Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionamimi on 3/25/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by fionamimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been through 5 of these bottles. As you would know, it's exactly like the Studio Fix, but I've heard from people that this formula doesn't make people break out like MAC's does.

CVS and Walgreen's has buy one get one free, or 50% off on the second one. So for the price of one Studio Fix, you can get two Color Stay's. The only thing I don't like is the no pump situation b/c it makes it messy.

Coverage and wear is amazing. I love how there's two different formulas.. and the undertones of the foundations. Extra plus for color selection, they did really good on this one, I hope there's more! :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 5633lcarpo on 3/23/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by 5633lcarpo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Background Info : I am NC 40 - 45 in MAC, I have oily / combination skin, I use Loreal 360 degrees deep exfoliating scrub and olay complete moisturizer with spf 15 , The products I use include MAC Matte Creme, ( could affect results of foundation ), Coastal Scents Camo Quad in Medium, I set it with either Ben nye Transluscent Powder ( White ) or MAC studio careblend pressed in medium dark . Now about the foundation :)

This foundation is by far the best d/s product of all time . the product leans more towards the oily girls out there :) it gives great coverage lasts the whole day and its so smooth . It does feel a bit heavy but after setting it with my pressed powder ^^ I love the way it feels . I have not noticed that it clogs my pores but I do suggest anyone who uses this needs makeup remover wipes and a good exfoliator due to the foundation clogging the pores . overall a definite hg product for me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liziloco on 3/23/2011 10:13:00 AM more reviews by liziloco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very reliable product with medium, buildable coverage. Stays out. Feels comfortable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 QweenB on 3/22/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by QweenB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this based on the reviews and re-purchase feedback for my specific skin type found on this site. I have been using it for a week and am suitably impressed. I went into priceline and was surprised to find one of the varieties in a pump bottle as the reviews of the bottle were the only thing that put me off. I tried on a few varieties and wasnt overly impressed so I found a tester of a primer and put this on first and it looked a bit better but not fantastic. So I found a tester of a finishing powder and dusted that on and can say I was impressed enough to buy.
The price is high-ish for a chemist brand but still significantly cheaper than my mineral make up which I had stopped loving so I was happy to buy. I also purchased a sea sponge for application.
After using mineral make up for three years it felt a little heavy but I am getting used to that, by wetting my sponge and wringing it out before application I found that it doesnt dry out too fast and I can get even application without having to rush. I continue to use a primer and finishing powder at home.
I am happy to say that the stuff lives up to its name - it really doesnt move. It lives up to its name so much infact that it is hard to remove (I have been using minerals remember and they come off super easy) but I have just purchased a clarisonic which will combat this.
Oh, and as a person with sensitive skin that breaks out easily, I am happy to say that this make up has not broken me out at all! On a side note though, what I have discovered is that dairy breaks me out even after just a tiny bit so I dont eat it anymore and have had significant improvement. Cows milk is for baby cows not humans and it is full of hormones! Best of luck!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jonra13 on 3/22/2011 2:51:00 PM more reviews by jonra13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation in Buff for normal to dry skin. Great foundation! My favorite. It has good coverage-covers pimples. It is comfortable, and it doesn't wipe off on clothes or when you touch your face. It's very natural looking. I already have repurchased. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a foundation that covers well, and doesn't require powder in order to stay. I just wish it had a pump.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 voodoochilde on 3/21/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by voodoochilde

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I actually used this for three or four years simply because I thought it was the end-all be-all of foundations. At that time, I was pretty ignorant about what kinds of foundations are out there. It did stay on there and was very hard to remove, which is why I'm giving it a three.

One of my friends finally convinced me to give another foundation a try (I have used several since, so I don't remember which one it was). When I showed up at college the next day, my (male) professor said, "Wow, your makeup looks really different today. You need to stick with whatever you changed because you aren't mask-like." Hmmmmm. It doesn't really matter how good a foundation stays on if it looks terrible. It accentuated my large pores and, near the end of the day, oxidized.

