Revlon • ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013] • Liquid

rated 3.8(4434 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 Brookie15 on 3/15/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by Brookie15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

OMG!!! I can't believe I found this, it seems to be too good to be true. I have MUA to thank for it though, I am in LOVE! Okay, so this actually does what it says it does, it STAYS all day, no matter how many hours your at school/work. It goes on beautifully with a flat brush or sponge, buildable. I personally reccomend two layers though with a setting powder. Anyhow its still amazin by itself. Doesn't look cakey, doesn't cause breakouts and leavs an AMAZING finish, tell me about airbrushed (as long as you don't use your fingers but I don't reccomend that for any foundation) I was using a covergirl foundation that was eeeew and when I moved on to this I had 6 people (yes I kept track) ask me what foundation I was wearing, where to buy it cause they said it looked so gorgeous. Weird thinng about that is my makeup is never perfect looking cause I'm terrible at applying but this does all the work for you! Great color selection and can also work as a concealer (no kidding!) This is officially my HG!! Did I mention it doesn't look bad under flourescent lights? Or any light for that matter? Lovely makeup absolutely positive I will be repurchasin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CarlyCut on 3/14/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by CarlyCut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so the only reason why I've bought this foundation a few times is because of the Ivory 110 color. Oh yeah and it stays on my face for like a week. I have oily skin and this foundation tames the ding dang oils all day and it also covers up my red face and stays true to color all day, no oxidation. Ok so about the Ivory 110 color. If you're very fair skinned, this is bomb. The color isn't pink or yellow or orange, just perfectly neutral, and is the only foundation that actually matches the color of my neck haha. FYI I'm probably a NW15 in MAC, since I have their Pro Longwear foundation in NW20 and it's kinda dark orange on me.
But in the end I don't think this foundation is worth it. I mean it's cheaper than other long-wear foundations ($12 compared to $30 and up), but it seems to me like a lot of women have to really work for this foundation to apply normally. There are SO many tutorials out there about how to apply this stuff and it should really be as easy as using your fingers. But it's not. The damp sponge application technique makes Colorstay easier to blend, but I have to blend this stuff in super sheer layers over and over and the sponge soaks up the makeup, so I'm using more product, and in the end the foundation doesn't "melt" right into my skin. Instead, it clearly sits on top of it, forming tiny white dots all over my face, where it is attempting to fill in my pores. It's almost like a water mixed with oil effect- I can see the separation between my skin and the makeup, especially in natural light. The good thing though, is that this strange oil in water quality seems to go away once I've been wearing the foundation for a few hours. I would only wear this makeup at night because the lighting is obviously more forgiving and people are probably drunk enough not to notice, haha just kidding.
I guess my point is that I just don't understand why people want to spend a long time putting on their foundation, just because it's cheaper (but really in the end it's not cheaper, and the result isn't that awesome). Trust me, I'm not made of money, but I'd much rather spend around $30 on a foundation that I can apply in seconds flat, WITH MY FINGERS, and that melts into my skin, and feels and looks just incredible. No sponges, no brushes, no ridiculous techniques, no waste of product, and no gross face.
All in all, I give it 3 lil lips, because of the color selection, the extremely long wear, and that for some reason the foundation looks so much better once I've been wearing it for a few hours....but it should look that much better from the start!
Edit: I just thought I'd add, that I've been on Accutane twice so my acne should be pretty much eradicated, but Colorstay is the ONLY foundation that I've put on my face that will make my acne reappear, and on top of that it totally dulls my skin. So if you're really into this foundation, make sure you take EVERY trace of this stuff off before you go to bed or you're going to regret it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alizaren on 3/14/2011 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Alizaren

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is one foundation that does what is says! I have been using it for several months now and love it in hot and humid weather, as it does not fade / come off. It is easy on the pocket book, blends very well, and lasts all day/night until you take it off. To remove all of it you will need a good makeup remover though. The foundation looks much darker in the glass jar than it will on you, so be careful when selecting color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AliciaHT on 3/14/2011 10:38:00 AM more reviews by AliciaHT

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use Revlon Colourstay for Oily/Combination skin. Considering that this is a high street/drugstore, foundation it has impressive coverage and staying power, although I don't think it's quite 'Holy Grail' material!


I have combination skin with a very uneven skintone, a lot of redness and quite a few blemishes so I've been hunting for a good value, fuller coverage foundation that doesn't slide off after a couple of hours for a long time!


