MAC • Paint Pot in Bare Study • Eyes

rated 4.2(486 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MUAddictMel on 6/6/2010 3:40:00 PM more reviews by MUAddictMel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

The jury is still out for me on this one. I want to give it a really good review like that other people have, but for some reason, I can't get this to work well for me. I love MAC paint pots normally, but this one just looks kinda weird on my lid! It looks very shimmery on my lid and almost bitty. I think it looks cakey. Maybe I just don't suit shimmery cream eyeshadows... I dunno. I prefer the Beij-ing shade stick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 6/5/2010 8:06:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this is a lesser loved paint pot.(just look at its rating).. sometimes maligned and sometimes loved, it all depends who uses it and when and those are very subjetive issues.

for me, Bare Study is very useful for mu apps... I have used it myself for evenings and layered a soft golden ES or pale pastels, and it is gorgeous. It can be used alone for day as it is not too shimmery with simple nude colors and great red lips.

it is multifunctional as it can be used as a highliter also -- I have used this very lightly for beach shoots and the results have been superb.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Funtabulosity329 on 6/5/2010 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Funtabulosity329

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I HONESTLY CANNOT EVEN FATHOM HOW MUCH I LOVE BARE STUDY PAINT POT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
OMG I WILL NEVER WEAR ANOTHER LID COLOR AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Honestly, I have found my perfect lid color. Lemme share my story: For the longest time, I was looking for the perfect lid color- light so it could enhance my eyes and open them up and make me appear bright-eyed and wide-awake, but not too dark that it created a shadow that made me appear the exact opposite of what I wanted. For reference, All That Glitters was too dark. Yeah. I'm serious. Also, I need my lid color to not be warm-toned, like have any pink, red, orange, peach, or coral tones or undertones. Those tones/undertones make me look like I a) have been crying all day and/or b) am having an allergic reaction. Not pretty. But, my lid color can't be too cool toned either, like have any taupe or gray undertones. THOSE colors just show up gray on my eyes, making me look sallow and not bright-eyed and wide awake like I want. Legit yellow colors just look downright strange. So, I need neutrals with gold shimmer, metallic-ness, undertones, tones, and/or iridescence. So here comes along the marvelous miracle that is Bare Study Paint Pot. And Bare Study delivers! It's EXACTLY what I want (I'm not listing ALL that I want again- I listed it all above LOL)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So if you're like me and your wants are just like mine, spend your money on Bare Study and I PROMISE you won't regret it!!!!! Absolutely gorgeous. And if you're on the fence about Bare Study, with the mindset "Oh, it's a cream shadow, it'll crease on me," IT WON'T!!!!!! And trust me on this, I would know! I seriously have the oiliest lids EVER- even POWDER eyeshadows crease on me unless I have a good primer on like L'Oreal Decrease. So I thought this would crease on me without a primer. But no! No creases ALL day-even in 90 DEGREE weather- without a primer! Gosh! Bare Study just couldn't get any better! And you might also be on the fence because "I could so easily find a drugstore dupe," but honestly, you can't!!! I COMBED the drugstore beauty aisle, and nothing!!!!!! I bought Covergirl Eye Enhancers in Champagne thinking it would be a dupe for Bare Study, but it is in NO WAY a dupe-Covergirl is white with shimmer, totally despite what it looks like in the pan. *rolls eyes in sheer disgust* Bare Study is an absolutely GORGEOUS light champagne color with gold shimmer and undertones. Sounds dupable, but it's totally unique in its own Bare Study way :) Since my color description doesn't do it justice (heck, what am I talking about- NO color description does it justice!), I would definitely suggest checking out Bare Study at MAC. And then buying it :) Looks great on its own, or with Tempting in the crease to define the crease. Might possibly be the best makeup purchase I've ever made. I will repurchase this until I die, and I have seriously taken an oath to never wear another neutral lid color again. If they ever discontinue Bare Study I will personally strangle MAC and then shoot them all with an AK-47 :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kumintang on 6/1/2010 11:59:00 AM more reviews by kumintang

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I give this product such high rating because it transform all of my shadows collection into this beautiful hazey colors with different dimension to them. It's like having another full sets of eyeshadow collection ! So yes, to me this pot worth the high rating and definitely will rebuy

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Embeth3 on 5/24/2010 9:30:00 PM more reviews by Embeth3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bare Study is my first Paint Pot - hard to get in NZ, only 2 or 3 stores in the country stock MAC (which is very annoying, grump!) and it's $42 NZD. Ouch.
Works well though, the colour is nothing too out there, a nice neutral beige champagne pearl, though I find it difficult to apply evenly with a brush so have resorted to using a clean index finger to get smooth coverage. You do have to be careful not to overload product in the inner corners and blend out any smudges quickly but once it is set, it *stays*. I don't get any creasing at all.
I apply Bare Study from lid to brow and then just generally apply deep or colourful shadows to lid and crease. No need to an additional highlighter (unless you want to) as there is enough, though very subtle shimmer, even if applied very lightly.
I was told by the MAC SA to ensure the lid was replaced promptly and screwed on tightly to stop it from drying out. It's only been a month if use so far, I've made barely a dent in it so I expect as long as it remains creamy and soft, I'll get at least a years use out of it.
Would buy again! But will look at Rubenesque as well... ;-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hannahbby2 on 5/23/2010 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Hannahbby2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this product! Well, I love paintpots in general. Out of the five I have, this one and Rubenesque are probably my favorites. I love using this as a base for just about anything. It looks great under pinks, silvers, shimmery champagne/beige colors like all that glitters, etc.

I personally don't need to use a primer under paintpots, but if you are someone with especially oily lids, you may want to use one. Paint Pots are great for keeping eyeshadow vibrant and creasless throughout the day.

These things last forever! My oldest one, which happens to be Rubenesque, I have had for a little over a year. It's still just as creamy as the first day I got it!

A little tip: Store the paintpots upside-down so the label is facing up. It will allow the moisture to saturate the product, instead of settling to the bottom while the top layer dries out.

I definitely recommend everyone to try them out!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxaceswildxx on 5/21/2010 4:21:00 PM more reviews by xxaceswildxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This color is just ok. I don't hate it, but I don't love it. Prefer Painterly over this one. When i first applied it, it was uneven and hard to work with, the shimmer was too much for me (and I generally like shimmer, just not in my pp I suppose). Probably going to end up selling mine and sticking with painterly

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rmcclain84 on 5/19/2010 11:11:00 AM more reviews by rmcclain84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely beautiful! looks great with silver eye shadow, perfect highlighter for my brows :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AnnaSG85 on 5/18/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by AnnaSG85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i use this as a base for eyeshadow n highlight.

con -
using finger to apply may causes cakey n difficult to blend.
using a blending brush is ok but have to apply it over n over like 10 times to get the results i have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PolkaDotGlam on 5/14/2010 9:59:00 AM more reviews by PolkaDotGlam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have Bare Study for shimmery looks and Painterly for a matte effect - I love them both!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyes products