Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(249 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 1/13/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product works out quite well for me. Though I have noticeable yellow undertones in my skin, I also have quite a bit of pink coloration in my facial skin, and this color looked really nice on my lids. I would describe it as a very soft dove grey. I could see it looking really nice in a makeup look featuring bold lips. The only reason I docked this product one lipstick, is because it doesn't wear as well as I would like it to if I use it as a stand-alone shadow, but it wears great if I use it as a shadow base, over primer. Even if I wear it alone over primer, I get creasing at the 6-8 hour mark, but used as a base it will help my eye shadows look great literally from the time I put on my makeup til I take it off, which is generally about 14 hours. I really like the soft pretty color of this alone though, so I think I'll have to experiment with setting this with some translucent powder to get the look I really like.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 1/13/2012 2:42:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought all the neutral colors: Bad to the Bronze, Tough as Taupe, Gold Bold, and Asphalt. I like them all. Some colors are better than others. Im NC40. Taupe is more a matte grey color with cool undertones, I would describe it as a cement/dolphin color. Comparing it to Aspalt, taupe is completely matte, and asphalt is dark grey with alot of shimmer. I have an Avon Big pencil in Slate, and Tough as Taupe is a very similar color. Tough as Toupe stayed on like cement (no pun intended) for the rest of the day about 9-10 hours, and I have very oily eyelids. I get creasing in no time with powder showders, the wearability is very similar to MUFE cream shadows.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maimaimaired on 1/13/2012 12:19:00 PM more reviews by maimaimaired

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Omg these shadow bases are the BOMB i have 8 out the 10 didnt get the gold and bronze because i have those in mac paintpots. Some are pigmented enough to wear on there own and some should be a base but any who. Today i wore the tough as taupe on lid with sketch in the crease with carbon in the outer V and rice paper on my browbone & omg it was was beautiful. Just fyi i am NW45 mac and cappucino in revlon colorstay.lol im thinking about going bck to get that painted purple one.Ok my update i went bck and bought 2 more painted purple and bad to the bronze lol. If anyone was wondering if mac indianwood is the same as bad to the bronze kinda but bad to the bronze is a bit darker brown but any who i luv luv them.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* funnygirl131 on 1/11/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by funnygirl131

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So this is a Pretty purple gray shade.If you have dark circles as I do this definitely picks up those colors exaggerating it. So i will have to just use as a base color not alone or with a good concealer.dry formula less creamy than paint pots imo.unfortunately with my oily lids it did transfer too my upper lid about 3 hours in without a base and with a base still fades and transfers on me not as bad , around same time.would buy again because it is a pretty decent and inexpensive version of paint pots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bucephala on 1/11/2012 8:45:00 AM more reviews by Bucephala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great product for the price. I used it as a base and it didn't start to crease until about 10 hours later. I don't feel that it made my eyeshadow more vibrant. The colour washes me out and makes me look like a drug addict so I have to use more face makeup to compensate for it. I wouldn't wear this on its own because there are way prettier taupe colours out there. If you have darker skin, it might look better on you. It has pretty good pigmentation and makes my eyeshadow last 10 hours so it gets 3 lippies. But I probably wouldn't but it again because there are prettier colours and better bases out there. I'm curious to see if these shadows will dry out in the pot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 1/9/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on my eyes as a base, for my brows, and a quick wash of color on my eyes. I really like it for all of those uses. It is a unique color that I have not seem in this form. I think it is a cream dupe for copperplate as some have mentioned but I swapped that a while ago so I cannot really say. It is pretty thick but blendable. The color works for my brows because most brow products are way too orange for me. I have black brows that are sparse but large. A lot of brow products don't work on me and look very fake. This works because the color is taupey grey, ideal for brows like mine, and it lasts longer than pencils and powders. I really enjoy using it under all types of taupe shadows too (on my lids not brows lol). I would say its a must if you love those dirty, murky colors. Pass if you like brighter, shimmery colors, because this is not it. I personally love it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 quelani on 1/8/2012 8:16:00 PM more reviews by quelani

