Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2246 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LorelaiNoah on 6/7/2010 7:36:00 PM more reviews by LorelaiNoah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I'm only giving it 3 lippies...for now. Because I've only had it for one day. I bought it for $5.24 at Walmart (hate walmart... but my roommate dragged me in). The packaging is beautiful & probably my 2nd favorite mascara design...runner up to L'Oreal's collagene mascara. I think this MIGHT be my new HG mascara, seeing as the formula is fabulous! If you hated lash blast...try this stuff. :) I'll edit & update later.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erin09 on 6/7/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by erin09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the cheapest mascara I have ever used and the results are amazing. It does thicken and lengthen but with much more emphasis on the length. The BEST thing (next to the $5.48 price tag at walmart) is that it only takes 2 seconds per eye. Combcombcombcomb- perfect length. Combcombcombcomb- perfect length.
TaDa. You're done.

It does NOT apply like any other mascara I have used, and I am thinking that is where at least some of the bad reviews are coming from. The instructions on the back read, "For best results, hold brush with spoon side against lashes and sweep from root to tip. Repeat until desired look is achieved. Do not let dry between coats."

*ahem* Do not let dry between coats. That means do one eye and then the other. Fast fast fast.

Now that I've raved about the product and defended it to boot, it is not perfect. As others have mentioned, the pigmentation leaves a bit to be desired. I have dark brown hair and "very black" matches my natural hair/brow/lash color. If a darker shade came out, I would definitely buy it. Another thing is that you know you are wearing this stuff. You can feel it on your lashes - it's a bit gunky feeling, unlike Lash Blast Length and Fiberwig - 2 mascaras I love because you can forget that you have them on; it feels like you're not wearing anything.

I will update my review once I figure out how long a bottle takes to run out or expire, which ever comes first. My old HG was Imju Fiberwig. $20 a pop, lasted 5 months, and couldn't buy locally. Nearly 5 of these = 1 bottle of Fiberwig. 6 bottles of these = 1 tube of defincils. This stuff is cheap people. I'm giving it a 5 out of 5 because even though it's not *the perfect mascara* its the best one, overall, that I've used. Will be repurchasing.

39 out of 40 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chiquilla01 on 6/7/2010 2:26:00 PM more reviews by Chiquilla01

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

not a bad mascara.. i have to give it another week or so, to get used to the wand, but i think i would repurchase.. more of a lengthening mascara for me.. if you have thick lashes, try this.. got it at CVS...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bruno777 on 6/7/2010 10:30:00 AM more reviews by bruno777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara sucks and does not warrant the name "falsies." I have okay lashes so it only worked a tad bit on me. If you have thick and long lashes to begin with, it may work for you. First off, the mascara has this disgusting chemical smell to it. I need three coats for my lashed to volumize and lengthen. The only plus to this mascara is that is was only a little over five bucks. I am sticking to my Mary Kay Ultimate mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mimie on 6/5/2010 10:39:00 AM more reviews by mimie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I hate this mascara.I'm generaly very into maybelline mascaras and i think they are by far the best even comparing to the most expensive ones.But the falsies...nope...
I was more than excited to try it but the result was a nightmare...no volume at all....the only result was clumping n sticking.The result was so ugly that i took off all of my make up.
The brush is huge!i can't work with it.The only way to have some descent lashes is wipe the liquid from the brush, leaving a tiny amount and after it dries i redo it.If i just apply it like any other mascara i wouldn't even dare to look at myself inthe mirror.
The only effect that gives is lenght.Too much lenght, that i don't need cause i allready have long lashes.I wouldn't recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sassyrred on 6/4/2010 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Sassyrred

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My first day I was not really impressed, states volume but gives more lengthen & some curl. Pigment not particularly dark but ok.

My Second day I used CG lash blast first then Falsies, better but still not loving it.

My Third day I used Lancome Cils booster first then 2 coats, not bad, but still not loving it.

I will not buy again. The pigment isn't quite as dark as I like for blackest black, not thrilled with volume, gives some curl and lengthen but I have noticed it doesn't wear quite as well all day as I would want and hope.

IF you already have fab lashes this mascara may work great for you! If you want more of a natural lash you might like it, but if you are like me and want it all, volume, lengthen, dark pigment and great wear all day, then you can pass on this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 6/4/2010 12:13:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

WHAT A GREAT PRODUCT!! i have stopped buying mascara since i have a nice successful arsenal of HE mascaras that actually do the job. but when i saw this and remembered it had good reviews, i had to break my no-buy, desperately hoping to myself i wasn't made a fool of. and i wasn't!! this is one of the best mascaras i have used, it does it ALL. the flexible brush is great! package is ugly but what else would i expect from drugstore mascara? overall i love this product and will definitely re buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyHox on 6/4/2010 10:35:00 AM more reviews by HollyHox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I rarely stray from my favourite mascaras (Lash Blast and Define-a-Lash) but this one was calling my name. I completely fell for the marketing gimmick that this would make my lashes look like falsies - it doesn't do that, but with that said this is a very good drug store mascara. It lengthens, thickens and curls, which is hard to come by. It also doesn't flake AT ALL. I do find the brush a little difficult though. I often end up getting mascara on my eyelid near my lashes and if you aren't careful it easily clumps up. Don't do too many coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kilyblst08 on 6/4/2010 1:08:00 AM more reviews by kilyblst08

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This does give some decent length, but very poor volume. Nothing like fake lashes. My mom gave it to me because she complained that the formula was wet and "just like Great Lash". I thought she may have been using it improperly or was insane given its glowing reviews, but to my surprise I agree. Very clumpy and wet formula, even more so than something like Voluminous. Completely murders my curl too. I tried a lot of methods but this just did not work quite right. I'm hoping it is a bad tube because it was a big disappointment.


Update: Also flakes like crazy throughout the day. Lowered to one lippy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JonMoss on 6/3/2010 6:45:00 PM more reviews by JonMoss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So this has finally come to the States. I first saw it in CVS, Maybelline had a sale for 40% off eye makeup. I love this mascara so much! I'm in love with it. I use two to three strokes and it does look like FAKE LASHES. It is beautiful. Mind you, I have short and spare yet curly lashes. It elongates and thickens beyond belief!

Plus, it stays on ALL DAY. That is rare for mascaras. It doesn't clump or flake. Fantastic mascara for a dramatic look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products