Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(267 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 3/24/2012 1:29:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Maybelline Color Tattoo are a much talked about product among bloggers and makeup fans. These cream shadows debuted in drugstores sometime in early winter, I purchased mine in January, so I'm kinda behind on the review bandwagon. Maybelline says that the Color Tattoo shadows are their longest lasting shadows. Maybelline employed "ink technology to create super saturated color" and "cream gel" formula that "glides on without creasing and keeps color vibrant". Color Tattoo shadows are available in 10 shades, 1 matte and 9 shimmery, 4 neutral and 6 bright, a good variety. I have #35, Tough As Taupe, the lone matte shade. Color Tattoos are ophthalmologist tested and found to be safe for contact wearers and those with sensitive eyes. Unfortunately, Maybelline tests on animals, so please keep that in mind when purchasing their products. I got Tough As Taupe at Ulta for free (Maybelline was bogo 50% and I had a coupon). The average retail price is $6.99 or so. Lets see if these hold up to all the claims.
I'm really liking the packaging of Maybelline's Color Tattoo. It's a clear, glass jar with a black plastic cap. The jar features a "Color Tattoo" Sticker, and the cap features a sticker with more info on the product including the name of the product. Color Tattoo have great packaging compared to other drugstore products. The glass jar has a good weight to it in the hand, so it's likely that it's sturdy. Sturdy as it may be, keep in mind it is glass, so don't go tossing it about.
The texture of Color Tattoos is supposed to be a cream-gel hybrid with a smooth consistency, meant to glide onto the eyelid. "Cream-gel" is a weird way to describe something that feels an awful lot like modeling clay. Tough as Taupe has a thick, dense consistency that'll likely feel familiar if you liked playing with clay as a child (or as an adult, don't judge me).
Because of the thick, dense, relatively dry feel of Tough as Taupe, application is a pain. Instead of "smoothing across your eyelids", it drags, and applies in a patchy, uneven manner. It looks awful. Maybelline says that Color Tattoos are buildable, and I agree, but no matter how much you apply, it'll still look patchy and uneven, and the more you apply, the more likely you are to have creasing. I can't imaging the disaster that would result from trying to blend Tough as Taupe with another shadow.
I'm not going to go too far into detail about the color of Tough as Taupe, because there really isn't much to discribe. It's a matte, grey based, neutral taupe with only the slightest hint of brown. The color of modeling clay...am I sensing a pattern here? Tough as Taupe isn't a pretty color, but it's a useful one. A good, solid neutral shade to keep on hand.
So lets examine the 24 hour wear claim. Do you get 24 hour, crease-proof wear? No. Close? Not really. I've worn this cream shadow with and without primer and it doesn't affect wear or application at all, so let's disregard that. When worn to work, in the greasy, hot kitchen, Tough as Taupe isn't so tough, it can't even hold up for six hours. Under regular circumstances, Tough as Taupe makes it for about 8 hours without creasing, but there is some fading. Not that bad, but it's not 24 hours.
Though on it's own, as a cream shadow, Tough as Taupe doesn't make it anywhere near to it's 24 hour claim, as an eyeshadow base it's excellent. With a powder shadow layered over it, Tough as Taupe probably really could wear for 24 hours, it's indestructible. Even after a 9 hour shift, it stays perfect, not the slightest hint of fading or creasing. That's kinda cheating though, Tough as Taupe is supposed to be super long lasting on it's own, not with help from a powder shadow.
With all fairness though, Color Tattoos do last much better than any other cream shadow I have ever tried. Those all crease on me instantly. I can give these kudos for not being an insta-fail, being a good base, and a useful color, but that's not enough to make up for poor texture, application, and solo wear. I'm really curious if this is somehow molding clay in a jar, and Maybelline some how fooled me into believing it's a cream eyeshadow.
I definitely think Maybelline Color Tattoos are overhyped. Perhaps its the novelty of a drugstore cream shadow that doesn't suck, and has a fun, trendy color selection. To be fair, it seems like Tough as Taupe has a lot of texture based complaints. Being the only matte shadow in the bunch, it's probably a formula issue specific to this one shade. I'd have to try a different shade to prove that theory, I'll consider it. Despite having it's issues, Tough as Taupe is good for a drugstore cream shadow. It's a really good eyeshadow base. Packaging is good. It's sold at the perfect price point, you get a really good amount for it. It's a value score!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 3/23/2012 3:21:00 AM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Finally found Tough as Taupe. Goes on medium-deep grey matte. Plays well with Bad to the Bronze. Stays on well. Great for runway looks. Glad I got these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TuttaPanna on 3/20/2012 9:08:00 AM more reviews by TuttaPanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This really is a good product for the price. The taupe color is very cool-toned and pigmented and gives a natural looking shadow to the lids. It goes on creamy and dries to a powder. It does have good staying power, though without primer, this creases (on me at least) after several hours. I've tried both brush and finger application and personally fingers are easier with this; afterwards I blend out the edges with a brush.
I hope Maybelline will come out with other colors of this product, as the current range seems to have a lot of brights, and I'd love to see more "everyday" neutral or muted shades too.

