Everyday Minerals • Free Sample Makeup Kit [DISCONTINUED/REPLACED] • Samples

rated 4.6(448 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 moltobello80 on 3/8/2008 7:39:00 PM more reviews by moltobello80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the only companies that offers a true FREE sample kit. You only pay for shipping. My 1st order was actually a full order because I wanted instant gratification on a finishing powder but have since bought several sample kits just to try out other colors. The packaging is awesome and actually comes in small containers with lids unlike a few other companies that charge you several $'s per sample and put it in a ziploc bag. You get 3 foundations, 1 blush/face powder and a concealer. I love the concealer because its the perfect size for one that you don't use everyday, just when you need a little extra oompf. This product is amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayteea on 3/8/2008 1:19:00 PM more reviews by kayteea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

LOVE!!:) This is an amazing offer, three sample foundations in whichever color and formula you desire, a concealer AND a blush for only the price of shipping..this is a MMU junkie's dream come true! I ordered two kits (one in matte, one in semi-matte) for myself and one for my mom. They all took less than six days to recieve! I'm able to mix and match foundations without feeling bad, because it was basically free. I think I've found a match and prefer the semi-matte, so maybe I'll be making a real order sometime soon;) Oh, and I tap the minerals out into my old BE cap because the containers they use are too tiny to swirl and tap with. The blushes, I think, will last forever because it doesn't take much at all to get a nice wash of color. Thanks EDM for making me fall in love with something affordable!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adri721 on 3/7/2008 5:40:00 PM more reviews by adri721

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The free sample kit is one of the best deals that any makeup company offers. You get 5 samples of approximately 1 oz each: 3 foundations, 1 blush/face color, and 1 concealer. The foundations lasted for around 15 uses and the concealer and blush will probably last me months. The shipping time was super fast--I received my package in 4 days. This is definitely worth $3.97 for shipping and I highly recommend trying the sample sizes before ordering a full size product as the colors tend to not be exactly the same as shown on the site.

The only complaint I have is that I wish they offered samples of the finishing powders!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 birdyb on 3/5/2008 3:10:00 PM more reviews by birdyb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

All I can say is WOW. This came fast- ordered friday, arrived wednesday. I got the pale pink blush which is a fabulous highlighter, the fair/light intensive concealer, also nice, and three light/neutral foundations that I'll probably mix. And put in a bigger container. The lids weren't screwed all the way on- I tightened them and was thankful for the little sticker covering the holes. These are generous amounts of makeup for a give-away price. I'll definitely try this again if I need other colors, and will probably purchase more

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LipGlossLuv on 3/2/2008 8:48:00 AM more reviews by LipGlossLuv

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not going to write a review on how EMs foundations/blushes/concealers worked for me (I love them all but this review is for the Sample kit, not the actual products). If you want to know about the products then look for reviews on the products which you're thinking about trying.
These samples are great! You can choose 3 foundations, 1 concealer and 1 blush for free - all you have to pay is shipping charges!
You recieve quite a lot of product in these sample jars - I'm not sure on the exact quantity. It's similar in size to BarryM dazzle dusts. It says on the website that these samples are good for 3-6 applications but, depending on how much you use, they can last waaaay longer than that.
I'm not in love with the packaging for these though, the lids can sometimes be a little stubborn. However, EMs full-sized jars are much easier to open/close (but the product spills quite a bit)

I would totally recommend trying this sample kit. It only costs about $3.95 (or something) for US shipping and $5 for international shipping, so what've you got to lose? Most companies charge a lot more for sample kits. All of EMs products come in a HUGE range of colours, so it should be practically impossible not to find a colour match (you can mix shades, too)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlowFarAway on 2/24/2008 4:40:00 AM more reviews by BlowFarAway

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

My only previous experience with anything approaching mineral makeup before trying EDM was Physician's Formula, which I found orange and too dark, in even the lightest of colours (translucent).


I was hesitant about buying from an online boutique, but I am so glad I took the plunge. The products have turned my oily, acne prone teenage skin into a manageable beast. I have gone from a dozen or more blemishes to just a couple, and none of those cystic pimples that tarnish the best of makeup applications.


For just $4.25 (the cost of shipping to my home in BC, Canada) I received 3 foundations (Fair, Fair Medium, and Multi Tasking all cool shades and all in the matte formula), a blush (Best Friends), and a concealer (Intensive Fair).


Though none of the foundations have been that perfect match we're all looking for, a mix of the fair and fair medium and even the multi tasking solo are a considerable step up from my usual liquid foundation (Lancome's Color ID in I-20).
I found the blush too dark, and swapped it on this site with another lovely user. The concealer is so fantastic, I can't rave enough about it.


I found the coverage fairly good, next time I will try the Intensive formula, and I have heard the pressed powder provides an even heavier coverage.


The packaging in the box was nice, but the jars could use some work. Due to the customs conflict between Canada/USA, it took a long 6 weeks to recieve my products (in no way EDM's fault) and customer service was wonderful about answering my concerned email quickly and warmly.


