Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies

3.4

2274 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, PARAFFIN, POTASSIUM CETYL PHOSPHATE, CERA ALBA / BEESWAX, CERA CARNAUBA / CARNAUBA WAX, ACACIA SENEGAL / ACACIA SENEGAL GUM, GLYCERIN, CETYL ALCOHOL, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE PEG/PPG-17/18 DIMETHICONE, STEARETH-20, PHENOXYETHANOL, HYDROLYZED CORN STARCH, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, SODIUM POLYMETHACRYLATE, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, HYDROGENATED JOJOBA OIL, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, SIMETHICONE, RAYON, DISODIUM EDTA, ARGININE, SERINE, GLUTAMIC ACID, 2-OLEAMIDO-1,3-OCTADECANEDIOL, SILICA,PANTHENOL


on 6/30/2010 10:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like what the Falsies does to my eyelashes. I've never had false lashes so I can't compare, but I love how this mascara fills in the gaps and makes my lashes look full from root to tip. The formula is wet, but dries quickly, so follow the directions on the packaging and don't let it dry before you finish building the coats. It washes away easily with soap and water. I use one coat for light/no-makeup looks and two to three for more dramatic looks. I like the brush, not necessarily because of it's spoon shape but because it. has. bristles! Yes, I believe that the bristles is what makes this formula work so well. This mascara lengthens, thickens, and gives that nice fanned-out look. It does not smudge on me, and clumps are easily brushed out with the bristles on the brush. Basically, this mascara does for me what I hoped Colossal would do, and for that it gets 4 lippies. Not quite HG status because I tried this in a promotion and waterproof wasn't available. I will use this up and try the waterproof next with high expectations!

ETA 12/26/2010: Tried the waterproof Falsies. I got the same effect, but this formula clumps more and it was harder to work with. I'd buy the original formula again, but not the waterproof.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/30/2010 4:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

When I first tried this I really noticed a nice difference. It definitely grabbed my lashes and got just about every single one. It made them longer and possibly added some volume.. I really don't need length but I do need volume. Overall, it's a good mascara but I might try to find one that creates better volume and layer it over this.


on 6/30/2010 12:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was super excited to try Maybelline's The Falsies Volume Express mascara after trying their original Colossal Volume Express. Now, the Colossal Volume Express (yellow tube) it easily the best mascara I've ever tried, as it brought both amazing volume (as it promises in the name) and length. I wasn't as pleased with The Falsies. It has a unique spoon brush, and I must say it gave my eyelashes amazing length. Volume however, there's not much of it. Colossal is still I winner for me, I chose it over The Falsies.


on 6/29/2010 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, great marketing and name. It lured me in... of course I'd like the look of falsies! Unfortunately it didn't live up to the name. It's just another mediocre mascara, if that.
I actually like the consistency of the mascara, and the brush is decent. It feels really nice and smooth when applying it. But... with a name like "The Falsies", I was expecting thickness and length, and I got neither. What I got: darkened lashes that kinda grouped together and looked spiky. I seriously looked like I had fewer lashes. It also didn't hold my curl AT ALL. Boo.

This might look OK if I layer it with a defining/lengthening mascara. Why bother, though? I'm sure I can do better.


on 6/29/2010 10:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Appealed by the name, the FALSIES my eyes stopped there on the packaging...Well I got this mascara, first I thought the wand was broken. Behooved by a broken mascara wand I planned to take it back to the store. However, I was curious to try it out first. I was dreaming of false lashes. :) With this "flexible wand" that it's met to have, I thought I was going to poke my eye out! The mascara didn't behave any differently then the regular volume express mascara. I feel the regular version of this is more pigmented. I tried the blackest black mascara from the falsies and it was more like a grey black instead of a true black. I did not find it curling to my lashes, nor did it build any differently than the regular volume express mascara.

Confused, I took what I thought was my broken mascara back to Ulta for an exchange. Upon browsing, I found that the "flexible wand" was the mascara perk. Meh, I exchanged it for another colossal lash. IMO, it produces a better "falsies look."

I personally found this product annoying. I have never returned a mascara before. Maybelline, I seriously could have poked my eye out!!!!

Ladies, skip this one and try out the colossal lash, or the L'Oreal Extra Volume Collagen mascara instead...that is unless you like quirky wands.


on 6/29/2010 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It really didn't do much for my lashes and my lashes aren't very short!
Also, it does not hold a curl, that is a big deal for me with mascara's.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Definitely not the worst mascara out there (that would be Great Lash, thank you very much), but this doesn't live up to the hype. It's a bit too wet even now that I've had it a few weeks, and while it clumps less than it did the first day, I don't find that it makes my lashes look great, and I don't think it holds a curl well *at all*. In terms of easy to find DS mascara, I think that Voluminous is better and Prestige's My Blackest Lashes, which I *love*, is far better. I would be interested in trying this in waterproof to see if it would hold a curl better, but this is just okay for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2010 6:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been trying tons and tons of mascara's lately, high end, low end and everything in between. I almost passed this up, but considering my addiction to all things m/u related, I had to give it a go. It takes some experimenting, as the reviewer before me pointed out, but once I had it down, it is far and away the best one I've used in several years. I got it in the darkest black and it doesn't seem to have any gray tone, as has been an issue for me with many mascaras. It gives me long, dark almost completely clump free lashes. My bottom lashes get really long with this, if you like that look. I go light with it there myself. This has made me feel like chucking alllll the others I have, as I'm not reaching for them anymore, but dang, I've spent so much on 'em! Anyway, this is my new favorite, work with it and you may like it too:)


on 6/28/2010 4:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have never been a fan of Maybelline mascaras but after reading all of the good reviews about this product when it was released in the UK, I decided to try it. I paid $9.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart, which I consider pretty cheap, taking into consideration the $32.99 I spent at Holts for a YSL brand mascara. This is, for me, a great mascara. The wand takes a little getting used to, but after experimenting with it, I have found a few different ways to use it, depending on what effect I'm going for. If I want dark lashes with separation and some volume, I use the brush, curve side down, starting at the roots of my lashes and go straight to the tips, no back and forth, then apply a second coat. It works really well and I have never had a problem with clumps.

If I want more volume and thickness, I start with the above technique, except with my second coat I turn the wand so the curve is facing my lashes, going back and forth ( gently, to much can cause clumping) and let dry. All day wear with no flaking or smudging, a nice change for me as a lot of mascaras give me raccoon eyes by the end of the day/night.

I find this formula incredibly easy to remove, using my Jane Iredale Magic Mitt with nothing but warm water, it all comes off with little effort and no lashes falling out.

The reason I have given it four lippies is that I don't find it's great for lower lashes, they tend to spike out and look really long. This might be an ideal look for some people, for me personally, I like a little color on my bottom lashes and speration but not a lot of definition.

I would buy again and have recommended The Falsies to a few friends. Make sure you try the wand out a few different ways, it helped me a lot.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This mascara gives me Kim Kardashian lashes.

SOLD.

...oh and there is no catch or any kind or other problems. Price is decent too.




Back to Top