In short:
PROS:
Good value for its price
Easy to apply
Good for doing a quick eye when you don't have much time
Good staying power with primer

CONS:
"sets" rather quickly after you put it on, so not much blending time
Not creaseproof without primer
If you're using this with powder shadow, this is hard to blend over the powder shadow - a stiffer brush is needed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stillhot on 3/20/2012 8:56:00 AM more reviews by stillhot

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to find a foolproof way to speed up my makeup routine. Just a gettitonandgo kind of application. Definitely found it in this eyeshadow. The color is what I've been looking for for years, and I LOVE that it's a cream base. It really does stay put for hours (I haven't tested if for 24 hours...those days have passed me by!) I apply it to my lid, highlight the inner corner, a bit of eyeliner and mascara and voila! Done. Fantastic formulation, better, I think than Mac paint pots, because there is no shimmer, yet there is life to the color. . Finding great matte eyeshadows is an expensive, time-consuming chore. This one is great. And it cost me about $6.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thaydizzle on 3/18/2012 3:32:00 AM more reviews by thaydizzle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I'm only saying that I wouldn't buy this again simply because I don't think I'll ever use it up.

I think this is perfect for girls who wan't to put on makeup, but are lazy. (Like me!)

It's a cream eyeshadow that looks like what it's supposed to be, taupe. It's not exactly creamy but it isn't too dry where it can't be applied with one's finger. I do use this with a primer (UDPP) just because I don't want to risk creasing, which seems to be an issue with most of the people who've reviewed this product.

I say it's the perfect lazy girl shadow because sometimes I just like to put it all over my lid and blend it into the crease. I would put a shimmery shadow in a lighter, but similar shade (ex: Urban Decay's Sin) and BAM! You've got a daytime-smoky eye in two steps using (at the most) one brush!

One thing that I do hate is that you have to be careful with how much you apply. It's a bit hard to blend out so it's best to start off light and build it up to your desired look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoxotaaaylornicole on 3/18/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by xoxotaaaylornicole

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

'Tough As Taupe' is a good matte base (I have audacious asphalt which is a sparkle silver). It has amazing lasting power as well as color pay off. I use the silver one for my smoky looks and the taupe one for my daily looks. So, I use these products everyday. The packaging is also very nice, sturdy and compactable. The only thing I don't like about the product is that it's somewhat difficult to blend eyeshadows placed on top, it's possible but takes effort. Other than that, it's perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmiriamdD on 3/14/2012 10:26:00 AM more reviews by EmiriamdD

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Well, I guess I'm one of the few unhappy users of Tough as Taupe. I, too, was very happy to find a matte color in this collection and hoped this would turn out to be truly creaseless. The color works well for my blue-green eyes but, sad to say, this one migrated straight into the crease by day's end. Oddly enough, though, the bronze color has stayed put all day. Very strange. FYI, my lids are not oily. Very disappointed with this one.. Hope Maybelline comes out with more "reasonable" and matte colors that will stay put. Who wears orange or turquoise eye shadow except maybe on Halloween?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittclow69 on 3/13/2012 9:29:00 AM more reviews by brittclow69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't really that expensive of an eyeshadow if you consider the quanitity you get for the price of it. A little goes a long way. I love this color as a base for a brown or greyish eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NAK4beauty on 3/12/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by NAK4beauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It really wasn't that special to me when I first got it but I heard about using it to fill in your eyebrows and now I love it! Perfect color, looks very natural, and stays all day! Very inexpensive and lots of product. It's also good as an eyeshadow or eyeshadow base but I don't use it for that a lot. But for brows, LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jubeywho on 3/4/2012 8:14:00 PM more reviews by jubeywho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I liked the taupey color of this. Worn by itself, i did not think it lasted very long at all, nor was the color obvious or smooth. BUT, with a primer and a few layers of this, plus taupe eyeshadow on top, it stays pretty much all day. I would buy it again because i love the color, but by itself..its not awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products