Clinique • Liquid Facial Soap - Mild • Cleansers

rated 3.6(485 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 00R00 on 11/3/2009 5:37:00 PM more reviews by 00R00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not for me! This cleanser stung, dried out then broke out my combination/oily skin. I've switched back to Philosophy Purity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maddieo87 on 11/1/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by Maddieo87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Because I've changed from a skin type 1 to 2 in the last month and a half, I purchased this mild liquid facial soap. The extra-mild one just didn't cut it anymore, due to hormonal changes and increased oil production in my skin. So, after 2 weeks on this I have noticed a major difference. My pores are smaller, I have barely broken out at all. Maybe 1 or 2 pimples at the time of the month, but nothing catastrophic like I used to on the skin type 1 regimen. My skin is clear, clean, and this feels great on my skin. It doesn't dry it out, irritate it at all or sting. Great for my skin type 2, 3 step program :)

If you are wearing makeup though, as clinique recommends, use the 'Take the day off' cleanser or foaming moose first. Then continue with your 3 step regimen. Otherwise, the cleanser won't get into your pores. I find it funny when most of my friends think it's odd I use clinique. I'm a beauty therapist, and most people in that industry dislike clinique. It's been amazing for me since I was 15, and I've tried heaps of other skin care brands. Even the top of the line ones like, Dermalogica, Ella Bache... etc. Clinique is my HG and I always find it's the best for me.

Until now. LOL. I use Sukin instead. Natural and as their tagline says "doesn't cost the earth". Affordable, good for your skin, and is in recyclable packaging :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 10/23/2009 12:14:00 PM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I first received a small tube of this as a GWP, and I liked it enough to buy a full size. However, the longer I used it the less impressed I was with it.

On the plus side, it smells lovely, and gives a nice, soft, luxurious foam. The packaging is very nice.

But considering it is a "mild" formulation, I found it kind of drying. I have combination skin, acne prone yet showing signs of aging around the eyes. But my t-zone is quite oily. In the hot, humid summer months, this wasn't too bad, but once fall came it just left me feeling dry and tight after washing. And when I tried it again in the winter, it stung.

I kept putting it away and taking it back out to try it again.I just didn't find anything too special about it. If it had worked out for me, I would say the price was reasonable. But I found it not any more special than say, baby wash. Just didn't work out for me. Eventually it ended up in the garbage.
Edited on 9/6/2010 Just received another tube of this as a GWP. Used it twice--after having used some newer things to cleanse my face, I am just shocked at how drying this "mild" facial soap is. Never again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* surfergirl_81 on 10/22/2009 12:04:00 AM more reviews by surfergirl_81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a great basic cleanser for me. I use this before bed and I love how soft it leaves my skin. You get a large bottle for pretty cheap- a bottle lasts a long time. Like another reviewer I love the feature on the cap that makes the bottle spillproof-wish more companies would use that idea. Overall good stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 grahamm08 on 10/21/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by grahamm08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I heard a lot of good things about this face wash, so I decided to try it out. I talked to the lady at the Clinique counter and sh set me up with the appropriate cleanser for my combination-dry, skin. I'm sad to say that for the money I paid for it, I was sadly disappointed. This facial soap hasn't done a thing for my skin. I know it takes your skin some getting used to when you switch to a new product, but I have been using this cleanser, along with the other products in Clinique's 3 step kit, for a good 2 months now and I haven't noticed anything. It does leave my skin feeling clean, without that tight dry feeling, but in terms of acne and keeping my skin clear it hasn't done anything.

On a positive note, I really enjoy the packaging of this product. I like how you can lock the pump. This makes it great for traveling or on the go, you can turn it to the lock position and throw it in your bag without having to worry about it leaking everywhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ssephora on 10/15/2009 1:56:00 AM more reviews by Ssephora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this at night, before i go to bed. First I take off makeup with a mac facial pad and then i wash my face with this to make it so everything is off nicely. I only use it before I go to bed because I feel it would be too drying after I used my toner, and even with moisturizer I think it'd probably still make my face drier than i want. So this cleanser is perfect to just simply wash the face and go to bed.


It makes my skin feel very, very clean and soft. Not as soft as my morning cleanser. I love feeling my face after i've cleansed with it. My skin feels great. I'm actually writing this review right after I washed my face with this. So the results are still fresh in my mind. I got tons of samples of this somehow. I don't even remember how I got them. These samples have lasted me a long time. I can't comment on how much a full bottle of this would cost or how good of quality the bottle is. I'm sure it's not too expensive. I bought the clinique toner in #2 and it only cost me $11.50 for 6 or 7 ounces. I've only got 2 or 3 samples left. each sample lasting around 4 or 5 uses. When I've finshed them i'll for sure go out and buy myself a full sized bottle of this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 10/11/2009 11:33:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Iíve used this cleanser on a few occasions at some friendsí houses (this cleanser seems to be quite popular indeed), and Iíve also received a sample. Every time Iíve used it Iíve noticed it to be too harsh for my sensitive skin. It turns my skin slightly red and irritated post-washing. Once again, it must the sodium laureth sulfate that has proven to be too much for my skin to handle. Otherwise, this is a well-formulated cleanser thatís probably great for non-sensitive skintypes because, after all, it works very well in removing light makeup and cleansing without drying.


Ingredients: Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Lauramidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Cocoyl Sarcosinate, Tea-Cocoyl Glutamate, Di-Ppg-2 Myreth-10 Adipate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Peg-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Sucrose, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cetyl Triethylmonium Dimethicone Peg-8 Succinate, Tocopheryl Ethyl Succinate Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate, Butylene Glycol, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Hexylene Glycol, Polyquaternium-7, Laureth-2, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Sulfate, Edta, Disodium Edta, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pierce0566 on 10/3/2009 12:25:00 AM more reviews by pierce0566

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Recieved a sample in GWP, and I really like it. Does not irritate my sensitive, oily skin. No redness no rashes. Nice smell not overpowering. My face feels smooth with no tightness.
Will purchase the full size when the sample runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssal20 on 9/24/2009 2:47:00 AM more reviews by ssal20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin but I use this one instead of the oily skin formula as it has bad review in Paula Begoun's book. This one is the best cleanser ever, it cleans make up nicely and doesn't make my skin feel tight. It keeps it soft and really good for my acne prone skin. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iridescent500 on 9/16/2009 5:52:00 PM more reviews by iridescent500

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Inexpensive facial cleanser that seems very gentle to skin. I like the way it foams up and the way it feels on my skin when i cleanse my face. Seems to remove my makeup--haven't broken out at all and have been using for a few months now. Even my bf uses it.. he has sensitive skin and it works pretty well. I am probably gonna end up buying another after i try a bunch of other crappy and more expensive cleansers. pretty bottle too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products