Colourstay gives medium to full coverage. It doesn't make my skin look flawless but it evens out my skintone and conceals minor blemishes well. The '16 hour' wear claims are a little far fetched but this is the longest lasting high street foundation I've ever tried; perhaps 6-8 hours is a bit more realistic!


I apply using a foundation brush (MAC 190) and never find it to look 'cakey'. However, it is quite thick so not for those ladies who prefer lightweight/sheer/natural make-up! Despite using the Oily/Combination skin version, it doesn't dry matt so I always finish with a dusting of loose powder.


The only thing I really dislike about Colourstay is the packaging, although the glass bottle is smart, I wish it had a pump applicator! I hate having to tip it out onto my brush as I find that it can be messy and there can be wastage. I bought a MAC pump in the hope that it would fit but unfortunately it didn't so I've decanted it into a little pump bottle I bought on Ebay.


As Colourstay has a relatively thick consistency and is long-lasting, your cleansing has to be somewhat vigourous! When I've worn it, I usually use a face wipe, then make-up remover on a cotton-wool pad, before cleansing as normal.


So, to summarise, if you want a medium to full coverage but can't afford Estee Lauder Double Wear or such like, give Colourstay a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jkeo22 on 3/14/2011 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Jkeo22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is my HG! i bought this at target for 11.99 (kinda pricey for a drugstore brand) and i fell in love with this! i use sonia sashuk's multi purpose duo fiber brush to apply & blend. this gives me an airbrushed look, very matte. i love it! :) just be sure to remove this stuff with pond's cold cream or you will break out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jennihair on 3/14/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by jennihair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this stuff!! I've tried Elizabeth Arden, cover fx, boots, cover girl, bare essentials and this stuff is awesome. Goes on really light, doesn't feel like your wearing makeup. Iayers very easily and you can build a very high coverage and still look natural. Ive tried applying this with a sponge, stippling and foundation brushes but find it best applies with clean fingers. The heat helps it melt into the skin. And it lasts ALLLL day! I work all day and then swim 2-3 times a week and it lasts thru swimming!! No joke! You need a little extra makeup remover at nite to get it all off bit it's worth the all day wear. No scent, sturdy
package. Def HG in my books.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LEAHRS on 3/14/2011 12:54:00 AM more reviews by LEAHRS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I kind of liked this foundation, it wasnt bad..but it wasnt good. It made my face feel oily and kinda gross but most foundations do that to me anyway. It didnt make me break out. It doesnt have as good of coverage as i wanted it to, it made my acne and dry areas stand out rather then hid. it kind of looked shiny on my face, and the staying power was ok but not very good. it looked kinda cakey on my face

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 3/13/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this foundation because, like many others, I don't have the best skin. I'm a bit of a foundation snob, so I have high hopes. I went on MUA, and saw amazing reviews, so I made my way over to Target and got the lightest color.

I was incredibly surprised by the fact that it matched my skin tone. I'm incredibly pale, and most foundations are too light. And then, it oxidized. Into pink. But an orangey pink, and it was horrible.

So, I stuck it to the back of my vanity, and used other foundations. Eventually, I decided to give it another chance. Actually, MANY other chances.

I tried using it with a dry sponge, a wet sponge, my fingers, a stippling brush (MAC), and a foundation brush It dried badly. But the REAL kicker was when I stepped into the light, and saw what a TERRIBLE finish it had.

Never again. I only use this as an eyelid primer. Nothing more. Not worth $10.

EDIT: Ok, after using E.L.F's studio powder brush to stipple this on, I realize that it isn't that bad. The application WAS the cause of the bad finish. All other attempts at piling this stuff on resulted in very, very thick layers. Bumped up from 1 lippie, to 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xyogii on 3/13/2011 5:48:00 PM more reviews by xyogii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i didn't like this foundation at all! It has okay coverage, but it dries wayy too quickly and it's kinda watery. i hate the smell as well!! i am not going to buy this again, it was deff. a waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 twig117 on 3/13/2011 4:56:00 PM more reviews by twig117

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe it's just my skin, but Revlon foundations are just not suited for me. I tried Photoready, which was a disappointment, but I decided to give Revlon another shot and tried Colorstay, which had great reviews on MUA. My complaint with Colorstay is the same as Photoready - it just isn't made for yellow undertone girls! I tried one of the most yellow based foundations they had (Warm Golden) and it ended up having a very pink undertone on my face after thirty minutes. The coverage is good along with the staying power, but the foundation is just way too obvious on my skin and makes it look like a mask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products