Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5317 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax (Apis Mellifera), Ozokerite, Shellac, Glyceryl Stearate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium 15, Simethicone, Quaternium 22, Butylparaben, May Contain ( /-): Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI 77510) (CI 77510), Carmine (CI 75470) (CI 75470), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289) (CI 77289), Manganese Violet (CI 77742)


on 2/1/2009 10:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this seriously sucked. i have no idea why people say its the #1 mascara in america, because its not very good at all. this was the 1st mascara i bought, back when i didnt know anything about makeup. i only got it because it was the cheapest, so it wasnt like i wasted too much money buying it.
but basically this mascara did nothing good for me. i curled my lashes before i aplied it, and the second i applied it, my lashes were back to being stick straight. it also made my lashes a huge clumpy, nasty mess, and when i tried to unclump it with a eyelash comb, it just got all over my eyelids.
this mascara currently sits on my floor, because i dropped it, and never bothered to pick it up again because i hate it that much



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't understand how every magazine says this is the best, but it's the absolute worst mascara out there. I have really long lashes (it's not a blessing, trust me) and I used this and it clumped into 3 big clumps...I laughed because I have a sense of humor about things but no matter the length of your lashes this stuff is crap. Don't waste your money!!!!


on 1/31/2009 12:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I must concur with all the dissenters. In my opinion, this is one of the worst mascaras in the market. However, it should be said that there are other Maybelline mascaras that many love...like Lash Discovery Waterproof and Full n Soft that have excellent performance and reviews. However, I have found all Maybelline mascaras to dry out lashes and cause more breakage and fall-out. Beware.


My HG mascara is Max Factor Volume Couture waterproof. To bad it will be discontinued in the US in 2010. I've stocked up and put several packaged tubes in my refrigerator while I hunt for a non-Maybelline replacement.


on 1/31/2009 12:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So glad to see others who did not like this product! This mascara does not lengthen. It doesn't build volume. Worst of all, it leaves clumps. The brush is not luxurious or efficient. I don't know who thinks this is the best mascara - maybe they have never actually tried a mascara that works??


on 1/31/2009 10:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Don't like it. It doesn't work on me.


on 1/31/2009 1:27:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The formula is runny and goop always accumulates at the end of my wand! This does nothing for me except smudge around my eyes. I regret buying this!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It doesn't work well at all. The brush doesn't lengthen or volumize. It does nothing for me except for adding colour. I don't know why it's America's #1 mascara because I was pretty disappointed. I guess it's good for an extremely natural look because it hardly does anything.


on 1/30/2009 4:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Never understood the hype and votes for being a #1 mascara?!?!? As a makeup junky I had to try it... it was clumpy, gumpy, and gave me a raging eye infection *gross*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2009 2:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I understand that there is a huge hype about this mascara-being the #1 mascara in america and all that...so it's not that great...but its not that bad either.
I have medium length lashes, kind of sparse, but with a natural curl. This mascara gives me long, thick, feathery lashes with three coats, using a curler and an eyelash comb. In terms of pigmentation the color is just a regular old black, but i have black lashes so it doesn't really matter. but I took of 1 lippie cuz the staying power sucks and within a few hours i had black smudges underneath my eyes-and i don't have oily lids. I think its worth giving a try if mascara doesn't smudge on you easily and i find it volumizes, lengthens and keeps a curl well. I prefer using L'oreal voluminous in carbon black which does all these things but without the smudges.


on 1/29/2009 1:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

L'Oreal tried to hype up this mascara by pumping through the publicity grapevine that top models swear by Great Lash and only use this backstage. What a load of crap. It goes runny and wet on your lashes, sticking them together as if you've been crying and then it goes all flaky onto your cheeks. I have big lashes and I was expecting to see some definition, if not big volume and length. It just makes your eyes look wet.


Back to Top