Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2220 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mchaplin on 4/30/2010 4:40:00 AM more reviews by mchaplin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm constantly on the search for the world's best mascara. I feel like I've tried them all, so when something new and appeals to my desire to "volumize," I have to try it. I think this mascara is fab, especially for the price. I had just finished using YSL Faux Cils Effet and found Falsies much more effective. My primary goal is volume, and this mascara does it. If you want separation, than this is not it. I have to curl my lashes first or the formula is simply to heavy. Also, as others have mentioned the tendency to clump is there, so you're best applying in thin layers. If you want to slap it on and go, than this probably isn't for you, but if you're willing to spend an extra minute and a half for gorgeous lashes, I think this product is well worth the low price tag. I would compare it to Benefit Bad Gal Lash, but at less than half the price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JANED6 on 4/12/2010 6:21:00 AM more reviews by JANED6

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Having been cursed with the shortest little lashes ever I'm constantly on the search for the ultimate lengthening product. Having been reminded by the great guru LisaSz09 (http://www.youtube.com/user/Lisasz09) that spending gazillions on a mascara which is dumped after 3 months seldom makes sense (even though I'm a sucker for luxe make up), I decided to "slum it" for once and bought The Falsies by Mabelline. I - LOVE - IT, the ingenious curved brush somehow drags my little lashes to infinity and curls while it's at it. I love the consistency which makes multiple applications possible before it dries but be warned it can transfer to eyelids during application but this is a small price to pay. Defo re-purchase. ONLY issue is the tube is so thick it takes up precious room in my eyeliners/mascara pot :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luvmejoice on 4/9/2010 5:14:00 AM more reviews by luvmejoice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had such high expectations for this mascara. I loved The Colossal and I love curved brushes so this was like a wish come true.
Unfortunately the curved brush doesn't make any difference.
It's a bit clumpy if you're not careful.
I like it, I use it but I won't repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 veroS on 4/9/2010 5:09:00 AM more reviews by veroS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this is an okay mascara, but it really doesn't blow me away. it looks messy quite quickly. it clumps and your lashes stick together immediatly if you don't apply it with a lot of patience.
I will only use this on nights when i go out dancing and my eyes can use a bit of a drama look and nobody really sees if your mascara is applied properly. for that purpose its good.
but fot the natural daytime look definitly not. for that it gives me a little bit too much of a fake, unnatural look. my lashes really stick upwards. i bought the volum express by maybelline some days later and i like it a lot better for the daytime because its basically the same effect, just a bit more turned down and natural. and it's cheaper too! i wish i would have bought another mascara other than that for my money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalie_xoxo on 4/3/2010 9:14:00 AM more reviews by lalalie_xoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I kind of wish I could give a "3.5" to this mascara because it's really just an above average mascara for me. Let me just say, I do have Asian lashes that are short and stick straight, but pick up a curl quite well after using my Shu lash curler.

PROS:
-Interesting new brush which really does manage to pick up each lash with each stroke so it's quick to apply in the early mornings before work
-I do get a fanned out look with my lashes after I got a hang of the new brush
-Personally, I like the more liquid-y formula because it gives me more time to sort out any clumps or fix the separation/placement of my lashes
-The colour is very nice and well pigmented
-This does create a good curl and holds it throughout the day

CONS:
-What irks me the MOST: this mascara is totally not reliable; some days it is the most awesome perfect mascara, others it flakes like a black snow storm, or it smudges everywhere =/
-I have found, to prevent any flaking... I have to wait for the first coat to dry before applying the next (tiiiiime consuming~)
-Without patience/practice this can clump up or stick my lashes together and can still prove to be difficult to solve despite a metal lash comb
-The brush is so big that it hits my lids whenever I apply this, which ruins any eyeshadow that I may have on, and then I have to touch up afterwards

All in all, this is an above average mascara... will most probably not purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TinkyBlink on 4/1/2010 5:19:00 PM more reviews by TinkyBlink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Maybelline never seem to be very good at lengthening mascaras, they always seem to bend at the end of the lashes...But this isnt too bad as lengthening isnt its main thing on me...But its very good for volume, really like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lilibeth on 4/1/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Lilibeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Enthousiastic comments I recieved when I was using this product.
I am using it as a mascara-base. This mascara is not the best thickening mascara I ever used. At the end of the day flakes fell on my cheeks. The brush is too thick, that it is not only on my lashes but also on my skin.
This mascara isn't flaking when you use it in combination with another mascara.
I won't buy this mascara again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparklefaceface on 4/1/2010 4:25:00 PM more reviews by sparklefaceface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The Good:
- Super long lashes
- Super thick lashes
- Dry's quickly
- Easy to use wand

The Bad:
- Have nothing bad to say yet.

The Detail:
- My favourite mascara, quite possibly the best I have ever used.
I use the black non waterproof one.
Large, thick, black eyelashes, only needed a few coats. I love it.
I have nothing bad to say right at this moment, except that it really does look like you have fake lashes on, but if you are like me, thats exactly why you love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 greenforever on 4/1/2010 4:10:00 PM more reviews by greenforever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had high expectation for this mascara but am really disappointed.

It does separate lashes nicely but I find it very difficult to build up. The lengthening and thickening power is average.

It does not hold the curl too well either. The biggest problem is that it smudge on my eyes so quickly!!!

I would say that if I found this mascara 5 years ago I would probably like it but now so many mascaras works much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mo5050 on 4/1/2010 7:51:00 AM more reviews by mo5050

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this a couple of weeks ago, just really out of curiosity and because it was on offer at 6. I've never really been a fan of Maybelline mascaras, and didn't really expect much of it as it just looked like another gimicky thing. When I first tried it out I wasn't impressed at all, but now after using it more often, I absolutely adore it!! It gives good length and after a few coats - great volume! My lashes are really fine and short but this did wonders for them, even better than my all time fave Lancome Hypnose :)! And although I don't usually go for the big brushes because they seem to chunky for my baby lashes, I actually really like the brush on this as it seems to get into all your lashes really really well. I also found that if you apply a thin coat of another mascara first before you start with this one, it gives an amazing result! It doesn't clump over the top of the other mascara and the volume you get is amazing! I tried this out a wee while ago but had to remove it all and start over before I went out because the result was just too much for daytime :) Anyway I will definitely be buying this mascara again, and strongly reccomend it as it's on offer at alot of places now :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products