Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5389 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Well I got it free so I'm not as pissed as I should be lol. I used it a few years ago when I was 14 or so?

So what does it do? Nothing.
It doesn't lengthen, volumise or stay put-smudges pretty easily.


The reason it's so raved by makeup artists? It's such a wet formula, they can apply coats and coats and coats of it without it clumping up straight away. That's the only reason.


I'm thinking of getting prestige my biggest lashes since it's supposed to be really good.. Too bad I don't live in the states so =( guess I'll stick to my other mascaras.



on 4/28/2009 10:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used this product alot high school. it does the job.

this mascara is used alot in the fashion world, so theres where all the hype comes from.


on 4/28/2009 9:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really didn't like this mascara at all.This takes forever to dry, and i ended it with black marks all over my cheeks. It didn't really do anything for my eyelashes either. Possibly one of the most overrated mascaras, and i have no idea what all the hype is about.


on 4/28/2009 9:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Grey

Very overrated, of course. Iconic packaging and cheap, but the colour doesn't have much staying power and it doesn't lengthen or volumize. This would be fine if you already have long lashes and just want to define them, but for shorter-lashed girls like me, such a simple mascara is ineffective.


on 4/27/2009 3:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Goes on great but after a few hours, I see it under my eyes. Too bad it doesn't stay on your lashes


on 4/26/2009 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this product in Very Black for free when they were promoting it at a fair and giving it out. At first I wasn't impressed. The brush did not separate my lashes, the formula was too wet, and the product clumps easily. I grew to like it more as I used it with a lash comb. It does keep the curl and if you comb your lashes while the product is still wet, your lashes will separate and look better. Once you get past the clumpiness and wetness, it feels light and makes my lashes look shiny, which I like. It doesn't add extra volume or length, and the brush doesn't reach the inner corners of the eyes. Overall I like it better now and use it because it was free, but I wouldn't buy this again.


on 4/26/2009 7:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, love, love this mascara. I have tried many mascaras in the past from high end to very cheap and always end up coming back to this. A true classic. Will never be without it.


on 4/26/2009 6:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was my first mascara. Now that I think of it, it might be the first cosmetic I ever bought. This was back before the Internet was the go-to expert, back when girls flipped through magazines and bought wholeheartedly into promising advertisements. Well, I had thin, Asian lashes but after sweeping on some Great Lash, I walked out of the house and spent all day batting what I was convinced were movie-star lashes. Maybe as a result, when I loked in the mirror at the end of the day, I had more mascara under my eyes than on my lashes. I wore it out a few more times, but the magic of the first time had worn off and I could see that all it did was stain my already dark lashes a little darker, and soon I threw it out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2009 10:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For a while now I've been avoiding this mascara because it was the first one I ever used and back then I didn't like how it did nothing to my lashes (except darken them a bit).
As the years have past I've gotten more experienced at applying mascara and since I had one around (my mom really likes this for some reason) I gave it another shot when I was in a hurry doing my makeup.
I think it's a really nice mascara if you don't want to put too much makeup on or if you want a more natural look for your lashes. It only clumped a bit and it gave my lashes a tiny length boost, just enough to make them more noticeable, without looking like I've got mascara on. It doesn't ruin my curl, it's dark and it's become my mascara of choice when going out with my boyfriend since he likes me to be more natural.
The name does fool you into believing you'll get dramatic results but I really don't recall them ever giving a definition of what their mascara does.
I also like that it doesn't dry out. I've had mine for over a year. I put it in a cup of warm water for 10 minutes and it was like new.
I wouldn't recommend this if you wear alot of eyeshadow, especially dark colors. I like using this with a soft wash of color and eyeliner. Getting ready only takes 5 minutes and I look fresh and fabulous!
EDIT: For all the people complaining out there: a mascara does not have to be dramatic to be good! There are many people who do not want to overload their lashes with mascara. There are places where huge lashes would be inappropriate. Sometimes you need to be subtle with your makeup.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2009 10:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The biggest problem that I found with this mascara is that the brush is too, too small and the bristles are too far apart. Therefore, it is very hard to rake the brush through my lashes into order to get length and volume. I ended up having to go over spots several times in order to get close to my desired look - but by that time there was too much mascara coated over my lashes and the process was too time consuming. As for the mascara itself, I don't have much of a problem with it. I agree that it is "wet" but I usually prefer that to the "dry" look I can often get which makes my lashes look too spidery. I will continue my search for the perfect mascara and will most likely stop trying Maybelline as this is the third one I have tried from them with disappointing results.




Back to Top