MAC • Pro Longwear concealer • Concealers

rated 4.1(778 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ihoardmakeup on 7/18/2013 12:33:00 AM more reviews by ihoardmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Alright! Let me just say, I do love this as an overall concealer. Its pretty great.


PROS
Lasts all day, even those pesky 10 hour days.
Great shade selection! A shade for everyone!
Has a fantastic coverage, medium to full. Haven't found anything this can't cover... Aside from maybe tattoos!
Great for everything- under eyes, blemishes, overall redness...
Looks and feels very light on the skin!

CONS
The wretched pump! Oh gosh. You end up wasting a lot of product if you don't learn to control the pump!
It smells pretty strong, almost like Studio Fluid Fix, but it doesn't transfer to the face.
It can look too cakey after the third layer. I mean you shouldn't normally use three layers, but it can start to look a little icky.

OVERALL
Love and will repurchase many times! Definitely my go-to concealer! 4 lippies :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 powdayoface on 7/17/2013 5:29:00 AM more reviews by powdayoface

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Skin Type: Normal-Oily, Sensitive when skin does not agree with certain products
Skin Tone: NC15-20 naturally, NC30-37 or 40 during certain stages of self tanning
Undertone: Strong WARM yellow undertones (yellow undertones can be cool too)
Skin Problems: One or two acne scars, light to mild active acne

Okay, so my granny offered to buy this product for me as I had been lusting over it for so long, thanks to makeup alley's glowing reviews. She happily purchased it for me and I was one grateful granddaughter lol. I was soooo excited to rush home, remove my warpaint and give this baby a whirl, starting with my problem area, insanely dark hereditary undereye circles. Many reviewers have raved about this concealer being a great non creasing undereye concealer so I had high hopes for it to perform to the best of its abilities.

I was fake tanned at the time (NC35) so I matched the concealer to my skintone of the time, not bearing in mind my natural skin. That was why I bought NC30 because i have been fake tanning more and more as of late. Anyways, I took off the foundation of the time (Estee Lauder DW desert beige and tawny mixed) and attemped to pump a little bit of concealer out of the packaging. I STRUGGLED. As noted by 99% of the reviewers on MUA, the pump is simply ridiculous. So hard to control and press down and i ended up pumping wayyy too much concealer onto my finger. Pushing that issue aside, I proceeded to slather some of the concealer underneath my eyes. I used my fingers to apply it and used a contour brush to blend it out. I was severely disappointed. The concealer had not worked any better than the previous other concealers that i had tried. However, I refused to give up. A second layer was slathered on and there was definitely an improvement. My dark circles had been concealed decently. I proceeded to put some of the concealer onto my forehead acne, which wasnt all that bad but could deal with a little concealing. So far so good.

When it came to the time when i needed to remove my makeup in preperation for bedtime, i removed the concealer as per usual, olive oil and followed up with some cleanser, toner and moisturiser. this routine has never aggrivated my skin at all. To my horror, I had noticed that my forehead pimples had multiplied and gotten bigger. I tried to disregard the fact that it may have been the concealer. However, after extended use on pimples and on my undereye circles, i have noticed that my skin is looking worse than ever. my undereyes have become darker and my forehead pimples are looking angry lol.

Unfortunately, this product has not worked too well for myself. However, it may work for you as the majority of reviewers have not had the same problem as myself. I am just the minority, by all means get a sample and try it out for yourself before buying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautybrehyn65 on 7/14/2013 1:57:00 PM more reviews by beautybrehyn65

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Can you say HG?! I love this concealer! Before, I tried alot of drugstore alternatives and NONE of them match up to this. It's a bit pricey. But lasts long. The main pros are: it's creamy, sets to a natural finish, and blends PERFECTLY. The only con for me is the pump on the product. It's uncontrollable and sometimes dispenses too much. A way to fix this is get one of the sample containers from a makeup counter and put the excess into that. Saves it easily! But I love this concealer and it covers anything! Give it a try! -beautybrehyn65 from Youtube

