Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4441 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 Elrania on 3/18/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Elrania

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation. I have severe acne scarring on my cheeks, and this have a decent amount of coverage. I apply it with my fingertips section by section and finish off with my mineral foundation on top. Lasts very long on the face.

I'm a scandinavian with slightly olive beige skin. (NC20) And Buff was a match made in heaven although it does oxidize a little on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wbwilliams1 on 3/17/2011 3:08:00 PM more reviews by wbwilliams1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I never wear foundation, but on a whim decided to jump on the bandwagon and get me some. I didn't want to spend a lot of money since I just wanted to try some out for kicks and giggles. After reading the reviews here I decided on Revlon Colorstay. I bought the normal-oily in Ivory 110. I was worried when the gals at Ulta told me to opt for the lightest color, but they were right! This stuff matches my face and neck perfectly, leaving zero line where the foundation ends and my natural uncovered neck begins. I wore the foundation the day I bought it to my niece's birthday party and my sister immediately asked me what I did to make my face look so glowing and perfect. I mean, she IMMEDIATELY noticed, and she asked me what I did to my face before she even said hi. This stuff makes my thirty year old face look 20 again. I love it. I'm now a convert to foundation, who'd have thought? Quick word of advice: the stuff isn't kidding when it says it'll last 16 hours. I always make certain to wash my face really well before bed at night. I haven't noticed any adverse effects on my complexion or acne since using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 3/17/2011 2:11:00 AM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ive used every flipping foundation ever made it seems, and I have to say I keep coming back to this. I hadent worn it in awhile, so I decided to wear it today. All I can say is WOW! I cant believe the way it makes my skin look. Perfectly matte, matches my skintone and stays on forever. I cannot live without this stuff! I dont know why I ever even try to wear or find something new. Im sticking with this for the long run = )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bbybreanna on 3/16/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by bbybreanna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

this is pretty much the only liquid foundation i actually like, and i tried alot of liquid foundations! this is my current foundation and im in love with it! it works as a concealer, and it covers up my pimples on my cheeks and forehead really good! you can barely even notice them! but if you wanna conceal dark circles under your eyes, it wont last that long :( the foundation lasts all day if you set it with a good powder (i use l'oreal trumatch) overall its the best drugstore foundation! revlon never disappoints me :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TMKipp on 3/16/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by TMKipp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I live in MN, so my skin is usually very dry for 4 months of the year. MAC is one of my favorite foundation lines, but their Pro Longwear just settled in the dry skin patches and created a pasty clown look. I went back for a new color and foundation brush, thinking this would help, but still the clown look. So I'm sticking with this cheap standby. I use the combination/oily skin version, and even that doesn't stick to my dry patches (when it's not winter, I have oily skin). I just apply this with my fingers - sometimes while I'm waiting at traffic lights in my car. It doesn't require much precision. I did like the MAC pump dispenser, though, so I miss that. This lasts all day, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephiegirl777 on 3/16/2011 12:55:00 AM more reviews by stephiegirl777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So let me start off by saying I usually HATE liquid foundation!!! I have been using MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation for years but as I'm "maturing" my skin is much dryer. So, I decided maybe it's time to start using a liquid foundation for a bit more moisture. After sleepless nights reading reviews and searching products, I decided to buy the Revlon Colorstay. Boy am I happy I did. I have light skin and I got it in the 150 buff and it matches perfectly! My skin looks like I'm not wearing anything and it's just flawless. Now I will say that I do occasionally have the blemish and when I tried it for the first time I just so happen to have one...It covers blemishes ok..but I just got a concealer brush and lightly dabbed it over it again and it worked pretty good. I wore it all day and it stays! My skin is dry as mentioned so I don't have a real problem with oily skin other than my nose but even that wasn't all that oily by the end of the day but the best part is it looked exactly as it did when I first applied it. Now, I have read some people complain about breaking out from this make up and here is why I think that happens..it is a tad difficult to wash off (being colorstay in all). You may feel like you got it all off but I doubt you have. I usually wash my face in the shower and then after I get out I go over my face again with a facial wipe..suprised what I still get off after washing my face. I can see how overtime this may cause people to get clogged pores and break out so just be sure to really clean your face at night. Overall it's a great product and I will be buying it again. Good luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shazzywazzywoo on 3/15/2011 8:12:00 PM more reviews by shazzywazzywoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

it was good but is made me break out so i wouldn't but it again but it was good coverage and it look good

