Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(485 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hana95a20 on 12/9/2010 2:55:00 PM more reviews by hana95a20

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is my HG mascara!! i just love it! it makes my lashes looks long, lasted more than 12 hours ( coz one day i forgot to take my makeup off tht i had on since probs 5pm and went to sleep then wake up at 7 and the mascara is still there) it holds curls amazingly despite my stubborn straight lashes tht i hav to put extra work in curling it. because i hav very sensitive eyes, i scrub them a lot and tht may cause some smudging underneath, but i find that its very hard to take off..i literally have to put a lot of pressure into it. overal, its a great mascara

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 34lenorexena on 12/5/2010 11:41:00 PM more reviews by 34lenorexena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm on the fence about this one... I put it on my left eye and put my favourite lash bast volume (orange tube) on my right. I found it to be really really clumpy in comparison to LB and it transferred to my brow bone... It seems to be a very runny and very wet formulation - other reviewers have mentioned that the colossal improves with age so I will wait and see...However when I asked my fiance which of the 2 eyes looked better - he picked the colossal eye because he said there were "less gaps" (men are funny!)...I must admit the LB eyelashes look very long and separated whereas the colossal look more clumpy as well as long... I might use it for a couple more weeks and update this review then...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PinkBarbiexxx on 12/5/2010 12:45:00 PM more reviews by PinkBarbiexxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I came across this product when i still had my student job in a store and I served a girl there with the greatest lashes ever. She directed me to this product. It definitely lived up to my high expectations. It really does add volume to your lashes and it stays on forever.Being a drugstore product, the packaging looks rather cheap, but the content is what counts, so i wasn't but off by its bright yellow design. It is a bit hard to use in the corner of the eyes, but i just use another mascara there.However, as it is getting empty it starts to clump. I have been using this for over a year now and it is definitely one of my favourite mascaras and I will definitly buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peridottie on 11/26/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by peridottie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have straight Asian lashes. This holds my curl pretty well. It also does a good job at voluminizing and lengthening. I also love this type of mascara wands, although this one is a little big for my small eyes.

My only con is that this product smudges on me. No joke - this smudges after 1 hr of application. And it's not a mild smudge. I have dark raccoon eyes at the end of a 8-hr work day. The formula itself is very fluid, which means that this doesn't clump but it could be a reason why it smudges.

Overall, I will not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 najuheeya on 11/24/2010 11:30:00 PM more reviews by najuheeya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I;ve been using this mascara for a week now everyday- I like it. I like it even more than Lash blast fusion (wp). I love how it holds up the lash curls-all day! i think it has better holding power than covergirl lash blast. The formula has more liquid in it- often it will create some clumps-which means that it doesn;t separate each lash well. However, I love how it lengthens and holds up the lashes. Some says negative things about its scent, which I don;t find it troublesome. I got mine on sale for 50% at pharma plus drugmart (when they had that 50% off on all mascara!) so I only paid $4 or less-
another great thing about this mascara- it is good for sensitive eyes- usually wearing mascara tires my eyes after few hours but with this, such never occurs. It can also be removed with less effort!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lanilim16 on 11/24/2010 9:36:00 PM more reviews by lanilim16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I decided to try this mascara since it has so many good reviews. I just used it today and i should say this holds my curls for the longest time ever.. so if you are looking for a clump free, voluminous mascara that holds curls you should really try this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pchotai on 11/22/2010 4:47:00 AM more reviews by pchotai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Amazing amazing amazing! I've been using this mascara for 3 days now, and i love the length and volume it gives me. Doesnt clump, has a really good applicator, i dont need to use a mascara comb before applying this, which was a problem for me with every single mascara i've used to date. So yeah, thats definitely a repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kim750 on 11/20/2010 2:02:00 AM more reviews by kim750

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is amazing. I love waterproof mascara because my eyes tear alot...this stuff will not come off! It does not flake either. I bought it in glam black and have bought it several times. It is the only mascara I use. The color stays dark just like you just put it on and it separates well. Some have said it was clumpy but I do not find it to be clumpy. I think it is great. Builds volume and length. I totally recommend it. Just make sure you have a good eye makeup remover because this stuff isn't going to budge until you take it off with makeup remover!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snadypooh on 11/14/2010 7:56:00 PM more reviews by snadypooh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this based off of MUA reviews. I bought the waterproof mascara because of my stick straight Asian eyelashes. I don't have problems with flaking or smudging. I have a very novice hand with mascara applications and I can actually layer on this mascara without any problems. It does have a weird smell but I don't notice it once it's dry. It keeps a nice curl even with my stubborn lashes. It gives good volume and a bit of length for an everyday look. The brush is a bit big but I find it easier to use than the CG Lashblast brush because the bristles are longer. It doesn't irritate my eyes but it does take some work getting it off even with make-up remover.

I used to use the waterproof CG Lashblast but since have strayed away from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susanner on 11/8/2010 9:37:00 AM more reviews by Susanner

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have very long (thanks to Lilash) and straight lashes. Any mascara I use must hold the curl I work so hard to achieve so I only wear waterproof mascaras. This is one of the very best out there for me. I always have two in back up. It builds up really nicely and yes, once in a while I have to run a comb through the lashes but the overall effect is so worth it. Two coats and I'm done. It doesn't usually smudge on me and I have fairly oily lids. The thing I love most is that it comes off easily (for WP formula) with any of the two phase eye makeup removers. I don't think I'll ever find a holy grail mascara but this is a close as it gets overall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products