BeneFit Cosmetics • They're Real • Mascara

rated 3.5(1663 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gazelma on 3/5/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by gazelma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, Benefit. If it weren’t $30 a tube I would happily buy this without guilt. This definitely has been moved to ‘special occasion’ or ‘night time’ mascara rather than everyday mascara because of the steep price point. What I like about it is the formula – not too thick, and not too thin, but just right. The brush is also my favourite – drugstore mascaras and even some high end ones have crappy brushes that don’t do anything for my lashes. They don’t stick or adhere as much as I try to fight it. The hard bristles I believe does the trick – they definitely extend and it does not clump on my lashes at all.

However, I am giving this one less of a lippie rating because in just a month the whole formula just clumped in the tube, causing in a colossal waste of product… it clumped on the brush then it seeped out all over the tube. It was incredibly frustrating – to note, I didn’t store it in any weird temperature. It just occurred out of nowhere and unexpectedly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ckwylde on 3/5/2014 8:28:00 AM more reviews by ckwylde

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'd heard rave reviews about this mascara and have been in the market for something new. Unfortunately it didn't live up to it's reputation. I found it clumpy and worse it flakes off horribly during the day. For someone who wears contacts that is a big deal. I would neither buy nor recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xshirleyy on 3/5/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by xshirleyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't tend to use mascara often as my Asian lashes aren't the best to use mascara on. However, as my lashes are pretty long for an Asian, this product has indeed put emphasis on my lashes.

Overall Pros:
- Great packaging!
- Does a pretty decent job on an Asian
- Defs one of my favourite mascaras, despite the fact I don't use it often
- The wand is wicked! Love the fact that you can use it to separate clumps (only when done properly though, I remember when I first used it, I made clumps worse)

Overall Cons:
- I swear, everything is expensive in Sydney. I bought it for $38 at Myer, when you can get it for a much lower price of $23 in the US

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blushingrose on 3/4/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by blushingrose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I put yes I would buy this again but I'm not so sure. I first tried this in the trial size as a bday gift from sephora last year. I took this with me on a trip I took to the south last year in the middle of july..so this really tested the longevity.

For reference my lashes are not long..probably average length with a little curl and more thin than thick. When I put this on I was blown away. I always do two coats
no matter the mascara....this made my lashes long and thick. Very dramatic for daytime which I love.

I ran to ulta to get the full size knowing it would be the same result. The full size effect was not the same. My lashes still looked nice but not as dramatic as when I had the sample. I have used that entire tube so my review covers the effect I got over several months. The more I used it and the older the formula got the less I was impressed. Honestly I had to layer with cover girl clump crusher to get that same effect from the sample.

hopefully this review helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleymayf on 3/4/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by ashleymayf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The cult-obsession over this mascara is well-deserved. It's my ideal mascara, it's a rich black, which builds amazing length AND volume AND holds a wicked curl AND lasts all day (yes. finally. all of them in one). While it's not marketed as waterproof, you'll want some serious makeup remover to take this off, because it doesn't like to budge. I didn't think this would live up to the ridiculous hype and it totally did. Only con is the price, but I'd happily pay it for the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 3/4/2014 5:49:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I'm just now discovering this tube of awesomeness!:)) Shame on me for not trying it sooner.

"They're Real" was recommended to me by a good friend of mine whose makeup choices are always on point and has the most amazing lashes..I've never been one to spend more then $10 on mascara, but based on her recommendation I bought it.

I have wimpy, thin lashes that are brown/black in color and most mascaras don't do enough for me as I need a lot of help in the lengthening and thickening department; the only thing I have going for me is that my lashes have a natural curl to them. Enter Benefit's They're Real Mascara...a highly pigmented, jet-black mascara that takes my eye lashes to the extreme, just 3 coats and it looks like I have on falsies, no joke! No flakes or raccoon eyes here so I'm ecstatic about that too.

The formula is more "wet" than most, but I like that about it as it leads to a more dramatic and intense application and it has a synthetic fiber brush with a sphere-like extension on the end to help get every little lash (even those itty bitty ones in your inner corners). I have zero complaints about the brush and the final result, my only gripe is that this mascara is a pain in butt to remove; most products come off easily with equate eye makeup remover wipes for me, but not his one...I have to do the additional step of wiping the remains of it off with olive or coconut oil. I don't mind doing this as I think I found a new HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShellyD11 on 3/3/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by ShellyD11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS! I can't get over how it holds the curl all day! It gives my lashes the perfect amount of volume and length. Also no raccoon eyes by the end of the day, which is a big plus. One of the best mascaras out there right now. Can't understand why the rating is so low.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katcolee on 3/3/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by Katcolee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

A great mascara, one of my favourites. It's gives the perfect amount of volume and length and lasts all day. Can't really fault if apart from the fact that's it's soo expensive. Can't really afford it. Don't see the point when drugstore ones can do the same. Still love it though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leahapril21 on 3/2/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Leahapril21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

The best mascara I have ever bought. I found it so hard to find a mascara that not only gave your eyelashes volume and incredible length, but this also stops them from getting all clumpy too! I know this product has been hyped up an awful lot but it really does live up to its name. I have bought this product numerous times and it is well worth the money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cassiealexa on 3/2/2014 1:37:00 AM more reviews by cassiealexa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im not big on mascara just because my lashes are literally pathetic. They dont hold a curl, grow straight with no natural curl, grow straight downwards, and are so so thin and sparse (the asian in me i suppose lol). I always use Maybellines falsies waterproof to hold the curl, so i put this on top of the falsies mascara and it worked awesome! Great length, thickness, not flaky, and great finish. If my lashes werent so stubborn itd probably work wonders. also love using this for my bottom lashes because the tip of the brush has bristles on it as well so i can really reach all my tiny bottom lashes and in the outer corners of mt eyes when i have my top false lashes on. Great mascara. beautiful packaging, as well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Mascara products