MAC • Brush Cleanser • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(509 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tawnyinthepink on 3/2/2009 6:38:00 PM more reviews by tawnyinthepink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not a bad brush cleanser, not the best either. I use this daily for wiping down brushes after use. I fully clean my brushes at least once a month, but this cleanser works fine for daily cleansing. It's a bit pricey, but works fine. Has a bit of an alcohol smell that will stay on bristles if you don't let them dry a bit before tossing them back. I dunno...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaleIsTheNewTan on 3/2/2009 5:45:00 PM more reviews by PaleIsTheNewTan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't have a ton of experience with Brush Cleansers [Sephora's generic/house brand, J&J Baby Shampoo, MAC], but of the three, on soft, non-stiff brushes, I like MAC's cleanser best.

I used it on Yves Rocher brushes, my 187, 195 & 219, my Kat Von D for Sephora set, and Body Shop brushes. This worked well on all the soft brushes, and didn't leave residue on my BS Kabuki, my KVD set, or my 187, which was an issue I had with J&J shampoo.

I do not find it gets my 195 brush - which I use with Studio Sculpt concealer - as clean as I like. It can get it clean - but it takes far more of a concentrated effort to get the 195 clean with MAC's cleanser.

The packaging bothers me. I'm glad I can use this for Back to MAC, so I'm sure I'll be using this for a while to come and re-buying. But the lid bothers me. Holding the bottle upside down, while attempting to deposit 1 part brush cleaner to 4 parts water into a spray bottle, when it's got one of those push-down shampoo bottle lids, isn't the greatest method.

The smell is a weird mix of Philosophy's Hope in a Jar, and watered down Carmex balm. It has a terrible medicine-esque smell. It's not overpowering - but it is noticeable if the brush is constantly around the nostrils. I guess that's the price to pay though, for a cleanser that disinfects too.

All in all, it does it's job. But if MAC didn't have the Back 2 MAC program, and I weren't using it often, I'd just go for the old J&J or Sephora stand-by.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rinstarangel on 3/2/2009 1:27:00 PM more reviews by rinstarangel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this for touch-up cleaning in between my full-out cleaning of my brushes. I, too, wish it were in a spray bottle. My solution has just been to buy a mini spray bottle from the dollar bins at Target and pour it in there. I just spray each side, brush back and forth on a paper towel, let it dry for a minute or so, and it's good to go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ohtwicemyburn on 3/2/2009 1:01:00 PM more reviews by ohtwicemyburn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff gets the job done. I rarely wash my brushes (have very little time and I am not oily), but when I do, this takes off every little stain, even the ones I thought were permanent. Great stuff! Agree that a spray pump would make more sense, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Krisababy on 2/24/2009 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Krisababy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great product, cleans my brushes really well and with little effort, it doesnt take many swipes back and forth to clean the product off the bristles which is good because i dont have a lot of patience to fiddle with things for ages! Gets the brushes really clean and also disinfectants them which is a bonus. The only problem I have is that its not a spray pump - like some other reviewers have said, but thats easily fixed if you keep a spray pump from another product that can fit the brush cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mgjolley on 2/23/2009 1:49:00 AM more reviews by mgjolley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
from MAC
ok cleaning ability

cons:
alcohol smell
artificial coloring
comparatively expensive
does not clean brushes well (at least it does a worse job than my facial cleanser)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goldensyrup on 2/21/2009 2:20:00 AM more reviews by goldensyrup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This brush cleaner is ok, Napoleon make an almost identical product only I prefer theirs as it's in a spray bottle and therefore easier to use and there's far less waste. To be honest this habit of spot cleaning never makes me feel that the brushes are really clean, I prefer to fully wash my brushes in gentle shampoo regularly and lay them across my sink to air dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 njtheaterchick on 2/21/2009 2:09:00 AM more reviews by njtheaterchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have used a lot of brush cleaners and this is by far the best. It not only gets my brushes extremely clean, but it rinses out very easily, which is the best part for me. Well worth $10.00.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanpe on 2/17/2009 10:45:00 AM more reviews by sanpe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift and and very pleased with it. I use it to quickly clean my brushes. It dries super fast so i can use them right away. I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 2/17/2009 5:20:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It took me a while how to figure out how to properly use this so I was on the fence before but I cant live without this now! The only problem is the squeeze top. Brush cleaner is easier dispensed in a spray pump so I put this in a spray bottle and the empty bottle can be used for B22M. I spray my brushes will this the lay them flat for a few seconds to let the solution set. Then I wipe the brushes gently on a clean towel and lay my brushes flat to dry. There are a lot of you tube videos trying to tell you how to clean your brushes but this works best for me. I tried EnKore's recipe but I cant get it right and it's too drying for my brushes without easily removing product from the brush bristles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Misc Beauty Tools products