Maybelline Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe

4.0

275 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 2/28/2012 10:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought the BeneFit hype on a lot of products back in the day, and the raves for their Creaseless Cream Shadows were among them. Yet those shadows always managed to crease on me. I gave up on trying to find a truly creaseless cream shadow until I saw this one advertised in Allure. I chose Tough as Taupe because, honestly, I think almost every other color in the palette is ridiculous. Orange? On your eyelids? Really? The others were all either too bright or too sparkly. Tough as Taupe is perfect for a cool-toned gal. It's right in between brown and gray, but cheats a little gray on my eyelids. I dab on a little with my fingertip and blend, not bothering with a brush. I've worn it on its own so far, but not as a shadow base. As a lid/crease color, it's subtle and tasteful for daytime, where I spend most days under fluorescent lights. And it really does not crease. No matter what. Yet it comes off readily when I wash my face with DHC Deep Cleansing Oil.

The packaging is a heavy glass jar with a screw top; I imagine it would dry out if not tightly capped, so be sure to put that top back on tightly when you're done using the product. The kicker? $5.97 at Walmart. You can't beat it with a stick.

Hey, Jean and Jane--THIS is how you do truly creaseless cream shadows.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 2/25/2012 3:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This product is both amusing and miraculous. I don't want to be a naysayer here, but I find the color of the product itself almost laughably ugly. It's pretty typical for taupe I guess- a brownish-gray color, but when I applied to my lids, my first thought was..."That looks like poop." Looked like I had grayish poop smeared on my lids. So I guess that tells you that my natural coloring doesn't work well with this particular shade. HOWEVER...I obviously needed to cover up that poopy color on my lids, so I reached for another eyeshadow- the purpley taupe color in my WetNWild Silent Treatment palette. And from the first swipe of that color over the taupe base, I was IN LOVE. That eyeshadow is normally pretty but very sheer on me. The taupe base added depth and dimension- it really enhanced the color and made it pop. It also lasted a long time, and even though a workout, without creasing. Thus, my final verdict is: I will never, EVER wear this color on it's own, but I intend to use it all the time as a base under taupe, purple, grayish teal and blue shades, and many other eyeshadow colors. This was a great drugstore find, and less than $7!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2012 8:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Tough as Taupe is more on the grey side of the taupe spectrum than brown and it's perfect in my opinion. It reminds me somewhat of Groundwork paint pot. I'm NC45 and Groundwork looks grey on me because my skin cancels out the brown. It wears all day with no creasing. I used TAT as a base and MAC Club on top. It allowed the green/red brown to show perfectly on my lids :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ever heard of MAC paint pots? Yeah, this is better quite honestly. It doesnt crease AT ALL and it is crazy opaque. Plus taupe is so versatile for my everyday eye makeup i decided this was my favorite.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2012 12:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff! The color is gorgeous and you can wear it sheer or layer it up for a bolder look. I use this for a go-to daily makeup without issue. I have more of a neutral skin tone so I am not really constrained as for color choice, but I can see how this color would not support all skin tones. I love to use this as a base for my other Color Tattoo shadows to tone down the look, and it works great as a base for powder shadows as well. There is no creasing and no noticeable fading and best of all for me, really no more effort getting off than any other makeup that I'm wearing. I would definitely buy it again, but there is so much product, I really don't think that I'll have to :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2012 12:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought into the hype with this one. I was supposed to be on a no buy & slipped. I am not really distraught over the slip either. I have never been able to wear anything grey on my eyes, it just turns blue. However, this does not. It's a matte medium grey and it's perfect on it's own or as a base. I personally love it as a base under taupes. I get no creasing and it really does last a long time. 24 hours? I cannot confirm that yet. I love the jar and I love the creamy consistancy. This was the only one that really stood out to me as far as colors go, even though it's a neutral I do not have anything similar in my collection. I really would like to try a few other neutral colors but I'll wait till some of my paint pots are gone. I really have nothing bad to say about this & I would buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2012 12:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm sorry to say that my experience wasn't as good as other reviewers' experiences. I bought the color because it was a matte, cool neutral. The color is pretty, but I am very fair and cool with permanent sinus bruises/shadows that are hard to cover. It turned out to be too grey on me, and a close shade to my bruises, which made me look like I was seriously ill. My low rating isn't from the color, though. It was an accurate color in the pot. I feel that it's my mistake that I bought an unflattering color, but I'm pointing out the issues for anyone with similar coloring.

I took off a star for the wear without primer. The eyeshadow never really dried, and slowly melted away after a few hours. I think this is because I am RELIGIOUS about using eye cream.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2012 11:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

I'm pretty impressed. The color is more gray than brown, but I like the way it looks over my blue eyes. A little goes a long way, and it blends very easily. I'll go back for more when I run out in 2015.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2012 3:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This shadow reminds me so much of Bobbi Brown's Long-Wear Cream Shadow in "Slate." It applies and blends nicely and wears beautifully. It can be worn on it's own or used as a base for other shadows. It can also be used as a subtle eyeliner. It looks to have a very fine shimmer in the jar, but I could not detect any on the skin and I'm a shimmer-phobe. The reason I took a lippie off is because the color does not match the name. It looks like taupe in the jar but on my skin, it is grey. Grey is a great color on some, but it looks muddy on me. I wish they had either a true taupe or a soft brown (without glitter). But, if you like grey, the quality of this shadow is great and it really is a drugstore steal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2012 8:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this after reading good reviews. Very nice shade! Stays on forever and the matte taupe color is very flattering. Easy to apply too.


Back to Top