Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4466 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 3/29/2011 5:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

First of all, if you are saying this is cakey and you have dry skin you NEED, NEED to moisturize a few minutes before with a THICK hydrating moisturizer, but that goes for anyone with dry skin. My skin is basically the sahara desert and this foundation has been the source of far more compliments than my $60 Giorgio Armani foundation (which I despise). If you moisturize and use a SMALL amount it will not cake. It is medium to full coverage ladies you do not need a lot!!! And yes, it dries kind of quickly, which means yes, you have to alter your routine a bit. Do only one part or side of your face at a time. I do my chin, jaw first, blend, then nose/under eyes, blend. Then my forehead. It takes all of three minutes.

Also something to note is people complain of this not helping their acne or not covering their acne. I understand that not every foundation will work for everyone, but if you have severe acne as some people are claiming they do, liquid foundation is not the answer, especially a moderate coverage one, it will only draw attention to it. This is not a skin care product!

All of that being said, the coverage is good if you use the right amount, the color match is flawless (I am Buff) and I own 3 department store foundations all of which cost more than $40 and this is right up there with my favorites. Thumbs way up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/29/2011 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Like others have commented, it does have a bit of a paint-like smell in the bottle, but it doesn't smell once applied.
I'm also very happy that I could find a long wearing makeup--I'm a NW15 so there are very few drugstore foundations, or even higher end foundations that match my skin tone, without looking orangey or fake.
This is a great coverage long wearing foundation. I've worn it to family weddings and had it look amazing, and not fade after 12+ hours. As an everyday make up it is not ideal. It really needs a stronger face wash/make up remover to get off at night, and it is a little pore clogging. It does have a pretty heavy coverage, so you don't need to apply a lot of product. I use a dampened makeup sponge to apply. I'd definitely recommend this to acne-prone girls for special occasions or going out, but I find Tarte Smooth Operator to be better for everyday. I don't like such heavy coverage for day-to-day.


on 3/29/2011 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a great liquid foundation that provides even coverage that LASTS. I'm not kidding, this stuff stays put all day for me. From a more mature perspective, my mother likes this product because it covers wrinkles better than her powder foundation, which tends to settle in the creases around the eyes. I usually only stick to powder foundations so this was a new experience for me, but I'm certainly happy with it and would recommend it to anyone, especially for its very reasonable price.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It has taken me a while and four bottles to find the right shade, but I was determined to find a suitable match. I am approximately NC30, True Match W4 Natural Beige, Fit Me 220 (perfect match). I started with Fresh Beige in the Normal/Dry. It was a little too red. Moved on to Sand Beige in the Normal/Dry. Too light and had a gray cast. Read that Golden Beige (only available in Combo/Oily) was perfect for NC30, but it was too ashy-looking. So I moved on to Warm Golden (Combo/Oily only). Bingo! When I swatch it on my arm, it appears slightly peachy, but I think it works. I look better with this on than the Fit Me, which is a better shade match but an inferior formula. The Colorstay makes my skin glowy and flawless. Highly recommend if you can find the right shade.

UPDATE: Warm Golden oxidizes, so I now mix Golden Beige and Warm Golden approximately 50-50 in a tiny plastic jar (69 cents at Longs), and it staves off the oxidization. I dab on with a Q-Tip and buff with a flat-top foundation brush. Perfect! Make it work and it will reward you!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2011 5:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this! One of the best color matches I have had in a drugstore brand makeup. I am the color Toast in this product. I only bought it because I was matched up the other day for another product and the "lovely" woman matched me about 3 shades too dark for a 36 dollar foundation..My husband was calling me Snooki...REALLY! Needless to say I was not a happy camper. I ran out of my MAC NC44, so I needed something badly! This is great stuff. Covered a lot of my hyperpigmentation on its own. My hubby is happy with the drop in expense as well. I still have to see if it breaks me out, but so far I am loving this foundation!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this stuff covers blemishes really good! im never gonna use anything else. ive finally found the right foundation for me!


on 3/28/2011 5:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was definitely overrated. I was looking for something more affordable than what I was using and since this was being compared to MAC studio fix, I gave it a chance. It was quite a bit runnier, and didn't cover as much but it controlled the oilies fairly well. It just wasn't enough coverage for the hyperpigmentation on my cheeks though, so I went back to MAC.
It's pretty good for DS but I wouldn't compare it to Studio Fix at all.


on 3/27/2011 9:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product due to all the rave reviews on youtube etc.. I have combo skin, with an oily t-zone. I applied this foundation with a foundation brush and beauty blender...i looked as if i was wearing a mask! Super cakey, and did nothing for my pores or oily t-zone. i immediately went to return the product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2011 12:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After reading all the great reviews here, hearing the raves about this foundation on youtube and finding it on sale at Walgreens, I just had to try it. For only $7.99, I could not pass it up! I took a gamble and bought it in Buff hoping it would be a color match for my NC20-25 skin tone and it actually works. While this foundation does stay on and has a nice matte finish, the coverage is not as flawless as my MAC, Stila, Lorac, Laura Mercier, Lancome, and Paula Dorf foundations. Revlon lipsticks are as good or better than highend lipsticks, but I think it's worth it to spend more money on a highend foundation. For $7.99 though, I can't really complain.


on 3/26/2011 7:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is such a great foundation. Nice selection of colors too- (first I tried Buff which was a perfect match but washed me out too much than I purchased Sandy Beige which complemented my Italian skin better!.) This foundation blends well with a foundation brush but does dry fast. It is thick enough that I don't need to use a concealer now, (I have not awful but dark under eye areas!) I use Coty Airspun Translucent Extra Coverage to get a real velvet look to my skin. Being that it is on the thicker side of foundations I definitely suggest a good makeup remover.


Back to Top