Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Discontinued and Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4431 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Jkeo22 on 3/14/2011 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Jkeo22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my HG! i bought this at target for 11.99 (kinda pricey for a drugstore brand) and i fell in love with this! i use sonia sashuk's multi purpose duo fiber brush to apply & blend. this gives me an airbrushed look, very matte. i love it! :) just be sure to remove this stuff with pond's cold cream or you will break out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jennihair on 3/14/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by jennihair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this stuff!! I've tried Elizabeth Arden, cover fx, boots, cover girl, bare essentials and this stuff is awesome. Goes on really light, doesn't feel like your wearing makeup. Iayers very easily and you can build a very high coverage and still look natural. Ive tried applying this with a sponge, stippling and foundation brushes but find it best applies with clean fingers. The heat helps it melt into the skin. And it lasts ALLLL day! I work all day and then swim 2-3 times a week and it lasts thru swimming!! No joke! You need a little extra makeup remover at nite to get it all off bit it's worth the all day wear. No scent, sturdy
package. Def HG in my books.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LEAHRS on 3/14/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by LEAHRS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I kind of liked this foundation, it wasnt bad..but it wasnt good. It made my face feel oily and kinda gross but most foundations do that to me anyway. It didnt make me break out. It doesnt have as good of coverage as i wanted it to, it made my acne and dry areas stand out rather then hid. it kind of looked shiny on my face, and the staying power was ok but not very good. it looked kinda cakey on my face

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 3/13/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this foundation because, like many others, I don't have the best skin. I'm a bit of a foundation snob, so I have high hopes. I went on MUA, and saw amazing reviews, so I made my way over to Target and got the lightest color.

I was incredibly surprised by the fact that it matched my skin tone. I'm incredibly pale, and most foundations are too light. And then, it oxidized. Into pink. But an orangey pink, and it was horrible.

So, I stuck it to the back of my vanity, and used other foundations. Eventually, I decided to give it another chance. Actually, MANY other chances.

I tried using it with a dry sponge, a wet sponge, my fingers, a stippling brush (MAC), and a foundation brush It dried badly. But the REAL kicker was when I stepped into the light, and saw what a TERRIBLE finish it had.

Never again. I only use this as an eyelid primer. Nothing more. Not worth $10.

EDIT: Ok, after using E.L.F's studio powder brush to stipple this on, I realize that it isn't that bad. The application WAS the cause of the bad finish. All other attempts at piling this stuff on resulted in very, very thick layers. Bumped up from 1 lippie, to 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xyogii on 3/13/2011 5:48:00 PM more reviews by xyogii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i didn't like this foundation at all! It has okay coverage, but it dries wayy too quickly and it's kinda watery. i hate the smell as well!! i am not going to buy this again, it was deff. a waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 twig117 on 3/13/2011 4:56:00 PM more reviews by twig117

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe it's just my skin, but Revlon foundations are just not suited for me. I tried Photoready, which was a disappointment, but I decided to give Revlon another shot and tried Colorstay, which had great reviews on MUA. My complaint with Colorstay is the same as Photoready - it just isn't made for yellow undertone girls! I tried one of the most yellow based foundations they had (Warm Golden) and it ended up having a very pink undertone on my face after thirty minutes. The coverage is good along with the staying power, but the foundation is just way too obvious on my skin and makes it look like a mask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkohli on 3/13/2011 10:18:00 AM more reviews by nikkohli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I am NW 20 and I use the combo/oily line in Sand Beige. I am on a constant lookout for a ds dupe for MUFE Mat Velvet +

The first time I tried this I just dotted on my skin and then blended with my hands and fingers. I was really bummed--it looked SO cakey and mask like. I didn't even wait to see how it lasted throughout the day....I just washed my face and went back to my MUFE. A MuA'er recommended I try it with a sponge and stipple. So after awhile I decided to give it a try. What a difference a wet sponge and stippling makes! This went on so smoothly and had such a nice finish--not matte but not dewy. Even as I built coverage, it didn't cake or sink into my pores but just left my skin looking perfect. I couldn't stop looking at my skin in my rearview on the way to work.

