Aveeno • Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(495 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 12/7/2009 4:23:00 PM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been a devoted Dove bar soap for sensitive skin user for years, but I had to give this a try after reading Dr. Baumann's book, The Skin Type Solution. She highly recommends this line for those with acne and rosacea and, since I have both, it sounded like it was right up my alley. I have to say I really like it. I'm not going to be fond of spending $7-8 every time I run out, especially since my Dove was only in the $3-4 range and lasted for months. Also, I'm not at all happy with the pump top since it likes to stick down and I have to pull it back up to get another pump. SO annoying.... But....this does not sting my eyes at ALL (Dove does) and it makes my skin feel very soft without stripping it. Will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yum3ji on 12/6/2009 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Yum3ji

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: This light foaming cleanser calms and soothes dry, sensitive skin and improves the tone of skin prone to redness while gently cleansing, so your skin looks and feels back to its healthy best. With an extract of feverfew, a natural ingredient related to chamomile known for it's soothing properties, and a gentle soap free conditioning cleanser, this fragrance-free formula lifts away dirt, oil, and make-up without over drying or aggravating even very sensitive skin.

• Fragrance-Free
• Non-Comedogenic
• Soap-Free
• Hypoallergenic

Directions: Moisten face and pump AVEENO® Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser into your hand or cloth. Massage lather over face. Rinse and pat dry. Warnings: For external use only.
 
MY THOUGHTS: I purchased a 177 mL bottle of AVEENO® Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser from Wal-Mart for $9.98 CAD. Based on previous reviews, I decided to purchase this cleanser in hopes of relieving facial sensitivity and redness. The product is packaged with a foam dispenser pump and a clear plastic lid that fits perfectly. I find one pump to be sufficient for my Shiseido Cleansing Brush to distribute the cleanser evenly across my face. Unlike other cleansers, there is no heavy or sticky residue left over after rinsing. However, I do not see this cleanser being adequate enough to remove water resistant or oil based makeup. In which case you may want to use a cold cream or oil cleanser prior to this product.

Unfortunately, with around 25% of the product left, the pump began to stick on me. This was quickly remedied by disassembling the pump and rinsing the parts. However, the problem returned just as quickly as I resolved it. So I transferred the remaining amount of liquid into a different foaming container which solved the trick.
 
Although Paula Begoun rates this product as average due to the "irritant" ingredient feverfew, Dr. Leslie Baumann clarifies this misconception by explaining that feverfew can cause blisters if it hasn't been distilled. In the case of Aveeno products, the blister-inducing component of feverfew has been removed.

INGREDIENTS: Water (eau), Glycerin (Humectant), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Decyl Glucoside, PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, PEG-16 Soy Sterol (Emulsifier), Polysorbate 20 (Surfactant), Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Butylene Glycol (Thickening Agent), Sodium Citrate (pH Adjuster/Chelating Agent), Sodium Coco PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Tetrasodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Methylparaben (Preservative), Xanthan Gum (Thickening Agent), Propylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Chrysanthemum parthenium (Feverfew) Extract, Sodium Cocoyl Amino Acids, Sarcosine, Potassium Aspartate, Magnesium Aspartate, Citric Acid (pH Adjuster/Chelating Agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster).

MYSELF: I'm an Euro-Canadian with combination and sensitive skin that is prone to clogged pores (Baumann skin type: OSPW).

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Abbieness on 12/2/2009 7:09:00 PM more reviews by Abbieness

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because the desert essense soap i used for years on my face is no longer carried in my area. I was so worried abotu finding a replacement cleanser that wouln't dry out my skin, or cause breakouts. I have sensitive skin and if my skin doesn't like something, it can be a real mess and take forever to recover. Well this stuff has given me no problems. The foam feels weird to me, and I wondered if it was cleaning my skin at all, but it does. Makeup is gone. My skin doesn't feel tight and itchy after use, it feels soft and clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missyjean130 on 11/30/2009 1:48:00 AM more reviews by missyjean130

