Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5289 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 RoseViolet on 2/2/2009 6:56:00 AM more reviews by RoseViolet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible mascara. I do not understand how it keeps winning #1 mascara awards from different magazines. This product managed to clump my lashes with out any volume or length

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cooolwhipp94 on 2/1/2009 10:15:00 PM more reviews by cooolwhipp94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

this seriously sucked. i have no idea why people say its the #1 mascara in america, because its not very good at all. this was the 1st mascara i bought, back when i didnt know anything about makeup. i only got it because it was the cheapest, so it wasnt like i wasted too much money buying it.
but basically this mascara did nothing good for me. i curled my lashes before i aplied it, and the second i applied it, my lashes were back to being stick straight. it also made my lashes a huge clumpy, nasty mess, and when i tried to unclump it with a eyelash comb, it just got all over my eyelids.
this mascara currently sits on my floor, because i dropped it, and never bothered to pick it up again because i hate it that much

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 littlepurplebutterfly on 1/31/2009 5:27:00 PM more reviews by littlepurplebutterfly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I don't understand how every magazine says this is the best, but it's the absolute worst mascara out there. I have really long lashes (it's not a blessing, trust me) and I used this and it clumped into 3 big clumps...I laughed because I have a sense of humor about things but no matter the length of your lashes this stuff is crap. Don't waste your money!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RtiQlitQT on 1/31/2009 12:13:00 PM more reviews by RtiQlitQT

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I must concur with all the dissenters. In my opinion, this is one of the worst mascaras in the market. However, it should be said that there are other Maybelline mascaras that many love...like Lash Discovery Waterproof and Full n Soft that have excellent performance and reviews. However, I have found all Maybelline mascaras to dry out lashes and cause more breakage and fall-out. Beware.


My HG mascara is Max Factor Volume Couture waterproof. To bad it will be discontinued in the US in 2010. I've stocked up and put several packaged tubes in my refrigerator while I hunt for a non-Maybelline replacement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 amysten7 on 1/31/2009 12:00:00 PM more reviews by amysten7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So glad to see others who did not like this product! This mascara does not lengthen. It doesn't build volume. Worst of all, it leaves clumps. The brush is not luxurious or efficient. I don't know who thinks this is the best mascara - maybe they have never actually tried a mascara that works??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lindapiggy on 1/31/2009 10:44:00 AM more reviews by lindapiggy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Don't like it. It doesn't work on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xJOLE on 1/31/2009 1:27:00 AM more reviews by xJOLE

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The formula is runny and goop always accumulates at the end of my wand! This does nothing for me except smudge around my eyes. I regret buying this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 januaryicecream on 1/30/2009 7:52:00 PM more reviews by januaryicecream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It doesn't work well at all. The brush doesn't lengthen or volumize. It does nothing for me except for adding colour. I don't know why it's America's #1 mascara because I was pretty disappointed. I guess it's good for an extremely natural look because it hardly does anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 1/30/2009 4:26:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Never understood the hype and votes for being a #1 mascara?!?!? As a makeup junky I had to try it... it was clumpy, gumpy, and gave me a raging eye infection *gross*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 colettaaa on 1/30/2009 2:58:00 PM more reviews by colettaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I understand that there is a huge hype about this mascara-being the #1 mascara in america and all that...so it's not that great...but its not that bad either.
I have medium length lashes, kind of sparse, but with a natural curl. This mascara gives me long, thick, feathery lashes with three coats, using a curler and an eyelash comb. In terms of pigmentation the color is just a regular old black, but i have black lashes so it doesn't really matter. but I took of 1 lippie cuz the staying power sucks and within a few hours i had black smudges underneath my eyes-and i don't have oily lids. I think its worth giving a try if mascara doesn't smudge on you easily and i find it volumizes, lengthens and keeps a curl well. I prefer using L'oreal voluminous in carbon black which does all these things but without the smudges.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products