Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies

3.4

2277 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, PARAFFIN, POTASSIUM CETYL PHOSPHATE, CERA ALBA / BEESWAX, CERA CARNAUBA / CARNAUBA WAX, ACACIA SENEGAL / ACACIA SENEGAL GUM, GLYCERIN, CETYL ALCOHOL, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE PEG/PPG-17/18 DIMETHICONE, STEARETH-20, PHENOXYETHANOL, HYDROLYZED CORN STARCH, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, SODIUM POLYMETHACRYLATE, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, HYDROGENATED JOJOBA OIL, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, SIMETHICONE, RAYON, DISODIUM EDTA, ARGININE, SERINE, GLUTAMIC ACID, 2-OLEAMIDO-1,3-OCTADECANEDIOL, SILICA,PANTHENOL


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this product the week it came out for only 3.99 so I had nothing to lose. I don't really have high expectations for washable mascaras but since I loved the normal volume express and I am a mascara junkie I tried this. I apply it to my top lashes with the concave side, just brushing through them lightly (I can't "wiggle" with washable mascaras because they get to goopy and heavy) which gives me nice fluttery lashes, but by no means "false-lash effect." The curl is maintained even on my stubborn, downwards pointing asian lashes. This can create high drama lashes if I layer more, but then I have to curl them after as well as it gets too heavy. I really like this, and will buy again.



on 6/12/2010 3:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Meh...this mascara is just okay. Since I got it so cheap, it's kind of hard to complain too much about it. First time I used it I thought it was horrible beyond belief. My lashes were hard, dry and clumpy. Second time I tried it I found that using the correct side of the brush makes a huge difference. The spoon side has to be the side brushing the lashes (makes me wonder what the other side if for?), it needs to be applied quickly and you can't put on a second coat, so you have to make sure your lashes are completely coated on the first go around. Following these rules I find that this mascara adds somewhat decent length and a little volume. Nothing great and I probably won't repurchase.

Update***Okay I had to come back and give this mascara another lippy. It seems that the more I use it the better I get at applying it. It's not a HG mascara but it has become one of my favorites. Now that I have the hang of using it I find it does give my lashes some great length and nice fullness. I still don't love the way my lashes dry hard and the fact that once it's on it can't be touched up.


on 6/12/2010 12:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Ok so when I first got this mascara it was awesome. After the first application I thought I was in love. Long lush lashes....good stuff. Then one day I pulled the wand out and the thing was COATED in gunk. Disappointing. For some reason I am loyal to Maybelline mascara, so I continue to use this. The wand takes a bit of getting used to at first but overall gets the job done. the only annoying thing is having to wipe off all the excess, which in my mind is a huge waste of makeup. Not HG (yet) but I'll buy again, hoping to perfect my technique


on 6/12/2010 9:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What false lash effect? Did nothing, a massive disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2010 9:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because of all of the rave reviews I saw here and overall I'm pleased with the results. The finish product does add length and volume but I'm not sure why the bristles have to be so large. I end up having wipe in excess mascara from around my eye because of this. Although this doesn't come to close to my former HG (Maybelline Lash Stylist - may you rest in peace in discontinued heaven), it will be ok for now.

I'm not loyal to Falsies and will continue my search but in the meantime, it'll do.

ps - bring back lash stylist.


on 6/10/2010 4:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

WOW WOW! Ok, at first I thought this was the worst mascara ever. After I curled my lashes, I put this stuff on and the curl was pretty much destroyed and I couldn't see anything on my lashes. But then, I decided to heat my eyelash curler and curl my eyelashes after I applied the mascara while it was still wet. It didn't get clumpy unless I did it when my lashes were dry. And even if it did, I just combed through with a metal lash comb. I was astounded with the finished product. WOAH. My lashes could be seen from so far away. I LOVE LOVE this mascara and am really hoping it will continue to perform as well as it did now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The brush is huge and bulky, which normally doesn't bother me but the formula is so watery and it makes my lashes clumpy. Too much product gets on the wand, I think it is missing a washer in the tube. It gives me alright length and volume, but to call it 'falsie' would be false for my lashes.


on 6/9/2010 11:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been waiting for this to come to the stores here after all these intriguing reviews. This mascara is terrific. I like a dramatic eye look most days and this fits the bill. Ever since Cover Girl discontinued my favorite, Fantastic Lash, I've been looking for something that can give me fringy eyelashes you can see a mile away. After trying about every drugstore mascara out there, this one finally did it! NONE of the other Maybelline mascaras have worked for me, ever. This is my new HG until they ultimately discontinue it, like everything else. Then I suppose the search will be on again. Until then, I'm set.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2010 11:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I, too, bought this at Shoppers Drug Mart for $3.99. I read the package, and since it said it would make your eyelashes look like false eyelashes this was right up my alley. My dance recital is in a few days, and I really just didn't want to wear false eyelashes this time around, so I thought this might be a good alternative. However, it wasn't really that great. I mean it's not the most horrible mascara ever, but it's definitely in the running for me. It is very wet and it clumps my eyelashes together. I have to use my eyelash comb really quickly so they don't clump, but I still get some clumpage. It doesn't really give the look of false eyelashes, but it doesn't look too bad. I'm still debating whether or not I want to use it for my recital. Taking it off, I was afraid my eyelashes were going to come off with it because it was so heavy. I don't know if I'll ever buy it again. If I do, it definitely won't be at its full price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2010 9:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Bleh, this is average at best. No volume, some length. No repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top