I will most definitely continue to purchase from this wonderful company, and am constantly recruiting friends and family.


Sorry for the length, but I wanted to be thorough!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nekura on 2/23/2008 3:29:00 PM more reviews by Nekura

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I've held back on trying EM for a long time. I finally bothered ordering a sample kit because I'm not too pleased with other brands out there due to problems with pricing, shade availability, backorder issues (Fyrinnae and their 45!? day wait).


I'm quite please with Everyday Minerals customer service. I know they're not a major corp... but many smaller companies are still not too consistent with communication either. I had a problem with my sample order, their system seemed to have added 2 foundation shades I did not choose so I emailed them that hoping it would be corrected before shipment. I recieved everything as I originally ordered in less than 5 days.


Though it is a "sample" kit. I'm surprised everything is near packed in the standard sample jars most people are familiar with. These will by far last way more than 2-3 applications unless I apply it really thick and heavy. The blush and concealer samples alone will last a month or more. I didn't get an exact match for their foundation as of yet but I'm willing to get a 2nd sample kit (and try out a new concealer + blush as a plus) before going full size. I need their lightest shades, so there isn't really that many trial and errors for me to go through. For $3.97 and 5 samples that will last a month plus. I can't complain. I'm willing to give this shade match another go to be a regular customer.


Edit 3/22/08: I finally ordered a 2nd sample kit from a month trying out the first kit, concluding the formula (intensive) and shades weren't to my complete liking. Recieved the 2nd kit in about 5 days. Found a match with my 2nd try and a finish I like more than intensive (original glow or semi matte). So I'm definitely going full size now! Also the first kit's samples were so generous I'm still not even half way done with my concealer or blush samples from February! I would have to say, I think it would be nice if we could mix match different kinds of products in the kit since EM doesn't have a refund policy if we dont like the shades so I'd be happier if I could like...select 5 different blush samples or concealer samples before buying a full size product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kkat989 on 2/20/2008 12:27:00 AM more reviews by kkat989

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

when i saw a review for everyday minerals i just had to respond. i received my packed in 5 days (CA) and i LOOOVE ALL the products. Also, this sample kit says that its supposed to work for about 3-6 applications but it last me THREE MONTHS. i highly recommend all products from this brand, its cheap, reliable and it'll last you for a VERY long time =D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boogie4life on 2/19/2008 2:48:00 AM more reviews by boogie4life

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I love the free sample kit, but I just wish that you could try more products. I would like to see the finishing powders available. And I would like it if it were 5 of any product i/o limited amounts in certain categories. I ordered a Mini Personal Custom Kit to try out all the finishing powders because I figured I couldn't go to wrong with any of them and would use them all up. But I can't say the same for blushes. So far I haven't liked any of the blushes except for light pink. I want to try several of them, so now I'm going to have to order a whole bunch of sample kits and accummulate all these excess foundations and concealers. So many so that I might not even have to buy larger ones. It's good that they allow so many foundation samples (3), but if you get lucky and find your perfect shade right away then it would be nice if you were able to try out other products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jfjinca on 2/18/2008 12:35:00 AM more reviews by jfjinca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered the foundations in Matte: Cool-Medium, Cool-Medium Summer, and Beige-Light Medium. I also ordered the face color in Natural and the Mint color corrector.

The kit arrived here (CA) in 3 days. I was pleasantly surprised at how it was packaged. The little jars (filled to the brim) come wrapped together in paper, which is a nice touch.

I've read that the minerals are messy. They don't have to be! I liked that even the sample jars have a sifter. Instead of pouring the minerals into the cap, turn the jar upside down with the cap on, and gently tap the bottom. Turn the jar right side up and open. There will be product in the cap. If you need more, just repeat the process. Easy!

Foundation review: I used the Mint Color Corrector first but, it turns out, not enough. I added more after my first app and it was better.

To decrease your pores: make the face you make when you put your eyeliner on, then buff the foundation in, from the chin upwards. It opens up the pores so the minerals can be evenly deposited. It works great!

I chose Beige-Light Medium because I liked the look of it. It was perfect for my winter skin tone and my pores were barely visible. I actually had to search for them! I probably didn't add as much foundation as I could/should have, but it lasted a long time.

If I decide to buy this color, I'll probably try it in the Semi-Matte. While I like the Matte, it seems a little too flat for my skin tone.

EDIT: I think I've got my EDM makeup routine down. I put on primer (Clinique City Block), mint concealer, Beige-Light Medium foundation. I've ordered this in the Semi-Matte, to see the difference.

The mint concealer still let a little of my redness come through but I like it, instead of blush.

I'm VERY pleased! : )

EDIT #2: Because of my redness (the mint didn't totally conceal it), I didn't realize how fair I am in winter. The Olives, which reduce the redness, were recommended by a fellow EM user. I am currently using an Olive Fair/Olive Light combo...and I don't need a concealer now. This hides my redness beautifully.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Everyday Minerals products

More Samples products