Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(258 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 1/28/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So, I was a little bit disappointed in this colour. I bought this thinking it would look good with brown eyeliner, because in the jar it looks like a gray-taupe. But to my surprise it looked almost completely gray on my eye. Don't get me wrong, I still liked the colour, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. Also, you have to put on a few "coats" if you want it to stand out at all.
This being said, it still worked great! My eyes usually always crease up cream eyeshadow, or absorb powder, and this stayed vivid and crease-free all day! I also liked this one's consistency over the other matte one I bought (Edgy Emerald).
I would still recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 1/26/2012 7:31:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice matte, cream eyeshadow. However, I hate the color (I am NW20 - pink with gold undertones). But, my sister who is way more olive than me and loves these "stoney" colors LOVES, LOVES this shade. So to each her own. I am actually going to give mine to her because it just doesn't work at all on me but looks lovely on her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 1/25/2012 9:09:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I thought the color looked nice in the pot, but do not like it at all once applied. It looks like a blue-gray on me, and just is not flattering at all. Definitely not what I consider to be taupe. It's a very flat look, too. I have tried applying with a brush and with my finger, and I haven't been able to get the look I want either way. It ends up a bit sheer, so I try to build it up, and, well, I just don't like it. I do get creasing with it. In trying to make it work, I am now applying different colors over it to try to make it workable for my skin tone, but I think it's going to end up in the trash. I don't know if I will try a different color. The shade selection is not that great, in my opinion, and I was disappointed in the formula itself.

Edited to add: I hate this more and more. I tried it again today, and it is totally creased and faded within a few hours of applying. Just doesn't work for those of us with oily lids, I guess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 1/24/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wasn't impressed with how this looked in the pot. It looked drab and hard to pull off; however, i got it anyway because I saw a YT vid on how one gal wore it and it looked so lovely.

I've worn this several days now and I've literally received compliments every time. It looks very natural and sophisticated.

The color is more of a grey-taupe but I tend to gravitate towards cooler e/s colors even though I'm warm-toned. I haven't worn this on it's own just yet, but I have put other taupe e/s on top and it still looks amazing.

The formula blends beatifully and lasts all day. I've worn this for 12 hours without any creasing or fading. I'm usually hesitant to put cream e/s in my crease, but not with this stuff. It wears like iron.

It's now my go-to look when I don't want to think of something new. Beautiful product from Maybelline, go figure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mighttango on 1/20/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by mighttango

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The name Color Tattoo scared me at first! After watching the product reviews on youtube, I decided to try it...I got Tough as Taupe. I was attracted to the color, but worried that it would be too dark, hard to blend, impossible to wash off! Surprisingly, color was perfect, product blends nicely, and easily washes off. Now, if they could add a light pink matte shade...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 photowife on 1/20/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by photowife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not crazy about this color at all. It's too muddy and cool toned. Will see if that changes on tanner skin in a few months.
As far as wear, normal eyeshadow with a really good primer might last a few hours. I started hair spraying my lids after eyeshadow application and it started lasting 6 hours or so. I've tried other cream shadows and the would crease almost immediately. THESE however don't budge...at all. I can get 18 hours no problem before I wash off for the night. And While I might have some foundation on my lids before hand, I haven't tried them with primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lola88 on 1/20/2012 1:05:00 PM more reviews by lola88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is really not a dupe for MAC Paint pots because (most of them) are not this dry. I can work with them but it is not as easy to blend with either my finger or a 217 MAC brush--paint pots are much easier to blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IslandGirlSPN on 1/18/2012 7:36:00 PM more reviews by IslandGirlSPN

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At first glance I thought this shade was ugly & why would anybody want a raw clay color look on their eyes. While I still think the color on it's own on my eyes looks awful (NC25 here) it does make a wonderful base for all different shades of powder eye shadow. It deepened the colors and made them bolder and richer looking. The edges were a bit tricky to blend but not impossible. (So far Ive used ELF Pink Ice & Stila Kitten to blend out the edges) You must do one eye at a time because this cream formula tends to set up pretty quickly. I have tried 6 shades so far and this is the only one I have that is not shimmery. I am hoping they will add more toned down non shimmer colors of this formula. It is a wonderful d/s find! 6.99 @ wags.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nikkilici0us on 1/17/2012 7:38:00 PM more reviews by Nikkilici0us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really hate to review products that I didn't really like, but I found the formula of this particular color to be quite dry and quite "blah".. I was hoping that the taupe/slightly purple undertones of this product would bring out my green eyes but they made me look tired and made my skin appear sallow. On a brighter note, I do like the other one I have, which is bad to the bronze.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 1/13/2012 4:41:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product works out quite well for me. Though I have noticeable yellow undertones in my skin, I also have quite a bit of pink coloration in my facial skin, and this color looked really nice on my lids. I would describe it as a very soft dove grey. I could see it looking really nice in a makeup look featuring bold lips. The only reason I docked this product one lipstick, is because it doesn't wear as well as I would like it to if I use it as a stand-alone shadow, but it wears great if I use it as a shadow base, over primer. Even if I wear it alone over primer, I get creasing at the 6-8 hour mark, but used as a base it will help my eye shadows look great literally from the time I put on my makeup til I take it off, which is generally about 14 hours. I really like the soft pretty color of this alone though, so I think I'll have to experiment with setting this with some translucent powder to get the look I really like.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products