Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5380 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 4/26/2009 10:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The biggest problem that I found with this mascara is that the brush is too, too small and the bristles are too far apart. Therefore, it is very hard to rake the brush through my lashes into order to get length and volume. I ended up having to go over spots several times in order to get close to my desired look - but by that time there was too much mascara coated over my lashes and the process was too time consuming. As for the mascara itself, I don't have much of a problem with it. I agree that it is "wet" but I usually prefer that to the "dry" look I can often get which makes my lashes look too spidery. I will continue my search for the perfect mascara and will most likely stop trying Maybelline as this is the third one I have tried from them with disappointing results.



on 4/26/2009 9:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this mascara. I've been using it for a few years. It's great for layering. I usually put it under Colossal or Revlon Voluminous, it gives those mascara and extra boost.


on 4/25/2009 8:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like the packaging the green and pink does ask for attention.

I also bought this mascara since all the make-up artists were raving about it. I heard that its great for photo shoots because they have to keep retouching the model's make up and this mascara allows them to reapply without clumping or something of the sort. (Don't know the exact story but something around that)

Well not all of us are supermodels behind photo shoots!

For me this mascara wasn't great. It was ok for the price. It smudged! It took way too long to dry! Did nothing for my lashes except darken them. It flaked!!!!!! (GRR!)


on 4/25/2009 5:47:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I completely agree with all the negative reviews for this mascara. I bought it because in so many of my beauty magazines, make-up artists rave about it. Well, they must get some kind of kickback from Maybelline, because this stuff is awful. Not only did it not make my lashes look better, but I had a horrible allergic reaction to the stuff. My eyelids swelled up, turned bright red, and then took four days to stop flaking. I tell everyone I know NOT to buy this one. Yet, it still gets raves. No thanks!


on 4/25/2009 5:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

http://prettythingsandoldbeans.blogspot.com/

Maybe there is some sort of conspiracy going on with this product! Why is it #1 Selling Mascara???

Awful Awful Awful Mascara!
Makes lashes look thin, hard and wet looking! Also make lashes stick together, making it look like you have about five eyelashes!
This is the worst mascara I have ever used, I would never ever buy this or recommend it to anyone!
Still yet to find better than Lancome Hypnose Mascara!


on 4/25/2009 3:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this mascara in the 70's and 80's when there wasn't much choice of mascaras (and I didn't know any better!) I tried this newer version recently and was not impressed with it. I like mascaras that fatten and lengthen my lashes and this doesn't do either!


on 4/25/2009 1:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Single worst mascara of all time. How many girls/women have been sucked into wasting money on this product?? Flakes, smears, runs, and is guaranteed to produce virtually instant black holes for eyes. I may have been overly charitable in calling it the worst mascara--it is likely the worst product of all time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I didn't think this mascara was THAT bad. It defined my eyes quite naturally, and when using the curved wand, it actually holds a curl. Doesn't really do much in terms of volume and length, but my lashes are already naturally long and thick, so it's no big deal. It does tend to clump though if you use more than one coat.


on 4/25/2009 12:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Since the beginning of time I have felt that this mascara has been the #1 most overrated, over hyped, over advertised cosmetic on the market!!!

I have to say that it proves that $ UNTRULY TALKS & magazines get paid to say that this is an "award winning product"!!!

Yes "award winning garbage"!!! NEVER-NEVER-NEVER BELIEVE "AWARDS" IN ANY MAGAZINE! THOSE ARE JUST ADS THAT COMPANIES PAY FOR!!!

Fortunately we have a lovely place like MA to get the truth about products & share them with each other!

I suggest Lash Blast in waterproof & a Shu Uemura eyelash curler! The wax in the waterproof version of this mascara will help your new found curls last all day & over night!

So great for the morning after stay overs you have with a lover-when they tell you how beautiful you are to wake up next to! Great way to start your day--even after the two of you shower together!!! xoxo!!!


on 4/24/2009 9:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Two words:

It sucks.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top