Maybelline Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof

3.7

505 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, cera microcristallina/microcrystalline wax, cera alba/beeswax, c8-9 isoparaffin, disteardimonium hectorite, cera carnauba/carnauba wax, aqua/water, propylene carbonate, allyl stearate/va copolymer, lecithin, silica, sodium polymethacrylate, hydrogenated jojoba oil, phenoxyethonal, peg/ppg-17/18 dimethicone, ethylenediamine/stearyl dimer dilinoleate copolymer, ethylparaben, polyvinyl laurate, polyquaternium-10, souluble collagen, pathenol, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, methylparaben, butylparaben, oryza sativa starch/rice starch. [ /- may contain: ci 77499, ci 77492, ci 77491/iron oxides. ci 77007/ultramarines, ci77891/titanium dioxide, ci 77288/chromium oxide greens, ci77289/chromium hydroxide green, ci 77742/ maganese violet, ci 77510/ferric ferrocyanide, mica] F.I.L. d34889/1 U.S. patents: 5,462, 798; 6,099,183; 6,222,735; 6,296,411; 6,305,862; 6,309,123; 6,325,562; 6,331,086; 6,345,923


on 2/7/2011 9:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the many mascara's I've been trialling in my quest to find a decent one that doesn't give me panda eyes.

Pros: Much nicer brush than CG last blash volume. Not as clumpy a formula as CG.

Cons: Takes a lot of swipes to build up volume. Because it's waterproof it can be hard to get off, and after wearing it for about a week I felt is was too harsh on my lashes. Worn on the lower lashes this STILL smudged on me after 4 hrs at work.
Packaging a bit garish.

Still looking....!



on 2/7/2011 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really don't care for this mascara. I don't like the brush, it's clumpy and almost impossible to remove. I'm giving it 3 stars because overall it is a decent mascara and I would use it occasionally if I ran out of my favorites or something, but I wont be repurchasing it. It's worth a try if you're thinking about getting it, some people love it. This one just wasn't for me personally.


on 2/4/2011 11:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am returning this. It's probably as good as most mascaras, but I think most mascaras don't work.

It's super wet, and thin. Gets hard and clumpy as it dries. I scrape almost all of it off on a tissue,so it's 'drier' and manage to build some layers that way, but I even like voluminous better than this. It's also worse than my dior extase,which I gave a bad review.

My friends, and strangers, comment on my lashes- it's because I know better than to use mascaras like this one! Back to full and soft until I find an expensive volumizing mascara I like better.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

the non-waterproof version of this is my HG mascara. this waterproof (and keep in mind i am remembering back to the summer when i always buy waterproof mascaras) version is /almost/ as good. it doesn't make your lashes quite as big (but it doesn't claim to, either) but it is blacker. this mascara is WATERPROOF. i used it everyday last summer and went swimming in it and spent the whole day splashing about at the beach and it didn't budge. i plan on picking up another tube for my trip to mexico and is lasts in the water and stays put all day. i'm take off one lippie simply because the non-waterproof version is just a little better.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i like that it gives me lots of volume without clumping. it doesn't flake which is good because i hate flaky mascara. the only problem i have is the waterproof formula is hard to get off. i have to use eye makeup remover and makeup wipes to get it off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2011 10:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is really great for big, in your face lashes. It holds a curls, and the Glam Black is nice and rich and dark. The brush is not one of those silicone spiky ones, but more a real brush. However I still get pretty good definition without any clumps. Pretty good volume and length, and I haven't noticed any flaking. Pretty easy to to remove when I want to. It's not the greatest mascara I've ever used, but I do like it very much. Probably would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2011 11:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i loved the formula - thickness, lengthening, volumizing EXCEPT the fact that it's definitely NOT waterproof. sad that i have to let this one go :(


on 1/19/2011 1:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Maybelline's full and soft has been my HG for years, but i wanted to try something new and gave this one a shot. I liked it the 1st day and thats it. I look for something that'll give me good thickness w/o being drying (therefor flaking off) or too clumpy and i just didn't feel this did the job for me. I'm back using my HG, but still looking for something even better.


on 1/16/2011 9:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is, right now, my every day mascara. I like it because it gives me good volume and length.


However...it does get clumpy if you're not careful, and the brush is a bit large for neat/clean application. Because I have oily skin and have always struggled to find a mascara that doesn't smudge, I only apply it to the top lashes. The reason I won't be buying it again is because, even though it is a waterproof formulation, and even though I prime my eyes with powder before applying, it ends up smudging on the tops of my eyelids.


Too bad, because it does give nice, big, black lashes. Still searching for a great mascara, and won't repurchase this.

------

Follow up: I tried Covergirl Professional Super Thick Lash next and absolutely love it. Two coats look just as good as The Colossal and it doesn't smudge.


on 1/15/2011 2:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried the non-waterproof but it didn't hold my curl so I exchanged it for a waterproof one and it really does the job maintaining the curl. But be aware that this stuff dries quite hard and if you really go deep in to the roots of the lashes when applying, when they are dried, you can feel the hard roots when you blink. so I don't necessarily go that deep. But nontheless, I really love this mascara. it really helps with the lenght and the curl. It doesnt smudge at all but it's really hard to remove


Back to Top