Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5191 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 centric on 12/10/2008 10:17:00 PM more reviews by centric

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, for the price I was really skeptical. And I had every right to remain skeptical of this "Great" Lash. My mom has always had a tube in her medicine cabinet; I remember venturing into there when I was younger just to mess around with the makeup. But man oh man, this mascara just left my lashes flaky, short, and basically looking the same. It did nothing for me! But at least I didn't waste much money on it, considering how cheap it is. I guess it's a hit and miss product. Pity! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rjohns14 on 12/10/2008 8:33:00 PM more reviews by rjohns14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the worst mascara I have ever used. All it does is clump. It is a nightmare. I am never buying this again. The only reason I bought it was because it had really high ratings on the cosmogirl beauty awards. I really don't see what people see in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jlphilli on 12/10/2008 3:53:00 PM more reviews by jlphilli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this mascara. Granted, I don't wear makeup that often, but this was not good. It clumps, and smudges. Everytime I would itch my eye this stuff would come off all over my fingers, even if I was trying to be delicate! I prefer CoverGirl Professional to this stuff- at least that stuff didn't smudge or clump nearly as bad as this did. I would never buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cloudy888 on 12/9/2008 9:54:00 PM more reviews by cloudy888

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, so I actually really like this mascara. It was the first one I ever owned in high school and I loved it then even though I didn't know what I was really looking for...but as time went on, I tried a few other mascaras and then I stopped wearing it all together because I heard that mascara thins your lashes and makes them fall out faster so I tried to keep mascara to special events....

Then, recently I have become an everyday make up wearing girl and I love eye make up! SO anyway, I had gotten a couple of different estee lauder mascaras from gift sets and such and I liked their zero smudge mascara and I made that my everyday mascara but I still kept a great lash in my drawer for just-in-case moments where my mascara look doesn't satisfy me. However, I have straight black lashes with medium length and thickness. And no matter how much I curled with a curler or how many coats of mascara I put on, my lashes would NOT hold a curl for more than 5 minutes. A friend who is a makeup expert did my makeup a few times and she was SOOO FRUSTRATEd bcuz my lashes just wouldn't curl! and a few other friends pointed out that I should wear some mascara....when in fact I was wearing some!!!
....anyway, so I picked up my great lash a few days ago because I really started to feel that although I liked that the estee lauder zero smudge didnt smudge, I felt that half-way through the day, there was barely any mascara left on my lashes!
So, the moment I put on my great lash, I remembered exactly why I keep this backup amongst my things ALWAYS even though I didnt use it as much. My EL mascaras and l'oreal felt dry and made my lashes "crispy"...but not my great lash :) I have smooth lashes, silky feeling....and since it had been so long since i had worn this, I was checking my lashes the other day...(to check if I had mascara left)...and I was wondering if I forgot to wear some that day because there was no crunchiness or clumpiness there.....and i look in the mirror....well well well! I do have mascara on...but how are my lashes still so soft? and Still curled!...OH YEAHHH! I applied great lash today! No wonder its not crunchy!
So, I think the trick is to apply it going from the inner corners of your eyes out or the other way and applying it in nice slow smooth sweeps instead of many quick sweeps and the more coats you do, the more likely it is that you will get clumps but if you do nice slow sweeps with maybe a jiggle or a twirl of the whole brush as you go up each section if you want more volume, (it might help).
I do believe that this mascara won't give you an absolute dramatic look but it can give you an average pretty look or a slightly dressed up look if you apply it right. Although, this is currently still my dress up and dramatic mascara because this is the ONLYYYYYYYY one that holds my curl which makes it look like I even have anything on there and makes a hugeeeeeeee difference because the other mascaras felt like they were weighing down my already straight lashes giving me a more tired look rather than a pretty awake and bright eye look that I wanted from my mascara.
Moving on to the pacakging, I like the completley diff color to make it easy to find between my things! I do have the NON_waterproof at the moment which I think makes it easier to remove, I used to use the waterproof before and removing that was a pain then esp since i was young and didn't have great products to remove makeup and removing the waterproof one would make me lose my lashes.
I did not get any racoon eyes or smudges from the normal one I am using now though and I recommend using the waterproof if you are having trouble with racoon eyes. I have never had a flaking problem with this mascara. and I LOVEEE the color, all the other mascaras I have tried definitely weren't black enough and I already have black lashes so I need my mascara to be darker to give it some oomph!
Additionally ,I LOVE the small brush, it makes it veryyy easy to apply and also to get my smaller lashes at the corners of my eyes. and I always get very nice definition and natural separation with it.
so, until I find another mascara that doesnt weigh my lashes down, holds a curl, gives me more length, a tad bit more volume, a color as black as this one, doesn't smudge or flake....anddddd is easy to remove, I will finally abandon this one :)
EDIT 3/5/09: I have become allergic to great lash! my eyes swell up by the end of the day and by the next morning I couldn't open my eyes all the way...thank god i didn't have to work or go to class! Anywho, i have to let go of my fav and only mascara I ever really liked :(....moving on in my search for another perfect mascara.
Today I tried 2 estee lauders (one for volume and one for length layered on and I am satisfied fo ran everyday look) But I like nice dramatic mascara which volumizes, lengthens alot and gives unclumped silky smooth lashes without smudging and flaking! every girls dream I suppose....and the search goes on


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 arabianchick14 on 12/8/2008 8:41:00 PM more reviews by arabianchick14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara after seeing many good review about it in magazines and from some people. This mascara isn't anything special. While the colour is probably the blackest that i have tried as of yet it didn do anything special. I keep it for emergencies but overall it doesnt lengthen or volumize at all. It doesn't clump either for me so i am still pretty neutral about it. I would probably only buy it if it was on sale or something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ANSTAH on 12/8/2008 1:03:00 AM more reviews by ANSTAH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Eh, nothing new that hasn't been said before. Just a OKAY mascara. Doesn't do anything great.. I do like the pink bottle, but then again.. I'm attracted to everything pink. The mascara is pretty clumpy and seems to dry out faster than my other mascaras, and it definitely isn't waterproof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mexiangel25 on 12/7/2008 9:06:00 PM more reviews by mexiangel25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have to agree with the last reviewer that there is nothing great about this mascara. I keep it in hand for when I run out of my Lancome mascara, but when I do use it I noticed it makes my eyes watery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aemullen on 12/7/2008 4:57:00 AM more reviews by aemullen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

There is nothing 'great' about this mascara. Makes lashes hard, clumpy, and spidery looking. Total crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pretebrowneyes on 12/6/2008 3:33:00 PM more reviews by pretebrowneyes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to love this mascara...until I spread my horizons a bit and found it is not really "great" lash. Bit it still does serve it's purpose for me...if I find myself broke and in need of mascara...I'd buy it. Otherwise there are so many more worthwhile d/s products to try

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princesselle on 12/6/2008 1:16:00 PM more reviews by princesselle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for a lengthening, black black black volumising mascara, and great lash from maybelline certainly did the trick. Costing just 4.99 in Boots,it's affordable, and gives lashes fantastic definition. It also lengthens brilliantly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products