Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5281 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 1/30/2009 4:26:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Never understood the hype and votes for being a #1 mascara?!?!? As a makeup junky I had to try it... it was clumpy, gumpy, and gave me a raging eye infection *gross*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 colettaaa on 1/30/2009 2:58:00 PM more reviews by colettaaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I understand that there is a huge hype about this mascara-being the #1 mascara in america and all that...so it's not that great...but its not that bad either.
I have medium length lashes, kind of sparse, but with a natural curl. This mascara gives me long, thick, feathery lashes with three coats, using a curler and an eyelash comb. In terms of pigmentation the color is just a regular old black, but i have black lashes so it doesn't really matter. but I took of 1 lippie cuz the staying power sucks and within a few hours i had black smudges underneath my eyes-and i don't have oily lids. I think its worth giving a try if mascara doesn't smudge on you easily and i find it volumizes, lengthens and keeps a curl well. I prefer using L'oreal voluminous in carbon black which does all these things but without the smudges.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* serrabird on 1/29/2009 1:50:00 PM more reviews by serrabird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

L'Oreal tried to hype up this mascara by pumping through the publicity grapevine that top models swear by Great Lash and only use this backstage. What a load of crap. It goes runny and wet on your lashes, sticking them together as if you've been crying and then it goes all flaky onto your cheeks. I have big lashes and I was expecting to see some definition, if not big volume and length. It just makes your eyes look wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maddoc on 1/29/2009 2:20:00 AM more reviews by maddoc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I was quite glad that it didn't get good reviews here, cause i've been finding it as not that a great mascara. i very much prefer volum' express mascara, which in my opinion isn't as "wet", thus making it easier to apply

i also find because it takes a while for it to dry, you really have to make sure you don't blink for about 10 seconds. which isn't an easy task. as a result, i usually end up having very very smudged mascara!!!

i would def not buy it again.. but maybelline has made better mascara since, and i love the later ones very much!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sephoraaddict88 on 1/29/2009 2:07:00 AM more reviews by sephoraaddict88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara a long time ago because of its reviews and also because I had tried Maybelline's Full and Soft mascara, which i thought was pretty good ,so i figured it was worth a shot. This mascara is not at all what i thought it would be. The mascara would smear and not last long at all. It would clump and it didn't really add any definition. In the end I would rather go back to the full and soft mascara than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LGlovesMAC on 1/27/2009 4:43:00 AM more reviews by LGlovesMAC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I heard a lot of people raving about this product, but I was thoroughly disappointed when I tried it. The mascara is too running, making it clumpy on my lashes and at the end of the day there were fall offs from dried pieces of mascara on my cheeks. I won't purchase this item again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tinytara11 on 1/27/2009 3:25:00 AM more reviews by tinytara11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Every magazine I've read has, at some time or another, raved about this mascara and I honestly don't know why. It doesn't lengthen or curl and seems to clump and flake a lot. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bebebench2love on 1/26/2009 5:48:00 PM more reviews by bebebench2love

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just baught this mascara from Shoppers Drugmart and i'm stoked on trying it out! I'll update the lippies when i've reached an opinion!

*But by the looks of it, it seems to have a good brush =) because personally, i don't like mascara brushes to be too close together!

UPDATE:
-------------------
I am not happy about this product. I thought that maybe if the brush was of this size, that getting around corners would be of better handle, BUT to my discovery, it's a big let down for me. It was only $7.00 so i wasn't expecting much. It smudges and did not help with curling my lases!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mkupmad727 on 1/26/2009 2:07:00 PM more reviews by mkupmad727

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

this was my first mascara as a teenager, i loved the blackness of it along with the colour of the tube. however i had to stop using this when it started to my make my lashes fall. cheap and cheerful but i'd say there are way better mascaras within this brand to spend your money on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 firfy on 1/26/2009 9:07:00 AM more reviews by firfy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara in the blue color. I like it and I would buy it again only because it has a small wand and it is nice for applying mascara to the lower lids with precision. It did not cake and it lasted all day. The blue is a bit electric in color. I prefer Benefits Bad Gal blue for the color, but I think that this mascara still has a place in my makeup collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products