Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(494 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* underage on 1/5/2011 3:59:00 PM more reviews by underage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used to loooove this mascara. I still have tubes of unopened ones that I bought on sale because I loved it so much. I started to not like it as much though recently. It gives good volume and length but the brush kind of hurts your lashes because it is so stiff and prickly. I also never noticed this until my mom and friend told me, but when I wear it my eyes get really irritated and itchy, as did theirs. Maybe it has something to do with the fragrance in the mascara? I will still use if I run out of my other mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SinominGirl on 1/4/2011 5:25:00 PM more reviews by SinominGirl

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

At first, I was impressed with the results. Much less spidery and much softer lashes than with Volum Express Waterproof, same amount of volume and definition. Maybe a little less hold, but I could have lived with that.

Although the huge downside was that it smudged under my eyes. Must be the oily skin.

Since I loved the volumising part, and hate to throw make-up away, I now use it with Define-A-Lash Volume Waterproof on top. It lasts aaaaages this way, without smudges and flakes. Sure, it's a lil bit spidery, but not very obviously so.

I'd recommend it to those with dry skin, light coloured and naturally not very noticeable lashes, and / or who like to experiment with mascara.

Edited for spelling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brenduhhh on 12/29/2010 4:11:00 AM more reviews by brenduhhh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this mascara because it doesn't clump and gives really nice length and volume to your lashes. The cons are that it does smudge on the bottom of your eyes and does not hold a curl well. Really good for a dramatic look though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leighmarie on 12/22/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by leighmarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my absolute favourite mascara. I love very thick and heavy mascara and this definitely does the job. I love that it can be layered and layered and just looks more and more amazing.

The only negative point is that I find it quite difficult to remove, which is good when it comes to it lasting during the day, but a bit of a pain when it comes to taking your makeup off at night.

But I'd definitely recommend this mascara; I buy it religiously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mamaoitai on 12/21/2010 1:33:00 PM more reviews by mamaoitai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this mascara. It is the only mascara I use now.
I was a fan on loreal voluminous for years, and decided to give this one a go when it was on sale, and I am hooked.
I love both formulas the waterproof and non-waterproof.
My lashes are normally long without mascara, but the formula and brush on this mascara, makes them extra long, and fuller. It doesn't clump at all. As with any mascara, curl your lashes prior application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xxlovemac on 12/21/2010 1:01:00 AM more reviews by xxlovemac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: I like how this mascara gives me more lengthened and volumized eyelashes. Does not clump.
Cons: It is extremely hard to remove with any eye makeup remover.
Price: The price was not expensive or cheap which is what I expected.
Packaging Quality: I didn't get this product packaged so I am not going to rate this.
Re-buy product?: No, I would not re-buy this product however I may end up purchasing the non waterproof one (purple).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 12/18/2010 1:50:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! So happy they came out with a wp formula for this after regular (non-wp) Colossal didn't work for me. I've been a fan of the Volum' Express line for years, until they dc'd the ones I was using when this came out. This is just as good (if not better) than CG LB Volume wp and Mayb Falsies wp I was using to fill the void; the main difference is that this has a normal brush, not a huge rubbery one like LB or a curved one like Falsies. This gives me awesome volume, length, separation and holds a curl all day with no smudging or flaking, and I don't make a mess because it has a normal brush :) I wear the darkest black one they make and it is, no grey or ashy tones here and despite the wp-ness, it's not as difficult to remove as most. Maybelline really seems to make the best mascara formulas for my needs so I will continue to buy them as long as they keep making them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 x3rjessikers on 12/15/2010 11:32:00 PM more reviews by x3rjessikers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product doesn't really give me volume, not like fatty volume. It colors my lashes well so it actually looks like I have lashes after I use it. I feel like it lengthens my lashes more than anything and with my Asian lashes, every bit helps. Haha. I use this mascara with the Falsies on top for bigger, fuller lashes. Its the best combo I've discovered so far. For less than 7 USD both tubes, I'd definitely recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NatashaJ27 on 12/14/2010 8:59:00 PM more reviews by NatashaJ27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product after seeing all the advertisements for it and was a bit disappointed!
Pros: volumises well, slightly lengthens too
Cons: it doesn't hold the curl -I've got straight Asian lashes so this one didn't work for me and it smudges!! I use the waterproof one too
I think there are others out there that tick all the boxes and this isn't it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hana95a20 on 12/9/2010 2:55:00 PM more reviews by hana95a20

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is my HG mascara!! i just love it! it makes my lashes looks long, lasted more than 12 hours ( coz one day i forgot to take my makeup off tht i had on since probs 5pm and went to sleep then wake up at 7 and the mascara is still there) it holds curls amazingly despite my stubborn straight lashes tht i hav to put extra work in curling it. because i hav very sensitive eyes, i scrub them a lot and tht may cause some smudging underneath, but i find that its very hard to take off..i literally have to put a lot of pressure into it. overal, its a great mascara

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products