Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof

3.7

499 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, cera microcristallina/microcrystalline wax, cera alba/beeswax, c8-9 isoparaffin, disteardimonium hectorite, cera carnauba/carnauba wax, aqua/water, propylene carbonate, allyl stearate/va copolymer, lecithin, silica, sodium polymethacrylate, hydrogenated jojoba oil, phenoxyethonal, peg/ppg-17/18 dimethicone, ethylenediamine/stearyl dimer dilinoleate copolymer, ethylparaben, polyvinyl laurate, polyquaternium-10, souluble collagen, pathenol, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, methylparaben, butylparaben, oryza sativa starch/rice starch. [ /- may contain: ci 77499, ci 77492, ci 77491/iron oxides. ci 77007/ultramarines, ci77891/titanium dioxide, ci 77288/chromium oxide greens, ci77289/chromium hydroxide green, ci 77742/ maganese violet, ci 77510/ferric ferrocyanide, mica] F.I.L. d34889/1 U.S. patents: 5,462, 798; 6,099,183; 6,222,735; 6,296,411; 6,305,862; 6,309,123; 6,325,562; 6,331,086; 6,345,923


on 1/19/2011 11:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i loved the formula - thickness, lengthening, volumizing EXCEPT the fact that it's definitely NOT waterproof. sad that i have to let this one go :(



on 1/19/2011 1:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Maybelline's full and soft has been my HG for years, but i wanted to try something new and gave this one a shot. I liked it the 1st day and thats it. I look for something that'll give me good thickness w/o being drying (therefor flaking off) or too clumpy and i just didn't feel this did the job for me. I'm back using my HG, but still looking for something even better.


on 1/16/2011 9:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is, right now, my every day mascara. I like it because it gives me good volume and length.


However...it does get clumpy if you're not careful, and the brush is a bit large for neat/clean application. Because I have oily skin and have always struggled to find a mascara that doesn't smudge, I only apply it to the top lashes. The reason I won't be buying it again is because, even though it is a waterproof formulation, and even though I prime my eyes with powder before applying, it ends up smudging on the tops of my eyelids.


Too bad, because it does give nice, big, black lashes. Still searching for a great mascara, and won't repurchase this.

------

Follow up: I tried Covergirl Professional Super Thick Lash next and absolutely love it. Two coats look just as good as The Colossal and it doesn't smudge.


on 1/15/2011 2:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried the non-waterproof but it didn't hold my curl so I exchanged it for a waterproof one and it really does the job maintaining the curl. But be aware that this stuff dries quite hard and if you really go deep in to the roots of the lashes when applying, when they are dried, you can feel the hard roots when you blink. so I don't necessarily go that deep. But nontheless, I really love this mascara. it really helps with the lenght and the curl. It doesnt smudge at all but it's really hard to remove


on 1/9/2011 11:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my absolute favorite mascara ever!!! I had already been won over by the regular formula but now that I've tried this I doubt I'll ever use another mascara ever again. I have mostly straight lashes which a not particularly long or full. In the past I've had to use a waterproof primer to help any mascara hold a curl but this one doesnt need any of that. It goes on smoothly, absolutely clump-free and holds the most perfect curl. It can last all day and night if you want it to without smudging, flaking or weighing your lashes down. The great thing about this mascara is that it is beautifully buildable where you can use one coat for a more natural, everyday look and a couple more for a striking evening look. I purchased mine in 'glam black' and the colour is a gorgeous rich black. What also separates this mascara from the original non-waterproof formula is that they've gotten rid of that weird "rose" fragrance. Trust me, buy this and you will never look at another mascara again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2011 4:26:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought this product worked better when it was newer.

The pros are it does help the length and darkness of your eyelashes

But the cons are it gets clumpy, but I guess every mascara does that.


on 1/5/2011 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I used to loooove this mascara. I still have tubes of unopened ones that I bought on sale because I loved it so much. I started to not like it as much though recently. It gives good volume and length but the brush kind of hurts your lashes because it is so stiff and prickly. I also never noticed this until my mom and friend told me, but when I wear it my eyes get really irritated and itchy, as did theirs. Maybe it has something to do with the fragrance in the mascara? I will still use if I run out of my other mascaras.


on 1/4/2011 5:25:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

At first, I was impressed with the results. Much less spidery and much softer lashes than with Volum Express Waterproof, same amount of volume and definition. Maybe a little less hold, but I could have lived with that.

Although the huge downside was that it smudged under my eyes. Must be the oily skin.

Since I loved the volumising part, and hate to throw make-up away, I now use it with Define-A-Lash Volume Waterproof on top. It lasts aaaaages this way, without smudges and flakes. Sure, it's a lil bit spidery, but not very obviously so.

I'd recommend it to those with dry skin, light coloured and naturally not very noticeable lashes, and / or who like to experiment with mascara.

Edited for spelling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2010 4:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this mascara because it doesn't clump and gives really nice length and volume to your lashes. The cons are that it does smudge on the bottom of your eyes and does not hold a curl well. Really good for a dramatic look though.


on 12/22/2010 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is my absolute favourite mascara. I love very thick and heavy mascara and this definitely does the job. I love that it can be layered and layered and just looks more and more amazing.

The only negative point is that I find it quite difficult to remove, which is good when it comes to it lasting during the day, but a bit of a pain when it comes to taking your makeup off at night.

But I'd definitely recommend this mascara; I buy it religiously.


Back to Top