Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(256 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 msitch on 2/11/2012 8:40:00 PM more reviews by msitch

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this after reading good reviews. Very nice shade! Stays on forever and the matte taupe color is very flattering. Easy to apply too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 2/8/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Gosh this is beautiful. Very pigmented and blendable, and lasts wonderfully, even if you don't top this with an eyeshadow.

Does anyone else think this is like a spot-on colour dupe for the shade 'tease' in the naked2 palette!!?!? Both matte taupes that lean more gray than brown, with purple undertowns.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeBonnet on 2/7/2012 4:54:00 PM more reviews by BeeBonnet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Purchased this (tough as taupe) color tattoo eye shadow since I was looking for a matte neutral (but not dry, powdery or cakey) to camouflage my 48 yr old slightly drooping eyelids by placing it in the crease.... and it DOES make my eyes look more awake and lifted. Natural looking even on my (NC 15) fair complexion, easy to apply and blend, and stayed in place nicely until I wanted to take it off. In terms of color comparisons with other matte eyeshadows... think MAC "copperplate".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 2/4/2012 10:13:00 PM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this, along with bad to the bronze and punk pomegranate. I was on the fence about the tough as taupe, which is this matte gray color. In the pot, it didn't look like much, almost like putty. However, I decided to try it today on my lid, with the pomegranate one in my crease and outer V.. and I loved it! I didn't overlay these with shadow, I wore them by themselves, and they went for 10 hours without creasing.
All the youtube videos I've seen, everyone is overlaying these with shadow, but I didn't buy them for that purpose, I bought them to wear on their own, and they did a great job. The taupe color actually looks beautiful with my green/blue eye color and honestly, you could totally rock it with nothing more than it smudged on your lid and crease with some black eyeliner.
I am really happy I bought these, and I will repurchase. Btw the best price I found was at Walmart...they were significantly cheaper there than at CVS/RiteAid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SoCalNanny on 2/4/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by SoCalNanny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Love this cream shadow! It definitely reminds me of the MAC paint pots at a fraction on the price. I picked up 2 of these (BOGO sale) and am so glad I did! This Taupe color glides on so easy and looks great alone. I did add a bit of a grey steel shadow for a nighttime look. I cannot wait to try more colors (The Teal and Emerald color look gorgeous)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 2/2/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im an NC42 and this cream eyeshadow looks so beautiful! It's a purplish grey color that is very work-appropriate. I use the product by itself and a little goes a long way. I apply majority of the pigment to the lids and gently blend upward. It gives me a soft smokey eye effect without the hassle of layering on so many different eye shadows. When I'm in a hurry, this product makes me look more "put-together."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FiestyFemme on 2/1/2012 1:59:00 PM more reviews by FiestyFemme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll admit I'm usually a snob... I rarely try anything new from the drugstore unless it's gotten tons of raves. I kept seeing good reviews for the new Color Tattoo cream e/s, so I searched out the color Tough as Taupe (every display was sold out of this color). I've worn it several days now, anywhere from 10-14 hours, so I feel like I've given it a fair trial. I'm super impressed! I love the color. It doesn't turn blue on me at all, and it's definitely more brown than grey. I bought it because it was said to resemble MAC's Copperplate, but aside from being matte grey/brown shades, they don't look alike on my lids. I've worn it as both a shadow and as a base for powder e/s with success. I wear a primer under any eyeshadow (waste of time to wear eyeshadow without it, IMO), and even on my 14 hour day, this had barely creased or faded. Sure, there was a little wear, but that's to be expected. If there were other colors I was interested in, I would certainly pick those up too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 1/28/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This productis extremely cool toned, and not something I'd usually go for. But since purchasing, I've fallen in love. Not only is the color surprisingly pretty on my eyes (both as a base for other shadows, and all on its own), but I've found it to be very versatile. I recently dyed my hair a medium cool brown color, and was looking for something that would work in my brows, and this was perfect for me. I also used it as a contour color on my face (albeit for a very theatrical look) and it was extremely easy to blend.

Staying power is good, although I've never worn it on its own, I always use an eye primer.

I'm definitely interested in trying more colors in this line, although this is the only matte one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 1/28/2012 2:57:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So, I was a little bit disappointed in this colour. I bought this thinking it would look good with brown eyeliner, because in the jar it looks like a gray-taupe. But to my surprise it looked almost completely gray on my eye. Don't get me wrong, I still liked the colour, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. Also, you have to put on a few "coats" if you want it to stand out at all.
This being said, it still worked great! My eyes usually always crease up cream eyeshadow, or absorb powder, and this stayed vivid and crease-free all day! I also liked this one's consistency over the other matte one I bought (Edgy Emerald).
I would still recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 1/26/2012 7:31:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice matte, cream eyeshadow. However, I hate the color (I am NW20 - pink with gold undertones). But, my sister who is way more olive than me and loves these "stoney" colors LOVES, LOVES this shade. So to each her own. I am actually going to give mine to her because it just doesn't work at all on me but looks lovely on her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products