E.L.F. • Complexion Perfection • Pressed Powders

rated 3.6(240 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SimplyChiny on 8/28/2009 6:42:00 PM more reviews by SimplyChiny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Personally, I love the product. I bought three when ELF had that 75% off their studioline. I give it five stars because it was dirt cheap, the packaging is sturdy and beautiful, and it does a wonderful job evening out my skin and creating a great canvas for blush and contouring. I never tried it on my bare skin but I use it after I apply my foundation. I just use the complexion brush and sweep it over all four colors and lightly apply it on my face. I can see a difference. My face is just one color so it's perfect for putting color on my face. I don't really like using the colors individually, it makes only a slight difference but then again I don't really need spot treatment so maybe that's why I can't tell the difference?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hp11989 on 8/23/2009 8:02:00 PM more reviews by hp11989

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall rating: This rating is based on only 1 use, so I will update it after I apply it some other ways. At first, I tried using the pink square only with the Ecotools retractable kabuki brush to try to cover up the redness on my cheeks and around my nose (a la EDM PMUP). It did nothing. Then I swirled my kabuki across all four colors and applied. It made my pale complexion even paler, but it did cancel out a lot of the redness. After applying foundation, my complexion looked more normal. Overall, I would say it did the job of evening out my skin without drying my skin or making it too matte. However, if E.L.F. could give it a more dewy finish, I would like it better. Will update after application *over* my foundation and using different brushes.
Applied over foundation: See "EDIT" below.
Applied with E.L.F. Complexion Brush: This brush was way to flimsy for the purpose.
Where did I buy this: E.L.F. Web site.
Price: A whopping $.75 after the recent E.L.F. sale. Regular retail is $3.00.
Packaging: Very sturdy, matte black case with snap-top lid. The product is protected by a removable thick, clear plastic covering.
Would I buy again: Maybe.
EDIT: I've tried this product three times now, with one of the applications being *over* foundation, and while that didn't hurt anything, it didn't do anything special either. Today I applied it more lightly under my foundation, and that seemed to be the trick to avoiding the Casper-the-Ghost complexion problem I had the first time I used it. It would still be better if it imparted some dewiness, but it didn't dry me out, and it *did* even out my complexion. I'm still up in the air as to whether I would buy this again, though.
SECOND EDIT: I've decided not to keep this in favor of EDM Pick Me Up Pink redness concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChildOfTheMoon on 8/17/2009 1:14:00 PM more reviews by ChildOfTheMoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This multi-colour pressed powder really does even out the skin tone; it tones down the redness from my old acne scars and brightens up my eye circles. There's no glow, shimmer o glitter in it, it's matte. Although the matte effect works wonderfully for my T zone, I wish there was some glow to enhance my cheekbones. Main ingredient is talc which turns a bit cakey on my skin. The packaging is nice, sleek and practical with a mirror. I'd rate this product 3,5 lippies. It's affordable and worth trying- might work better for other skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 antoniaaddict on 8/14/2009 8:58:00 AM more reviews by antoniaaddict

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I accually think this product is ok....Its not perfect but what else you expect for 3.50 compared to 30 or so?
It does an ok job on redness and reduces the yellow in my foundations too.
I found its quite good for short term balancing makeup needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sekhmet on 8/10/2009 2:50:00 PM more reviews by sekhmet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this product enough to buy a backup, but I have very sensitive skin (rosacea?) that gets red and irritated if I'm not careful. And I was using this to cover up those areas. I just decided that a talc-based product was probably not the best thing for my sensitive areas, so I gave the backup I had bought to my mother. People with normal skin can probably use this however they want to with no problems, it is a nice versatile powder, and the packaging is especially good for the price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sam1e on 8/9/2009 7:59:00 PM more reviews by Sam1e

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

When i saw this on elf website i was like, i have to have this and at 3.50 i was like why not! ive used it 3 or 4 times and i just dont even know if it works, im pale and but im quite pinkish but all it seems to do is come off just white and it certainly doesnt work by using the colours individually. I wouldnt buy it again but why not try it as its dirt cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Thao0226 on 8/4/2009 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Thao0226

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't buy this again and would give it away to a friend in a heartbeat. This is definitely a product for fair-skinned ladies. I have medium skin tone and this is truly like white powder on me. In addition to the powdery whiteness, I didnt notice any brightening effect or toning down of redness...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LisaOrestea on 8/4/2009 9:54:00 AM more reviews by LisaOrestea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this compact. I have only ever used one correcting powder before (Lily Lolo's peep-o yellow undereye concealer. Which I would say is probably slighty better at covering undereye circles) But having this in a compact is really useful, as it means I can carry it around easilly.

I use the green colour on its own all over my cheeks to reduce redness, then the yellow underneath my eyes, but then I mix the others together and brush lightly over my skin, and it just makes my skin look bright and awake :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* almost40 on 8/2/2009 8:18:00 AM more reviews by almost40

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this a few days ago and I really do like it.I agree with the reviewer below that the colours are very pale but they do work on me.I have very slight red cheeks but after using this over my loose powder,my skin looks neutral and ready for blush.I've not tried the colours on their own yet but I will.I like the compact too,very posh :o)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xAlleGegenAlle on 7/30/2009 7:47:00 AM more reviews by xAlleGegenAlle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

When I first saw this on the website, I fell in love! It's so cute - pressed powder in four different cheery pastel hues in a sleek black compact. when I received it in the mail, however, I was very disappointed. The bright pastel colors on the website translated into pale, barely-there colors in real life. When applied they look nearly white. I'm VERY pale and no matter how I apply this, I look like a ghost. I've heard of people using the powders individually for color correction but I can't see how that would work, even when applied by themselves the colors look white. The powder is also hard to blend, no matter what I do the powder just sits on top of my skin and look chalky.

Not to mention the packaging is poor. The large mirror, which I liked at first, fell out when I accidentally dropped the compact on my soft, carpeted floor. When I picked it up I saw the mirror is held on by a thin strip of double-sided tape. I love E.L.F. and I wanted to love this, but, this is one product I won't be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Pressed Powders products