Last week I tried this with a beauty blender and the results were even better! I seriously looked airbrushed. I apply my primer and let it dry. Then I stipple the foundation on in sections (I do it in quarters) with my beauty blender and let it dry. Then I re-do. Two applications is seriously full coverage but not masky. I think 3 would be overkill but one would be ok....I just like the look of 2 layers for a long day at work.

Now for lasting quality--it does last all day with a blot and powder touchup. I notice it tends to get shinier near my nose where I am oiliest and can look a teeny bit cakey. I attribute that more to my touchup powder (still searching for the HG) than the foundation. But it doesn't transfer and I don't feel greasy--the coverage lasts all day. Even better-no breakouts!

This can be hard to remove--I massage jojoba oil into my face and then follow with a cleanser.

I don't like the bottle-wish it had pump-and it is a little expensive for ds, but given I was spending $40 on MUFE for every day wear this is much better. The drugstores often have sales so you can get it cheaper then. Definitely worth a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 megjane on 3/10/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by megjane

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

For reference I'm 150 Buff, combo skin more towards the dry side, occasional acne with some rosacea/redness.

I have a love/hate relationship with this foundation. I've been using it for about a year now and I will probably keep using it even though it has some big downsides. I don't really mind the packaging because I just give it a shake with my finger over the top of the opening and get a dab on my finger. I apply this foundation with my fingers since I find this warms it up and makes it look the least fake. The reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 is because of the really amazing coverage (full) and the staying power.

Pros:
-Long lasting even without primer
-Full coverage
-Good color match (very pale, yellowish rather than pink)
-Covers acne, redness and dark spots
-Matte finish

Cons;
-heavy feeling
-gets into my pores and is hard to clean off
-breaks me out a bit if I'm not very diligent about scrubbing it all off my skin
-GHOSTFACE in flash photographs
-not natural - it looks like I'm wearing foundation

This is my everyday foundation, with physician's formula powder applied on top. Still looking for something better...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 3/10/2011 1:19:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I brought this in Natural Tan in the Oily/Combination Skin. Have used it for about one month now, on and off for nights out. I like that it has little SPF, which makes it photo friendly, so you don't appear ghostly with flash of camera. It provides me with a medium to full coverage, covering redness, my dark circles and blemishes. I feel that I can skip concealer with this foundation. It's not something I would use for everyday, but use it for going out. It applies nice and smoothly and gives a matte finish when dried, but needed to work fast to blend it in. I use a foundation brush and it works fine. I hate the packaging. Wish they would put it into a pump form like the Photoready foundation. It would make life so much simpler, and would waste less product as it is about $40 NZD. This foundation really does stay put. After a big night out, my foundation stayed put. It didn't streak, run or oxidise on my face. My face was still semi-matte afterwards, but I did touch up on powder during the night. It was a pain to remove. Needed at least 3 makeup wipes to completely remove ALL the foundation. Luckily, it didn't break me out. I would repurchase this again as it is by far the best foundation I have used in terms of drugstore products. It's a bit pricey in NZ, but worth it in my opinion as one bottle of this will last me a decent amount of time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeaganW on 3/9/2011 9:56:00 PM more reviews by MeaganW

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I hated this product!!!! Now the concealer was actually very good and covered my dark circles amazingly. But oh my goodness. I put this foundation on at like 6:30 in the morning then go to school. It does okay with controlling oil, but not good enough. I was still very oily. I caught myself looking in the mirror a lot but I don't know how I missed this. Anyways, I get in my car at the end of the day and look in my mirror and my dear lord. My face is blotchy, oily and ugly. There were uneven patches all over my face and it was like the foundation just seeped downward, leaving orange to take its place. Orange was everwhere. I was embarrassed!!! So I took that thing back the second I realized how horrible it was. I will never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products