Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4482 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this foundation on and off since it was introduced. I have finally found the right colors-- one for tan and one for untanned. I do wear sunscreen, but I tan when I walk outside no matter what. Just my skin type. Yes, it smells like paint. Yes, the bottle is less than user friiendly. But it still works the best for me as an overall foundation.

I even prefer it as a concealer under my Laura Mercier Mineral Powder. I've tried a lot of concealers and the heavy texture just collects in my "fine"lines. Colorstay, on the other hand, can be blended almost imperceptibly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/4/2011 7:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was a Clinique Superfit wearer for years and was lost when I had to find a new foundation. I first tried EL Double Wear light, then EL DW, then Revlon Colorstay. I liked Colorstay at first til it broke me out. I also noticed that it didn't wear well as the day went on. I recently switched to something else and finally my face is clearing up! I used the one for normal/dry skin with softflex. Will not buy ever again.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation had great coverage and comes in a very large selection of colors and skin types.
I accidentally got a shade a little too dark for me, so I have to mix it with my MAC Slect SPF 15 Foundation to lighten it up, but I was still very pleased with the results and I highly recommend it.
It was also only $11, and compared to a lot of foundations with this quality, that is very cheap- so if you are looking for a good foundation for cheap, this is for you!


on 4/4/2011 5:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this foundation! I have it in combinatio/oily and it gives a very mattifying effect which is nice because I don't have to apply powder over it, the only downside is the fact that it does not have a pump and it smells like paint. Otherwise, this is a GREAT foundation with medium-full coverage


on 4/4/2011 7:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I hated this foundation when I first tried it. It smells like paint, it can be hard to blend and it broke me out. I used it a couple of times and then decided it was not for me. Then about a month later I gave it another try and I LOVED it!!
I just needed to find the best way to apply it ( I use a sponge now) and make sure my skin is well moisturised before application. It doesn't break me out now either, think my skin needed to get use to it.
I cannot live without this foundation now, it's a great colour and stays on my oily bits ALL day. LOVE IT!! : )


on 4/3/2011 11:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Revlon colorstay is probably the best drugstore foundation I have ever tried.. It's literally my holy grail. Although it's color selection is very mild, you can mix two of your closest colors and probably get a decent match! It has GREAT coverage, but as others have said it dries and does have a strange smell. I used it for about eight months and thought I'd switch to maybelline fit me(HORRIBLE CHOICE, WORST FOUNDATION OR ACNE PRONE SKIN) and I just had to go back and buy some colorstay. It's about 17 dollars in Canada which is a bit expensive for drugstore but it's worth it! I had horrible acne and it helped so so so much. I totally would recommend purchasing this!


on 4/3/2011 3:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for almost a year. And It is by far the best foundation I have ever tried. I've tried other durgstores ones like rimmel, l'oreal, maybelline, kate and etc and the high ends like shisheido, dior and double wear estee lauder
Pros:
It lasts all day, I mean all day...up to 12 hours and more.
It controls oil like a super sponge
It has FULL coverage.
A little goes a long way.
For the quality it gives, i find the price to be pretty reasonable.
It doesnt break me out
Cons:
The smell is horrible, utterly disgusting. it smells like paint.
the consistency is rather thick.
and where i live, they dont carry a color that matches my skin tone, and i use early tan, which is a tad too dark for me...
the packaging is horrible
and you need a heavy duty make up remover to remove this
=I have moderate acne scars, crazy oily face and i live in a tropical weather, and this made me sweat like a pig, so this is by far the best foundation to tackle oiliness, provides amazing coverage for acne scars and can withstand gallons of sweat without totally disappearing..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2011 8:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Overall, I think this is a pretty damn good foundation. For me, it has no downsides.
Coverage is adjustable, you can make it lighter by applying it combined with moisturiser/tinted moisturiser (I use it with a tinted moisturiser most days just to lighten up the coverage) or make it fuller by using as is. When I use it in combination with tinted moisturiser/as is it doesnt mask my freckles too much and make my face look 'weird' as can happen to people with freckles who use too fuller coverage foundation :)
Shade match for me is pretty much perfect, I use the oily/combination in Nude 04 and i haven't noticed any oxidation or the like yet! Love it.
I also find it blends/layers really nicely if you work quickly.
You do need to let it dry a little on your face after you apply, but it does dry to a really natural semi matte finish. I've stopped using powder after foundation with this and it doesn't go shiny or wear off unevenly. I have oily skin and powder is pretty much a necessity with any other foundation I've used except this one.
Definitely long wearing, nice smooth even coverage even after work/uni/dance classes.
Only down side to this foundation for me is the smell! I really dont like it. Its kind of chemically/powdery/florally, but it does fade fairly quickly.
Packaging could be improved, a pump would be great, but I'm so impressed with this foundation that it doesnt matter to me :)


on 4/1/2011 11:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ok first of all let me start by saying that I live in Australia, and this foundation costs nearly $40! I laugh (cry) when i read peoples comment and they are all "$12 is so expensive for a drugstore brand" How i wish we had foundations that were that cheap!
I am fair-medium and i have yellow undertones and colourstay does so not match, which is sad because it seems to have great coverage, since i got the wrong colour (twice! i was hopeful :S) i dont know if its full-coverage, because on me it just made my spots look more red. And I got a colour in each formula dry n combo/oily and I cant really comment on what it does to your skin, as i have very tough skin, if something works on it once, it wont continue to do so for long ( has been so much fun trying to get rid of pimples) and so using it my skin didnt cause any reaction.
Cons:
I don't understand why no one mentions this, but IT SMELLS LIKE PAINT! and when first applying it, feels like it too! Thick and goopy.
No pump? Whats that about? Waste of product.
Not a good range of colour selections, all the so-called yellow undertoned ones, are like beige
Pros:
Good coverage
Long lasting

So overall if you have pink/beige undertones, try it, might work well for you

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2011 9:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

UUGHH. this product is amazing! Full coverage! Natural look! Lasts all day! Perfect Match! EXCEPT.... it broke me out. And i never break out! This turned by baby smooth skin into cystic acne heaven. Veryyy dissappointed...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top