MAC • Paint Pot in Bare Study • Eyes

rated 4.2(482 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Embeth3 on 5/24/2010 9:30:00 PM more reviews by Embeth3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bare Study is my first Paint Pot - hard to get in NZ, only 2 or 3 stores in the country stock MAC (which is very annoying, grump!) and it's $42 NZD. Ouch.
Works well though, the colour is nothing too out there, a nice neutral beige champagne pearl, though I find it difficult to apply evenly with a brush so have resorted to using a clean index finger to get smooth coverage. You do have to be careful not to overload product in the inner corners and blend out any smudges quickly but once it is set, it *stays*. I don't get any creasing at all.
I apply Bare Study from lid to brow and then just generally apply deep or colourful shadows to lid and crease. No need to an additional highlighter (unless you want to) as there is enough, though very subtle shimmer, even if applied very lightly.
I was told by the MAC SA to ensure the lid was replaced promptly and screwed on tightly to stop it from drying out. It's only been a month if use so far, I've made barely a dent in it so I expect as long as it remains creamy and soft, I'll get at least a years use out of it.
Would buy again! But will look at Rubenesque as well... ;-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hannahbby2 on 5/23/2010 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Hannahbby2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this product! Well, I love paintpots in general. Out of the five I have, this one and Rubenesque are probably my favorites. I love using this as a base for just about anything. It looks great under pinks, silvers, shimmery champagne/beige colors like all that glitters, etc.

I personally don't need to use a primer under paintpots, but if you are someone with especially oily lids, you may want to use one. Paint Pots are great for keeping eyeshadow vibrant and creasless throughout the day.

These things last forever! My oldest one, which happens to be Rubenesque, I have had for a little over a year. It's still just as creamy as the first day I got it!

A little tip: Store the paintpots upside-down so the label is facing up. It will allow the moisture to saturate the product, instead of settling to the bottom while the top layer dries out.

I definitely recommend everyone to try them out!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxaceswildxx on 5/21/2010 4:21:00 PM more reviews by xxaceswildxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This color is just ok. I don't hate it, but I don't love it. Prefer Painterly over this one. When i first applied it, it was uneven and hard to work with, the shimmer was too much for me (and I generally like shimmer, just not in my pp I suppose). Probably going to end up selling mine and sticking with painterly

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rmcclain84 on 5/19/2010 11:11:00 AM more reviews by rmcclain84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely beautiful! looks great with silver eye shadow, perfect highlighter for my brows :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AnnaSG85 on 5/18/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by AnnaSG85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i use this as a base for eyeshadow n highlight.

con -
using finger to apply may causes cakey n difficult to blend.
using a blending brush is ok but have to apply it over n over like 10 times to get the results i have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PolkaDotGlam on 5/14/2010 9:59:00 AM more reviews by PolkaDotGlam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have Bare Study for shimmery looks and Painterly for a matte effect - I love them both!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimmibety on 5/13/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by kimmibety

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Because my Urban Decay Primer potion couldn't prevent any creases, I decided to try something new. I heard about MAC's paint pots from a lot of makeup guru's and since I liked shimmery nude bases, I decided to get this one. I bought it for $16.50, which is a little bit cheaper than my UD primer potion. I found that this one was able to keep my shadows on longer and it really helped show their true colors. Like the person down there said, don't apply too much or it'll look really cakey other than that I'd recommend this to anybody.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MIJA_97 on 5/8/2010 12:08:00 AM more reviews by MIJA_97

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really dislike this pain pot..the color is just not flattering...I prefer rubenesque.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cew1114 on 4/27/2010 8:12:00 PM more reviews by cew1114

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this! I use it under Mac All That Glitters and it is gorgeous! I like how I can use it as a primer, or wear it alone. Its great for traveling.The only thing that I don't like is when it gets on my fingers and then I waste a little bit of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acquiesce on 4/26/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by acquiesce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bare Study is great as a light shimmery base under more vibrant eyeshadows. I often dab some in the corner of my eye to brighten up my eyes or on my browbone as a highlight too. Overall, I would definitely recommend this to anybody looking for a good base under shimmery eyeshadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyes products