BeneFit Cosmetics • They're Real • Mascara

rated 3.5(1659 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ashleymayf on 3/4/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by ashleymayf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The cult-obsession over this mascara is well-deserved. It's my ideal mascara, it's a rich black, which builds amazing length AND volume AND holds a wicked curl AND lasts all day (yes. finally. all of them in one). While it's not marketed as waterproof, you'll want some serious makeup remover to take this off, because it doesn't like to budge. I didn't think this would live up to the ridiculous hype and it totally did. Only con is the price, but I'd happily pay it for the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 3/4/2014 5:49:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I'm just now discovering this tube of awesomeness!:)) Shame on me for not trying it sooner.

"They're Real" was recommended to me by a good friend of mine whose makeup choices are always on point and has the most amazing lashes..I've never been one to spend more then $10 on mascara, but based on her recommendation I bought it.

I have wimpy, thin lashes that are brown/black in color and most mascaras don't do enough for me as I need a lot of help in the lengthening and thickening department; the only thing I have going for me is that my lashes have a natural curl to them. Enter Benefit's They're Real Mascara...a highly pigmented, jet-black mascara that takes my eye lashes to the extreme, just 3 coats and it looks like I have on falsies, no joke! No flakes or raccoon eyes here so I'm ecstatic about that too.

The formula is more "wet" than most, but I like that about it as it leads to a more dramatic and intense application and it has a synthetic fiber brush with a sphere-like extension on the end to help get every little lash (even those itty bitty ones in your inner corners). I have zero complaints about the brush and the final result, my only gripe is that this mascara is a pain in butt to remove; most products come off easily with equate eye makeup remover wipes for me, but not his one...I have to do the additional step of wiping the remains of it off with olive or coconut oil. I don't mind doing this as I think I found a new HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShellyD11 on 3/3/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by ShellyD11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS! I can't get over how it holds the curl all day! It gives my lashes the perfect amount of volume and length. Also no raccoon eyes by the end of the day, which is a big plus. One of the best mascaras out there right now. Can't understand why the rating is so low.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katcolee on 3/3/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by Katcolee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

A great mascara, one of my favourites. It's gives the perfect amount of volume and length and lasts all day. Can't really fault if apart from the fact that's it's soo expensive. Can't really afford it. Don't see the point when drugstore ones can do the same. Still love it though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leahapril21 on 3/2/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Leahapril21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

The best mascara I have ever bought. I found it so hard to find a mascara that not only gave your eyelashes volume and incredible length, but this also stops them from getting all clumpy too! I know this product has been hyped up an awful lot but it really does live up to its name. I have bought this product numerous times and it is well worth the money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cassiealexa on 3/2/2014 1:37:00 AM more reviews by cassiealexa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im not big on mascara just because my lashes are literally pathetic. They dont hold a curl, grow straight with no natural curl, grow straight downwards, and are so so thin and sparse (the asian in me i suppose lol). I always use Maybellines falsies waterproof to hold the curl, so i put this on top of the falsies mascara and it worked awesome! Great length, thickness, not flaky, and great finish. If my lashes werent so stubborn itd probably work wonders. also love using this for my bottom lashes because the tip of the brush has bristles on it as well so i can really reach all my tiny bottom lashes and in the outer corners of mt eyes when i have my top false lashes on. Great mascara. beautiful packaging, as well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 butterscotchsunday on 3/1/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by butterscotchsunday

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is a fantastic mascara for me. The formula is long lasting and it hardly ever crumbles (which is usually a problem for me, no matter how great the mascara is). It really works for my lashes, giving them both a bit of length and volume. I also like that it's buildable, which means I can put on a little in the mornings and just slap on more on top of it if I'm going out later.

My only problem is that it's a bit of a pain to remove. I use Bioderma Crealine H2O for make up removal (which is amazing btw!), but the mascara takes forever to come off anyway. This could become a deal breaker for me eventually, but so far I've put up with it.

Despite this AND the fact that I'm not particularly brand loyal when it comes to mascara, I could definitely reconsider buying this again though due to how good it looks and the low-to-no crumbling tendencies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sbhonda on 2/28/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by sbhonda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Overall, this mascara just hasn't worked out for me. I really like how it looks when it's applied, but my lashes always end up sticking together and that drives me crazy. It makes this mascara virtually unwearable for me.

But if you don't have a problem with that, this mascara can make your lashes look great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 edentomlinsonx on 2/28/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by edentomlinsonx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Found this mascara really good made my lashes look long and not clumpy at all! It stays on really well! The only thing I could complain about is when you put it on little dots of mascara fall off the wand on to my face !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fragiles0ng on 2/27/2014 10:02:00 AM more reviews by fragiles0ng

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is average. It doesn't make my lashes look bad but it doesn't do anything crazy good, either. For the price, I want to be wowed, and this didn't do it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Mascara products