Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4460 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 1 of 5 yesseniar65 on 3/27/2011 9:07:00 PM more reviews by yesseniar65

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product due to all the rave reviews on youtube etc.. I have combo skin, with an oily t-zone. I applied this foundation with a foundation brush and beauty blender...i looked as if i was wearing a mask! Super cakey, and did nothing for my pores or oily t-zone. i immediately went to return the product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 3/27/2011 12:20:00 PM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After reading all the great reviews here, hearing the raves about this foundation on youtube and finding it on sale at Walgreens, I just had to try it. For only $7.99, I could not pass it up! I took a gamble and bought it in Buff hoping it would be a color match for my NC20-25 skin tone and it actually works. While this foundation does stay on and has a nice matte finish, the coverage is not as flawless as my MAC, Stila, Lorac, Laura Mercier, Lancome, and Paula Dorf foundations. Revlon lipsticks are as good or better than highend lipsticks, but I think it's worth it to spend more money on a highend foundation. For $7.99 though, I can't really complain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginadestra on 3/26/2011 7:34:00 PM more reviews by ginadestra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a great foundation. Nice selection of colors too- (first I tried Buff which was a perfect match but washed me out too much than I purchased Sandy Beige which complemented my Italian skin better!.) This foundation blends well with a foundation brush but does dry fast. It is thick enough that I don't need to use a concealer now, (I have not awful but dark under eye areas!) I use Coty Airspun Translucent Extra Coverage to get a real velvet look to my skin. Being that it is on the thicker side of foundations I definitely suggest a good makeup remover.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxstrzxx on 3/26/2011 6:30:00 PM more reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After trying almost every foundation out there, drugstore and high end, I have noticed that this works best for my oily skin. I have 13 hour school days and extremely oily skin, and I've noticed this is the only foundation that actually lasts all day. I do have to blot like twice daily but the staying power is amazing. I purchase the oily skin formula in the color warm golden and it is a close enough match for my NC35 skintone. This is my go to foundation for daily use :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 30oldbagbeauty on 3/26/2011 1:28:00 PM more reviews by 30oldbagbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So relieved to find this foundation. After my heartbreak over SDM discontinuing my all time fave foundation (Boots Lifting and Firming), I've decided to try what is available. I was contemplating on getting this, the photo ready, L'Oreal True match or Maybelline Fit me. But after watching several Youtube reviews. I decided to get this even if this was the priciest of all the foundations that I am considering. I'm so glad I grabbed this. I just need light coverage, light weight, stays on all day and minimal oxidation. This foundation meets that and more. The coverage is actuallyy medium to full, so when and if ever I need a full coverage then I can just build this foundation onto my skin. I apply this with a damp sponge so that I don't have a problem of blending this into my skin. I also only apply a light layer therefore feels light weight. Stays all day and true to the color. This also has SPF which is always a bonus. Now if you have a problem because of the "tip and pour" spout instead of a pump then just transfer the product to an empty foundation bottle with a pump if you have any (that's what I did and it works great....Mind you to clean the bottle thoroughly first and let it dry before transferring the product). SO all in all, I love this foundation and I highly recommend this if you are in the market for a good drugstore foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apriltiffany on 3/26/2011 10:44:00 AM more reviews by apriltiffany

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the best drugstore foundation I have tried. It's also the only foundation that I can find a color that matches perfectly. I'm extremely pale, and I use the lightest shade available. It blends well, but sets fast. It's buildable. I've repurchased many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xjessicawabbit on 3/25/2011 7:24:00 PM more reviews by xjessicawabbit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is quite possibly the best drugstore liquid foundation out there. I use the oily skin formula, and I must say I have no problems whatsoever with the application or blending of the product. I apply all over with one of those triangular makeup sponges that you get at the drugstore. I make sure that the sponge is slightly damp prior to application, because it allows for much easier, smoother, and more even blending. I find that this foundation really does last all day long, and it gives great full coverage, for those of you who, like me, have problematic skin. I don't even need any kind of concealer with this.

I took off a Lippy because of the packaging, which is just gross. I hate that you have to pour it out, which risks waste of product.We are not cavemen. It would definitely be a 5-Lippy product had it been manufactured with a pump. Also, there is a tad bit of transfer, but nothing like the Mac SFF. Awesome product for the price. I will always repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 deviousisland on 3/25/2011 10:39:00 AM more reviews by deviousisland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The colour match is good, at least for me. I used the lightest shade available (110 Ivory) and it was was spot on.

I have dry skin, so I went for the Normal/Dry formula, which I thought was a clever idea from Revlon. That is, until I tried it. As it is a dry-skin formula, the product is designed to set, thereby omitting the need to powder over top. A good idea in theory, but not so much in practice. The product sets very quickly, so you do not get enough time to blend it out. It ended up sitting around the edge of my face like a mask, because I am not a makeup artist and didn't work quick enough.

Once it has set, it feels very heavy and slightly uncomfortable. The coverage is okay, nothing superb. If you have blemishes you will need to conceal over top.

I tried wearing this for a week straight, just to see if I could get used to it, or find a way to make it work. I tried flat brushes, buffer brushes, my fingers, dry & damp sponges - you name it, I tried it. Nothing worked.

If you're after a good drugstore foundation, try L'Oreal True Match or Infallible. Both are much better than this, and cheaper too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionamimi on 3/25/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by fionamimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been through 5 of these bottles. As you would know, it's exactly like the Studio Fix, but I've heard from people that this formula doesn't make people break out like MAC's does.

CVS and Walgreen's has buy one get one free, or 50% off on the second one. So for the price of one Studio Fix, you can get two Color Stay's. The only thing I don't like is the no pump situation b/c it makes it messy.

Coverage and wear is amazing. I love how there's two different formulas.. and the undertones of the foundations. Extra plus for color selection, they did really good on this one, I hope there's more! :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 5633lcarpo on 3/23/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by 5633lcarpo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Background Info : I am NC 40 - 45 in MAC, I have oily / combination skin, I use Loreal 360 degrees deep exfoliating scrub and olay complete moisturizer with spf 15 , The products I use include MAC Matte Creme, ( could affect results of foundation ), Coastal Scents Camo Quad in Medium, I set it with either Ben nye Transluscent Powder ( White ) or MAC studio careblend pressed in medium dark . Now about the foundation :)

This foundation is by far the best d/s product of all time . the product leans more towards the oily girls out there :) it gives great coverage lasts the whole day and its so smooth . It does feel a bit heavy but after setting it with my pressed powder ^^ I love the way it feels . I have not noticed that it clogs my pores but I do suggest anyone who uses this needs makeup remover wipes and a good exfoliator due to the foundation clogging the pores . overall a definite hg product for me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products