Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(815 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 PeonyRed on 2/18/2013 7:41:00 PM more reviews by PeonyRed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First off, I am unbelievably fair and cool-toned. I first went to the Bobbi Brown counter and all their foundations were far too yellow and dark. Not even something called 'porcelain' could match me!
Saddened, I went to Chanel. Their models always seem so fair and I heard good things about their Vitalumiere Aqua. When the lady put it on me in the shade Beige Rose 10 I was amazed! The finish was so soft and pretty looking; I looked allround better! It stayed throughout the day and I could not even feel it on my skin. Very comfortable!

It is sheer coverage, however, as it intends to let your own skin show through. My one spot showed right through, so concealer is definitely necessary. However, I think pin-pointing concealer and leaving the rest relatively natural is the way to go anyway. This does get rid of redness, but more severe marking will have to be concealed.

It is also very expensive, around 45-50 dollars. I think it is still worth it, though, since skin is such a valuable and fragile organ. My skin is very sensitive, so I put money into protecting it and using good products.

All round, I will be purchasing this in full size next month! It's wonderful on my pale, dry, and sensitive skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 2/18/2013 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Too dark shades!! In Scandinavia this only seems to be available to nr. 20. The SA thought that B20 would suit me, but when I got home this was too dark and too warm!! I'm actually a NC/NW 15 during winter.... I don't understand how she could match me to this shade but she said that the more cool shade would give me a more pink look, which I should avoid cause I already am so pink/red often.

Anyway this was far too warm. And why doesn't chanel develop lighter shades for us really pale ones up here?? :(

Another problem for sensitive acne prone skin is the extremely long ingredient list...you almost need to be a chemist to understand if this contains irritants and comedogenic ingredients... I prefer shorter lists, that usually are safer....

The foundation itself was nice. Light coverage, moisturized look... Even if my extremely oily skin almost makes it impossible to wear liquid foundation, cause it slides and usually causes breakouts...I wanted to have this for special occasions....

(Wasn't able to try if for long enough to be able to say if it would break me out)

But the search goes on!


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sahara1976 on 2/17/2013 1:26:00 PM more reviews by Sahara1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am asian and have a fair to medium complexion and usually use Mac NC 40 but the other day I went to to the debenhams chanel counter and told the SA I would like a natural coverage not caked on she told me about the chanel lumiere Aqua which she applied on my face the B30, the B40 was just a bit to dark on my skin so she applied the B30 which looked awesome very natural looking and flawless. its a one stage up to the nars tinted foundation I usually use. I have had no break outs but won't be buying chanel foundation. Simple reason being it contains alcohol which in the long run is not good for your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ranneqian on 2/6/2013 10:45:00 AM more reviews by ranneqian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation because of the lasting power. It literally doesn't budge when I use it on top of a primer (either Bare Minerals primer or Clarins Beauty Flash Balm) until I remove it with a make up remover. There is no issue of my make up 'sliding' off my face in the humid weather however it tends to oxidise quite a bit so you have to be careful there. I use it during the summer months when I have darker skin and it looks flawless. It covers the discolouration of my skin very well, including the acne scars. The packaging is not the best though. It works like a squeeze bottle so you either get too little or much product at a time. Took me quite awhile to get a hang of how lightly/hard I have to press the bottle. It comes in a plastic bottle which makes it light and convenient for travel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bff on 2/6/2013 12:34:00 AM more reviews by bff

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

now that i've purchased my 3rd bottle of this foundation, i figured it was time to write a review. obviously i really like this product.

i have very sensitive skin, and most foundations either break me out, make my skin look flaky, or increase redness. this one is great. it looks exactly like skin. it's not shiny or matte, it's skin. it lasts all day w/out creasing or fading or doing anything weird. i use it under my eyes too and it's perfect.

i use this w/my fingers. i put a tiny bit in my palm, warm it up w/2 fingers from my other hand, then apply section by section on my face. when i've used nearly all of it, i rub my hands together warming up the rest and making a very thin layer, and then kind of press my palms all over my face to warm up and set the foundation. i hope this isn't totally crazy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetsweetchristine on 2/5/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by sweetsweetchristine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was searching for a good light hydrating, but not shiny/dewy, foundation for the winter/spring time for a while and I've found the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. Unlike the Chanel Vitalumiere, which turns out to be a big disappointment, I do like this foundation. The consistency is more like a cream, quite rich and heavy, but it blends very well on the face and leaves a very thin, smooth and light finish. The coverage is light to medium and is buildable. The finish is actually quite interesting, it is not matte, not shiny/dewy, it actually looks like your natural skin texture. For winter/early spring time, it lasts almost up to 3/4 day and doesn't give me any oily T-zone, which was a good surprise! But what I don't like about this foundation is the packaging and colour choice. It is very difficult to adjust the amount of foundation and I always either end up with too little or too much of the product. The other down side of the foundation is its colour range. It actually took me a while to decide whether I should use B10 or B20. B10 is slightly paler than my neck but perfect for my face but B20 is just too yellow for me so I end up buying B10 and put a darker shade powder. Overall I like this foundation as a daily wearing makeup and would possibly repurchase it if I can't find anything better than this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aleppanen on 2/5/2013 4:02:00 AM more reviews by Aleppanen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am using this on off as the shade during the winter time is slightly off so I tend to use another foundation now at day time and this one for the evening look. I am very happy it covers my couperosa and it lasts very well. Like I said the only thing is the shade, which is little bit off now. That said great coverage and little goes a long way. I actually have two bottles of this already so I will definitely continue repurchasing. Great for combination skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peronce on 2/1/2013 2:55:00 PM more reviews by peronce

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is nice on my skin. She is just wonderful for my combination/oily complexion and smell terrific. It is very easy to apply with a brush (I use the 188), or how I like it better just using my fingers. It feels so light weight on my skin and looks very natural. They only thing I would like for her is to last more, on me it just lasted 6 hours. Other than that, wonderful!
Just make sure you shake it very well before you use it, as is water based.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alise1968 on 1/29/2013 9:49:00 PM more reviews by alise1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this foundation. With a little moisturizer underneath, it gives a light and natural coverage that lasts all day. I swap using it with a tinted moisturizer. The smell is that classic Chanel that makes you feel pretty having it on. Very nice product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 morphy on 1/26/2013 8:24:00 AM more reviews by morphy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought both the liquid and compact cream formulations of this. The compact cream creates glowing skin, but also shows if you look up close. The liquid disappears into my skin and just makes it look better without that "I'm wearing makeup" look. I break out very easily and was worried about this clogging pores, but it hasn't (Note: I do use a Clarisonic and AHAs regularly). I wear this in BR10, a very pale cool shade that is incredibly difficult to find in other brands, for some reason. Thank you Chanel! Will keep buying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products