Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4443 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 angelicgirlangel on 3/19/2011 2:42:00 PM more reviews by angelicgirlangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with other viewers that the best way to apply this product is with a damp sponge. With brushes and hands, my face looked very cakey and dry. I got nude for combo/oily skin, which was too dark for my winter nc20 face so I would probably buy buff if I repurchased. I liked how this foundation controlled oil better than others that I tried, but I also wish it had a more natural/dewy finish. This is a good medium-coverage foundation, but I didn't it find it gave as full coverage as some other foundations because it needed a touch of concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyGooGoo on 3/19/2011 1:25:00 AM more reviews by NancyGooGoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So, I tested this in the shade of Toast all day today and I'm very satisfied with it. It's quite similar to my MAC Satinfinish in NW43 but minus the huge price. As a matter of fact, when I'm done with my MAC I'll be sticking with the Colorstay just so I can save a few duckets! The coverage is light to medium (even lighter than the MAC Satinfinish) which I love because I detest anything heavy on my face and it leaves a nice dewey finish that doesn't get mistaken for greasy. I actually powder it down with TWO powders - Avon's Personal Match Loose Powder in "Tan" (now discontinued) and on top of that, the Revlon Colorstay Mineralize Finishing Powder in "Suntan Matte". That's the kicker - the Suntan Matte! It leaves my skin looking flawless and I love that look. The dewiness of the foundation still comes through because with both powders I use a light hand but the finish is definitely my skin but MUCH better! This is a definite keeper for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elrania on 3/18/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Elrania

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation. I have severe acne scarring on my cheeks, and this have a decent amount of coverage. I apply it with my fingertips section by section and finish off with my mineral foundation on top. Lasts very long on the face.

I'm a scandinavian with slightly olive beige skin. (NC20) And Buff was a match made in heaven although it does oxidize a little on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wbwilliams1 on 3/17/2011 3:08:00 PM more reviews by wbwilliams1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I never wear foundation, but on a whim decided to jump on the bandwagon and get me some. I didn't want to spend a lot of money since I just wanted to try some out for kicks and giggles. After reading the reviews here I decided on Revlon Colorstay. I bought the normal-oily in Ivory 110. I was worried when the gals at Ulta told me to opt for the lightest color, but they were right! This stuff matches my face and neck perfectly, leaving zero line where the foundation ends and my natural uncovered neck begins. I wore the foundation the day I bought it to my niece's birthday party and my sister immediately asked me what I did to make my face look so glowing and perfect. I mean, she IMMEDIATELY noticed, and she asked me what I did to my face before she even said hi. This stuff makes my thirty year old face look 20 again. I love it. I'm now a convert to foundation, who'd have thought? Quick word of advice: the stuff isn't kidding when it says it'll last 16 hours. I always make certain to wash my face really well before bed at night. I haven't noticed any adverse effects on my complexion or acne since using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 3/17/2011 2:11:00 AM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ive used every flipping foundation ever made it seems, and I have to say I keep coming back to this. I hadent worn it in awhile, so I decided to wear it today. All I can say is WOW! I cant believe the way it makes my skin look. Perfectly matte, matches my skintone and stays on forever. I cannot live without this stuff! I dont know why I ever even try to wear or find something new. Im sticking with this for the long run = )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bbybreanna on 3/16/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by bbybreanna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

this is pretty much the only liquid foundation i actually like, and i tried alot of liquid foundations! this is my current foundation and im in love with it! it works as a concealer, and it covers up my pimples on my cheeks and forehead really good! you can barely even notice them! but if you wanna conceal dark circles under your eyes, it wont last that long :( the foundation lasts all day if you set it with a good powder (i use l'oreal trumatch) overall its the best drugstore foundation! revlon never disappoints me :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TMKipp on 3/16/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by TMKipp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I live in MN, so my skin is usually very dry for 4 months of the year. MAC is one of my favorite foundation lines, but their Pro Longwear just settled in the dry skin patches and created a pasty clown look. I went back for a new color and foundation brush, thinking this would help, but still the clown look. So I'm sticking with this cheap standby. I use the combination/oily skin version, and even that doesn't stick to my dry patches (when it's not winter, I have oily skin). I just apply this with my fingers - sometimes while I'm waiting at traffic lights in my car. It doesn't require much precision. I did like the MAC pump dispenser, though, so I miss that. This lasts all day, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephiegirl777 on 3/16/2011 12:55:00 AM more reviews by stephiegirl777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So let me start off by saying I usually HATE liquid foundation!!! I have been using MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation for years but as I'm "maturing" my skin is much dryer. So, I decided maybe it's time to start using a liquid foundation for a bit more moisture. After sleepless nights reading reviews and searching products, I decided to buy the Revlon Colorstay. Boy am I happy I did. I have light skin and I got it in the 150 buff and it matches perfectly! My skin looks like I'm not wearing anything and it's just flawless. Now I will say that I do occasionally have the blemish and when I tried it for the first time I just so happen to have one...It covers blemishes ok..but I just got a concealer brush and lightly dabbed it over it again and it worked pretty good. I wore it all day and it stays! My skin is dry as mentioned so I don't have a real problem with oily skin other than my nose but even that wasn't all that oily by the end of the day but the best part is it looked exactly as it did when I first applied it. Now, I have read some people complain about breaking out from this make up and here is why I think that happens..it is a tad difficult to wash off (being colorstay in all). You may feel like you got it all off but I doubt you have. I usually wash my face in the shower and then after I get out I go over my face again with a facial wipe..suprised what I still get off after washing my face. I can see how overtime this may cause people to get clogged pores and break out so just be sure to really clean your face at night. Overall it's a great product and I will be buying it again. Good luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shazzywazzywoo on 3/15/2011 8:12:00 PM more reviews by shazzywazzywoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

it was good but is made me break out so i wouldn't but it again but it was good coverage and it look good

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brookie15 on 3/15/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by Brookie15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

OMG!!! I can't believe I found this, it seems to be too good to be true. I have MUA to thank for it though, I am in LOVE! Okay, so this actually does what it says it does, it STAYS all day, no matter how many hours your at school/work. It goes on beautifully with a flat brush or sponge, buildable. I personally reccomend two layers though with a setting powder. Anyhow its still amazin by itself. Doesn't look cakey, doesn't cause breakouts and leavs an AMAZING finish, tell me about airbrushed (as long as you don't use your fingers but I don't reccomend that for any foundation) I was using a covergirl foundation that was eeeew and when I moved on to this I had 6 people (yes I kept track) ask me what foundation I was wearing, where to buy it cause they said it looked so gorgeous. Weird thinng about that is my makeup is never perfect looking cause I'm terrible at applying but this does all the work for you! Great color selection and can also work as a concealer (no kidding!) This is officially my HG!! Did I mention it doesn't look bad under flourescent lights? Or any light for that matter? Lovely makeup absolutely positive I will be repurchasin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products