Of course, this is my personal experience with it, and I understand that many others have loved it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 3/21/2011 6:07:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: I definately do not like this stuff, my skin might be too oily or something but it just slides right off mid day and it is breaking me out, or at least making all my pre existing zits come to a head. Too bad. So many good reviews...


I wish they had an undecided button for the buy it again tab. I know it is soo early in the game to write a review but I feel like I have to give my 2 cents on the first impression.


I chose Ivory, which I think might be too light for me, it matches my neck perfectly but my face, I do look like a ghost. Nothing that good ol bronzer can't fix lol. I was afraid to go to the next one up, because I hate when you can clearly see the foundation on my neck.


I can see why the bottle is so frusterating for some, you really have to shake it hard for it to come out. The pump would be preferable.


And now to the wear, okay so this reminds me soo much of Neutrogena skin clearing makeup or Almay clearskin makeup, the smell is almost the exact same. I think that it wears differently, I get sort of a light-medium coverage when I apply, and because this foundation has a lot of silicone in it, it accentuates my acne, fine lines, dry patches etc. I assume its the silicone, only because every time I use a foundation with any sort of cone, I feel like it magnifies every imperfection. Coincidence? I don't know. I think those who really love this stuff have perfect skin to begin with, and only need a small amount for coverage. Anyway...


I got the oily skin one and it doesn't work very well in preventing oil and staying matte. It blends okay but you can kind of see where you blend because of how it dries, it doesn't dry too fast but there is some sort of finish I can't describe that happens when you blend.


I think this stuff is going to break me out, I already feel a small zit looming and it will probably surface by the time the day is over. So as far as day 1 goes, I am undecided, maybe I have to play with it a little longer until I totally trash it. I will definately update.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luffkristyn on 3/21/2011 2:22:00 AM more reviews by luffkristyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product would be the best drugstore foundation... if only it had a pump! It has good staying power, and it did not accentuate my dry skin (I bought the dry/normal). I think it looked great indoors, but under flourescent lights or outside, it looked orange and cakey. I use 150 Buff, and Ivory was way too light and pink for me. It is definitely full coverage, but not very build able. It dries quickly, so I usually applied it in sections with a sponge in a dabbing motion. I keep it as a back up just in case, but I probably won't go back to it for every day foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bribri314 on 3/20/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by bribri314

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

mehhhh... i wanted to like this product so bad!! i read the reviews multiple times, ive used it once for dance and it was perfect then since it was 2 shades darker then my skin tone so i looked good on stage but when i bought it for everday it was just so... pink. i got the lightest shade and in the bottle it looked decent and i got pretty excited thinking, "wow, a drugstore foundation that dosent have any strange undertones" but i was wrong. i never realized it until today when it was a super sunny day and i looked in the mirror and i saw that i looked like all the other girls at my school with orange faces! it was cakey and awful and pink... just a bad experience. not buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaCate007 on 3/20/2011 10:19:00 AM more reviews by AnnaCate007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have major acne scarring from years of bad acne. While my breakouts have disappeared thanks to my derm the scars are gunna take a while to fade. I tried just about every drugstore foundation out there and a few high end ones. This is my favorite for sure. I have been using it for about a year now and I have bought probably 6 bottles. I am super pale in the winter but I tan very easily in the summer, so i bought a few shades so I could mix them to get my perfect shade all year round no matter my skin tone. This covers my acne scarring fairly well. I still need some concealor on my cheeks where the scarring is very bad, but i can get away with just foundation everywhere else, something i haven't been able to do ever. I work 12 to 16 hour shifts at a hospital and this stuff literally looks just as good at 6 am when i put it on as 7 pm when i leave. It stays fairly matte for about 4 hours on me, but i have CRAZY oily skin. Other foundations stayed matte for literally about half an hour on me. The price can't be beat, especially when you can find it on buy one get one half off. I REALLY wish it had a pump though. I feel like i waste a lot of product trying to pour it out on a sponge or brush. And it does dry quick, so work with small sections at a time and blend blend blend. I have noticed some oxidization in a few shades that can tend to be slightly orangey. I really don't think i will ever buy another foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products