Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(262 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xoxotaaaylornicole on 3/18/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by xoxotaaaylornicole

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

'Tough As Taupe' is a good matte base (I have audacious asphalt which is a sparkle silver). It has amazing lasting power as well as color pay off. I use the silver one for my smoky looks and the taupe one for my daily looks. So, I use these products everyday. The packaging is also very nice, sturdy and compactable. The only thing I don't like about the product is that it's somewhat difficult to blend eyeshadows placed on top, it's possible but takes effort. Other than that, it's perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmiriamdD on 3/14/2012 10:26:00 AM more reviews by EmiriamdD

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Well, I guess I'm one of the few unhappy users of Tough as Taupe. I, too, was very happy to find a matte color in this collection and hoped this would turn out to be truly creaseless. The color works well for my blue-green eyes but, sad to say, this one migrated straight into the crease by day's end. Oddly enough, though, the bronze color has stayed put all day. Very strange. FYI, my lids are not oily. Very disappointed with this one.. Hope Maybelline comes out with more "reasonable" and matte colors that will stay put. Who wears orange or turquoise eye shadow except maybe on Halloween?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittclow69 on 3/13/2012 9:29:00 AM more reviews by brittclow69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't really that expensive of an eyeshadow if you consider the quanitity you get for the price of it. A little goes a long way. I love this color as a base for a brown or greyish eyeshadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NAK4beauty on 3/12/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by NAK4beauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

It really wasn't that special to me when I first got it but I heard about using it to fill in your eyebrows and now I love it! Perfect color, looks very natural, and stays all day! Very inexpensive and lots of product. It's also good as an eyeshadow or eyeshadow base but I don't use it for that a lot. But for brows, LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jubeywho on 3/4/2012 8:14:00 PM more reviews by jubeywho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I liked the taupey color of this. Worn by itself, i did not think it lasted very long at all, nor was the color obvious or smooth. BUT, with a primer and a few layers of this, plus taupe eyeshadow on top, it stays pretty much all day. I would buy it again because i love the color, but by itself..its not awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 3/2/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I pretty much use this every day.. Staying power is AMAZING! A little tfsi with this and it pretty much stays put until I wash it off at night. It's a greyish taupe on me. It's a nice polished look. All of the colors are pretty amazing but this one is the best for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupgrl2008 on 3/2/2012 4:20:00 AM more reviews by makeupgrl2008

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

ABSOLUTELY LOOVVEE THIS COLOR!
it's more of a purpley taupe over a brown taupe in my opinion, but it's still gorgeous on the lid. i love that it's matte too!
this has AMAZING staying power! my lids are extremely oily and even w/ a primer my liner and shadow will crease by the end of the day HOWEVER i have used this cream shadow w/o a primer and even through those late night study days, the shadow has just barely begun to crease by 2 in the morning! i am absolutely floored by it's staying power!
1000% love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beth on 2/28/2012 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Beth

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought the BeneFit hype on a lot of products back in the day, and the raves for their Creaseless Cream Shadows were among them. Yet those shadows always managed to crease on me. I gave up on trying to find a truly creaseless cream shadow until I saw this one advertised in Allure. I chose Tough as Taupe because, honestly, I think almost every other color in the palette is ridiculous. Orange? On your eyelids? Really? The others were all either too bright or too sparkly. Tough as Taupe is perfect for a cool-toned gal. It's right in between brown and gray, but cheats a little gray on my eyelids. I dab on a little with my fingertip and blend, not bothering with a brush. I've worn it on its own so far, but not as a shadow base. As a lid/crease color, it's subtle and tasteful for daytime, where I spend most days under fluorescent lights. And it really does not crease. No matter what. Yet it comes off readily when I wash my face with DHC Deep Cleansing Oil.

The packaging is a heavy glass jar with a screw top; I imagine it would dry out if not tightly capped, so be sure to put that top back on tightly when you're done using the product. The kicker? $5.97 at Walmart. You can't beat it with a stick.

Hey, Jean and Jane--THIS is how you do truly creaseless cream shadows.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pxcrunnercat on 2/25/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by pxcrunnercat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product is both amusing and miraculous. I don't want to be a naysayer here, but I find the color of the product itself almost laughably ugly. It's pretty typical for taupe I guess- a brownish-gray color, but when I applied to my lids, my first thought was..."That looks like poop." Looked like I had grayish poop smeared on my lids. So I guess that tells you that my natural coloring doesn't work well with this particular shade. HOWEVER...I obviously needed to cover up that poopy color on my lids, so I reached for another eyeshadow- the purpley taupe color in my WetNWild Silent Treatment palette. And from the first swipe of that color over the taupe base, I was IN LOVE. That eyeshadow is normally pretty but very sheer on me. The taupe base added depth and dimension- it really enhanced the color and made it pop. It also lasted a long time, and even though a workout, without creasing. Thus, my final verdict is: I will never, EVER wear this color on it's own, but I intend to use it all the time as a base under taupe, purple, grayish teal and blue shades, and many other eyeshadow colors. This was a great drugstore find, and less than $7!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pisces31919 on 2/19/2012 8:29:00 AM more reviews by pisces31919

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Tough as Taupe is more on the grey side of the taupe spectrum than brown and it's perfect in my opinion. It reminds me somewhat of Groundwork paint pot. I'm NC45 and Groundwork looks grey on me because my skin cancels out the brown. It wears all day with no creasing. I used TAT as a base and MAC Club on top. It allowed the green/red brown to show perfectly on my lids :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products