Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5337 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 4/9/2009 6:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this mascara...for me personally it just does the trick. I dont like paying over $10 for a mascara because its the one thing I apply daily no matter what, and spending too much is just not an option. I have always used it, tried other brands, and just kept coming back to it. One thing is though, I dont apply it to my lower lashes because it sheds, but otherwise, I like it.



on 4/9/2009 5:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm not sure why, but I had heard that this mascara was one that everyone (some celebs) would end up running back to after they'd tried more expensive ones. I think they were lying! This didn't lengthen my lashes AT ALL, rubbed/flaked off and gave me raccoon eyes. I will never buy this again! I have most of my tube left...ugh.


on 4/9/2009 8:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This mascara is alright but nothing special tho. It's for sure not for girls who want to have false lashes effect. It gives you nice natural looking lashes. Its good for during the day wear and if you like the natural look. The bad thing is that it smudges a lot:-( But overall not horrible product and I reckon it may work for some with long lashes to get the nice natural look, not made up one.......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2009 8:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I heard a lot of good things about this product before I actually bought it.

This mascara is okay.

It made my lashes longer which was good, but my lashes are already pretty long to begin with. It added more volume too.

But my main problem was that when I put it on my upper lashes, once I would blink, poof there's mascara on the skin under my eyes, which was so annoying! It would also clump, BIG TIME.

So yeah, don't waste your money on this mascara.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This mascara is absolutely horrible!!! It made my lashes UNcurl,took forever to dry, clumped horrribly...i just hate it! Im going to stick to full n soft or sky high curves. I have long and thick lashes (the girl at Clinique called them "massive" and my lashes look longer and fuller natural then with this hideous mascara!!


on 4/8/2009 9:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this mascara because they had a buy one get one free at Target. I can't refuse a sale. On the package it said "#1 mascara by Allure magazine". I wasn't asking for much., just an overall decent mascara. No no no. This is one of the worst mascaras I have ever tried! It clumps and leaves black racoon looking eyes. Not only that, if your eyes happen to water and you get a little in them- it burns so badly! I will never ever buy this mascara again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm surpised at the bad reviews. Great Lash is truly unique – the packaging alone sets it apart from Maybellines other mascaras. This is definitely *not* a mascara with self esteem and shyness issues. With a bright pink body and a lime green top – this product screams ‘look at me!’ from all angles.

The product is thick and dark (I’m sure they stock a variety of shades, but baby, I only do black). I like the applicator brush...it's a dense brush in an oval shape which makes application really easy, but it may take a little longer because the brush is quite small.


When I first put it on my naturally average lashes looked slightly thickened, quite lengthened and dark. One coat was actually enough, and off I went into the night, to enjoy some bacardi breezers….

…upon my return, I pulled out one of my usual Simple cleansing face wipes, and proceeded to drunkenly remove my face paint. The mascara came off REALLY easily, unlike some reviews say.


If you want maximum glamour and effect, 3 coats do a really good job – don’t be too surprised if you’re dragged on stage and made to sing ‘I Am What I Am’ by ladymen in feathered boas….anyway, this mascara is also pretty cheap, so I can't complain about that either. I like wearing it for Uni; I find that I don't need any other face makeup when I'm wearing this because it makes my lashes stand out and look really dark, so I can just wear it alone. It doesn't smudge/flake at all throughout the day or irritate my sensitive eyes.


Not HG (define-a-lash is!) but a good mascara to have.


UPDATE:

I brought a new tube the other day. The formula is a bit different, more wet. It makes it a bit harder to work with without getting mascara all over my face. However, it still works well. No clumping, no smudging/flaking, rich dark black colour, lengthens and gives some thickness. I really like this mascara ^^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2009 2:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is by far the WORST I have ever used. It clumps like no ones business, smells awful, and makes my lashes look like the scary dude from that movie A Clockwork Orange. Steer clear of this junk. If you want to go check opt for Maybelline-Full & Soft instead.


on 4/7/2009 10:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot understand the popularity of this product. It is wretched. I hated it in high school/middle school and I hate it now. I thought I would retry it, because it is so popular, and I thought maybe I had been applying it wrong as a kid. Not so much. The clumping was horrible, I got it all over my eyes and it gave me tarantula lashes. I took it off immediately, threw it in the garbage and happily went back to Clinique's Long Pretty Lashes.


on 4/7/2009 10:36:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

GOD. i hate hate hate this mascara. it's the most over hyped mascara in the world. i heard that make up artists MAY swear to this, but i absolutely hate it. it clumps, it takes so long for it to actually work, it's wet in texture, it's a hassle to take off--it makes you look like a raccoon, it doesn't lengthen my lashes, it doesn't curl, doesn't volumize--basically it just makes my eyes look disgusting, sticky, wet, dark and clumpy. this is the most ridiculous mascara in the world.

and plus, the wand is so tiny, it's so hard to apply! and another bad thing is that because it's so wet, when i try to put it on my lower lashes, i always hit my waterline/eye/skin!

the only good thing about this mascara is that it's a decent finishing coat after i've applied a really good lengthening and volumizing mascara that doesn't have the color i want it to. it makes my lashes a deep deep black. but other than that, i hate it.


Back to Top