Maybelline Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe

4.0

271 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 2/18/2012 12:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff! The color is gorgeous and you can wear it sheer or layer it up for a bolder look. I use this for a go-to daily makeup without issue. I have more of a neutral skin tone so I am not really constrained as for color choice, but I can see how this color would not support all skin tones. I love to use this as a base for my other Color Tattoo shadows to tone down the look, and it works great as a base for powder shadows as well. There is no creasing and no noticeable fading and best of all for me, really no more effort getting off than any other makeup that I'm wearing. I would definitely buy it again, but there is so much product, I really don't think that I'll have to :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/18/2012 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought into the hype with this one. I was supposed to be on a no buy & slipped. I am not really distraught over the slip either. I have never been able to wear anything grey on my eyes, it just turns blue. However, this does not. It's a matte medium grey and it's perfect on it's own or as a base. I personally love it as a base under taupes. I get no creasing and it really does last a long time. 24 hours? I cannot confirm that yet. I love the jar and I love the creamy consistancy. This was the only one that really stood out to me as far as colors go, even though it's a neutral I do not have anything similar in my collection. I really would like to try a few other neutral colors but I'll wait till some of my paint pots are gone. I really have nothing bad to say about this & I would buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2012 12:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm sorry to say that my experience wasn't as good as other reviewers' experiences. I bought the color because it was a matte, cool neutral. The color is pretty, but I am very fair and cool with permanent sinus bruises/shadows that are hard to cover. It turned out to be too grey on me, and a close shade to my bruises, which made me look like I was seriously ill. My low rating isn't from the color, though. It was an accurate color in the pot. I feel that it's my mistake that I bought an unflattering color, but I'm pointing out the issues for anyone with similar coloring.

I took off a star for the wear without primer. The eyeshadow never really dried, and slowly melted away after a few hours. I think this is because I am RELIGIOUS about using eye cream.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2012 11:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

I'm pretty impressed. The color is more gray than brown, but I like the way it looks over my blue eyes. A little goes a long way, and it blends very easily. I'll go back for more when I run out in 2015.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2012 3:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This shadow reminds me so much of Bobbi Brown's Long-Wear Cream Shadow in "Slate." It applies and blends nicely and wears beautifully. It can be worn on it's own or used as a base for other shadows. It can also be used as a subtle eyeliner. It looks to have a very fine shimmer in the jar, but I could not detect any on the skin and I'm a shimmer-phobe. The reason I took a lippie off is because the color does not match the name. It looks like taupe in the jar but on my skin, it is grey. Grey is a great color on some, but it looks muddy on me. I wish they had either a true taupe or a soft brown (without glitter). But, if you like grey, the quality of this shadow is great and it really is a drugstore steal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2012 8:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this after reading good reviews. Very nice shade! Stays on forever and the matte taupe color is very flattering. Easy to apply too.


on 2/8/2012 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gosh this is beautiful. Very pigmented and blendable, and lasts wonderfully, even if you don't top this with an eyeshadow.

Does anyone else think this is like a spot-on colour dupe for the shade 'tease' in the naked2 palette!!?!? Both matte taupes that lean more gray than brown, with purple undertowns.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2012 4:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Purchased this (tough as taupe) color tattoo eye shadow since I was looking for a matte neutral (but not dry, powdery or cakey) to camouflage my 48 yr old slightly drooping eyelids by placing it in the crease.... and it DOES make my eyes look more awake and lifted. Natural looking even on my (NC 15) fair complexion, easy to apply and blend, and stayed in place nicely until I wanted to take it off. In terms of color comparisons with other matte eyeshadows... think MAC "copperplate".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this, along with bad to the bronze and punk pomegranate. I was on the fence about the tough as taupe, which is this matte gray color. In the pot, it didn't look like much, almost like putty. However, I decided to try it today on my lid, with the pomegranate one in my crease and outer V.. and I loved it! I didn't overlay these with shadow, I wore them by themselves, and they went for 10 hours without creasing.
All the youtube videos I've seen, everyone is overlaying these with shadow, but I didn't buy them for that purpose, I bought them to wear on their own, and they did a great job. The taupe color actually looks beautiful with my green/blue eye color and honestly, you could totally rock it with nothing more than it smudged on your lid and crease with some black eyeliner.
I am really happy I bought these, and I will repurchase. Btw the best price I found was at Walmart...they were significantly cheaper there than at CVS/RiteAid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2012 5:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I Love this cream shadow! It definitely reminds me of the MAC paint pots at a fraction on the price. I picked up 2 of these (BOGO sale) and am so glad I did! This Taupe color glides on so easy and looks great alone. I did add a bit of a grey steel shadow for a nighttime look. I cannot wait to try more colors (The Teal and Emerald color look gorgeous)


Back to Top