Aveeno • Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(479 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 mightymcownage on 8/25/2009 8:55:00 PM more reviews by mightymcownage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff stung my face and turned me red. Don't use a foaming cleanser on sensitive skin! I'm gong to stick to my Eucerin Redness Relief Calming Cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marildu on 8/16/2009 4:30:00 PM more reviews by marildu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up after having some serious sensitive skin problems and itching. I like this. It's helped with some of my redness and has minimized my blackhead issues. Plus my itching is now very minimal. My acne has cleared up as well. It's probably the only cleanser I've used that hasn't left my skin feeling super tight and dry after. Not my HG, but not half bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 8/12/2009 5:12:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Some Aveeno skincare is a hit, some is a miss. This is a miss. It feels like it's mostly air mixed in with some soap that's turned into foam through the pump, which is a huge rip off when you think about it. It has a no-scent scent, which is strange at first but after a while it just smells like plain soap. It seems gentle enough but I only use this after using an oil cleanser (Shu or DHC cleansing oil) to remove the leftover residue. I don't imagine this would be strong enough to remove foundation and eye makeup on its own. Overall, I wasn't impressed and would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Razzles14 on 8/11/2009 5:30:00 PM more reviews by Razzles14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Overall I really like this cleanser!! It foams -which I love!!- and it smells nice too. I doesn't seem to have broken me out at all either, so that's another plus. The only thing I dislike about this cleanser is that although it claims it's gentle, it really dries my skin out!! I have to be sure and moisturize after I use this. That said, I'm still searching for my perfect cleanser (one that cleanses well and doesn't dry my skin while doing it!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mrs_Pooky on 7/31/2009 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Mrs_Pooky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I had this cleanser for probably year before I gave it away without using it. I typically use all-natural products. Then I overexfoliated my skin and wanted something ultra-calming, so I went out and purchased a new bottle. Now I wish I never got rid of it.

To put it simply, this is good stuff. It cleanses nicely without making my face feel dry or stripped or tight and really does seem to calm irritation. It doesn't seem to be drying for me at all. I don't see any residual dirt or makup on the cotton round when I tone, which leads me to believe it cleans quite well. I now use this in the morning when I wash my face at the sink and it's my go-to cleanser for when my skin feels irritated. I like that I can get this at brick & mortar stores, because it seems like I have to order everything else that works well for my picky skin. It's a tad expensive for a drugstore brand, but I'm willing to pay for things that work and this works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valuhhhrie on 6/25/2009 4:28:00 PM more reviews by valuhhhrie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is very acne- prone and extremely sensitive when it comes to cleansers. I usually try not to switch cleansers for the sake of the possibilty of breaking out. However, i'm so glad i tried this product! I can wake up with a pimple, use this cleanser, and it's practically gone the next day. It's not at all expensive and definitely worth a shot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Public_enmy1 on 6/2/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by Public_enmy1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my basic cleanser/makeup remover.
It takes off any makeup/mascara (even waterproof) without stinging the eyes.
I've been using this for a couple of years.
It's a good, cheap basic cleanser.
It does not travel well, so I just throw it in a ziploc when I'm traveling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rubybreath on 5/21/2009 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Rubybreath

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Purchased this recently on a 5 day vacation, drawn to the 'Ultra-Calming' description, and only used this as my facial cleanser and it turned my face into a dry patch war zone. Mind you, I have very oily skin so I have no idea what it is about this that would turn my oily skin into dry skin central but it did. Will not use again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chigirl7 on 5/20/2009 12:52:00 AM more reviews by chigirl7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought my 2nd bottle of this, after using basis cleaner than clean for years. I loved the basis, but my skin started to have dry patches. With this, my skin is clean, soft, and sans dry patches. I love the foam, and the very mild scent. I rarely wear make-up, so I'm not sure how well it removes make-up, but it cleans very well. The price is reasonable, and it seems to be easy to find on sale. My only complaint is that I can't decant some into a travel container.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mexiangel25 on 5/20/2009 12:35:00 AM more reviews by mexiangel25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my 3rd bottle of this stuff. I stopped using it for a while to try some Garden of Wisdom cleansers because I have super sensitive Rosacea skin and read so many good reviews about them, but I came back to this cleanser. It leaves my face super smooth and clean feeling--no oily residue like the GOW-- which means I don't need to use a toner afterwards. It also does leave my face feeling cooler.The pump is excellent, I use about 3 pumps. I gave it 4 stars for two reasons: it's super expensive compared to other drugstore cleansers, and it hasn't reduced my redness which is one of its claims, but should I really expect my rosacia to go away with a cleanser :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Cleansers products