Yves Saint Laurent • Teint Touche Eclat Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.0(257 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sayoko on 9/22/2012 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Sayoko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited when YSL announced the launch of this foundation with a shade range to cover darker skintones. As a woman of colour, it's difficult to find high end foundation shades that match my skintone I'm an NC50/C7 for reference. When the foundation came out, I went to my local Sephora to check it out. This foundation is very light weight, it glides easily on the skin. My face looked natural,luminous, fresh and flawless, a look I prefer. This did not look cakey( a look which I hate), and for my normal combo skin, I did not have to set this with powder. I got about 7 hours of wear with this which by far exceeded my expectations of this foundation. I was not this impressed with a foundation since NARS sheer glow. Now with all of the great things about this foundation, there is a downside. I was in between shades in the range. If you are an NC50 you will need shade #7 and #8 combined for a perfect match. shade 7 was too light, and shade 8 was way too dark. I loved the texture, the overall look of this foundation once blendedso much that I bought both shades to achieve the look I had. Once they're finished however I do not think i'll repurchase. My YSL experience for 2 shades was pricey!! unless YSL expand the range to add more colours for women of colour. For my NC/NW55 ladies you're in luck with this one

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sharonsevea on 9/20/2012 1:40:00 PM more reviews by sharonsevea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Tried a sample of this foundation since I have been using another YSL foundation which I love. I cant comment on how long it lasts, radiance etc as the shades that I have tried for the touche eclat foundation do not match my skintone at all. They either make me look too ashy or too dark so it a no no for me but I do like the packaging of this foundation as you can clearly see how much foundation you are left with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ocmommy on 9/20/2012 7:51:00 AM more reviews by ocmommy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is it. My search is over, my holy grail has been found!!!

I never have less than 12 foundations on the go at any one time, because nothing seems to do the job for more than a few days at a time. I either need more coverage, less, something more moisturizing for my cheeks, something less dewy for my nose...

And then I tried the Touché Éclat foundation. There are no words to describe how well this works for me. It covers my rosacea without looking cakey, it is dewy without being oily, it wears beautifully, and the color match is absolutely perfect. Seriously, I can just spot cover with this and it blends seamlessly.

One pump covers my entire face, and I use it with my Shiseido Perfect Foundation brush with amazing results. Just to be sure that the brush wasn't giving me a false result and making the foundation seem better than it really is, I applied with fingers, the ELF flat top, and the Real Techniques Expert. All had varying degrees of success, with fingers being my least favorite (but still great!) method and the Shiseido being my fave.

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diamondtiara on 9/19/2012 10:27:00 AM more reviews by diamondtiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

UPDATE 12/2/2012: My favorite Sephora SA gave me BR20 to try when I took the bottle of B10 back. I finally got around to testing it last week, and the color match was better for my NW15 skin. However, I still had the same problems with the finish that I mentioned below. I wanted to update on the improved color match though, because I know this is a highly popular foundation and it's bound to work for many people - just not for me!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've spent three weeks trying to make this foundation work for me; I hate having to write a negative review, because I genuinely wanted to love this. If you'd rather, skip down to "THE REVIEW" but so far I have provided ample background about my skin type, in hopes of helping others similar to me who are curious about YSL's new formula.


MY SKIN:


Dry to very dry, and highly sensitive. I have mild rosacea with red cheeks. I can't exfoliate, so once in a while my skin on my cheeks gets a tad bit bumpy. Otherwise, my skin is very fair (NW15) and relatively smooth and youthful looking.


MY FOUNDATION WANTS & NEEDS


- A gentle formula.
- A perfect color match.
- Something that will conceal my rosacea flare-ups, i.e. when my cheeks get red from stress, spicy food, extreme weather, etc.
- Longevity. I'm a graduate student and practicum trainee who's always on the go, so I need something that will last at least 6 - 8 hours without touch-ups.


I already have an HG foundation in Diorskin Forever (shade: Ivory 010). It's a gorgeous satin finish and it lasts ALL day long! I have no complaints about Diorskin Forever; it always looks polished and chic. However, I've been wanting a second liquid foundation that offers a more luminous, glowy finish. I wanted something a step above a tinted moisturizer - medium coverage but a super fresh look.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


THE REVIEW:


I was thrilled when YSL announced 22 shades in a new, moisturizing formula! Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that U.S. consumers would only receive 16 of them. I had wanted to try BR10, but alas, that shade is unavailable in my country. The shade B10 was more or less the right shade; once in a while I felt it looked a tad bit yellow on dry patches, but no one agreed with me. So if you are NW15, the B10 shade could be a good starting point for you.


