Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(259 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rachelesque on 2/18/2012 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Rachelesque

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm sorry to say that my experience wasn't as good as other reviewers' experiences. I bought the color because it was a matte, cool neutral. The color is pretty, but I am very fair and cool with permanent sinus bruises/shadows that are hard to cover. It turned out to be too grey on me, and a close shade to my bruises, which made me look like I was seriously ill. My low rating isn't from the color, though. It was an accurate color in the pot. I feel that it's my mistake that I bought an unflattering color, but I'm pointing out the issues for anyone with similar coloring.

I took off a star for the wear without primer. The eyeshadow never really dried, and slowly melted away after a few hours. I think this is because I am RELIGIOUS about using eye cream.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gocats on 2/15/2012 11:51:00 PM more reviews by gocats

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Violet    

I'm pretty impressed. The color is more gray than brown, but I like the way it looks over my blue eyes. A little goes a long way, and it blends very easily. I'll go back for more when I run out in 2015.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Deanna2 on 2/14/2012 3:40:00 AM more reviews by Deanna2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shadow reminds me so much of Bobbi Brown's Long-Wear Cream Shadow in "Slate." It applies and blends nicely and wears beautifully. It can be worn on it's own or used as a base for other shadows. It can also be used as a subtle eyeliner. It looks to have a very fine shimmer in the jar, but I could not detect any on the skin and I'm a shimmer-phobe. The reason I took a lippie off is because the color does not match the name. It looks like taupe in the jar but on my skin, it is grey. Grey is a great color on some, but it looks muddy on me. I wish they had either a true taupe or a soft brown (without glitter). But, if you like grey, the quality of this shadow is great and it really is a drugstore steal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msitch on 2/11/2012 8:40:00 PM more reviews by msitch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this after reading good reviews. Very nice shade! Stays on forever and the matte taupe color is very flattering. Easy to apply too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 2/8/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Gosh this is beautiful. Very pigmented and blendable, and lasts wonderfully, even if you don't top this with an eyeshadow.

Does anyone else think this is like a spot-on colour dupe for the shade 'tease' in the naked2 palette!!?!? Both matte taupes that lean more gray than brown, with purple undertowns.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeBonnet on 2/7/2012 4:54:00 PM more reviews by BeeBonnet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Purchased this (tough as taupe) color tattoo eye shadow since I was looking for a matte neutral (but not dry, powdery or cakey) to camouflage my 48 yr old slightly drooping eyelids by placing it in the crease.... and it DOES make my eyes look more awake and lifted. Natural looking even on my (NC 15) fair complexion, easy to apply and blend, and stayed in place nicely until I wanted to take it off. In terms of color comparisons with other matte eyeshadows... think MAC "copperplate".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 2/4/2012 10:13:00 PM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this, along with bad to the bronze and punk pomegranate. I was on the fence about the tough as taupe, which is this matte gray color. In the pot, it didn't look like much, almost like putty. However, I decided to try it today on my lid, with the pomegranate one in my crease and outer V.. and I loved it! I didn't overlay these with shadow, I wore them by themselves, and they went for 10 hours without creasing.
All the youtube videos I've seen, everyone is overlaying these with shadow, but I didn't buy them for that purpose, I bought them to wear on their own, and they did a great job. The taupe color actually looks beautiful with my green/blue eye color and honestly, you could totally rock it with nothing more than it smudged on your lid and crease with some black eyeliner.
I am really happy I bought these, and I will repurchase. Btw the best price I found was at Walmart...they were significantly cheaper there than at CVS/RiteAid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SoCalNanny on 2/4/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by SoCalNanny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Love this cream shadow! It definitely reminds me of the MAC paint pots at a fraction on the price. I picked up 2 of these (BOGO sale) and am so glad I did! This Taupe color glides on so easy and looks great alone. I did add a bit of a grey steel shadow for a nighttime look. I cannot wait to try more colors (The Teal and Emerald color look gorgeous)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 2/2/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im an NC42 and this cream eyeshadow looks so beautiful! It's a purplish grey color that is very work-appropriate. I use the product by itself and a little goes a long way. I apply majority of the pigment to the lids and gently blend upward. It gives me a soft smokey eye effect without the hassle of layering on so many different eye shadows. When I'm in a hurry, this product makes me look more "put-together."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FiestyFemme on 2/1/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by FiestyFemme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll admit I'm usually a snob... I rarely try anything new from the drugstore unless it's gotten tons of raves. I kept seeing good reviews for the new Color Tattoo cream e/s, so I searched out the color Tough as Taupe (every display was sold out of this color). I've worn it several days now, anywhere from 10-14 hours, so I feel like I've given it a fair trial. I'm super impressed! I love the color. It doesn't turn blue on me at all, and it's definitely more brown than grey. I bought it because it was said to resemble MAC's Copperplate, but aside from being matte grey/brown shades, they don't look alike on my lids. I've worn it as both a shadow and as a base for powder e/s with success. I wear a primer under any eyeshadow (waste of time to wear eyeshadow without it, IMO), and even on my 14 hour day, this had barely creased or faded. Sure, there was a little wear, but that's to be expected. If there were other colors I was interested in, I would certainly pick those up too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products