Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4474 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 4/1/2011 11:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ok first of all let me start by saying that I live in Australia, and this foundation costs nearly $40! I laugh (cry) when i read peoples comment and they are all "$12 is so expensive for a drugstore brand" How i wish we had foundations that were that cheap!
I am fair-medium and i have yellow undertones and colourstay does so not match, which is sad because it seems to have great coverage, since i got the wrong colour (twice! i was hopeful :S) i dont know if its full-coverage, because on me it just made my spots look more red. And I got a colour in each formula dry n combo/oily and I cant really comment on what it does to your skin, as i have very tough skin, if something works on it once, it wont continue to do so for long ( has been so much fun trying to get rid of pimples) and so using it my skin didnt cause any reaction.
Cons:
I don't understand why no one mentions this, but IT SMELLS LIKE PAINT! and when first applying it, feels like it too! Thick and goopy.
No pump? Whats that about? Waste of product.
Not a good range of colour selections, all the so-called yellow undertoned ones, are like beige
Pros:
Good coverage
Long lasting

So overall if you have pink/beige undertones, try it, might work well for you

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/31/2011 9:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

UUGHH. this product is amazing! Full coverage! Natural look! Lasts all day! Perfect Match! EXCEPT.... it broke me out. And i never break out! This turned by baby smooth skin into cystic acne heaven. Veryyy dissappointed...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2011 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have seen so many great reviews on this product and thought I would give it a try.
To begin the packaging is terrible it takes me forever to get the product out, and when it did finally come out. Its hard to get out as much as you want, its always too much.
The product dried very quicky was hard to blend. I had been prepared for this (by reading many reviews on it)
Its not the worst foundation I have ever used ... but nowhere near as good I had hoped.
Im going back to Maxfactor Xperiance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2011 8:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product was a great colour match for me, but made me break out like crazy, so I returned it to the store.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2011 8:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been having problems with my current foundation since my skin suddenly decided to go into overdrive and produce oil like crazy. I bought the oily skin formula and it's better at controlling oil than Vichy and bare minerals. It is very thick and quick drying which is problematic during application. I combine this with BB cream (for its healing benefits) in half and half and then apply with a wet sponge. Like many others, the container isn't very sanitary or practical: you could end up with way too much.


on 3/30/2011 3:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this foundation! I get so many compliments when I wear this! My skin looks flawless. I used Caramel and I am NC45 (so the people at MAC say). I have seen YT videos on how great this foundation is, which is what prompted me to also give it a try. It is longwearing and does not cake up or look "fake" on your face.

I took one lippie off only because I do not like the packaging. I wish this came in a pump. I have read from other reviewers that they simply purchased a pump top that could be used with the bottle. I think I will try that eventually.

Price was around $10.


on 3/30/2011 2:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So okay..I got color stay to just see and use it...


I tried it, It looks very natural on the skin! and it's nice...But to me it feels very sticky and sorta in a way like sweat on my face..I didn't put much on.

I have mild acne bumps...So wearing foundation or persay this one was trouble because it does cause cakeness. But you can expect that in most foundations...I have yet to truly find one besides Make up forevers. anyways it made my acne look worse..and packed...because of the sticky feeling...If you put a translucent powder over it...It might help a bit that's one suggestion..I would suggest this for people with smooth clear skin to be honest.


Otherwise it's very good...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2011 10:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

My current HG foundation. Comes about as close to my uber pale skin as I can expect, covers great, and while not the cheapest foundation out there.....not even close to the most expensive. I use a stippling blush and my skin looks almost flawless. Again, a pump would have been great but all in all one of the best foundations out there...high or low end.


on 3/29/2011 5:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

First of all, if you are saying this is cakey and you have dry skin you NEED, NEED to moisturize a few minutes before with a THICK hydrating moisturizer, but that goes for anyone with dry skin. My skin is basically the sahara desert and this foundation has been the source of far more compliments than my $60 Giorgio Armani foundation (which I despise). If you moisturize and use a SMALL amount it will not cake. It is medium to full coverage ladies you do not need a lot!!! And yes, it dries kind of quickly, which means yes, you have to alter your routine a bit. Do only one part or side of your face at a time. I do my chin, jaw first, blend, then nose/under eyes, blend. Then my forehead. It takes all of three minutes.

Also something to note is people complain of this not helping their acne or not covering their acne. I understand that not every foundation will work for everyone, but if you have severe acne as some people are claiming they do, liquid foundation is not the answer, especially a moderate coverage one, it will only draw attention to it. This is not a skin care product!

All of that being said, the coverage is good if you use the right amount, the color match is flawless (I am Buff) and I own 3 department store foundations all of which cost more than $40 and this is right up there with my favorites. Thumbs way up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2011 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Like others have commented, it does have a bit of a paint-like smell in the bottle, but it doesn't smell once applied.
I'm also very happy that I could find a long wearing makeup--I'm a NW15 so there are very few drugstore foundations, or even higher end foundations that match my skin tone, without looking orangey or fake.
This is a great coverage long wearing foundation. I've worn it to family weddings and had it look amazing, and not fade after 12+ hours. As an everyday make up it is not ideal. It really needs a stronger face wash/make up remover to get off at night, and it is a little pore clogging. It does have a pretty heavy coverage, so you don't need to apply a lot of product. I use a dampened makeup sponge to apply. I'd definitely recommend this to acne-prone girls for special occasions or going out, but I find Tarte Smooth Operator to be better for everyday. I don't like such heavy coverage for day-to-day.


Back to Top