Aveeno Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser

3.8

499 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Decyl Glucoside, Ppg-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, Polysorbate 20, Peg-16 Soy Sterol, Citric Acid, Feverfew Extract, Soybean Protein, Sodium Cocoyl Amino Acids, Sarcosine, Potassium Aspartate, Magnesium Aspartate, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Coco Pg-Dimonium Chloride, Phosphate, Sodium Citrate, Tetrasodium Edta, Methylparaben, Xanthan Gum, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide


on 1/26/2010 2:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a nice, sweet smelling gentle cleanser. I prefer it for mornings since at night, when i wash my face, it does not thoroughly wash my face, meaning it doesn't wash off all the foundation, but I guess that because it's really gentle!
And the foam is really nice! I also like the fact that it comes in a despenser!



on 1/26/2010 1:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been looking for a gentle cleanser that removes makeup but doesn't dry out my skin (and not having much luck). I have pretty dry skin in the winter, and oily skin in the summer. This cleanser is fantastic! The foam that comes out of the bottle is very gentle on the skin and feels rather luxurious. After cleansing, I don't notice my skin being as tight as it feels with other cleansers, but my makeup is always removed quite well. I haven't been able to find any other cleanser at the drugstore that I like as much as this one (most are too drying; Cerave and Neutrogena Extra Gentle break me out; Cetaphil doesn't clean).
Update: I stopped using this

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is by far the worst cleanser I've ever used on my face. Right after using it, my skin got super dry. A day later, I broke out. I never break out, and my skin really isn't very sensitive! My face has at most one pimple on it at a time, but I rarely get them. It was super embarassing for about 2 weeks and I haven't used the product again. I hadn't been using anything new on my face at the time, so I know it was this cleanser. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, but if you want to you can try it for yourself. I'm so dissapointed, because I used Aveeno clear complexion products and I love them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2010 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've only been using this a few days now. But so far I really like it. I had been using Biore ice cleanser and it dried out my face too much. My only complaint so far is that it didn't seem to take off all my foundation. Had to wash my face twice.

UPDATE: I think this is too drying for my face during the winter. I'll try it again in the summer


on 12/18/2009 12:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using Dove Sensitive Skin bar on my face, but recently my face seemed to be getting dry and breaking out a little. Perhaps just the change of seasons, so I haven't given up on it entirely. Anyway, I decided to try Aveeno Ultra Calming Foaming Cleanser. It doesn't contain sulfates, which is a criteria for me to buy a face wash. It is good. It cleans gently, doesn't sting my eyes, and my face really does seem less red and blotchy after washing. I have oily skin, and it cleanses thoroughly. However, it isn 't as foamy as I would like (thus only 4 lippies). I have needed to use up to 4 pumps to get a nice lather going. Give it a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2009 4:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've been a devoted Dove bar soap for sensitive skin user for years, but I had to give this a try after reading Dr. Baumann's book, The Skin Type Solution. She highly recommends this line for those with acne and rosacea and, since I have both, it sounded like it was right up my alley. I have to say I really like it. I'm not going to be fond of spending $7-8 every time I run out, especially since my Dove was only in the $3-4 range and lasted for months. Also, I'm not at all happy with the pump top since it likes to stick down and I have to pull it back up to get another pump. SO annoying.... But....this does not sting my eyes at ALL (Dove does) and it makes my skin feel very soft without stripping it. Will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2009 11:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: This light foaming cleanser calms and soothes dry, sensitive skin and improves the tone of skin prone to redness while gently cleansing, so your skin looks and feels back to its healthy best. With an extract of feverfew, a natural ingredient related to chamomile known for it's soothing properties, and a gentle soap free conditioning cleanser, this fragrance-free formula lifts away dirt, oil, and make-up without over drying or aggravating even very sensitive skin.

• Fragrance-Free
• Non-Comedogenic
• Soap-Free
• Hypoallergenic

Directions: Moisten face and pump AVEENO® Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser into your hand or cloth. Massage lather over face. Rinse and pat dry. Warnings: For external use only.
 
