E.L.F. Complexion Perfection

3.6

241 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Nylon-12, Titanium Dioxide, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Boron Nitride. MAY CONTAIN: Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), D&C Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), FD&C Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), FD&C Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090).


on 9/2/2009 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I purchased a 0.4762 oz./13.5 g E.L.F. Studio Complexion Perfection compact during E.L.F.'s 75% off sale on their Studio line. I have yet to test the product on my face; however, I noticed the texture is quite chalky when I swatched this on my arm.

PRODUCT INFORMATION: Create a balanced and radiant complexion that is beautiful and healthy. The lightweight formula evens out the skin tone and absorbs excess oil. The sheer formula brightens and neutralizes the skin.

DIRECTIONS: Blend the powder over the entire face to brighten and even out the skin tone as well as neutralize any redness.



on 8/28/2009 6:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Personally, I love the product. I bought three when ELF had that 75% off their studioline. I give it five stars because it was dirt cheap, the packaging is sturdy and beautiful, and it does a wonderful job evening out my skin and creating a great canvas for blush and contouring. I never tried it on my bare skin but I use it after I apply my foundation. I just use the complexion brush and sweep it over all four colors and lightly apply it on my face. I can see a difference. My face is just one color so it's perfect for putting color on my face. I don't really like using the colors individually, it makes only a slight difference but then again I don't really need spot treatment so maybe that's why I can't tell the difference?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2009 8:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Overall rating: This rating is based on only 1 use, so I will update it after I apply it some other ways. At first, I tried using the pink square only with the Ecotools retractable kabuki brush to try to cover up the redness on my cheeks and around my nose (a la EDM PMUP). It did nothing. Then I swirled my kabuki across all four colors and applied. It made my pale complexion even paler, but it did cancel out a lot of the redness. After applying foundation, my complexion looked more normal. Overall, I would say it did the job of evening out my skin without drying my skin or making it too matte. However, if E.L.F. could give it a more dewy finish, I would like it better. Will update after application *over* my foundation and using different brushes.
Applied over foundation: See "EDIT" below.
Applied with E.L.F. Complexion Brush: This brush was way to flimsy for the purpose.
Where did I buy this: E.L.F. Web site.
Price: A whopping $.75 after the recent E.L.F. sale. Regular retail is $3.00.
Packaging: Very sturdy, matte black case with snap-top lid. The product is protected by a removable thick, clear plastic covering.
Would I buy again: Maybe.
EDIT: I've tried this product three times now, with one of the applications being *over* foundation, and while that didn't hurt anything, it didn't do anything special either. Today I applied it more lightly under my foundation, and that seemed to be the trick to avoiding the Casper-the-Ghost complexion problem I had the first time I used it. It would still be better if it imparted some dewiness, but it didn't dry me out, and it *did* even out my complexion. I'm still up in the air as to whether I would buy this again, though.
SECOND EDIT: I've decided not to keep this in favor of EDM Pick Me Up Pink redness concealer.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This multi-colour pressed powder really does even out the skin tone; it tones down the redness from my old acne scars and brightens up my eye circles. There's no glow, shimmer o glitter in it, it's matte. Although the matte effect works wonderfully for my T zone, I wish there was some glow to enhance my cheekbones. Main ingredient is talc which turns a bit cakey on my skin. The packaging is nice, sleek and practical with a mirror. I'd rate this product 3,5 lippies. It's affordable and worth trying- might work better for other skin types.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I accually think this product is ok....Its not perfect but what else you expect for 3.50 compared to 30 or so?
It does an ok job on redness and reduces the yellow in my foundations too.
I found its quite good for short term balancing makeup needs.


on 8/10/2009 2:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I liked this product enough to buy a backup, but I have very sensitive skin (rosacea?) that gets red and irritated if I'm not careful. And I was using this to cover up those areas. I just decided that a talc-based product was probably not the best thing for my sensitive areas, so I gave the backup I had bought to my mother. People with normal skin can probably use this however they want to with no problems, it is a nice versatile powder, and the packaging is especially good for the price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2009 7:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When i saw this on elf website i was like, i have to have this and at 3.50 i was like why not! ive used it 3 or 4 times and i just dont even know if it works, im pale and but im quite pinkish but all it seems to do is come off just white and it certainly doesnt work by using the colours individually. I wouldnt buy it again but why not try it as its dirt cheap!


on 8/4/2009 4:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wouldn't buy this again and would give it away to a friend in a heartbeat. This is definitely a product for fair-skinned ladies. I have medium skin tone and this is truly like white powder on me. In addition to the powdery whiteness, I didnt notice any brightening effect or toning down of redness...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2009 9:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this compact. I have only ever used one correcting powder before (Lily Lolo's peep-o yellow undereye concealer. Which I would say is probably slighty better at covering undereye circles) But having this in a compact is really useful, as it means I can carry it around easilly.

I use the green colour on its own all over my cheeks to reduce redness, then the yellow underneath my eyes, but then I mix the others together and brush lightly over my skin, and it just makes my skin look bright and awake :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2009 8:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this a few days ago and I really do like it.I agree with the reviewer below that the colours are very pale but they do work on me.I have very slight red cheeks but after using this over my loose powder,my skin looks neutral and ready for blush.I've not tried the colours on their own yet but I will.I like the compact too,very posh :o)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top