Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5236 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 honeydoll2 on 1/4/2009 6:05:00 PM more reviews by honeydoll2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this mascara a few years ago in 8th grade and absolutely hated it. At the time, I thought it did absolutely nothing for my lashes and was mad at the magazine (Damn you, Allure) who recommended this. I mean, at the time I wondered how anybody could like a mascara that did nothing but tint your lashes? Well a couple of days ago, I bought Great Lash again. And fell absolutely positively no going back this is it in love with it. I love the brush, I love how it thickens, I love how black it is and I love it because it's only three bucks and some change! Great lash is the type of mascara that you either hate or love it to death. And, I do admit ladies, it does flake on you. The only way that I can get over that is to use a lash primer. I use the Clinique one, but MAC has a really good one. Estee lauder's primer is excellent also. So I would say, just try it one more time. Here's some tips:

* As aforementioned, use a lash primer. It helps to build the lashes, protect them from the mascara, and it waterproofs.

*Use two coats. I don't wait in between for them to dry. This makes them clumpy and really brittle.

*Always use a eyelash curler! It's a must in any woman's makeup kit. Start from the base and clamp down three times then move to the tip of the lashes and clam down three more times. Though this is not recommended for obvious reasons, I always curl mine after mascara application. I get a better result. Just be careful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EasternPixie on 1/4/2009 12:28:00 PM more reviews by EasternPixie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is easy to apply with a small brush head, but I find it smudges under my eyes within an hour of application (usually about the time I arrive for work!) giving me dark patches under my eyes. This seems to be worse when wearing certain foundations, such as Stilla Illuminating foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 remmy on 1/3/2009 11:46:00 PM more reviews by remmy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product did absolutely nothing for me in addition to being clumpy.
I would be better off spending a little more money on a better quality mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hhcheung2000 on 1/3/2009 11:26:00 PM more reviews by hhcheung2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure why this product has gotten such good reviews from various magazines because quite frankly I don't think it works. I have very small lashes and need as much volume as I can get, but this didn't provide it. Unless you have a lot of lashes to begin with, it's not worth getting. Just save your money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JessieWW on 1/3/2009 1:09:00 PM more reviews by JessieWW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This isn't a bad little product for the money--as long as I'm not wearing it very long.

The good:
(1) Considering that mascara should be replaced every 3 mo. due to bacteria, this is much less expensive than many other brands.
(2) goes on easily and more evenly than more expensive mascara has on me; doesn't clump on me as bad as more expensive mascara has
(3) lengthens my lashes a little (but not too much--gives a natural length look)
(4) does not irritate my sensitive eyes (mascara which was much more $$ did irritate my eyes--this is a biggie for me)
(5) gives my lashes a thicker look than a lot of more expensive mascara and did it without requiring multiple layers
(6) cleans off easily

The bad:
(1) doesn't stay put: definitely does create raccoon look under your eyes by the end of the day--which is very bad.

Summary: I wear this mascara only when I know I'll have it on for a relatively short time (less than 5 hours) and can take it off before the mascara can migrate to my skin.
________
Notes that might affect my experience versus others:

(1) Directly after applying mascara, I take a Kleenex and "bat" my lashes against it--this does a great job of removing any excess mascara that would otherwise quickly move to my under-eye area.

(2) I keep moisturizer away from my under-eye area when I'm wearing mascara as the water/oil in the moisturizer will inevitably attract the mascara when I blink.

(3) I avoid trying to put too many layers on as it always means pieces of mascara coming off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 krida12300 on 1/2/2009 11:53:00 PM more reviews by krida12300

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really have a love hate relationship with this mascara. I wear contact lenses, and I need a very good waterproof mascara. I tried this after reading good reviews from celebrities and normal people. My verdict is that if my eyes water just a little bit, IT ALL COMES OFF! It is incredibly annoying when I put on my mascara and ten minutes later it is running down my cheek. BUT, on the days my eyes do not water, this mascara lengthens my lashes a lot. Not much volume though. I will not re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blondie91 on 1/2/2009 7:26:00 PM more reviews by blondie91

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

It's useless. It doesn't curl, lengthen, volumize, or define, yet it smudges and runs. I personally think the pink and green packaging is outdated and tacky. Just not a good mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lifeismusic on 1/2/2009 7:00:00 PM more reviews by lifeismusic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely HATE this mascara. It is one of those mascaras that really only works once in a blue moon. To me it reminds me of an old Cell Phone service commercial where the guy is standing on a chair on top of his desk leaning out his open window with his hand outstretched toward the sky only to have 1 bar of service. Maybelline's Great Lash Mascara is a lot like that service. It would be a great mascara if it worked the same way all the time...but because its fluctuates so much in its results, I has made me despise it. The only thing that usually stays the same is the amount of clumps on the brush, and how it clumps my lashes together. If I could give this mascara 0 stars. I would. It flakes and the brush is horrible. The only thing it has going for it is the color and the price. It is honestly beyond me how this mascara could have been voted "America's #1 Mascara"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephybelle on 1/2/2009 5:20:00 AM more reviews by stephybelle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cheap, lasts forever, is a classic and comes in many colours.
This mascara works better than any other I have tried. I have blackest black which is amazing and curls, lengthens and doesn't clump. It doesn't smudge or fade or flake, but easily wipes off with a facecloth in the shower. A great value for money, or a cheap mascara to throw in your bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* groovinchic on 12/31/2008 11:47:00 AM more reviews by groovinchic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I will never understand all the hype there is on this product. Yes, it's cheap. But in this case, you get what you pay for. Sure, I'll buy this product if I'm in a pinch and forgot to take some mascara with me when I travel, but I wouldn't waste the money to buy this for everyday. I have to apply about 4 or 5 coats just to get my lashes to the size as one coat of many others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products