Yves Saint Laurent Teint Touche Eclat Foundation

4.0

313 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-10, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride,, Phenoxyethanol, Caprytyl Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylgycerin, Fragrance, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Isotridecyl Isononanoate. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride.


on 3/4/2013 8:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue


I am 47, and have fair skin that is increasingly dry. I have also found more crows feet and a few other wrinkles than I care to admit. I was at Sephora recently asking the sales person if there was a foundation that she could recommend for me. She recommended this one by Yves Saint Laurent and proceeded to match it to my skin (perfect match) and she showed me how to apply it using a Sephora brush, which I purchased. I was hesitant to spend $55 on this foundation because I was afraid I would hate it and end up returning it. So, she sent me home with a little plastic jar that would last me several days.

So, the next morning I used the foundation, applying it with the brush and was completely blown away. WOW! I looked about 10 years younger. Looked completely natural, but “done” and “polished.” I was thrilled. Over the course of the morning and throughout the day I kept checking my face to see how this new fabulous foundation was holding up and it was “okay.” It was actually a tad drying and although I think it looked good, I was slowly doubting it was “$55 good.” So, early in the evening I asked my 10 year old “very honest and blunt daughter” how she liked my new foundation. I even washed my face, and reapplied it on one side of my face with a Maybelline foundation on the other side, and she liked the Maybelline better . I did not tell her which side was which by the way. So….I’m glad I tried it to see what the fuss was all about but very glad I had a sample and did not shell out $55.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation does exactly what YSL hoped to achieve in its ability to radiate light from the skin, giving a youthful appearance.

It gives a satin, rather than dewy, finish and reflects light well off the skin. It gives a light to medium coverage - it lets your skin shine through but it completely covers redness and evens out your complexion. It will NOT cover blemishes, use a waxy, high strength concealer or buy a foundation with higher coverage.

I recommend this for normal to combination or dry skin types only, NOT oily, acne-prone skin. Use with a primer for long lasting wear.

This gives me 10 hours wear without touching up.

This is definitely a foundation that blends better with your fingers, rather than using brushes. (I have tried with flat foundation brushes, flat top kabuki brushes and stippling brushes.)

It's also PERFECT for summer. I LOVE IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2013 5:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My favourite foundation! I adore this, looks great, really light so goes on nicely. The only downside is that it doesn't last me very long, 2 months max. :(


on 3/1/2013 2:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this product after seeing its' many fantastic reviews. It is the most I have ever payed for cosmetic products so I was taking a risk. I payed £19 on ebay and got the color B10- the lightest available I do believe. I am not as impressed with this product as I would have hoped- for it's price I was expecting really good results.

It is a good color similar my skin tone but It just doesn't sit very well on my skin and I can't seem to blend it very well. Will try different type of applications but wouldn't buy again.

The coverage is very light and I have acne scars and some pimples which this doesn't cover very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2013 11:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Sheer cover, very easy to blend and buildable. Massive colour range for all undertones. Lasts well and leaves a lovely healthy finish. Great foundation!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm very surprised reading the reviews on this - the only thing I can figure is that A. these are people with bad skin, B. people with oily/acne prone skin.

I have very dry skin and live in super dry Colorado and I LOVE this stuff. It lasts all day. It's an absolutely beautiful finish, just the right amount of coverage, not too heavy or too light. It covers any imperfections/redness but doesn't make you look like you have caked on foundation.

I use two pumps to cover my whole face and that is all you need. A little goes a long way. I LOVE this stuff!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2013 1:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Beautiful natural/matte finish on my dry skin. I usually buy a dewier foundations but this is sheer enough to layer a bit of liquid highlighter on top of without looking too "made up" for daytime.

Can be built up to fuller coverage, but one pass with a beautyblender is a lot more coverage than I normally wear so I haven't really tried to do a fuller look yet. I thought the lightest color would be too dark for me, but it worked perfectly on my NC10-15 skin.

The best part? It's a matte-ish foundation that doesn't dry me out! No powder needed so no cakiness. Finally, I can wear pretty mattes in winter without being uncomfortable! Worth the price - I fought for years with Chanel Mat Lumiere, and this is around the same price except much kinder to my skin. Texture is thick-ish and pigmented but it's not too scary, much thinner than my HG BB Cream Skin79 Pink.

UPDATE: Took off two lippies because, first of all, this looks AWFUL under fluorescent lighting. In natural light it was perfectly fine, but when I caught a glimpse of myself in the bathroom it looked a bit heavy even though it feels light. I can't stand looking like I have anything on my skin, and since my skin is mostly OK and I'm just using it to cover redness, it's not really a good trade-off. I never even wear foundation all over my face, and I always use a damp sponge to blend, but it still just sucked all the life out of my face.

I'm going to finish off the bottle by mixing it with moisturizer from now on, but I won't repurchase. I should have listened to the reviewer below who said it reminded her of Bourjois Healthy Mix - I had exactly the same problems with that fndt as I have with this one.

UPDATE 2: Found the perfect moisturizer to go underneath this - I apply a thick layer of Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentree underneath, wait a while, apply the foundation and then remove most of the coverage with a Beautyblender and Fix +. It's a process but at least I won't waste this expensive product, and it looks pretty nice and lasts all day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2013 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a amazing foundation. It gives my face the most beautiful finish ever. It is extremely light weight and gives my face the glow and radiance it needs. I never seen my skin look so perfect on camera, but this is the product. Doesn't even look like I have foundation on. The texture is liquidy and ultra thin like a watery consistency. I use my real technique buffing brush and it gives the most beautiful finish. This blew my chanel perfection lumiere out of the water. However this does not last long, which is sad. You get 6 hours of wear, and that is on my normal to combination skin. Dry skinned ladies may love this. I will always wear this for a night out as it is just so beautiful. I love the packaging too as it feels so luxurious in a glass bottle instead of cheap plastic crap. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2013 4:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have very combination skin, I'm basically an oil slick down my nose and chin but have flaky skin on my forehead and cheeks and this works across all areas.

It does show up my dry patches but I think this is a problem with my skincare regime and NOT the product, if you look after your skin better than I do, this will work for you.

I'm incredibly pale (lighter than NW15) but slightly yellow toned and B10 suits me perfectly, it doesn't oxidise on my skin either, which is a big bonus.

It's light-medium coverage but it can be built up to more medium-full in my opinion, it layers well and buffs into the skin nicely. I use RT Expert Face Brush, Sigma F80 and the Dior Full Coverage Foundation brush and it applies well with them all and applies well with fingers. It's a very easy foundation to use.

The finish without powdering is a lightly dewy look, it leaves the skin looking really healthy and glowy.

All in all, if you're looking for a fair bit of coverage, an easy foundation to use and something that comes in an excellent range of colours, then this is for you. No it's not cheap (£28), but it's really worth it.


on 2/21/2013 7:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I received two sample bottles of this foundation to try out on my combo oily skin, I'm NC20 with yellow tones and it doesn't half make my skin feel oily still... I do like the sheen to it, It does make my skin glow.. I can still see my blemishes and I can smell the foundation quite a lot through the whole face application.. Which I don't really like, after applying I still feel sticky around my face.. I set it with guerlain meteorites and it feels a bit better, I can still feel it on my skin though, I don't think I'll buy this just yet.. I want to sample it more, it doesn't cover as much as I'd like but I do see how the sheer could be good for some... I think on a good skin day ill give it a go again but for now, oily face with a sticky heavy feeling = no no for me


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy

Foundation Review: Laura Mercier, Dior, YSL by Cathies Ensemble



Back to Top