Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof

3.7

507 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, cera microcristallina/microcrystalline wax, cera alba/beeswax, c8-9 isoparaffin, disteardimonium hectorite, cera carnauba/carnauba wax, aqua/water, propylene carbonate, allyl stearate/va copolymer, lecithin, silica, sodium polymethacrylate, hydrogenated jojoba oil, phenoxyethonal, peg/ppg-17/18 dimethicone, ethylenediamine/stearyl dimer dilinoleate copolymer, ethylparaben, polyvinyl laurate, polyquaternium-10, souluble collagen, pathenol, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, methylparaben, butylparaben, oryza sativa starch/rice starch. [ /- may contain: ci 77499, ci 77492, ci 77491/iron oxides. ci 77007/ultramarines, ci77891/titanium dioxide, ci 77288/chromium oxide greens, ci77289/chromium hydroxide green, ci 77742/ maganese violet, ci 77510/ferric ferrocyanide, mica] F.I.L. d34889/1 U.S. patents: 5,462, 798; 6,099,183; 6,222,735; 6,296,411; 6,305,862; 6,309,123; 6,325,562; 6,331,086; 6,345,923


on 2/8/2011 6:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have very straight, almost downward pointing lashes and must use a curler for any hope of pretty lashes. Generally speaking a waterproof will hold curl better than standard version but even so most mascara will leave my lashes droopy after a few hours. The first time that I curled (Shiseido) and then applied this mascara I literally gasped "WOW" when I stepped back from the mirror to see the results. With the decent volume and unbelievable curl my lashes really did look like falsies compared to my natural lashes!

I have been using a tube of Glam Black daily for the past 6 weeks and it is still very fresh and not yet dried out or clumpy. Naturally my lashes are light brown and for full makeup days Glam Black is gorgeous (a very rich, inky, glossy and dramatic black), but I prefer Glam Brown for more natural looks with daytime makeup (still very rich and deep, glossy, a very dark brown). This mascara draws so much attention to my eyes that I kid you not I can get away with less makeup. I have had trouble keeping mascara off of my eyelid lately (all brands) so I also purchased a mascara shield and am thrilled with the results. I can squish the brush right into the base of my lashes to get tons of mascara down at the roots and it's instant eyeliner, no joke, just amazing! It does take a little longer to dry and your lashes won't feel soft and fluttery, but I am just fine with those trade offs.

There has been minimal flaking and almost no smudging, the tiny smudges that do happen are under my lower lashes (though I do not use this on my lowers) and they wipe away easily with my finger or a tissue. It doesn't other me. Removal of any good waterproof can be a pain in the butt! You will NEED a good makeup remover, soap or cleanser is not going to cut it! I have found jojoba (or even olive) oil to work wonderfully, I just apply a dime sized pool to my finger tips and massage onto my lashes gently for a minute or so then wipe with tissue and cleanse as I normally would, I have never lost lashes with this method. These oils are very healthy for your skin anyways, especially the sensitive eye area and my lashes are very healthy.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 2/8/2011 12:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Uh.. i heard lots raves about this product so I got one. I have short lashes, so i need lots lengthening.. this doesn't really help. Oh, and i bought waterproof because i need a mascara that holds my curls, this doesn't hold my curls and have to build up A LOT for my short lashes...(which makes it really hard to get it off) TT__TT Oh, and mine clumps..


on 2/7/2011 9:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the many mascara's I've been trialling in my quest to find a decent one that doesn't give me panda eyes.

Pros: Much nicer brush than CG last blash volume. Not as clumpy a formula as CG.

Cons: Takes a lot of swipes to build up volume. Because it's waterproof it can be hard to get off, and after wearing it for about a week I felt is was too harsh on my lashes. Worn on the lower lashes this STILL smudged on me after 4 hrs at work.
Packaging a bit garish.

Still looking....!


on 2/7/2011 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really don't care for this mascara. I don't like the brush, it's clumpy and almost impossible to remove. I'm giving it 3 stars because overall it is a decent mascara and I would use it occasionally if I ran out of my favorites or something, but I wont be repurchasing it. It's worth a try if you're thinking about getting it, some people love it. This one just wasn't for me personally.


on 2/4/2011 11:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am returning this. It's probably as good as most mascaras, but I think most mascaras don't work.

It's super wet, and thin. Gets hard and clumpy as it dries. I scrape almost all of it off on a tissue,so it's 'drier' and manage to build some layers that way, but I even like voluminous better than this. It's also worse than my dior extase,which I gave a bad review.

My friends, and strangers, comment on my lashes- it's because I know better than to use mascaras like this one! Back to full and soft until I find an expensive volumizing mascara I like better.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

the non-waterproof version of this is my HG mascara. this waterproof (and keep in mind i am remembering back to the summer when i always buy waterproof mascaras) version is /almost/ as good. it doesn't make your lashes quite as big (but it doesn't claim to, either) but it is blacker. this mascara is WATERPROOF. i used it everyday last summer and went swimming in it and spent the whole day splashing about at the beach and it didn't budge. i plan on picking up another tube for my trip to mexico and is lasts in the water and stays put all day. i'm take off one lippie simply because the non-waterproof version is just a little better.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i like that it gives me lots of volume without clumping. it doesn't flake which is good because i hate flaky mascara. the only problem i have is the waterproof formula is hard to get off. i have to use eye makeup remover and makeup wipes to get it off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2011 10:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is really great for big, in your face lashes. It holds a curls, and the Glam Black is nice and rich and dark. The brush is not one of those silicone spiky ones, but more a real brush. However I still get pretty good definition without any clumps. Pretty good volume and length, and I haven't noticed any flaking. Pretty easy to to remove when I want to. It's not the greatest mascara I've ever used, but I do like it very much. Probably would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2011 11:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i loved the formula - thickness, lengthening, volumizing EXCEPT the fact that it's definitely NOT waterproof. sad that i have to let this one go :(


on 1/19/2011 1:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Maybelline's full and soft has been my HG for years, but i wanted to try something new and gave this one a shot. I liked it the 1st day and thats it. I look for something that'll give me good thickness w/o being drying (therefor flaking off) or too clumpy and i just didn't feel this did the job for me. I'm back using my HG, but still looking for something even better.




Back to Top