The bottle on Le Teint Touche Eclat is beautiful! I love the heavy glass bottle and slim, cylindrical shape. I usually store all of my makeup in drawers, but this bottle has been proudly residing among my perfume bottles on top of my vanity. I appreciate how sleekly modern the look is; it definitely reflects the finish of the product within.


This foundation is a mixture of oil, gel, and water - all of these properties scream "moisture!" so girls with oily skin should stay far away. I made the epic mistake of applying this over Hourglass's No. 28 Primer Serum (which is full of lovely essential oils) the first time I wore it, and OMG - it was TOO moisturizing! If you knew how dry my skin was, you'd realize how dramatic a statement that is to make! So be careful with what primer you put beneath. Touche Eclat is definitely hydrating when you first apply it.


However, as the day wears on, this foundation shifts. It has a BEAUTIFUL finish - it makes you look photoshopped, with dewy young skin that radiates health. After about 4 hours, all the moisturizing benefits start to fade, and all of a sudden, my dry patches start to appear. No matter what primer I put beneath (Hourglass, MUFE, Korres) or what powder I set with (several Dior options, Chanel Libre Universelle), the foundation starts to fade and my redness/dryness starts to reappear. Even if I try to build the layers, the formula stays fairly sheer. In an attempt to compensate, I apply more concealer and setting spray with this formula than I do with any other. At $55 a bottle, this feels pretty ridiculous.


The foundation itself should be rated a 4 for most people, but for me, I give it a 3. The issue with the color match was minor, but it has bugged me. (I still don't understand why YSL wouldn't offer every shade in the U.S., particularly such a light color.) The bottom line is that Touche Eclat doesn't last beyond a few hours, nor does it effectively cover redness. If you have really good skin, with a normal to mildly dry texture, and want sheer coverage, and don't mind making lots of touch-ups, give this foundation a try. For me, I feel that the price of this formula is too much to simply keep it around. I will regrettably be returning this to try something else.

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 seleena89 on 9/14/2012 5:49:00 PM more reviews by seleena89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this when they were doing the seven day samples, and the lady tried to match me to BD40... Knowing this was too light, I asked to be matched to the shade darker, which is perfect! In the bottle it looks much too dark for my face but once on, it seems to adjust and is the perfect match. It's the best colour match I've found so far (I use it in BD50 and am Stromboli in Nars Sheer Glow and NC35 Mac). For some reason I bought other foundations after the sample finished, but have finally bought this one as the others weren't great colour matches, or broke me out.

I was sceptical before I tried it because of all of the people saying it didn't work for oily skin, but it goes on perfect and stays perfect all day over my mattifying primer (MAC spf50). I get a subtle glow by the end of the day, but it looks glowy rather than oily.

It is the best texture foundation I have used so far. Not cakey or obvious. Looks like your skin but better. Coverage is just below medium, so not as sheer as a tinted moisturiser but less coverage than other foundations such as Nars Sheer Glow and Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. One pump is the perfect amount for my face. I do need a tiny bit more if I need to cover imperfections, but you can layer this without it becoming cakey at all. I use my fingers because I find it usually looks the most natural, but I haven't tried this foundation with a brush.

This didn't break me out at all, which is amazing because I tend to get reactions, varying from little bumps to full on spots, from most new foundations or skin products I use, so I am very careful with noticing how my skin reacts.

The scent is fresh but slightly floral. Although a scent isn't something I look for in a foundation, it's not unpleasant when putting it on (you can't smell it after it's applied though).

The packaging, although perhaps a little hefty, is beautifully classic. A bottle to be proud of, and the pump is practical and hygenic. Will definitely repurchase, although I do want to try La Mer's treatment foundation next...

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 supergirljoce on 9/14/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by supergirljoce

