Clinique • Liquid Facial Soap - Mild • Cleansers

rated 3.6(491 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 amberlady on 11/18/2009 12:41:00 PM more reviews by amberlady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm shocked that I'm saying this, but I actually really like this cleanser. It's very mild and I love the texture & how it just glides over your face. I have very oily, acne prone skin and have been using proactive for the last few years which is just way to drying for me. I bought this because I recently started taking accutane, and needed something much gentler on my skin. I can't tell if it makes me dry or if it's just from the medication, but it's nothing that moisturizer can't fix. Grant it, I need a separate exfoliator but the bottle is huge and I love the convenience of the no spill cap I think I'll try other other brands once I'm finished with this bottle just for comparison, but I'd say it definitely has re-purchase potential.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thlewis on 11/18/2009 8:04:00 AM more reviews by thlewis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a GWP and put it away under the sink. My face started breaking out and I was out of my regular product so I decided to use this. Within 2 days my face had cleared up drastically! It dried up the zits/blackheads that were on my face. I will definately be purchasing in the future. It only takes a little dab to clean your entire face, so I think you really get your money's worth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ggracebasa420 on 11/8/2009 3:38:00 AM more reviews by ggracebasa420

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a great facial wash. Last a long time, because you only need a little drop to wash your whole face. It cleans my skin well, doesn't dry me out and it's great for travel! I switch off between this and the bar and it's just great! Just remember it's just a wash and it won't exfoliate, so don't expect too much from it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheClassicCam on 11/7/2009 4:22:00 PM more reviews by TheClassicCam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I think a lot of people expect almost too much from this cleanser. I've just finished my first full bottle of it and I am extremely pleased. It's just one of those basic cleansers that I think everyone needs in their routine. I feel that the liquidness/ gel-like soap really did a great job cleaning my pores thoroughly. It doesn't dry my out too much. I usually use a moisturizer afterward but even if I don't, my skin is only the slightest bit tight but it doesn't crack or peel. Because it did a good job cleansing my skin, I've noticed fewer breakouts. I also have sensitive skin and this product did not irritate it! The lather is also really satisfying and thick- it helps with the cleansing! I feel like a lot of people over look this cleanser because they don't see a drastic improvement in their skin. But I'd like to point out that it didn't irritate or break me out and that's already a great achievement in any cleanser. I will repurchase! I really love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsJuicyJ88 on 11/6/2009 6:57:00 PM more reviews by MsJuicyJ88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This actually makes my face feel clean n soft after I'm done washing it. If I change everything else in my face routine I think this one I'll keep.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NuttyPoo on 11/3/2009 7:13:00 PM more reviews by NuttyPoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I can see why some people would give this a low rating but I think it's pretty great. I wouldn't buy it again but that's only because I want to try so many other brands before I can seriously say I'll be going back to this anytime soon.
I feel as if all Clinique facial care products are 50/50. All of the toners I have tried by Clinique are very heavy in alcohol or atleast the smell. I think it's the same with this facial soap. I can't tell what is in this cleanser but there is definitely a strong astrigent in it. My skin feels cleaner, tighter & looks clearer after I was my face with this cleanser. Sometimes if I overwash, my skin can get so tight that I have fine lines & dry in places. This is no surprise but it IS very strong cleanser. You don't need more than a drop of the product to create sufficient lather and foam. I don't get any pimples from using this either. I know there is no helping for the acne no for my forehead but I do wish this facial soap could help fix that or lessen it atleast. I'm always touching my face so there is no helping with oil control... I am to blame for that! I think if I quit my bad habit, I wouldn't be such a grease ball :(
*** If Clinique facial care products are TOO strong for your skin, maybe skip this. Or, ask a MA to give you a sample of this & test it out :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 00R00 on 11/3/2009 5:37:00 PM more reviews by 00R00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not for me! This cleanser stung, dried out then broke out my combination/oily skin. I've switched back to Philosophy Purity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maddieo87 on 11/1/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by Maddieo87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Because I've changed from a skin type 1 to 2 in the last month and a half, I purchased this mild liquid facial soap. The extra-mild one just didn't cut it anymore, due to hormonal changes and increased oil production in my skin. So, after 2 weeks on this I have noticed a major difference. My pores are smaller, I have barely broken out at all. Maybe 1 or 2 pimples at the time of the month, but nothing catastrophic like I used to on the skin type 1 regimen. My skin is clear, clean, and this feels great on my skin. It doesn't dry it out, irritate it at all or sting. Great for my skin type 2, 3 step program :)

If you are wearing makeup though, as clinique recommends, use the 'Take the day off' cleanser or foaming moose first. Then continue with your 3 step regimen. Otherwise, the cleanser won't get into your pores. I find it funny when most of my friends think it's odd I use clinique. I'm a beauty therapist, and most people in that industry dislike clinique. It's been amazing for me since I was 15, and I've tried heaps of other skin care brands. Even the top of the line ones like, Dermalogica, Ella Bache... etc. Clinique is my HG and I always find it's the best for me.

Until now. LOL. I use Sukin instead. Natural and as their tagline says "doesn't cost the earth". Affordable, good for your skin, and is in recyclable packaging :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 10/23/2009 12:14:00 PM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I first received a small tube of this as a GWP, and I liked it enough to buy a full size. However, the longer I used it the less impressed I was with it.

On the plus side, it smells lovely, and gives a nice, soft, luxurious foam. The packaging is very nice.

But considering it is a "mild" formulation, I found it kind of drying. I have combination skin, acne prone yet showing signs of aging around the eyes. But my t-zone is quite oily. In the hot, humid summer months, this wasn't too bad, but once fall came it just left me feeling dry and tight after washing. And when I tried it again in the winter, it stung.

I kept putting it away and taking it back out to try it again.I just didn't find anything too special about it. If it had worked out for me, I would say the price was reasonable. But I found it not any more special than say, baby wash. Just didn't work out for me. Eventually it ended up in the garbage.
Edited on 9/6/2010 Just received another tube of this as a GWP. Used it twice--after having used some newer things to cleanse my face, I am just shocked at how drying this "mild" facial soap is. Never again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* surfergirl_81 on 10/22/2009 12:04:00 AM more reviews by surfergirl_81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a great basic cleanser for me. I use this before bed and I love how soft it leaves my skin. You get a large bottle for pretty cheap- a bottle lasts a long time. Like another reviewer I love the feature on the cap that makes the bottle spillproof-wish more companies would use that idea. Overall good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products