MY THOUGHTS: I purchased a 177 mL bottle of AVEENO® Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser from Wal-Mart for $9.98 CAD. Based on previous reviews, I decided to purchase this cleanser in hopes of relieving facial sensitivity and redness. The product is packaged with a foam dispenser pump and a clear plastic lid that fits perfectly. I find one pump to be sufficient for my Shiseido Cleansing Brush to distribute the cleanser evenly across my face. Unlike other cleansers, there is no heavy or sticky residue left over after rinsing. However, I do not see this cleanser being adequate enough to remove water resistant or oil based makeup. In which case you may want to use a cold cream or oil cleanser prior to this product.

Unfortunately, with around 25% of the product left, the pump began to stick on me. This was quickly remedied by disassembling the pump and rinsing the parts. However, the problem returned just as quickly as I resolved it. So I transferred the remaining amount of liquid into a different foaming container which solved the trick.
 
Although Paula Begoun rates this product as average due to the "irritant" ingredient feverfew, Dr. Leslie Baumann clarifies this misconception by explaining that feverfew can cause blisters if it hasn't been distilled. In the case of Aveeno products, the blister-inducing component of feverfew has been removed.

INGREDIENTS: Water (eau), Glycerin (Humectant), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Decyl Glucoside, PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, PEG-16 Soy Sterol (Emulsifier), Polysorbate 20 (Surfactant), Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Butylene Glycol (Thickening Agent), Sodium Citrate (pH Adjuster/Chelating Agent), Sodium Coco PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Tetrasodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Methylparaben (Preservative), Xanthan Gum (Thickening Agent), Propylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Chrysanthemum parthenium (Feverfew) Extract, Sodium Cocoyl Amino Acids, Sarcosine, Potassium Aspartate, Magnesium Aspartate, Citric Acid (pH Adjuster/Chelating Agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster).

MYSELF: I'm an Euro-Canadian with combination and sensitive skin that is prone to clogged pores (Baumann skin type: OSPW).

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2009 7:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because the desert essense soap i used for years on my face is no longer carried in my area. I was so worried abotu finding a replacement cleanser that wouln't dry out my skin, or cause breakouts. I have sensitive skin and if my skin doesn't like something, it can be a real mess and take forever to recover. Well this stuff has given me no problems. The foam feels weird to me, and I wondered if it was cleaning my skin at all, but it does. Makeup is gone. My skin doesn't feel tight and itchy after use, it feels soft and clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2009 1:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've tried so many things for my acne,and this is the best...and it's not even for acne! All it does is clean my face,and that's all I want a face wash to do. It doesn't interfere with prescription creams, it doesn't irritate,it doesn't strip skin,it has no smell...it just takes the excess oil and dirt off.End of story.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2009 4:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've had a bad relationship with facial soap. They either break me out more or dry me to the point where I'm living on moisturizers. I've tried Pupose, Cetaphil, Cerave, Clearasil Cream Cleanser, Neutrogena Acne Bar Soap, Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser. They all suck on my skin. So I gave up washing my face altogether, and surprise!--my acne improved and my face stopped being dry altogether. So why did I return to soap? Well, the seasons changed, and I found I was getting dry again, and this was supposed to add moisture into the skin. So I gave it a shot. At first, it worked well, leaving a smooth finish, with some minor flakies. Then my face got drier. MUCH drier. I thought it was the BP I was using, but when I took this soap out of my routine, my skin got back to a nice, non-dry condition. I would still use occasionally to wash off makeup though, because I think that it wouldn't be drying with limited use, but I don't know if I'll be repurchasing.

The other thing is that I absolutely could not use this near my eyes or I would feel uncomfortable stinging. My mom had the same problem with Aveeno Positively Radiant soap. My thought is if you can't use this near your eyes, then how can it be for sensitive skin.

And the cap on the pump kind of pissed me off after a while.

Also, this contains Feverfew, which can be bad for some people, causing a rash.

This didn't cause me a rash, however, and I have very rash-prone skin. Also, it didn't break me out, which I was thankful for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top