Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2239 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyHox on 6/4/2010 10:35:00 AM more reviews by HollyHox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I rarely stray from my favourite mascaras (Lash Blast and Define-a-Lash) but this one was calling my name. I completely fell for the marketing gimmick that this would make my lashes look like falsies - it doesn't do that, but with that said this is a very good drug store mascara. It lengthens, thickens and curls, which is hard to come by. It also doesn't flake AT ALL. I do find the brush a little difficult though. I often end up getting mascara on my eyelid near my lashes and if you aren't careful it easily clumps up. Don't do too many coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kilyblst08 on 6/4/2010 1:08:00 AM more reviews by kilyblst08

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This does give some decent length, but very poor volume. Nothing like fake lashes. My mom gave it to me because she complained that the formula was wet and "just like Great Lash". I thought she may have been using it improperly or was insane given its glowing reviews, but to my surprise I agree. Very clumpy and wet formula, even more so than something like Voluminous. Completely murders my curl too. I tried a lot of methods but this just did not work quite right. I'm hoping it is a bad tube because it was a big disappointment.


Update: Also flakes like crazy throughout the day. Lowered to one lippy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JonMoss on 6/3/2010 6:45:00 PM more reviews by JonMoss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So this has finally come to the States. I first saw it in CVS, Maybelline had a sale for 40% off eye makeup. I love this mascara so much! I'm in love with it. I use two to three strokes and it does look like FAKE LASHES. It is beautiful. Mind you, I have short and spare yet curly lashes. It elongates and thickens beyond belief!

Plus, it stays on ALL DAY. That is rare for mascaras. It doesn't clump or flake. Fantastic mascara for a dramatic look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OliveButtercup on 6/2/2010 9:24:00 PM more reviews by OliveButtercup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

There are always so many new drugstore mascaras out, I find myself testing a new one every 2 weeks or so, usually never repeat purchases. This is one of the best drugstore mascaras I've tried lately. The curved brush really grabs your eyelashes and curls them, and it gets all the little hairs on the inner corners. I don't usually like curved brushes but I really like this mascara, it makes my lashes look nice and long and dramatic. I've also been using that L'oreal eyelash serum so it seems like my lashes are getting longer by the day. The brush is trickier to use on the bottom lashes, I usually flip it around or turn it so that it's shaped like a U and it follows that natural curve of my eye. It's almost as good as my favorite Shu Uemura mascara, and for $8 or whatever that's not too shabby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* newyork00 on 6/2/2010 8:40:00 PM more reviews by newyork00

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty good, I bought this 40% off at CVS. There is a bit of a smell but I love the look of the tube, very fun in an 80s way. The mascara is decent, not false eyelashes but I did not expect that. I will update once I tried several times but so far it is fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelhorrigan on 6/2/2010 2:20:00 PM more reviews by rachelhorrigan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My eyelashes are so stubborn and I really find it hard to get a mascara that really gives me the false lash effect. But after ages of trying millions of different brands i have finally found it! I love this mascara,it goes on so easily with the spoon shaped wand. It gives the lashes great volume and lenght and really gives the illusion of false lashes yet is totally wearable for during the day,the first time i wore it everyone asked if i was wearing false eyelashes! i would totally recommend people trying it as you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laqueron1 on 6/2/2010 9:05:00 AM more reviews by laqueron1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have regular looking lashes but I always hunger for that FALSE EYELASHES effect (I have large eyes and so therefore large lashes are required). Lately, I've developed some sort of mascara fetish and have been buying mascara trying to find my HG (My current HG is L'oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black...but I like to experiment). So I bump into THIS. Two things: 1) You may need a primer if you really want the "False Eyelash effect" it's the only way I could get it to work that way. I curl my lashes, use the MAC Lash Primer and comb it over with a disposable spoolie, wait 30-40 seconds then apply mascara. 2) If you're not going to use a lash primer, apply two or three coats. It's not a bad mascara, but you may have to TWEAK it a little.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1alexa on 6/2/2010 2:04:00 AM more reviews by 1alexa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been waiting for this product to come out and I finally bought it today! I have been using maybelline mascaras lately. I have tried every mascara out there. I do have a few favorites and this one makes the list. I have long, thick, dark lashes so I like to play them up. This does a good job of adding lengthe, volume, lift, and separation. Maybelline finally jumped on the fiber mascara train. That's the secret ingredient in this mascara that gives the false lash look. If you look at the brush you can see the little fibers in the actual mascara formula and this stuff builds your lashes. For 5 bucks I will be repurchasing. Lets hope it doesn't get discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Branny43 on 6/1/2010 7:24:00 AM more reviews by Branny43

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

My lashes are quite long, already, but lack the dark pigment and thickness I had when younger.

This mascara did a *fabulous* job restoring their appearance to their former glory, making them lush, dark, and oh-so-long!

Minimal--if any--flaking, and great staying power! I will buy backups of this for travel and packing around in my purse. The best mascara I've found yet!

*** update 8/20/2010
Updating with regret... no idea why, but this product simply stopped working for me. Formula didn't seem to dry up or separate, so that can't be it. After a few weeks, though, just gave me wet spider lashes. No longer using it and won't repurchase.

7/18/2010 -- UPDATE
Okay, I totally don't understand why, sometimes, a mascara will seem so incredibly wonderful the first few uses, then... suddenly... stop working altogether. (Can anyone explain this to me, please?)
I still use this every couple of weeks to see whether, maybe, I'm just doing something horribly wrong. However, it just doesn't work anymore. I still see some length, but virtually no volumizing.
*sigh* I wanted my love-affair with this product to be more than a short-term fling. Pity. Still looking for a good volumizing mascara that doesn't cost as much as my annual car-insurance, and doesn't leave black smudges beneath my eyes. Onward, I guess...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pisces31919 on 5/30/2010 10:16:00 PM more reviews by pisces31919

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first eyed this because of the pretty magenta and aqua packaging. I decided to try it because it was on 40% off promo at CVS and I'm glad I did. After many years of searching I can officially say that I HAVE FINALLY FOUND MY HG MASCARA!!!! It lifts at the root, separates, and lengthens in one shot but doesn't weigh down my lashes. I prefer two coats for a little extra drama. I love the shape of the brush: spead out bristles but with a curve. My only gripe is that I wish Blackest Black was a little darker but other than that I couldn't be happier!!!!!!

*Edit: Ok, I don't know if it's me but I feel like I don't get consistent results with this. Sometimes my lashes come out great and other times they're just ok. I'm going back to Loreal Bare Natuale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products