Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5193 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 kunstgeschichte on 12/19/2008 4:23:00 PM more reviews by kunstgeschichte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff works great until it gets "old" (it never takes the same amount of time to do so). At first it will glide nicely and deposit an even coat of mascara over the lashes. But after a while it starts getting dry and clumpy, and it clogs up my eyelashes and makes them fall out at an alarming rate. Even the waterproof kind still ends up depositing a ring of color under my eyes after too long. It's fairly average.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ReenBean on 12/19/2008 3:12:00 PM more reviews by ReenBean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So after lurking on MUA for a few years, I have decided to stop being slack and actually post some reviews since I have profited so much from everyone else’s reviews here. I can’t remember every single product I have ever used in my life, but the most over-hyped product has been stuck in my mind throughout the years so my first review of course is to pronounce how much I loathe Great Lash.


I first tried it out in high school as it is relatively affordable for all the seemingly rave reviews it gets. What I got in return was major panda eyes.


Fast forward years later and after still noticing raves from magazines, I figured maybe they changed the formulation and picked up another tube. What a waste of money! It may add a thicker coat to my lashes, but so do many other mascaras… and this STILL smudged under my eyes without any lengthening or curling. Though the last time I used it was years ago, I am never making that mistake again and even 10 cents is a waste of money for anything that doesn’t do its job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gildedangel on 12/19/2008 12:21:00 AM more reviews by gildedangel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really hate this mascara. This was the first mascara I tried when I started to wear makeup, and it dried out in two weeks. I thought that I may have just gotten a bad batch, but after I picked up another one and the same thing happened! I close the lid tight and everything. It also clumped on me a lot. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sorcha on 12/18/2008 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Sorcha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I quite like it, it's not my favourite mascara, but it does the job. There's a knack to using the brush without it clumping, I got the hang of it after a while.
I do think the brush could be improved on, but I really like the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 angelxchild on 12/16/2008 3:35:00 PM more reviews by angelxchild

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

After hearing all the rave and hype (?) about "America's #1 Mascara", I used the money I had left in my school account to buy it in the school shop. What a waste. The wand was disappointingly small, and it made my eyelashes clump on the 1st coat, something no other Maybelline mascara has been able to do before, and trust me, I've tried them all. The color was decent, and that was it. After 1 coat I was left with clumpy lashes that look like spider legs, which were made worse with the 2nd coat. Sure, it made my eyelashes more noticeable, but definitely not in the way I had hoped. Maybelline offers a lot of better mascara choices; so just pick any other one but this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JelliBelli247 on 12/16/2008 11:46:00 AM more reviews by JelliBelli247

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The formula. Thin and runny, but not clumpy. Spider legs abound.
The color: Incredible black color.
The wand: Super small, doesn't separate well.
The smudge factor 0-5 rates a 5 for extreme smudgyness.
Overall impression: The color is a truly pretty dark black. The formula seems to run right off onto my under eye area and even my lid. My lashes stuck together top to bottom making it uncomfortable to blink or close my eyes at all. I won't be recommending this to anyone. I don't understand the hype associated with this product. I keep seeing good reviews in mags and stuff but am wondering if they have been paid off to say it? I went through alot of the 2000+ reviews on here and it seems most of the women on here agree with the ugh factor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SugaCookie26 on 12/15/2008 4:30:00 PM more reviews by SugaCookie26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is as thin and smudgy as any cheapie $1 drugstore brands. I don't understand why people rave about it. Its consistency is pretty thin and it clumps your lashes together terribly giving you that spider leg appearance. It doesn't volumize and it doesn't lengthen much either. The only thing positive I can say about it is that it's Blackest Black is really truly BLACK. It does have a rather dramatic, glossy true black finish that's hard to find in other mascaras. Still that's not worth wasting my money on it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PinkyStorm on 12/15/2008 2:03:00 PM more reviews by PinkyStorm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've never understood the hype around this product and I don't understand why it always ends up on all the "best of" lists. I hate it...it is thin and does absolutely nothing. It is not possible to build up thickness because it dries and leaves your lashes hard as a rock.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 b82 on 12/15/2008 1:49:00 PM more reviews by b82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

After doing a little research online I realized that this is a very popular mascara for some reason. I don't understand why... I think there are way better products available compared to this. This mascara did nothing special. It does not make the lashes look longer or thicker. I really don't recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bcoolnchil on 12/15/2008 12:41:00 AM more reviews by bcoolnchil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the clear version and this gel is so soggy that it completely got rid of the beautiful curl I created with my shu uemera curler. There's nothing great about this since it didn't do much other than spike my lashes together and get sticky. At the end of the day, I had white flakes on my lashes, like dried hair gel. I used to have the blue version and it flaked after a while and dripped down my face in the rain so that I looked ridiculous. I'd rather splurge for the higher end mascaras then be scathed by this waste of my four dollars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products