Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5196 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 stephg4 on 12/27/2008 7:08:00 PM more reviews by stephg4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara and i could never understand why everyone loves it so much. It's watery and the brush is good for nothing. I naturally have long eyelashes, so all i want it something to make them look thick and this does not do the trick. I find, they look thinner and they stick together. I HATE it :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 theunknownforce on 12/27/2008 12:16:00 AM more reviews by theunknownforce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was cheap and all, but didn't do much for my lashes at all except it took out the curl. I'm definitely NOT repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MangoGreenTea on 12/26/2008 8:45:00 PM more reviews by MangoGreenTea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The. Most. Overrated. Mascara. Ever.
My first mascara, back in eighth grade. Seriously, I don't see what all the hype is about this. All my friends have it, but I don't see what's so special about it. It doesn't lengthen, volumize, or do anything else except clump your lashes together and make them look like tarantula legs. It smudged under my eyes and left me with raccoon eyes by the end of the day, too. Funny story, actually...I was wearing this for the first time at school and back then I didn't wear much makeup, so I didn't bother to do touch-ups. Well when this mascara smudged under my eyes I had no clue. I don't even know how long I walked around with those raccoon eyes. That was probably why so many people were giving me weird looks. I mean, when I got home and finally looked in the mirror, I was like, "HOLY CRAP!!" No, the smudges under my eyes were not subtle smudges that sometimes look good. They were big, black, and bad smudges. Some friends I had for letting me know...haha.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lazycurl on 12/25/2008 11:03:00 PM more reviews by lazycurl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara does amazing things for my lashes which aren't bad to begin with- this makes them look fake! HOWEVER- I can never wear this mascara without serious smudging. Never fails to smudge. Too bad. Of course, I'll give in and try it again another year from now..... with the same results! How hard is it to make it smudgeproof?! Jeez!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jellybean64 on 12/24/2008 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Jellybean64

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand why this product is so popular. I'm convinced Maybelline pays beauty professionals to promote it. Every 5 yrs or so, I fall prey to the hype and purchase it, hoping for a miracle. And every time I have the same reaction:
- why do my eyelashes look stumpy and sparse? (b/c my lashes would stick together upon application)
- why does it look like I have two black eyes? (B/c the product flaked off during the day)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinklazer on 12/23/2008 5:39:00 PM more reviews by pinklazer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Blah. I bought this a few months ago and I've only used it like once or twice. Something about the formula makes my eyes itchy and irritated. It's good if you want natural lashes but for me, I couldn't put on more than 1 coat before it starts to clump. Overall, I'd rather stick with Full N Soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 outofserviice on 12/23/2008 7:15:00 AM more reviews by outofserviice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The brush is small and easy to use and the colour is just right ... the only thing is the effect isn't great ... no volume or curl just colour ...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bobbictx on 12/23/2008 6:10:00 AM more reviews by bobbictx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Nothing special about this. The brush, to me, is the most important aspect of mascara. Personally, I think black goop is black goop. If the brush isn't right, it's going to clump and turn into a mess.
And the brush is all wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xaznbaybiegurl3x on 12/21/2008 5:34:00 PM more reviews by xaznbaybiegurl3x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

at first i loved this mascara but now i hate it bcuz it clumps my eyelashes and it's smudges...i wouldn't buy this product again and it does nothing to the eyelashes..i just threw mine away,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lippylover on 12/21/2008 1:53:00 AM more reviews by lippylover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't believe only 26% would buy this again!
It seems you either love or hate this mascara. I really like the brush, it is small, making it easy to use, and get into the corners of your eyes. I assume the idea is to make it easy to build up to whatever look you want too. But this isn't the mascara for you if you want a really dramatic look. The formula is good, it gives me great lashes, and isn't clumpy, although I'll often use an eyelash comb with any mascara because I am super fussy about that.I also like that you get a lot of product in the tube and price wise, it really can't be beat. The formula is supposed to be conditioning too, which is good. I never have any problems with this flaking or drying out my lashes, or any lash loss. It is easy to remove with a bit of baby oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products