn't have the Back 2 MAC program, and I weren't using it often, I'd just go for the old J&J or Sephora stand-by.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rinstarangel on 3/2/2009 1:27:00 PM more reviews by rinstarangel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this for touch-up cleaning in between my full-out cleaning of my brushes. I, too, wish it were in a spray bottle. My solution has just been to buy a mini spray bottle from the dollar bins at Target and pour it in there. I just spray each side, brush back and forth on a paper towel, let it dry for a minute or so, and it's good to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ohtwicemyburn on 3/2/2009 1:01:00 PM more reviews by ohtwicemyburn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff gets the job done. I rarely wash my brushes (have very little time and I am not oily), but when I do, this takes off every little stain, even the ones I thought were permanent. Great stuff! Agree that a spray pump would make more sense, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Krisababy on 2/24/2009 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Krisababy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great product, cleans my brushes really well and with little effort, it doesnt take many swipes back and forth to clean the product off the bristles which is good because i dont have a lot of patience to fiddle with things for ages! Gets the brushes really clean and also disinfectants them which is a bonus. The only problem I have is that its not a spray pump - like some other reviewers have said, but thats easily fixed if you keep a spray pump from another product that can fit the brush cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mgjolley on 2/23/2009 1:49:00 AM more reviews by mgjolley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
from MAC
ok cleaning ability

cons:
alcohol smell
artificial coloring
comparatively expensive
does not clean brushes well (at least it does a worse job than my facial cleanser)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goldensyrup on 2/21/2009 2:20:00 AM more reviews by goldensyrup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This brush cleaner is ok, Napoleon make an almost identical product only I prefer theirs as it's in a spray bottle and therefore easier to use and there's far less waste. To be honest this habit of spot cleaning never makes me feel that the brushes are really clean, I prefer to fully wash my brushes in gentle shampoo regularly and lay them across my sink to air dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Misc Beauty Tools products