Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(477 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 snadypooh on 11/14/2010 7:56:00 PM more reviews by snadypooh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this based off of MUA reviews. I bought the waterproof mascara because of my stick straight Asian eyelashes. I don't have problems with flaking or smudging. I have a very novice hand with mascara applications and I can actually layer on this mascara without any problems. It does have a weird smell but I don't notice it once it's dry. It keeps a nice curl even with my stubborn lashes. It gives good volume and a bit of length for an everyday look. The brush is a bit big but I find it easier to use than the CG Lashblast brush because the bristles are longer. It doesn't irritate my eyes but it does take some work getting it off even with make-up remover.

I used to use the waterproof CG Lashblast but since have strayed away from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susanner on 11/8/2010 9:37:00 AM more reviews by Susanner

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have very long (thanks to Lilash) and straight lashes. Any mascara I use must hold the curl I work so hard to achieve so I only wear waterproof mascaras. This is one of the very best out there for me. I always have two in back up. It builds up really nicely and yes, once in a while I have to run a comb through the lashes but the overall effect is so worth it. Two coats and I'm done. It doesn't usually smudge on me and I have fairly oily lids. The thing I love most is that it comes off easily (for WP formula) with any of the two phase eye makeup removers. I don't think I'll ever find a holy grail mascara but this is a close as it gets overall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luvteal345 on 11/6/2010 12:22:00 AM more reviews by luvteal345

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Three words it clumps, it's sticky, and it gives you raccon eyes at the end of the day. It does lengthen very well but lashes look spidery and if you mes up it smears and messes up your eye makeup. Overall I did not like this mascara at all. I wiped some of the mascara off on the edge of the tube and this huge glob of black sticky mush came off it which is not exactly what I want to put on my eyes. I wanted to like it but I did not like it at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 parisenne on 10/21/2010 4:28:00 AM more reviews by parisenne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara did add decent (but not amazing) length & volume to my asian lashes...but didn't sculpt them the way my Maxfactor False lash effect does. My lashes tended to look a bit messy & spidery at the tips, even with my careful application. The brush is big which means more product, but tends to clump up a little bit. It would probably work well on those who have something to work with in the first place, but for me I much prefer my false lash effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Iseoulgirl on 10/19/2010 6:40:00 PM more reviews by Iseoulgirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This mascara will definitely add volume, but it is sticky and thick and makes your eyelashes looked like you caked on layer upon layer. It is very waterproof though, but when i feel my lashes, they feel oily and gross. Maybe my standards are too high, but this felt cheap and looked cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sinercelywhitkay on 10/18/2010 8:14:00 PM more reviews by sinercelywhitkay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I still use this mascara today, it gets the job done. It's not the best or the worse but it does do a good job of lengthening my lashes and making them look full.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 10/18/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like not love this mascara but its growing on me. I dunno if its the formula drying up a bit more since at first it was a teeny bit to watery and i have long uncurled lashes that clump easily and most wet mascaras hit my lid messing up my shadow application if i dont rem to keep a tissue over it to prevent this but im liking it more everytime i use it. It makes my lashes look like false lashes. It does clump a teeny bit but i just run a clean spoolie thru it while its wet. It makes them look great. I like the big brush with application bc it plumps them up. I like this better than the falsies but i think with both of them the longer it sits the better the formula becomes. A tip i heard on you tube is to wipe off the excess. It helps so much. I will repurchase if i dont find something better but im constantly
In search. I dont want dry lashes. I wipe down with olive oil at nite and it helps condition my lashes too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 chatterboxlee on 10/18/2010 10:17:00 AM more reviews by chatterboxlee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When they say it's waterproof, they really mean waterproof. It also clumps especially when the tip of the wand hits your lashes. I use a lash comb to fix it. I still prefer Maybelline's Volume express because the effect on my lashes is more natural for daytime.

EDIT: I find that it flakes afterwards! I was at the mall and got surprised when I checked how I looked. I had dark undereyes then when I swiped my fingers, there were black flakes- obviously from my mascara. Que horror!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 titina206 on 10/18/2010 9:06:00 AM more reviews by titina206

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this mascara.
Stays all day long. Does not flake. If it rains, it stays right there on your lashes and wonít melt away (happend to me before with another Maybelline WP Mascara).
I love the brush. It gets every single lash and I have no clumbs. Also I get volume and more length than expected. I also tried the regular version, but I stick to the WP one.
Itís hard to get off if you donít use an oil-based eye make up remover (at least for me).
What I donít like is the price... in Spain itís almost 10 euros.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lavender129 on 10/16/2010 5:06:00 PM more reviews by lavender129

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Initially really impressed by this mascara... The fiber definitely makes your lashes a lot longer. But it gave me an eye infection after a while... I think it's because some of the fiber stuff fell into my eye? Not sure. Gave it a try again after but my eye was extremely sensitive to it and got infected again in a couple hours after putting it on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products