Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4446 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 luffkristyn on 3/21/2011 2:22:00 AM more reviews by luffkristyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product would be the best drugstore foundation... if only it had a pump! It has good staying power, and it did not accentuate my dry skin (I bought the dry/normal). I think it looked great indoors, but under flourescent lights or outside, it looked orange and cakey. I use 150 Buff, and Ivory was way too light and pink for me. It is definitely full coverage, but not very build able. It dries quickly, so I usually applied it in sections with a sponge in a dabbing motion. I keep it as a back up just in case, but I probably won't go back to it for every day foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bribri314 on 3/20/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by bribri314

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

mehhhh... i wanted to like this product so bad!! i read the reviews multiple times, ive used it once for dance and it was perfect then since it was 2 shades darker then my skin tone so i looked good on stage but when i bought it for everday it was just so... pink. i got the lightest shade and in the bottle it looked decent and i got pretty excited thinking, "wow, a drugstore foundation that dosent have any strange undertones" but i was wrong. i never realized it until today when it was a super sunny day and i looked in the mirror and i saw that i looked like all the other girls at my school with orange faces! it was cakey and awful and pink... just a bad experience. not buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaCate007 on 3/20/2011 10:19:00 AM more reviews by AnnaCate007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have major acne scarring from years of bad acne. While my breakouts have disappeared thanks to my derm the scars are gunna take a while to fade. I tried just about every drugstore foundation out there and a few high end ones. This is my favorite for sure. I have been using it for about a year now and I have bought probably 6 bottles. I am super pale in the winter but I tan very easily in the summer, so i bought a few shades so I could mix them to get my perfect shade all year round no matter my skin tone. This covers my acne scarring fairly well. I still need some concealor on my cheeks where the scarring is very bad, but i can get away with just foundation everywhere else, something i haven't been able to do ever. I work 12 to 16 hour shifts at a hospital and this stuff literally looks just as good at 6 am when i put it on as 7 pm when i leave. It stays fairly matte for about 4 hours on me, but i have CRAZY oily skin. Other foundations stayed matte for literally about half an hour on me. The price can't be beat, especially when you can find it on buy one get one half off. I REALLY wish it had a pump though. I feel like i waste a lot of product trying to pour it out on a sponge or brush. And it does dry quick, so work with small sections at a time and blend blend blend. I have noticed some oxidization in a few shades that can tend to be slightly orangey. I really don't think i will ever buy another foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelicgirlangel on 3/19/2011 2:42:00 PM more reviews by angelicgirlangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with other viewers that the best way to apply this product is with a damp sponge. With brushes and hands, my face looked very cakey and dry. I got nude for combo/oily skin, which was too dark for my winter nc20 face so I would probably buy buff if I repurchased. I liked how this foundation controlled oil better than others that I tried, but I also wish it had a more natural/dewy finish. This is a good medium-coverage foundation, but I didn't it find it gave as full coverage as some other foundations because it needed a touch of concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyGooGoo on 3/19/2011 1:25:00 AM more reviews by NancyGooGoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So, I tested this in the shade of Toast all day today and I'm very satisfied with it. It's quite similar to my MAC Satinfinish in NW43 but minus the huge price. As a matter of fact, when I'm done with my MAC I'll be sticking with the Colorstay just so I can save a few duckets! The coverage is light to medium (even lighter than the MAC Satinfinish) which I love because I detest anything heavy on my face and it leaves a nice dewey finish that doesn't get mistaken for greasy. I actually powder it down with TWO powders - Avon's Personal Match Loose Powder in "Tan" (now discontinued) and on top of that, the Revlon Colorstay Mineralize Finishing Powder in "Suntan Matte". That's the kicker - the Suntan Matte! It leaves my skin looking flawless and I love that look. The dewiness of the foundation still comes through because with both powders I use a light hand but the finish is definitely my skin but MUCH better! This is a definite keeper for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elrania on 3/18/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Elrania

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation. I have severe acne scarring on my cheeks, and this have a decent amount of coverage. I apply it with my fingertips section by section and finish off with my mineral foundation on top. Lasts very long on the face.

I'm a scandinavian with slightly olive beige skin. (NC20) And Buff was a match made in heaven although it does oxidize a little on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wbwilliams1 on 3/17/2011 3:08:00 PM more reviews by wbwilliams1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I never wear foundation, but on a whim decided to jump on the bandwagon and get me some. I didn't want to spend a lot of money since I just wanted to try some out for kicks and giggles. After reading the reviews here I decided on Revlon Colorstay. I bought the normal-oily in Ivory 110. I was worried when the gals at Ulta told me to opt for the lightest color, but they were right! This stuff matches my face and neck perfectly, leaving zero line where the foundation ends and my natural uncovered neck begins. I wore the foundation the day I bought it to my niece's birthday party and my sister immediately asked me what I did to make my face look so glowing and perfect. I mean, she IMMEDIATELY noticed, and she asked me what I did to my face before she even said hi. This stuff makes my thirty year old face look 20 again. I love it. I'm now a convert to foundation, who'd have thought? Quick word of advice: the stuff isn't kidding when it says it'll last 16 hours. I always make certain to wash my face really well before bed at night. I haven't noticed any adverse effects on my complexion or acne since using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 3/17/2011 2:11:00 AM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ive used every flipping foundation ever made it seems, and I have to say I keep coming back to this. I hadent worn it in awhile, so I decided to wear it today. All I can say is WOW! I cant believe the way it makes my skin look. Perfectly matte, matches my skintone and stays on forever. I cannot live without this stuff! I dont know why I ever even try to wear or find something new. Im sticking with this for the long run = )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bbybreanna on 3/16/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by bbybreanna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

this is pretty much the only liquid foundation i actually like, and i tried alot of liquid foundations! this is my current foundation and im in love with it! it works as a concealer, and it covers up my pimples on my cheeks and forehead really good! you can barely even notice them! but if you wanna conceal dark circles under your eyes, it wont last that long :( the foundation lasts all day if you set it with a good powder (i use l'oreal trumatch) overall its the best drugstore foundation! revlon never disappoints me :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TMKipp on 3/16/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by TMKipp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I live in MN, so my skin is usually very dry for 4 months of the year. MAC is one of my favorite foundation lines, but their Pro Longwear just settled in the dry skin patches and created a pasty clown look. I went back for a new color and foundation brush, thinking this would help, but still the clown look. So I'm sticking with this cheap standby. I use the combination/oily skin version, and even that doesn't stick to my dry patches (when it's not winter, I have oily skin). I just apply this with my fingers - sometimes while I'm waiting at traffic lights in my car. It doesn't require much precision. I did like the MAC pump dispenser, though, so I miss that. This lasts all day, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products