MAC Brush Cleanser

4.4

524 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), SD Alcohol, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Hexylene Glycol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Isopropyl Alcohol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Triclosan, Red 33, Blue 1.


on 4/24/2009 11:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't use this product for deep cleaning, so this review is for spot cleaning. I poured some of this cleaner into a smaller spray bottle. Before my weekly deep cleaning, I spray some MAC cleanser onto a paper towel and wipe my white-bristled brushes clean on that one. I have found that for these kind of brushes, this cleanser is the most effective for getting the colours off the brush hairs, returning the natural white bristles. Usually shampoo, or even olive oil + shampoo, will not get the same effect as this one.


Sometimes I use this cleanser to spot clean alone, which for me just involves spraying it onto a paper towel and wiping the brush back and forth on it. But I find that with this method, the brush hairs end up a bit stiffer and prickly when dried. I don't use this for shampooing my brushes because I would go through this stuff too fast and it is a little expensive for that. Besides, baby shampoo does an excellent job for me so there's really no need to replace it.



on 4/24/2009 10:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First of all, this is my second brush cleanser. My first was from sephora, and when I didn't have anything to compare it to I thought it was great. After trying MAC though, the difference is staggering. MAC is much more conditioning to the brushes and it takes less product to clean in less time than the sephora version. The fact that the bottle is pour not spray is a little annoying, but I just transferred it into my empty sephora spray bottle and am pleased. Also, the price of MAC's cleanser was cheaper than the sephora version and MAC's also has about 2 more fluid ounces to the bottle. So far, best cleanser I've tried for both value and results!


on 4/12/2009 3:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The worst brush cleaner ever. I loved it at first, but it dried my brushes out like crazy. Some of the MAC brushes I used to love, I don't even use anymore because they feel too scratchy on my skin. If you want the quality of your bristles to last, don't buy this.

Edit on 03/03/10: Okay, I like this again. It's great for spot cleaning my eye brushes. For face brushes, it dries them out too much so I don't use this for my face brushes. I especially use this for my eyeliner brushes. It's important to keep those clean between uses. If you think this is too expensive, good old water and soap/shampoo (for your liner brushes) will work fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2009 2:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i love this! i can't compare it to any other brush cleanser because all i've used otherwise is baby shampoo on my brushes, but this stuff is so convenient. i squirt a little onto a soft towel and rub my brushes on that with each use. they're hardly even wet so they dry much, much faster and it's just a lot more convenient.

it doesn't leave my brushes feeling oily or anything even though i don't rinse them afterward. it also smells nice.

the only complaint i have is the cap, it's too easy to let too much out. a spray cap would be more convenient.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When I first started using MAC products, I purchased fluidline and a brush. The lady at the store told me to use mild antibacterial hand soap to clean the brush, when I asked how to clean it. Remember now that I was naive, and was trusting this lady's advice. I found that it dried out my brush, that I had spent seventeen dollars on, and some of the bristles started falling out. When I bought one of their holiday brush kits, another lady asked me if I knew how to clean them. My reply was "Of course, you just use hand soap." The lady was appalled, she gasped and called one of her coworkers over and explained that I thought you were to use soap. They told me about the brush cleaner, and I bought it on the spot - wondering why I hadn't heard about it before.

The brush cleaner is amazing, in my opinion. It cleans my brushes thoroughly. As soon as you dispense it onto the brush, you can see the make up automatically coming off. I've been through three bottles so far now, and I'll definitely keep buying it since it cleans my brushes so well. I do agree with the other reviews saying that it comes out too fast, but I just squirt a little into a jar and dip my brushes in.


on 3/29/2009 5:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For about three years now, I've been using MAC's brush cleanser to clean my brushes. I used to go through one or two bottles a month because I hated having dirty brushes, especially if they were white haired.

Instead of deep cleaning my brushes in the brush cleanser once a week, I pour some extra virgin olive oil on a paper towel and swipe my brushes on it until all the color is gone (or at least most of it), wash them in baby shampoo, then swipe them over some brush cleanser before laying them out to dry.

It sounds like a long and unnecessary process, but it saves me a lot of money in the long run since I'm usually down almost half a bottle after deep cleaning my brushes. I'm not sure if it really does anything to condition my brushes, but I will keep repurchasing for times when I want to quickly clean them before each use.


on 3/16/2009 11:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i like the way this brush cleanser works, but i can't stand the bottle cap. it is way too liquid to use a shampoo cap. it always ends up spilling out when i'm trying to use it. i wish it had a squeeze lid or spray top. otherwise, i love this product. it hasn't dried out my brushes and it rinses out easily.


on 3/15/2009 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall, it is an excellent brush cleanser (whenever I remember to clean my brushes after use). Gets whatever product I used out of the bristles of my brush. The package is not the best though. Instead of having a cap like the one it comes with, I replaced it with a spray cap from one of my old Victoria Secret body mist in order to get easier access to the brush cleanser. For the price of $11, you get a lot of the liquid which will last a really long time. When I do run out, I definitely purchase again =)


on 3/15/2009 9:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

How have I used MAC's makeup brushes for years, yet never once used their brush cleaner?? All this time I've been using regular handsoap - yes, antibacterial HANDSOAP!

I am so glad I decided to fork over the $11 and buy this stuff. My thoughts:

1. Surprised by its liquidy consistency (I was expecting a gel-type of cleaner)
2. Doesn't seem to foam all that much, but good grief my brushes get clean QUICK!
3. Speaking of clean brushes - all of my white and white tipped brushes (hello 187) are BACK to actually being white. I was amazed.
4. It could be my imagination, but it actually seems like its conditioning my brushes (then again, I WAS using hand soap before). My brushes have all returned to their fresh-from-the-counter softness.

In conclusion, for the love of your brushes, buy a bottle and at least TRY this glorious cleaning tool.


on 3/8/2009 9:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this with every intention of using it, but have to force myself to remember it. I deep clean my brushes once a week with olive oil and shampoo and bought this planning to use it once every couple days or something as a quick clean in between.

I have used it a few times in the 1+ year I've had it - but I actually find it unnecessary. All you're doing is paying for some cleaning solution with a fancy name on it.

On a positive note, it does smell good! I just don't find that it's necessary and if I ever finish the bottle I have, I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
71 Reviews
Mia
1044 Reviews
the sponge
668 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
37 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 8 by fionaman

Product Wars - Episode 19 by fionaman

Part 1: Sanitary Practice & When to Discard by EnKoreMakeup

Cleaning Brushes Basics by EnKoreMakeup



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top