Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5356 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 3/1/2009 1:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i bought this when i saw it on my friend. it looks really natural on her eyelashes. when i bought it i found out that if you have asian eyelashes that stick straight down, these wont hold a curl, though it doesnt look clumpy but more on the natural side. i tend to use this only on my bottom lashes.

if you have naturally curled lashes and only want a little color but to still look natural, this might be good for you.



on 3/1/2009 1:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Thank god I am not the only one who thinks this mascara is absolute crap. Smudgy, clumpy, gooey and just plain icky!


on 2/28/2009 10:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am shocked that this particular mascara got an award. You've got to be kidding me. I used this back when I was first starting out with my mascara because my Mom had said it was a good one to use. Um...yeah. So not the case. Clump city pretty much! Look out! However, my crazy neighbor happens to love this mascara to pieces...she has like freakin 4 tubes of this! Everytime we go to Walgreens, CVS, or Ulta she'll point out this particular mascara, and I'm like...oh please! She literally worships this product. Me, on the other hand...I hate it. There are far far many more mascaras that actually live up to their name. Great lash just isn't one of them unfortunately!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Why is this one of the most popular mascara's? It doesn't do much in the way of lengthening or plumping, and as far as clumping goes... yeah... the deal breaker thoug is the lovely smugey raccoon look it gives me under my eyes, I don't rub them or anything is just breaks down. Not cute.


on 2/27/2009 8:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Definitely one of the most overrated products out there...I remember finding it in allure and seventeen with those yearly mascara awards and I finally go it super cheap in a two pack at target. I think i bought two of these for just 5 dollars, so I was thrilled to be getting that deal. I hated it when I first tried it out but I grew used to it and liked how flexible the wand was around my lashes. But every time I wore this mascara, I had horrendous raccoon eyes by the end of the day..The curl definitely doesn't hold up either, but I honestly didn't expect it to for only a couple bucks. I've tried tons of mascaras since...all sorts of maybelline, covergirl, rimmel, almay, revlon, and maxfactor mascaras. Maxfactor had been my favorite until i discovered my ultimate HG: Maybelline Volum' Express Turbo Boost Waterproof in "Very Black"...AMAZING lashes that hold curl and everything all day long...and BIG TIP--blowdry your lash curler and you'll be amazed with this mascara...my lashes look TOO long..and they even hold curl AFTER I remove my eye makeup completely.......=)..but this maybelline great lash product disappointed me nonetheless....


on 2/27/2009 8:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I think that magazines throw this out there as award winning just because its been around for a while. Theres nothing really so great about it. Its watery. I didnt get any lengthening or volume. Not sure what all the hype is about. I gave it 2 lippies because ...well , it IS award winning.


on 2/26/2009 11:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

People make all this HUGE hype about it, so I decided to try it out.

I was very disapointed, it didnt do much for me.
And I found it to be quite liquid-y.

It works okay in a duo, I used Lash Blast for 1 or 2 coats,then finished off the lashes with this and it worked okay.

I also have asian eyes,so my eyelashes are thin,curve-less,straight and small.
This didnt do good for me unless it was used with Lash Blast then it worked good.

If you already have curled,long thick lashes then this will probably work for you!

UPDATE: Okay, so I use this on my bottom lashes and to coat as a second coat. My eyelashes lok really nice and long IF I use this mascara with another one.

=)


on 2/26/2009 11:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara supposedly has won some awards or voted to be the best mascara of some year, but a lot of people still don't like it. The formula is very watery, which makes lashes droop. It clumps, but the watery formulas makes it so the clumps are easily brushed out. I find that it lengthens pretty well...
Adding all of those factors together, I came up with the conclusion that this is not a great mascara for upper lashes, but fantastic for bottom lashes, especially with its tiny brush! This brush can get the hard-to-apply areas on bottom lashes and you can really spend time trying to get definition on each lash because it does not dry up that quickly. Moreover, since the formula makes lashes droop, this is actually a benefit to bottom lashes because it makes them fan out.
So if you don't mind using two different mascaras for your eyes, then you should try using this for your bottom lashes.


on 2/26/2009 6:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This mascara is so over hyped.


The results I achieved from Maybelline's Great Lash Mascara were so disappointing that it practically left me speechless. Clumping, eye irritation, you name it! This mascara is by far the worst I have every applied to my lashes.


Don't waste your money on this product. Period.


on 2/26/2009 2:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Mascara has really come a long way since Great Lash, especially the applicators. I personally think that this product, while cheap, is a waste of money. It clumps and does not add length or definition to my lashes, I much prefer products like Givenchy Phenomen'Eyes Mascara, my new fav.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
421 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2005 Reviews
Back to Top