Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(262 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SoCalNanny on 2/4/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by SoCalNanny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Love this cream shadow! It definitely reminds me of the MAC paint pots at a fraction on the price. I picked up 2 of these (BOGO sale) and am so glad I did! This Taupe color glides on so easy and looks great alone. I did add a bit of a grey steel shadow for a nighttime look. I cannot wait to try more colors (The Teal and Emerald color look gorgeous)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 2/2/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im an NC42 and this cream eyeshadow looks so beautiful! It's a purplish grey color that is very work-appropriate. I use the product by itself and a little goes a long way. I apply majority of the pigment to the lids and gently blend upward. It gives me a soft smokey eye effect without the hassle of layering on so many different eye shadows. When I'm in a hurry, this product makes me look more "put-together."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FiestyFemme on 2/1/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by FiestyFemme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll admit I'm usually a snob... I rarely try anything new from the drugstore unless it's gotten tons of raves. I kept seeing good reviews for the new Color Tattoo cream e/s, so I searched out the color Tough as Taupe (every display was sold out of this color). I've worn it several days now, anywhere from 10-14 hours, so I feel like I've given it a fair trial. I'm super impressed! I love the color. It doesn't turn blue on me at all, and it's definitely more brown than grey. I bought it because it was said to resemble MAC's Copperplate, but aside from being matte grey/brown shades, they don't look alike on my lids. I've worn it as both a shadow and as a base for powder e/s with success. I wear a primer under any eyeshadow (waste of time to wear eyeshadow without it, IMO), and even on my 14 hour day, this had barely creased or faded. Sure, there was a little wear, but that's to be expected. If there were other colors I was interested in, I would certainly pick those up too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 1/28/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This productis extremely cool toned, and not something I'd usually go for. But since purchasing, I've fallen in love. Not only is the color surprisingly pretty on my eyes (both as a base for other shadows, and all on its own), but I've found it to be very versatile. I recently dyed my hair a medium cool brown color, and was looking for something that would work in my brows, and this was perfect for me. I also used it as a contour color on my face (albeit for a very theatrical look) and it was extremely easy to blend.

Staying power is good, although I've never worn it on its own, I always use an eye primer.

I'm definitely interested in trying more colors in this line, although this is the only matte one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 1/28/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So, I was a little bit disappointed in this colour. I bought this thinking it would look good with brown eyeliner, because in the jar it looks like a gray-taupe. But to my surprise it looked almost completely gray on my eye. Don't get me wrong, I still liked the colour, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. Also, you have to put on a few "coats" if you want it to stand out at all.
This being said, it still worked great! My eyes usually always crease up cream eyeshadow, or absorb powder, and this stayed vivid and crease-free all day! I also liked this one's consistency over the other matte one I bought (Edgy Emerald).
I would still recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 1/26/2012 7:31:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice matte, cream eyeshadow. However, I hate the color (I am NW20 - pink with gold undertones). But, my sister who is way more olive than me and loves these "stoney" colors LOVES, LOVES this shade. So to each her own. I am actually going to give mine to her because it just doesn't work at all on me but looks lovely on her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 1/25/2012 9:09:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I thought the color looked nice in the pot, but do not like it at all once applied. It looks like a blue-gray on me, and just is not flattering at all. Definitely not what I consider to be taupe. It's a very flat look, too. I have tried applying with a brush and with my finger, and I haven't been able to get the look I want either way. It ends up a bit sheer, so I try to build it up, and, well, I just don't like it. I do get creasing with it. In trying to make it work, I am now applying different colors over it to try to make it workable for my skin tone, but I think it's going to end up in the trash. I don't know if I will try a different color. The shade selection is not that great, in my opinion, and I was disappointed in the formula itself.

Edited to add: I hate this more and more. I tried it again today, and it is totally creased and faded within a few hours of applying. Just doesn't work for those of us with oily lids, I guess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 1/24/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wasn't impressed with how this looked in the pot. It looked drab and hard to pull off; however, i got it anyway because I saw a YT vid on how one gal wore it and it looked so lovely.

I've worn this several days now and I've literally received compliments every time. It looks very natural and sophisticated.

The color is more of a grey-taupe but I tend to gravitate towards cooler e/s colors even though I'm warm-toned. I haven't worn this on it's own just yet, but I have put other taupe e/s on top and it still looks amazing.

The formula blends beatifully and lasts all day. I've worn this for 12 hours without any creasing or fading. I'm usually hesitant to put cream e/s in my crease, but not with this stuff. It wears like iron.

It's now my go-to look when I don't want to think of something new. Beautiful product from Maybelline, go figure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mighttango on 1/20/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by mighttango

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The name Color Tattoo scared me at first! After watching the product reviews on youtube, I decided to try it...I got Tough as Taupe. I was attracted to the color, but worried that it would be too dark, hard to blend, impossible to wash off! Surprisingly, color was perfect, product blends nicely, and easily washes off. Now, if they could add a light pink matte shade...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 photowife on 1/20/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by photowife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not crazy about this color at all. It's too muddy and cool toned. Will see if that changes on tanner skin in a few months.
As far as wear, normal eyeshadow with a really good primer might last a few hours. I started hair spraying my lids after eyeshadow application and it started lasting 6 hours or so. I've tried other cream shadows and the would crease almost immediately. THESE however don't budge...at all. I can get 18 hours no problem before I wash off for the night. And While I might have some foundation on my lids before hand, I haven't tried them with primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products