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brookie15 on 3/15/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by Brookie15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

OMG!!! I can't believe I found this, it seems to be too good to be true. I have MUA to thank for it though, I am in LOVE! Okay, so this actually does what it says it does, it STAYS all day, no matter how many hours your at school/work. It goes on beautifully with a flat brush or sponge, buildable. I personally reccomend two layers though with a setting powder. Anyhow its still amazin by itself. Doesn't look cakey, doesn't cause breakouts and leavs an AMAZING finish, tell me about airbrushed (as long as you don't use your fingers but I don't reccomend that for any foundation) I was using a covergirl foundation that was eeeew and when I moved on to this I had 6 people (yes I kept track) ask me what foundation I was wearing, where to buy it cause they said it looked so gorgeous. Weird thinng about that is my makeup is never perfect looking cause I'm terrible at applying but this does all the work for you! Great color selection and can also work as a concealer (no kidding!) This is officially my HG!! Did I mention it doesn't look bad under flourescent lights? Or any light for that matter? Lovely makeup absolutely positive I will be repurchasin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CarlyCut on 3/14/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by CarlyCut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so the only reason why I've bought this foundation a few times is because of the Ivory 110 color. Oh yeah and it stays on my face for like a week. I have oily skin and this foundation tames the ding dang oils all day and it also covers up my red face and stays true to color all day, no oxidation. Ok so about the Ivory 110 color. If you're very fair skinned, this is bomb. The color isn't pink or yellow or orange, just perfectly neutral, and is the only foundation that actually matches the color of my neck haha. FYI I'm probably a NW15 in MAC, since I have their Pro Longwear foundation in NW20 and it's kinda dark orange on me.
But in the end I don't think this foundation is worth it. I mean it's cheaper than other long-wear foundations ($12 compared to $30 and up), but it seems to me like a lot of women have to really work for this foundation to apply normally. There are SO many tutorials out there about how to apply this stuff and it should really be as easy as using your fingers. But it's not. The damp sponge application technique makes Colorstay easier to blend, but I have to blend this stuff in super sheer layers over and over and the sponge soaks up the makeup, so I'm using more product, and in the end the foundation doesn't "melt" right into my skin. Instead, it clearly sits on top of it, forming tiny white dots all over my face, where it is attempting to fill in my pores. It's almost like a water mixed with oil effect- I can see the separation between my skin and the makeup, especially in natural light. The good thing though, is that this strange oil in water quality seems to go away once I've been wearing the foundation for a few hours. I would only wear this makeup at night because the lighting is obviously more forgiving and people are probably drunk enough not to notice, haha just kidding.
I guess my point is that I just don't understand why people want to spend a long time putting on their foundation, just because it's cheaper (but really in the end it's not cheaper, and the result isn't that awesome). Trust me, I'm not made of money, but I'd much rather spend around $30 on a foundation that I can apply in seconds flat, WITH MY FINGERS, and that melts into my skin, and feels and looks just incredible. No sponges, no brushes, no ridiculous techniques, no waste of product, and no gross face.
All in all, I give it 3 lil lips, because of the color selection, the extremely long wear, and that for some reason the foundation looks so much better once I've been wearing it for a few hours....but it should look that much better from the start!
Edit: I just thought I'd add, that I've been on Accutane twice so my acne should be pretty much eradicated, but Colorstay is the ONLY foundation that I've put on my face that will make my acne reappear, and on top of that it totally dulls my skin. So if you're really into this foundation, make sure you take EVERY trace of this stuff off before you go to bed or you're going to regret it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alizaren on 3/14/2011 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Alizaren

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is one foundation that does what is says! I have been using it for several months now and love it in hot and humid weather, as it does not fade / come off. It is easy on the pocket book, blends very well, and lasts all day/night until you take it off. To remove all of it you will need a good makeup remover though. The foundation looks much darker in the glass jar than it will on you, so be careful when selecting color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products