Maybelline Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe

4.0

268 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 2/15/2012 11:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

I'm pretty impressed. The color is more gray than brown, but I like the way it looks over my blue eyes. A little goes a long way, and it blends very easily. I'll go back for more when I run out in 2015.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 2/14/2012 3:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This shadow reminds me so much of Bobbi Brown's Long-Wear Cream Shadow in "Slate." It applies and blends nicely and wears beautifully. It can be worn on it's own or used as a base for other shadows. It can also be used as a subtle eyeliner. It looks to have a very fine shimmer in the jar, but I could not detect any on the skin and I'm a shimmer-phobe. The reason I took a lippie off is because the color does not match the name. It looks like taupe in the jar but on my skin, it is grey. Grey is a great color on some, but it looks muddy on me. I wish they had either a true taupe or a soft brown (without glitter). But, if you like grey, the quality of this shadow is great and it really is a drugstore steal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2012 8:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this after reading good reviews. Very nice shade! Stays on forever and the matte taupe color is very flattering. Easy to apply too.


on 2/8/2012 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gosh this is beautiful. Very pigmented and blendable, and lasts wonderfully, even if you don't top this with an eyeshadow.

Does anyone else think this is like a spot-on colour dupe for the shade 'tease' in the naked2 palette!!?!? Both matte taupes that lean more gray than brown, with purple undertowns.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2012 4:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Purchased this (tough as taupe) color tattoo eye shadow since I was looking for a matte neutral (but not dry, powdery or cakey) to camouflage my 48 yr old slightly drooping eyelids by placing it in the crease.... and it DOES make my eyes look more awake and lifted. Natural looking even on my (NC 15) fair complexion, easy to apply and blend, and stayed in place nicely until I wanted to take it off. In terms of color comparisons with other matte eyeshadows... think MAC "copperplate".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this, along with bad to the bronze and punk pomegranate. I was on the fence about the tough as taupe, which is this matte gray color. In the pot, it didn't look like much, almost like putty. However, I decided to try it today on my lid, with the pomegranate one in my crease and outer V.. and I loved it! I didn't overlay these with shadow, I wore them by themselves, and they went for 10 hours without creasing.
All the youtube videos I've seen, everyone is overlaying these with shadow, but I didn't buy them for that purpose, I bought them to wear on their own, and they did a great job. The taupe color actually looks beautiful with my green/blue eye color and honestly, you could totally rock it with nothing more than it smudged on your lid and crease with some black eyeliner.
I am really happy I bought these, and I will repurchase. Btw the best price I found was at Walmart...they were significantly cheaper there than at CVS/RiteAid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2012 5:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I Love this cream shadow! It definitely reminds me of the MAC paint pots at a fraction on the price. I picked up 2 of these (BOGO sale) and am so glad I did! This Taupe color glides on so easy and looks great alone. I did add a bit of a grey steel shadow for a nighttime look. I cannot wait to try more colors (The Teal and Emerald color look gorgeous)


on 2/2/2012 11:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Im an NC42 and this cream eyeshadow looks so beautiful! It's a purplish grey color that is very work-appropriate. I use the product by itself and a little goes a long way. I apply majority of the pigment to the lids and gently blend upward. It gives me a soft smokey eye effect without the hassle of layering on so many different eye shadows. When I'm in a hurry, this product makes me look more "put-together."


on 2/1/2012 1:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'll admit I'm usually a snob... I rarely try anything new from the drugstore unless it's gotten tons of raves. I kept seeing good reviews for the new Color Tattoo cream e/s, so I searched out the color Tough as Taupe (every display was sold out of this color). I've worn it several days now, anywhere from 10-14 hours, so I feel like I've given it a fair trial. I'm super impressed! I love the color. It doesn't turn blue on me at all, and it's definitely more brown than grey. I bought it because it was said to resemble MAC's Copperplate, but aside from being matte grey/brown shades, they don't look alike on my lids. I've worn it as both a shadow and as a base for powder e/s with success. I wear a primer under any eyeshadow (waste of time to wear eyeshadow without it, IMO), and even on my 14 hour day, this had barely creased or faded. Sure, there was a little wear, but that's to be expected. If there were other colors I was interested in, I would certainly pick those up too.


on 1/28/2012 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This productis extremely cool toned, and not something I'd usually go for. But since purchasing, I've fallen in love. Not only is the color surprisingly pretty on my eyes (both as a base for other shadows, and all on its own), but I've found it to be very versatile. I recently dyed my hair a medium cool brown color, and was looking for something that would work in my brows, and this was perfect for me. I also used it as a contour color on my face (albeit for a very theatrical look) and it was extremely easy to blend.

Staying power is good, although I've never worn it on its own, I always use an eye primer.

I'm definitely interested in trying more colors in this line, although this is the only matte one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top