Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2216 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalie_xoxo on 4/3/2010 9:14:00 AM more reviews by lalalie_xoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I kind of wish I could give a "3.5" to this mascara because it's really just an above average mascara for me. Let me just say, I do have Asian lashes that are short and stick straight, but pick up a curl quite well after using my Shu lash curler.

PROS:
-Interesting new brush which really does manage to pick up each lash with each stroke so it's quick to apply in the early mornings before work
-I do get a fanned out look with my lashes after I got a hang of the new brush
-Personally, I like the more liquid-y formula because it gives me more time to sort out any clumps or fix the separation/placement of my lashes
-The colour is very nice and well pigmented
-This does create a good curl and holds it throughout the day

CONS:
-What irks me the MOST: this mascara is totally not reliable; some days it is the most awesome perfect mascara, others it flakes like a black snow storm, or it smudges everywhere =/
-I have found, to prevent any flaking... I have to wait for the first coat to dry before applying the next (tiiiiime consuming~)
-Without patience/practice this can clump up or stick my lashes together and can still prove to be difficult to solve despite a metal lash comb
-The brush is so big that it hits my lids whenever I apply this, which ruins any eyeshadow that I may have on, and then I have to touch up afterwards

All in all, this is an above average mascara... will most probably not purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TinkyBlink on 4/1/2010 5:19:00 PM more reviews by TinkyBlink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Maybelline never seem to be very good at lengthening mascaras, they always seem to bend at the end of the lashes...But this isnt too bad as lengthening isnt its main thing on me...But its very good for volume, really like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lilibeth on 4/1/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Lilibeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Enthousiastic comments I recieved when I was using this product.
I am using it as a mascara-base. This mascara is not the best thickening mascara I ever used. At the end of the day flakes fell on my cheeks. The brush is too thick, that it is not only on my lashes but also on my skin.
This mascara isn't flaking when you use it in combination with another mascara.
I won't buy this mascara again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sparklefaceface on 4/1/2010 4:25:00 PM more reviews by sparklefaceface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The Good:
- Super long lashes
- Super thick lashes
- Dry's quickly
- Easy to use wand

The Bad:
- Have nothing bad to say yet.

The Detail:
- My favourite mascara, quite possibly the best I have ever used.
I use the black non waterproof one.
Large, thick, black eyelashes, only needed a few coats. I love it.
I have nothing bad to say right at this moment, except that it really does look like you have fake lashes on, but if you are like me, thats exactly why you love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 greenforever on 4/1/2010 4:10:00 PM more reviews by greenforever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had high expectation for this mascara but am really disappointed.

It does separate lashes nicely but I find it very difficult to build up. The lengthening and thickening power is average.

It does not hold the curl too well either. The biggest problem is that it smudge on my eyes so quickly!!!

I would say that if I found this mascara 5 years ago I would probably like it but now so many mascaras works much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mo5050 on 4/1/2010 7:51:00 AM more reviews by mo5050

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this a couple of weeks ago, just really out of curiosity and because it was on offer at 6. I've never really been a fan of Maybelline mascaras, and didn't really expect much of it as it just looked like another gimicky thing. When I first tried it out I wasn't impressed at all, but now after using it more often, I absolutely adore it!! It gives good length and after a few coats - great volume! My lashes are really fine and short but this did wonders for them, even better than my all time fave Lancome Hypnose :)! And although I don't usually go for the big brushes because they seem to chunky for my baby lashes, I actually really like the brush on this as it seems to get into all your lashes really really well. I also found that if you apply a thin coat of another mascara first before you start with this one, it gives an amazing result! It doesn't clump over the top of the other mascara and the volume you get is amazing! I tried this out a wee while ago but had to remove it all and start over before I went out because the result was just too much for daytime :) Anyway I will definitely be buying this mascara again, and strongly reccomend it as it's on offer at alot of places now :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 apresmidi on 3/31/2010 8:29:00 AM more reviews by apresmidi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought it was a waste of money the first time I used it as it clumped and basically went all over the place...Used it again a couple of weeks later and I completely adore it now, the brush is a bit tricky to get used to but it doesn't clump anymore and it manages to reach every single lash. It doesn't quite achieve the 'false lash effect' it advertises but it makes my eyelashes notably longer and thicker. Overall a good mascara and I would buy it again, but not the false lash effect I was hoping for!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gizzyxx on 3/31/2010 8:19:00 AM more reviews by Gizzyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good drugstore mascara, which is worth the price (although I got in a swap, its on offer at the moment for 5.99 and the usual price is 7.99).
Summary:
*Medium formula, not too runny
*Good curved wand
*No flaking through out the day
*Easy to add layers without it clumping
* Adds both good amount of volume and length
* Actually doesnt create a "false" look but a great natural "full eyelash" look
*Curled my lashes itself which holds most of the day
*Easily removed at night

Cons:
* A little smudging by the end of the day but nothing I cant cope with and I DIDNT look like a panda
*Wish the formula was a tiny bit thicker, it would be easier to layer it up

Conclusion: If you dont want to spend crazy money on a mascara, but want good length and volume give this a try, esp if its on offer anywhere.
Its good but there are also other good drugstore mascaras out there so dont kill yourself trying to get hold of some....L'Oreal Collagen Mascara is really good and a good substitute for Bad Gal.
I would re-purchase this :-)

EDIT: I got Falsies in swap from the USA and I noticed that the formula differs slightly from the European version (I have been to Germany and Italy and their version is the same as the UK one). The packaging is slightly different too - the USA one does not have a point on the top of the tube...but importantly the formula of the USA one is thinner (IMO)and I rather prefer the European one...just a heads up :-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 regenton on 3/30/2010 6:56:00 PM more reviews by regenton

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I needed a new mascara and saw lots of references to this in the beauty pages of magazines so I thought I'd give it a go.... didn't live up to my hopes though. I found the "spoon"-like brush awkward, got clumps, lashes not nearly as long or as thick as when I use other brands (partially because you have to be so careful with the brush, so s not to get mascara everywhere BUT on your lashes) and finally, at the end of the day, it had flaked down onto the top of my cheeks.... maybe if I got better with the brush it would be better but I couldn't be bothered when so many other brands get it right with less trouble.

Sorry it didn't work out. Will not be repurchasing

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bangton on 3/28/2010 8:10:00 AM more reviews by bangton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Nice packaging, very eye catching. Even the name caught my eye! However upon using it I was disappointed. It wasn't terrible but it didn't give me a 'false' lash look and since I have been acheiving this with other brands I will pass on buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products