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the color; on me it is a shiny brownish, silvery, light taupe. Good for daytime, neutral shade. It does have a shimmer to it, but it's light not overly shimmery like a foil. It is creamy and feels very light on the lids. It's not as thick as some MAC's paint pots. I always use a primer on my lids, so I can't speak for its 24 hour staying claim. It did stay with no creasing until I took it off at night, but not sure if it's the product itself or my NARS eyeshadow primer. Will definitely purchase the other colors. Glad to have something other than MAC paint pots, especially when on a budget.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 1/6/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've been looking for a gray shadow that will work with my skin tone FOREVER with no luck. Unfortunately, this is not the exception. In the pot it looked like it had some plum or lavender undertones which I thought might make it wearable for me, but on my lids it was very, very cool gray. The color is really quite soft and beautiful, but sadly, all wrong for my coloring.(red hair, green eyes, super pale complection with sallow undertones). If you are remotely warm, my suggestion is to pass this one by. If you are a cool gal, this will rock your world sideways.


That said, the product itself impressed me very much. The pigmentation was very deep and intense upon initial application, but I found it could also be easily blended out for a softer look. It did not crease at all, even without priming my lids with any product beforehand. It lasted through an entire day and even stayed put during a workout. It was just a little difficult to remove, but the eye makeup remover that I'm currently using is garbage. I think with a good product, it would remove with very little effort.


There is a LOT of product here, given the amount I used. I barely touched my brush to the surface and had enough to do the entire upper lid up into the crease and line the lower lashline. This will last a very, very long time, so if it doesn't dry out to the point of being unusable before I actually use it all, it will be an excellent value.


Now I want to go back and get some of the colors that will actually suit my skin tone. I'm excited to see the results. Historically, I have not had good results with Maybelline products, but this little gem really wowed me.

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hpolanek on 1/5/2012 11:09:00 PM more reviews by hpolanek

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have loved this shade as an eyeshadow and as a liner right above my black liner and on lower lashes(really gives a smokey look for daytime on brown eyes) but as of today I have started using it to fill in my brows. Some might think its strange but let me explain. For years i have searched for a brow product that was a TRUE ash brown color for my brows. I would buy something thinking for certain that i did not see any warm/reddish tones only to see myself in a picture or catch myself in the sunlight in the mirror and see those dreaded warm/red tones!! I have medium cool ash brown hair and suprisingly this blends great with my brows even in the sparse areas. NO warm tones in any light. It also seems to stay on a lot longer than any brow product i have tried (and i ahve tried tons of high end/low end) It actually dries and sets unlike other pencils/waxes/gels/powders. If you have ashy cool brown hair and need something long lasting for your brows I would give this a try. I think this can work for light/med/dark brown hair just depends how much pressure you apply. I use an slant tip brush and apply with not much pressure and glides on perfect..totally matte as well! Will update if i change my mind!

EDIT: When i was outside yesterday, i whipped out a mirror and thought that my brows did looked like a grey brown and too ashy on the sprase areas so i dont know if i will continue to use..maybe in conjuction with another brow product. Its a shame because it had really good staying power. I did however use it to contour my nose and it works well. It has the same grey/taupe undertones as the NYX blush in taupe that everyone raves about as a great contour (which it is, i love it and use it all the time) but again, i think this has better staying power.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tvkristen7 on 1/4/2012 4:58:00 PM more reviews by tvkristen7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

What a joke! I once again tried a product based on reviews. I applied this at 7am and loved the color and consistency. Problem is - it creased and completely came off my eyes by the afternoon. I use many products and this has never happened. What was left was a line of product in my crease. Yuck! 24 hour wear? Ha! Didn't even make it 8 hours! Oh, and I was wearing a base, too. I do not have oily lids. I wish I'd learn already and stop listening to drugstore hype. I'm always disappointed and go back to the dept store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products