Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2201 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanyav on 6/9/2010 12:34:00 PM more reviews by sanyav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really liked this masacra from the first time I applied it - the applicator is curved which really helps pick up and shape eyelashes. And I looove wet formulas - they are much smoother to apply and don't flake as much as dry. This has officially replaced my Rimmel Max (pink tube) as my go-to #1 mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimk on 6/9/2010 11:15:00 AM more reviews by kimk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Have been using this for about a week, and I don't like it. It is, like many have said, very wet, and it sticks my lashes together. I get zero volume with this, and it really doesn't do much lengthening either. SO disappointed in this... I'm going to keep trying it to see if it's better once it dries out a bit - many times that helps a mascara a lot, but right now, it's a loser.

I don't mind the curved brush - those have been around for a long time. L'Oreal had one years and years before this; they just take some getting used to. I prefer straight but this isn't hideously awkward. Doesn't make the product any better - it's just not a problem for me. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shamcd on 6/9/2010 11:08:00 AM more reviews by shamcd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

WTF is up with the weird brush? A spoon?? I've been dying for this to come to the U.S. after looking at all the rave reviews and I'm totally disappointed. The brush is just plain jacked, the bottle opening is too wide and allows way too much product on the wand and it's too wet for a volumizing effect. There's no lash spread or good build up with this.....and I have good lashes to begin with! 2 thumbs down on this one; way down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yoyocanary on 6/9/2010 11:04:00 AM more reviews by yoyocanary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is really wet, and I find the brush really awkward to use. Despite being so wet, the mascara clumps really easily with just one coat. It does lengthen my lashes, but it also makes them look clumpy and definitely NOT like false lashes. This is just an OK mascara, if you're desperate for mascara maybe use this, otherwise skip it for The Colossal or Cover Girl Lash Blast Fusion: both are better than this mascara. I will not repurchase.

EDIT: After another attempt at using this mascara, I have to say it is HORRIBLE. It only serves to clump my lashes together, and no amount of combing through them fixes it. It's really unfortunate because I normally like Maybelline mascaras, and this one seemed so promising. I don't understand how so many people like it! I will say, however, that the packaging is adorable. And if you like spidery, clumpy, sticky, spiky lashes, this mascara is perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rach82 on 6/9/2010 10:58:00 AM more reviews by rach82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a huge fan of the original Colossal in the bright yellow tube, but I'm absolutely despising all the variations Maybelline is producing of it- waterproof, Diamonds, and now Falsies- they are AWFUL and nothing like Colossal in my opinion, let alone "upgraded" versions. The design of this mascara is def it's downfall for me- the opening on the tube is much too wide, and doen't scrape off excess when pulling the brush out, could also be a combination of this and the "spoon" brush, don't know. In turn, there is ALOT of product on the brush which equals clumps in one swipe = horrible and almost unfixable uni-lashes because it dries very quickly. I've tried this about 5 times wanting to like it or thinking I was using it wrong, but I just get pissed every time and wonder why I haven't thrown it out yet. Absolute waste of money for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Leal18 on 6/9/2010 8:28:00 AM more reviews by Leal18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

*sigh*...I wanted to love this. It's very wet, did nothing out of the ordinary. I am still searching for something comparable to Maybelline's Lash Stylist. I can't see a single reason why this is called the Falsies. : (

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* illeyad on 6/9/2010 8:03:00 AM more reviews by illeyad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have had this for a week, and a week was long enough to know that this product was non-impressive because the formula became clumpy and made my lashes appear spidery and unattractive.


The brush is curved- it is not dense because it is designed to pick up lashes and make them appear fuller, thicker, and longer. The first few days of use were great, it did a great job fanning out my lashes and making them appear separated, thick, and even. However after three or four days, it became messy, my lashes lacked evenness, instead of having a thicker base with a feathered out tip, the lashes looked like tree branches. Not even a lash comb could revive them.


Overall, I find this disappointing, I find L'Oreal Collagen infused volumizing mascara to be a much better choice because it makes lashes appear soft, thick and full of volume without the clumpy mess.
Happy Shopping

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thatglowingangel on 6/9/2010 1:05:00 AM more reviews by thatglowingangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have stick straight lashes and its really hard for them to hold a curl. When I wear this alone, it undos my curl even though it did lengthen a siginicant amount. BUT, I use Cover girl's lashblast in waterproof than falsies and WOW! it made my lashes look so long like I"m really wearing false eyelashes...AND my curl stayed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rperrin on 6/9/2010 12:55:00 AM more reviews by rperrin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Added this mascara to my kit for some real wow factor after reading about it. I may have been the 1st to buy it from my CVS... Cool bendy brush that's the brush head version of a spoon.

I've only used it in my kit with disposable wands, so I can't rave about the applicator yet, but my client raved about how lush the model's lashes looked on set today. Which means I've achieved success so far!

Will update when I get my own tube. : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mkeddie on 6/8/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by mkeddie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this clumping my eyelashes together. I had to keep running the brush over them to try and separate the clumps. I had bad allergies last night and my eyes were running, I got mascara in my eyes and it reallly burned and was irritating. Never had the problem before. Sometimes it went on better than other times. I will finish it but not rebuy.
edit: I gave it another try. I think the first time I tried it, I must have had a little leftover mascara on. then when I applied this product it gave it a clumpy look. I do like it better now but I still prefer Rimmel Max flash, in a pink tube. It separates each lash better. I do have long eyelashes so it's not like I pile the stuff on. One swipe and I'm good to go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products