Olay • Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.0(491 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jols on 9/23/2009 11:51:00 PM more reviews by jols

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very happy with the product. The price is beyond reasonable and it works! It's no miracle face wash bc there is no such thing but I have oily/combo skin and it doesn't strip or over dry. Leaves my face feeling really clean. I use this in combo with Aveeno Positively radiant and the two products together are awesome! I do not give it a 5 bc nothing is perfect :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 p0pp00 on 9/11/2009 7:04:00 PM more reviews by p0pp00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This is a great product. It does an excellent job of cleansing my skin thoroughly without stripping it of it's natural moisture. I have sensitive skin so a gentle product is really important to me and this one delivers.

I especially love how it leaves a smooth moisturized finish on my skin. I would absolutely continue to buy and recommend to others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msgenie516 on 9/7/2009 8:27:00 PM more reviews by msgenie516

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my HG face wash for many years (too many for me to even try and remember). It cleans very well and removes most makeup with the exception of very stubborn waterproof mascara. I keep a jar of makeup remover pads handy, just in case. Actually, the only product that I have had any problem with is the Shiseido mascara base. Anything else has come off easily.


It does not irritate my skin or eyes. I strayed only once (never again) and purchased the Neutrogena liquid cleanser, which burned my eyes badly.


I love the pump bottle (very, very convenient) but wouldn't take it along in my suitcase. In that case, I would look for something in a tube to avoid a mess.


I really can't think of anything bad to say about this product and would recommend it to anyone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CarmenJones on 9/5/2009 12:45:00 AM more reviews by CarmenJones

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser is just too harsh for my skin. I must have the most sensitive skin in the world, even sensitive products & baby products can irritate me or dry me out. This product got good ratings from Paula & on here, so I tried it. It is fragrance-free, color free, and made with aloe & other natural ingredients. I used this "gentle" product for quite a while, before I realized, that it was causing so much trouble.


Seems like it would be gentle, but it dried my forehead out like nobody's business and made pimples all over it with skin rough as a cheese grater. Whenever I would moisturize my face with a good moisturizer at night & use this to cleanse in the morning, it would strip my skin of all moisture and oil. It made the rest of my face dry, but not as dry as my forehead. It also made big dry spots on the inner corners of both of my eyes that would not come off, no matter how much eye salve or vaseline I used. I've found out that my skin is so sensitive that if it's not properly moisturized or if a product dries it out, I develop lots and lots of pimples & roughness. My skin would be dry, but just as oily as usual, if not more so.


But, I noticed when I used this cleanser with Olay's own Moisture Therapy Cream (lots of cream, of course) my skin stayed pretty smooth & moisturized. Now, I can't find the Moisture Therapy Cream in stores. Any other cream I've tried with it, whether by Olay or not, does not moisturize at all, when this cleanser dries me out.


I think this cleanser would be good for other people with oily skin or combination that is not as sensitive as mine. I'm using Dove's Sensitive Skin Beauty Bar now & it moisturizes some and doesn't seem to dry me out as much. I still have to use a good thick moisturizer with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kikster on 9/2/2009 2:18:00 AM more reviews by Kikster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This is a no-frills cleanser that works well, but isn't a wow for me. The texture is a little too gloopy for me, and I'm always worried that it doesn't actually all wash off. However, I tried using a toner for the first time today and there didn't seem to be any actual residue left behind. I suspect I'm just so used to the "clean" feeling left from all of the harsher cleansers I've used that I have a deluded idea of what clean should feel like. I haven't broken out any more than usual using this; I might even venture to say that my skin is a little calmer. The cleanser doesn't leave a tight feeling to my skin like Cetaphil did, and it doesn't leave a greasy feeling like Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser, but it also didn't cure my acne or make me less oily, so it's not a miracle product either. I would recommend it to people looking for a decent cleanser at a good price ($4 at Target), and I have repurchased it myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sakecat22 on 8/24/2009 8:27:00 PM more reviews by sakecat22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This might have too much glycerine for my skin. Never feels like it fully rinses off. Gets off all the makeup OK. Find the occasional whitehead (not bad), but this was the only change to my skincare regimen. I'm guessing this cleanser caused it I suspect it will work much better for those with drier skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shannap on 8/13/2009 4:47:00 PM more reviews by Shannap

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Used this for a year and a half. It didnt make me break out but it wasn't the best ive tried. Made my face dry if I used too much but it got all my makeup off, so it was good that way. I would recommend it in the end. I just have sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DBOFELL on 7/22/2009 12:54:00 AM more reviews by DBOFELL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

LOVE this cleansers, my grandma used this and her skin is great plus its great for all skin types.............

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addercat on 7/18/2009 5:05:00 PM more reviews by addercat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my daily cleanser. I've been using this with my newly purchased Clarisonic for about a month now and I've had no purging period at all so far. No new breakouts, and it gets my skin super clean. It was kind of hard for me to find, strangely, but now that I have I think this is my new HG.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soliheh on 6/22/2009 10:06:00 PM more reviews by soliheh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first product I used as a teenager that actually didn't irritate my skin. I recently came back to using it, because my skin has been breaking out, and no other products were helping me out. It doesn't control the oil, but it doesn't make it produce more rapidly, either. I've tried all sorts of products over the years, and this is one of the few that lives up to the hype.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Cleansers products