Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5356 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROS: Close to tiny brush that could get a lot of lashes, good for maybe daytime non dramatic lashes.

CONS: Made my lashes dry, didn't give it volume, no length, clumped after 2 coats, brush wand isn't full enough, flakes throughout the day

Overall: I use to love this mascara when I started doing my makeup 13 years ago up until I got really addicted to makeup in March of 2008. This was the only mascara I would use but then I tried plenty more and I must say this is the worse mascara out of maybe 30+ mascaras I've tried since last year. Def. will not purchase again, maybe just for my kit.



on 3/8/2009 12:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Once every three years or so I fall for the Allure "Best Of" reviews and go out and buy Great Lash. Then I get experience it again and I remember why this is a perpetual tosser. It's an okay mascara, and it's dirt cheap, but so are a lot of other much better drugstore mascaras - especially if you hit a BOGO sale or something. Skip this one, and don't fall for the Allure hype.


on 3/8/2009 11:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ok, first of all, can i say how much i love the packaging!!...i have a lot of junk in my makeup bag and finding this little gem in the morning before i sprint to school is no hassle at all.
ok, so maybe this isnt the best mascara i've tried, but it's definitely top 10. i'm not crazy about the brush, and i have to use at least to 2 coats to get it to look like i have mascara on and DO NOT WAIT FOR IT TO DRY before applying more coats. i did that a couple of times and it made my lashes sooo dry that they broke off. i would buy it again.


on 3/7/2009 8:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would agree that this is an overrated product but it is not as bad as people make it out to be. All you have to do is take your time and even use a piece of thick paper so you don't smudge it. I wouldn't by again but it is not a complete lost cause :)


on 3/7/2009 2:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is just so meh....I've read amazing reviews in magazines my whole life and while I don't hate this stuff, I certainly don't love it or even like it all that much. It does nothing special. Definitely not buying again.


on 3/7/2009 2:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This stuff gives spider lashes like no other product... it's great for color & doesn't flake but my GOD it's clumpy. I would not repurchase, even though it's soo cheap and apparently "the most popular mascara in the world".


on 3/7/2009 1:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great Lash?? More like Crap Lash.
That's all I have to say.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2009 8:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

diefinitely overrated imo. i guess it sells so well because its cheap and mags love it. the brush doesn't always come out clean intead there may be blobs and such at the end of the brush. the packaging is cheesy. the black is indeed black but it didnt do much. upon first application it looked nice, it lengthened and thicked but afterwards you have to apply so many coats to get to the result of first using it. not a very good mascara.


on 3/6/2009 4:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really don't know why this mascara has lasted so long over the years. I mean, my mom has used this forever!
The brush is way too small for my liking, and doesn't deposit enough product onto my lashes. After putting it on, my lashes look exactly the same ... just darker. And it's irritating to get off also.
I would maybe use this product if every other tube of mascara were to disapper off the face of the earth. Maybe.


on 3/6/2009 3:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Mediocre mascara. If you're going drugstore, I guess you can go with this mascara, but I really believe there are a few key items to splurge on and mascara is one of them. If you're looking into buying drugstore mascara, force yourself over to a department store for the real thing. In reality it'll only cost a few dollars more (try Clinique, it's on the lower end of the price range, around $14, and has fantastic mascara).

Great Lash is very watery, to the point where I look like I just stepped out of a swimming pool. It doesn't add any length or volume whatsoever, and has no curling effect.

Because my lashes are naturally long, the tips sometimes touch right below my brows, and anytime I try Great Lash I wind up with black smudges underneath my eyebrows.

Also, don't you dare wear this mascara in heat, humidity or to a movie where you might cry--you'll look like a raccoon at the end of the day.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
424 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews
Back to Top