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am loving this foundation so far. For the past year and a half - 2 years, I've been on a serious Asian BB creams kick, trying practically every single one under the sun (I am Asian, btw). Every time a new foundation for American/European brands was released, I just wasn't interested because I adore (still do!) my BB creams so much. However, I just had to try this when I heard about it because I love my Touche Eclat highlighter pen so much.
First things first - the packaging is GORGE. So luxurious and pretty - the only downside is that it is heavier than many other foundations you'll find because of the gold and glass encasing the product. The smell is really nice - I actually really like it, it's a nice scent that I personally don't think is too overpowering, and the scent goes away within 1 hour of application.
The FINISH of this foundation is just beautiful - unlike my beloved BB creams, the color I was matched with, B30 - has more yellow undertones rather than the pink/beige/gray that you get with traditional Asian BB creams, and looks much more like my actual skin - almost like I have nothing on. It really does reflect light and makes skin look glowy, pretty, and so illuminated - like I'm lit from within. I also find that when I do a side-by-side comparison with this YSL foundation and either BB creams or mineral powder that the YSL's finish just looks the best.
The FEEL of this product is great, too. One of the first things that I look for in any foundation is how it feels on my face - and this is one of the most weightless I've ever experienced. Feels like I have nothing on, and when I touch my skin it doesn't feel like I have something caked on either; this really lets my skin breathe. No breakouts for my skin, too!
Now to the downside - and why I took off a lippie for my review - the staying power. The YSL foundation, is, unfortunately, one of the worst in staying power and keeping away shine. I have combination skin and can get pretty oily in the T-zone, esp. the nose. I find myself reaching for blotting sheets around 2x more than with BB creams/mineral powder. I haven't experienced any complete melting away of the YSL by the end of the day, but you can definitely tell that areas of my skin are peeking through.
Also, I wouldn't recommend this foundation for anyone with real problem skin or a lot of blemishes to cover up. I have pretty good skin normally except for every once in a while getting tiny breakouts or maybe 1 cystic pimple, so I like foundations with a light-medium coverage. This foundation is really more about the finish and feel rather than actual coverage, so I personally would only rec this to women who have pretty good skin normally.
With all that being said, my opinion is that I like the finish and feel of this product enough to concede the oil-control side. I just do a touch-up in the middle of the day to combat that, but again, I personally don't feel like I lose too much for what I gain with the YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat foundation.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sunnygirl12 on 9/11/2012 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Sunnygirl12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I am a Black woman. I always use MAC Studio Fix. But I notice that I was breaking out, and the formula was heavy. So heavy that I would mix with my face moisturizer to create a teint. When I saw the YSL makeup ad.. I saw a beautiful black girl. Her face looked flawless and natural. I went to Sephora to try it. I tried the B80. It matched my skin. It's very light weight and made my skin look so smooth , flawless & natural. I couldn't stop looking at my self. I looked HOTT , lol. In any event, the foundation is pretty pricey. However, the bottle is a large size. So, I have a lot of product. I got a sample. I tried it the next day. My blush went on smoother. My face wasn't very shiny. The finish is semi- matte. I set the foundation with MAC Mineralizer. I am in Love. I purchased the next day. I can't upload a picture because I am using my iPad and I can't upload a picture. I will this week. It's worth the money. I got compliments and I feel like I have nothing on my skin. Perfecto!

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyglitter on 9/11/2012 7:30:00 AM more reviews by beautyglitter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It all started with a youtube video. I was watching FleurDeForce's vid on the Touche Eclat foundation that had just been launched then and I got all googly-eyes. Now, I am a sucker for anything illuminating, as I have very dry skin. This foundation is illuminating but not shimmery or glittery, which is perfect. So when Sephora finally got it in stock, I asked for a sample right away. The SA gave me a very generous sample in a little pot and I wore some the next day. It feels so comfortable on my dry skin and under my eyes. This is a biggie for me. It is light to medium coverage, and I have good skin, so i really don't need a lot of coverage. It gives my skin a glow, which I love, and is in no way cakey. Ever. I do have to blot my T-zone mid-day, but i do that anyway since all i wear are glowy foundations. This foundation lasts a good bit on me, I would say 7 or more hours, but I think my drier skin helps that out. The only thing i would like is if it was a bit cheaper in price, because $55 is quite a bit to pay for a foundation..but I must say, for the amount you get and how much I love it, to me it would be worth sticking a little $ back to get another bottle (yes, i bought a bottle of it, but I am still using the sample right now) when i get low.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemistzitzikilakis on 9/10/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by artemistzitzikilakis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So beautiful when it goes on, but such a dissapointment just hours later. AND the colors are all really pink IMO. I am NW20 so I do need a cool color, but this is overboard. But the worst thing about this is that it just disintegrates on your face after three hours tops.
Mind you I used HourGlass primer and Skindivinia m/u setting spray and still it absolutely had to be reapplied, not just touched up, by noon time. There is a nice light reflective quality to this, but it reminds me, though not as good, as UD Naked. Naked lasts a bit longer and has better colors and is a bit more light reflecting, though neither cover up very much if that is a concern. Ah, too bad.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JeanetteLou on 9/5/2012 1:34:00 PM more reviews by JeanetteLou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First of all I would like to say that I am a foundation addict, from Clinque to Chanel to Mac to highstreet brands, you name them, I have got it all. But I have got to say I'm deeply disappointed with YSL. After holding the beautifully designed container in my little hands, I was so excited to hold the fabulous new makeup craze but this was not the case as it left my skin looking far more oily than it normally is. I understand that I have only had it for less than a week and should try different beauty routines to see what best works with that foundation but I can say so far I am not impressed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Liquid products