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've tried so many things for my acne,and this is the best...and it's not even for acne! All it does is clean my face,and that's all I want a face wash to do. It doesn't interfere with prescription creams, it doesn't irritate,it doesn't strip skin,it has no smell...it just takes the excess oil and dirt off.End of story.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 genahy on 11/25/2009 4:12:00 PM more reviews by genahy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've had a bad relationship with facial soap. They either break me out more or dry me to the point where I'm living on moisturizers. I've tried Pupose, Cetaphil, Cerave, Clearasil Cream Cleanser, Neutrogena Acne Bar Soap, Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser. They all suck on my skin. So I gave up washing my face altogether, and surprise!--my acne improved and my face stopped being dry altogether. So why did I return to soap? Well, the seasons changed, and I found I was getting dry again, and this was supposed to add moisture into the skin. So I gave it a shot. At first, it worked well, leaving a smooth finish, with some minor flakies. Then my face got drier. MUCH drier. I thought it was the BP I was using, but when I took this soap out of my routine, my skin got back to a nice, non-dry condition. I would still use occasionally to wash off makeup though, because I think that it wouldn't be drying with limited use, but I don't know if I'll be repurchasing.

The other thing is that I absolutely could not use this near my eyes or I would feel uncomfortable stinging. My mom had the same problem with Aveeno Positively Radiant soap. My thought is if you can't use this near your eyes, then how can it be for sensitive skin.

And the cap on the pump kind of pissed me off after a while.

Also, this contains Feverfew, which can be bad for some people, causing a rash.

This didn't cause me a rash, however, and I have very rash-prone skin. Also, it didn't break me out, which I was thankful for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ylrebmik7 on 11/22/2009 8:14:00 PM more reviews by ylrebmik7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using Purpose, which seems to be a good all around cleanser. But, always wanting something better, I bought this based on the good reviews here. I also have sebhorreic dermatitis which makes my face itchy, so the "calming" sounded good. So far I like this, I don't know if better than the Purpose, but it is a nice cleanser. Like the name says, it foams and goes on nicely, washes off well. I have no complaints so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stefdo on 10/30/2009 9:12:00 PM more reviews by stefdo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay this is one of those products I always keep buying. I do use a number of cleansing products and switch off depending on what I think my face needs. The main thing I like about this product is the fact it is soap free yet cleans way better than any soap free cleanser I have ever used. Yes I like Cetaphil b/c it is gentle but doesn't get my make up off. This one is gentle yet gets the make off easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brittbrat118820 on 10/28/2009 12:19:00 PM more reviews by brittbrat118820

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have acne prone oily skin but I'm on accutane so I can't use anything harsh. This does a nice job of cleaning my skin without over drying it. Does it take off my heavy foundation? No but I use jojoba oil to take it off first then wash with this stuff. I bought it because it doesn't have any harsh detergents in it and it did reduce the redness in my skin. I recommend this for anyone with sensitive or dry skin. I might repurchase depending on the condition of my skin once I'm off accutane. I don't think it helped to clear up my skin at all either, just cleaned and reduced some redness. I also think its a bit pricey for a simple drugstore face wash so I may try something cheaper. I do like the pump dispenser and I only need 2-3 pumps for my entire face so it does last awhile.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yellowsparrow on 10/22/2009 4:30:00 AM more reviews by Yellowsparrow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I dont remember ever repurchasing a drug store face cleanser, but I did with this one. I really love how it calms down the redness in my face, it took several weeks, but eventually it worked as it claimed. And it never dries out my skin, plus it hasnt broken me out. Another bonus is that it doesnt have a strong scent, i really dont like using a face cleanser that smells like perfume. I cant say anything bad about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kayleeyoon on 10/9/2009 8:21:00 PM more reviews by Kayleeyoon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

this stuff is pretty good. if you're looking for a simple cleanser that does its job, this is the one. but i wont recommend this for anyone who wears a thick makeup or has a very oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Cleansers products