Revlon ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

3.8

4470 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (7.3%) Inactive Ingredients: Aqua/Water (Water), Cyclomethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, SD Alcohol 40B, PEG/PPG 18/18 Dimethicone, Nylon 12, Tribehenin, Isododecane, Polyisobutene, Sodium Chloride, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Bisabolol, Serica (Silk Powder), Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Malva Sylvestris Flower Extract (Mallow), Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract (Lily), Lactobacillus/Eridictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Alumina, Polydimethylsiloxane/Polymethysilesquioxane Copolymer, Ethylene Brassylate, Methicone, Trisiloxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499)


on 3/30/2011 8:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been having problems with my current foundation since my skin suddenly decided to go into overdrive and produce oil like crazy. I bought the oily skin formula and it's better at controlling oil than Vichy and bare minerals. It is very thick and quick drying which is problematic during application. I combine this with BB cream (for its healing benefits) in half and half and then apply with a wet sponge. Like many others, the container isn't very sanitary or practical: you could end up with way too much.



on 3/30/2011 3:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this foundation! I get so many compliments when I wear this! My skin looks flawless. I used Caramel and I am NC45 (so the people at MAC say). I have seen YT videos on how great this foundation is, which is what prompted me to also give it a try. It is longwearing and does not cake up or look "fake" on your face.

I took one lippie off only because I do not like the packaging. I wish this came in a pump. I have read from other reviewers that they simply purchased a pump top that could be used with the bottle. I think I will try that eventually.

Price was around $10.


on 3/30/2011 2:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So okay..I got color stay to just see and use it...


I tried it, It looks very natural on the skin! and it's nice...But to me it feels very sticky and sorta in a way like sweat on my face..I didn't put much on.

I have mild acne bumps...So wearing foundation or persay this one was trouble because it does cause cakeness. But you can expect that in most foundations...I have yet to truly find one besides Make up forevers. anyways it made my acne look worse..and packed...because of the sticky feeling...If you put a translucent powder over it...It might help a bit that's one suggestion..I would suggest this for people with smooth clear skin to be honest.


Otherwise it's very good...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2011 10:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

My current HG foundation. Comes about as close to my uber pale skin as I can expect, covers great, and while not the cheapest foundation out there.....not even close to the most expensive. I use a stippling blush and my skin looks almost flawless. Again, a pump would have been great but all in all one of the best foundations out there...high or low end.


on 3/29/2011 5:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

First of all, if you are saying this is cakey and you have dry skin you NEED, NEED to moisturize a few minutes before with a THICK hydrating moisturizer, but that goes for anyone with dry skin. My skin is basically the sahara desert and this foundation has been the source of far more compliments than my $60 Giorgio Armani foundation (which I despise). If you moisturize and use a SMALL amount it will not cake. It is medium to full coverage ladies you do not need a lot!!! And yes, it dries kind of quickly, which means yes, you have to alter your routine a bit. Do only one part or side of your face at a time. I do my chin, jaw first, blend, then nose/under eyes, blend. Then my forehead. It takes all of three minutes.

Also something to note is people complain of this not helping their acne or not covering their acne. I understand that not every foundation will work for everyone, but if you have severe acne as some people are claiming they do, liquid foundation is not the answer, especially a moderate coverage one, it will only draw attention to it. This is not a skin care product!

All of that being said, the coverage is good if you use the right amount, the color match is flawless (I am Buff) and I own 3 department store foundations all of which cost more than $40 and this is right up there with my favorites. Thumbs way up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2011 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Like others have commented, it does have a bit of a paint-like smell in the bottle, but it doesn't smell once applied.
I'm also very happy that I could find a long wearing makeup--I'm a NW15 so there are very few drugstore foundations, or even higher end foundations that match my skin tone, without looking orangey or fake.
This is a great coverage long wearing foundation. I've worn it to family weddings and had it look amazing, and not fade after 12+ hours. As an everyday make up it is not ideal. It really needs a stronger face wash/make up remover to get off at night, and it is a little pore clogging. It does have a pretty heavy coverage, so you don't need to apply a lot of product. I use a dampened makeup sponge to apply. I'd definitely recommend this to acne-prone girls for special occasions or going out, but I find Tarte Smooth Operator to be better for everyday. I don't like such heavy coverage for day-to-day.


on 3/29/2011 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a great liquid foundation that provides even coverage that LASTS. I'm not kidding, this stuff stays put all day for me. From a more mature perspective, my mother likes this product because it covers wrinkles better than her powder foundation, which tends to settle in the creases around the eyes. I usually only stick to powder foundations so this was a new experience for me, but I'm certainly happy with it and would recommend it to anyone, especially for its very reasonable price.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It has taken me a while and four bottles to find the right shade, but I was determined to find a suitable match. I am approximately NC30, True Match W4 Natural Beige, Fit Me 220 (perfect match). I started with Fresh Beige in the Normal/Dry. It was a little too red. Moved on to Sand Beige in the Normal/Dry. Too light and had a gray cast. Read that Golden Beige (only available in Combo/Oily) was perfect for NC30, but it was too ashy-looking. So I moved on to Warm Golden (Combo/Oily only). Bingo! When I swatch it on my arm, it appears slightly peachy, but I think it works. I look better with this on than the Fit Me, which is a better shade match but an inferior formula. The Colorstay makes my skin glowy and flawless. Highly recommend if you can find the right shade.

UPDATE: Warm Golden oxidizes, so I now mix Golden Beige and Warm Golden approximately 50-50 in a tiny plastic jar (69 cents at Longs), and it staves off the oxidization. I dab on with a Q-Tip and buff with a flat-top foundation brush. Perfect! Make it work and it will reward you!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2011 5:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this! One of the best color matches I have had in a drugstore brand makeup. I am the color Toast in this product. I only bought it because I was matched up the other day for another product and the "lovely" woman matched me about 3 shades too dark for a 36 dollar foundation..My husband was calling me Snooki...REALLY! Needless to say I was not a happy camper. I ran out of my MAC NC44, so I needed something badly! This is great stuff. Covered a lot of my hyperpigmentation on its own. My hubby is happy with the drop in expense as well. I still have to see if it breaks me out, but so far I am loving this foundation!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this stuff covers blemishes really good! im never gonna use anything else. ive finally found the right foundation for me!


Back to Top