Maybelline • Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.7(489 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 xxlovemac on 12/21/2010 1:01:00 AM more reviews by xxlovemac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: I like how this mascara gives me more lengthened and volumized eyelashes. Does not clump.
Cons: It is extremely hard to remove with any eye makeup remover.
Price: The price was not expensive or cheap which is what I expected.
Packaging Quality: I didn't get this product packaged so I am not going to rate this.
Re-buy product?: No, I would not re-buy this product however I may end up purchasing the non waterproof one (purple).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 12/18/2010 1:50:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! So happy they came out with a wp formula for this after regular (non-wp) Colossal didn't work for me. I've been a fan of the Volum' Express line for years, until they dc'd the ones I was using when this came out. This is just as good (if not better) than CG LB Volume wp and Mayb Falsies wp I was using to fill the void; the main difference is that this has a normal brush, not a huge rubbery one like LB or a curved one like Falsies. This gives me awesome volume, length, separation and holds a curl all day with no smudging or flaking, and I don't make a mess because it has a normal brush :) I wear the darkest black one they make and it is, no grey or ashy tones here and despite the wp-ness, it's not as difficult to remove as most. Maybelline really seems to make the best mascara formulas for my needs so I will continue to buy them as long as they keep making them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 x3rjessikers on 12/15/2010 11:32:00 PM more reviews by x3rjessikers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product doesn't really give me volume, not like fatty volume. It colors my lashes well so it actually looks like I have lashes after I use it. I feel like it lengthens my lashes more than anything and with my Asian lashes, every bit helps. Haha. I use this mascara with the Falsies on top for bigger, fuller lashes. Its the best combo I've discovered so far. For less than 7 USD both tubes, I'd definitely recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NatashaJ27 on 12/14/2010 8:59:00 PM more reviews by NatashaJ27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product after seeing all the advertisements for it and was a bit disappointed!
Pros: volumises well, slightly lengthens too
Cons: it doesn't hold the curl -I've got straight Asian lashes so this one didn't work for me and it smudges!! I use the waterproof one too
I think there are others out there that tick all the boxes and this isn't it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hana95a20 on 12/9/2010 2:55:00 PM more reviews by hana95a20

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is my HG mascara!! i just love it! it makes my lashes looks long, lasted more than 12 hours ( coz one day i forgot to take my makeup off tht i had on since probs 5pm and went to sleep then wake up at 7 and the mascara is still there) it holds curls amazingly despite my stubborn straight lashes tht i hav to put extra work in curling it. because i hav very sensitive eyes, i scrub them a lot and tht may cause some smudging underneath, but i find that its very hard to take off..i literally have to put a lot of pressure into it. overal, its a great mascara

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 34lenorexena on 12/5/2010 11:41:00 PM more reviews by 34lenorexena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm on the fence about this one... I put it on my left eye and put my favourite lash bast volume (orange tube) on my right. I found it to be really really clumpy in comparison to LB and it transferred to my brow bone... It seems to be a very runny and very wet formulation - other reviewers have mentioned that the colossal improves with age so I will wait and see...However when I asked my fiance which of the 2 eyes looked better - he picked the colossal eye because he said there were "less gaps" (men are funny!)...I must admit the LB eyelashes look very long and separated whereas the colossal look more clumpy as well as long... I might use it for a couple more weeks and update this review then...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PinkBarbiexxx on 12/5/2010 12:45:00 PM more reviews by PinkBarbiexxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I came across this product when i still had my student job in a store and I served a girl there with the greatest lashes ever. She directed me to this product. It definitely lived up to my high expectations. It really does add volume to your lashes and it stays on forever.Being a drugstore product, the packaging looks rather cheap, but the content is what counts, so i wasn't but off by its bright yellow design. It is a bit hard to use in the corner of the eyes, but i just use another mascara there.However, as it is getting empty it starts to clump. I have been using this for over a year now and it is definitely one of my favourite mascaras and I will definitly buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peridottie on 11/26/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by peridottie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have straight Asian lashes. This holds my curl pretty well. It also does a good job at voluminizing and lengthening. I also love this type of mascara wands, although this one is a little big for my small eyes.

My only con is that this product smudges on me. No joke - this smudges after 1 hr of application. And it's not a mild smudge. I have dark raccoon eyes at the end of a 8-hr work day. The formula itself is very fluid, which means that this doesn't clump but it could be a reason why it smudges.

Overall, I will not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 najuheeya on 11/24/2010 11:30:00 PM more reviews by najuheeya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I;ve been using this mascara for a week now everyday- I like it. I like it even more than Lash blast fusion (wp). I love how it holds up the lash curls-all day! i think it has better holding power than covergirl lash blast. The formula has more liquid in it- often it will create some clumps-which means that it doesn;t separate each lash well. However, I love how it lengthens and holds up the lashes. Some says negative things about its scent, which I don;t find it troublesome. I got mine on sale for 50% at pharma plus drugmart (when they had that 50% off on all mascara!) so I only paid $4 or less-
another great thing about this mascara- it is good for sensitive eyes- usually wearing mascara tires my eyes after few hours but with this, such never occurs. It can also be removed with less effort!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lanilim16 on 11/24/2010 9:36:00 PM more reviews by lanilim16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I decided to try this mascara since it has so many good reviews. I just used it today and i should say this holds my curls for the longest time ever.. so if you are looking for a clump free, voluminous mascara that holds curls you should really try this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products