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xTinkerbell786x on 7/14/2013 8:25:00 AM more reviews by xTinkerbell786x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is absolute HG product for me that I've used for a few years now. It comes in a glass bottle with a pump. For shade reference I'm an nc30 in the SFF, nc35 in the PL foundation and I use this PL concealer in nc35. I use it under my eyes to conceal my severe hereditary dark circles. I feel as if this shade looks the most natural and even on days when I cake this on, it still looks natural! So it's best to get a shade that closely matches your skin tone. A lighter one will just appear as a grey cast on uour darker circles and a darker one will look very orange! I originally bought this concealer as I wanted something long lasting and every other concealer I had tried just faded after a couple of hours. This seriously lasts ALL day, without creasing, providing medium coverage. I like that this concealer is in a liquid form making it easy to blend and apply. I usually apply this in a triangle shape under my eye, then blend and pat using my no7 boots concealer brush, then use my finger to blend and pat it into the skin. I originally bought this for £11.50 the first time and now the price has gone up to like £14 but it's still very much worth it. I use this every single day and a bottle lasts me around 8 months. As much as I love this product, it still has it's bad points. The first being that it's a medium coverage. I wish it would provide more coverage as I still have to apply extra foundation and SFF powder under my eyes for my dark circles to completely banish! Another con being the pump! It's hard to control how much product comes out, however this isn't a problem to me now as I'm used to the pump. You just have to be careful of the amount of pressure you use to press the pump to dispense a certain amount, it can be tricky but it just takes some getting used to. Also, the consistency of the product is a little bit of a thick but thin liquid and so the packaging is actually the best way to store this? It's too liquidy for a squeeze tube and too thick for one of those lipgloss type applicators, so I can see why MAC have done this. The shades are quite orange which isn't a personal issue to me as I'm very yellow/warm/olive toned but for others it may be so just look out for the NW shades instead. Overall I love this product due to its long lasting effect and I will continue to repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pauvres on 7/8/2013 5:05:00 AM more reviews by pauvres

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This product is truly it for me. The only other concealer i've used - Estee Lauder Double Wear - has been knocked off HG for me. I got matched to NW20. I mainly only use concealer around my nose, for any redness and on acne, and not so much under my eyes. The girl tried it under the my eyes and I thought I was looking at a different person! I do get dark circles, not terrible ones but they are visible, and no matter what I tried, nothing would cover them. This concealer does it, and does not cake or crease and lasts up to 8 hours. It is really easy to blend, and the colour match is perfect. The texture is extremely silky and smooth you only need the tiniest amount. My only issue is the pump, which is great but has a tendency to give more product than necessary. Other than that, it is great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hend2292 on 7/2/2013 1:37:00 PM more reviews by Hend2292

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this concealer, it's the only one I use under my eyes that covers my dark circles and stays on and does not crease at all. I do wish that you can actually open the pump because sometimes alot comes out! Way more than you want and it's expensive and does not require alot of product to do the job.. Wish it didn't pump out as much and that you can open it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 winterl0ve on 7/1/2013 10:32:00 AM more reviews by winterl0ve

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This was my first MAC product and I was really disappointed with it. When the MAC assistant tried it on me in store it had looked really good!
Although this concealer has perfect coverage (one of the best Ive tried), it creases a lot under my undereyes and really shows my fine lines, as well as caking it around that area. The pump is the WORST. No matter the pressure you put onto it, it will always dispense the same amount of product and it gets messy over time. I usually put the leftover amount in a small jar to use the next time. I didnt even get halfway through the bottle and have stopped using it entirely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wutthehector on 6/30/2013 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Wutthehector

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this concealer. It NEVER CREASES! I also love it as an eyeshadow primer. It's a medium-full coverage and it stays on like crazy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bubbles98 on 6/30/2013 2:19:00 PM more reviews by Bubbles98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Its an okay concealer if you dont have much acne. Gets a little cakey under the eyes ( rimmel match perfection highlighting concealer is great for that purpose) . Covers acne okay , i can still see my skin , very lightweight. I dont mind the packaging that much because ive mastered how to control the pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Costenya on 6/30/2013 3:22:00 AM more reviews by Costenya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried some very well-known high end concealers out there by brands that I truly respect (Bobbi Brown, Prescriptives, etc.). However, inevitably, I end up coming back to this one. Why? It DOES NOT crease. For example, while I found that Bobbi Brown provided an equivalent match, it settled into my eyes creating lines and wrinkles that I generally don't have.

I never realized how impressive the Prolongwear concealer was, until I thought about the fact that it goes on smoothly and does not settle into the lines in my eyes. I ocassionally have dark circles because of the nature of my work. And, I find that it provides excellent coverage without seeming pasty. I also love that it blends in well my skin tone (concealer should not be garishly lighter than your natural skin color, regardless of what some mua's say) such that I can easily get away with wearing it sans foundation if I choose. In fact, two different MAC MUA's matched me in NC45 foundation on sight before they even knew the color I wanted. I wear the concealer in NC45 both in the summer and winter. For reference, my skin tone is the equivalent of Bobbi Brown's Golden Skin Foundation and Prescriptives' Real Antelope in the winter, and MAC's C7 powder foundation when I'm really tanned in the summer. I apply this product using MAC's #241 Brush.

I'm sticking with this one until the end or, heaven forbid, they change the formula.

Edited: The one thing I don't like about this product is the glass bottle, as I am very clumsy. If you have heavily tiled floors, this will break when it drops. So, please be careful with how you handle it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Concealers products