Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5271 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lillette on 3/13/2009 6:38:00 AM more reviews by lillette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't generally use mascara, since my lashes are naturally pretty long and dark, but recently I wanted some to use for a special occasion. I saw this on the shelf, remembered having seen it raved about in so many magazines over the years as just about the best mascara ever, and bought it because I figured it would work really well and not make too big a dent in my wallet for something I'd probably only use a couple of times at most. Big mistake. This goes on very thin, wet, and runny and takes a long time to dry, which meant it left half circles of tiny black dots underneath my eyes from blinking. It also clumped my eyelashes together really badly, so that it looked like I had about six giant spiky lashes on each eye. This was fixable with some serious use of a lash comb, but it took a lot more time and work than it should have just to look presentable. Within two hours of application, it had run and smudged so badly that I had a serious case of raccoon eyes. It also didn't seem to add much length or thickness to my lashes at all. I found this product to give such an unacceptable and sub-standard perfomance that I would never repurchase it; in fact, I wouldn't even accept it for free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RuKa on 3/13/2009 6:36:00 AM more reviews by RuKa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gross! Doesn't do anything positive but add colour. Will never buy this again. Do we really HAVE to give at least one lippy? A minus would be good here.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shiaobundan on 3/13/2009 5:50:00 AM more reviews by shiaobundan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Just to confirm everyone else's opinion.. this stuff sucks. It was the first mascara I ever bought, back in 8th grade... and even then, I knew it was crap. SO overrated. I can't believe "professionals" still recommend it. Anytime I see a supposed makeup expert recommend it, I stop taking them seriously.

It's thin, smears, runny, and has no thickening or curling power. Packaging is cute though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yeliab on 3/13/2009 5:39:00 AM more reviews by yeliab

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Through all the raves in magazines such as Allure, etc - I tried this mascara thinking it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. But it was NOT the mascara the magazines were boasting about. It went on too slippery... didn't even grab the eyelashes... fused the eyelashes together - so instead of 100 individual eyelashes - it fused them into 20 separate lashes.


So it looked a little weird with only 20 eyelashes above each eye. Not a good mascara. Why did all of these magazines and the media tout that this is the BEST mascara?? There are a lot of other mascaras in the same price point that is 100% better!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Histfreak04 on 3/13/2009 12:38:00 AM more reviews by Histfreak04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great day time mascara. I have been using this mascara for years and I still love it. The waterproof blackest black works great for separating but doesn't give much volume. This is not for dramatic lashes but is great for everyday. I have used many mascaras and have continued to buy this one. My lashes are a bit longer then most so maybe thats why it works so good on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 melkins9 on 3/11/2009 3:52:00 PM more reviews by melkins9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Horrible smell and nearly impossible to get off without mascara remover. A great starter mascara, and the brush is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thirdeye32 on 3/11/2009 3:47:00 PM more reviews by thirdeye32

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have never bought this and never will. Gross. So wet you might as well just use black paint. Lashes stick together and doesnt hold the curl. It does make them very black but just ugh,yuck. I havent used this in years but saw a review on another site and had to come and give my two cents. I can not for the life on me understand how makeup artists are always quoted in magazines as this being the be all end all of mascaras. If I read that it makes me second guess them from then on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SuperGirl on 3/11/2009 1:35:00 PM more reviews by SuperGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Awful mascara! It doesn't give volume, length, or anything! It adds some color to your lashes, and that's about it. It's always raved about in all the beauty magazines, but I have no clue why. Not worth buying, even though it's cheap. Stick to Maybelline Full & Soft or Cover Girl Lash Blast if you actually want something that works!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* arikabh on 3/11/2009 6:25:00 AM more reviews by arikabh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara! It makes my lashes stick together so it looks like I have even less lashes than I do. Overrated mascara that does nothing really. This would only be acceptable mascara to me if this was 99 cents. I would never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sara_smiles426 on 3/10/2009 11:39:00 PM more reviews by sara_smiles426

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a simple mascara that works best for those who already enjoy very long lashes and just need to lengthen them a bit. For that job its great IF you give it sufficient time to dry before blinking.This is much more difficult in practive than it sounds. If you are looking to ad a more dramatic look or maybe some thickness to your lashes, this is not the product for you. Its very hard to work with but if you are in a pinch, its acceptable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products