Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2239 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ceemadd on 6/19/2010 6:57:00 PM more reviews by ceemadd

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So glad this product is now available in the US. I was about to pay an outrageous price for it on Ebay, when I saw it advertised in a CVS ad. I have medium length lashes that will not hold a curl no matter what I do to them ! I tightline my upper lashes, apply this mascara and voila..I have long uplifted lashes that do "almost" look like falsies. No smudges, no flaking, and no clumping. I do comb thru them if I get a tiny blob, but then that happens with most mascaras. Love this stuff..will buy again and again !!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thaliaucla on 6/19/2010 6:42:00 PM more reviews by thaliaucla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Amazing stuff!!! Doesn't irritate my eyes... I am so so so sensitive. It *really* does volumize like crazy at least 10x bigger lashes and does *not* clump. It doesn't look overdone but my lashes do look dramatic and long. I adore this stuff and I've only ever been able to use Kiss Me or Rimmel Lycra because both have those protein fibers that are practically like waterproof and I have an oil slick for a face so regular mascara would be gone in a few hours. Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Zelicious on 6/18/2010 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Zelicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

*EDIT*(I deleted my almost my entire original review, this stuff stinks)

I have very long lashes that have very blonde (almost invisible tips). My lashes need volume and something to darken them.

My absolute favorite mascara is maybelline colossal. I don't know why people don't like the packaging of this or colassal. I LOVE THEM. I love purple and bright colors. This makes it so EASY to find in my make up bag/drawer/purse (I keep them all over, mascara is my favorite)!

I thought this was going to be more like colassal but with added length, it's not really. I also thought the brush was going to be very thin, it's not.

The brush is almost exactly like the colassal brush if you cut half of the brissals and bent it. The mascara feels more whipped but it weighs my lashes down.

Pros.
NONE

Cons.
1. The formula weighs down my lashes and reduces curl. I use an eye lash curler and the curl was severely reduced after a few coats. It looks like I didn't even use my curler!
2. Almost no volume.
3. CLUMPY!!!
4. The brush is annoying, it is like a spoon and just throws mascara all over your lashes.

Overall I like colassal MUCH better than this.

.

EDIT/CHANGE
I WOULD NOT BUY AGAIN. I tried the waterproof and the non waterproof. I have to say this is a clumpy mess. It did not look like false lashes. I did not get a lot of volume. My lashes just looked like a clumpy mess. I don't think this is a great mascara. I wouldn't buy for a natural look either because natural lashes don't look this clumpy. Also it was still a very wet formula even in the waterproof. It reduced the curl of my lashes even though it was waterproof. I will stick to Colassal. I don't get the hype, this was sad. My bestfriend hated this too and her lashes are completely different than mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Justicet2009 on 6/17/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by Justicet2009

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fantabulash mascara. First one i own that never ever clumped. Keeps my lashes curly all day, no smudging no flakes. Seperates each lash, each time. Only gripe, does not volumize at all. Like it alot tho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 geekgrl on 6/17/2010 10:50:00 PM more reviews by geekgrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this and hoped the curved brush would help curl my lashes and give me a little volume because it says it fills in the gaps. Which I have. I tried it and it took me 15 mins to keep going over my lashes trying to get the clumps out. It was clumpy and it gave me that spidery lash effect. Too much product is allowed on the brush and the spoon brush is gimicky yet useless as the bristles are almost non existant on it. I hate the ultra wet consistency of the formula as well. It almost reminds me of cheap Wet n Wild mascara I tried recently. This is just a waste of almost 8 bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mschumps on 6/17/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by mschumps

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Asian lash review, or those with short, downward pointing lashes.


I've been looking for a non-waterproof mascara that can hold curl and give some volume, and I was quite happy with this one. It doesn't give the impression of false lashes, but because of the claim that it would give a more dramatic look, I wanted to see if it could at least give me a good curl hold.


I'm happy to say that it kept my eyelashes curled nicely (most non-waterproofs take the curl right out after using the curler). It gives me some volume, but not much length. However, it still doesn't get the length and crazy curl I get with Maybelline's PRO Intense vol + length waterproof (blue and white tube, discontinued, I think), but it's keeps the curl better than the other non-waterproofs I have (Full 'N Soft, Define-A-Lash, PRO Curl).


The brush is bigger than I expected. It's slightly spoon-shaped, and slightly flatter on one end. I actually quite like this design. The brush fibres help to separate and lift my lashes and the formula goes on easily. Some people say it's too wet, but I think it applies smoothly. Just follow the directions (don't let it dry between coats) and it won't clump much at all.


One thing I don't love is the packaging. Like Colossal and the other volume-promising mascaras, the tube is fat - like it wants us to think it can make our lashes big, too. Meh.


Overall, a good mascara if you're looking for more lift. Not so good if you're looking for the true false eye-lash look.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jazzybear89 on 6/16/2010 2:19:00 PM more reviews by Jazzybear89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's ok. It is very wet so I don't like it till it dries out alot. I won't buy it again. I like a more dramatic look. For a very natural look it's good. Too much work to build up to a more dramatic look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MayK45 on 6/16/2010 9:44:00 AM more reviews by MayK45

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this product. I have very long eyelashes and have a lot of trouble finding a mascara that doesn't clump my eyelashes together. This not only lengthens but it also separates my eyelashes nicely. It also washes off so easily in the shower. I don't think I will ever buy another type of mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AdmiralCharlie on 6/15/2010 3:08:00 PM more reviews by AdmiralCharlie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I like this a lot. It's not my favourite, but it is a great glossy black, and gave me substantial length and volume. I like that it's a wet formula, but it's a little too heavy for my taste. While its buildable and handles multiple coats pretty well, any curl I've put in my lashes is straightened out by the weight of the product. Happily, it washes off cleanly without any need for remover! So, all in all, a decent back up for my HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 EightNineTen on 6/15/2010 more reviews by EightNineTen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Whoever said that this worked great on one day but totally sucked on another, was completely right. On a good day, this held my curl decently, gave great length, and didn't clump, flake or smudge. Even when I don't use a lash curler, this gave me really good volume (more volume than Maybelline Colossal). But on a bad day, it clumped and flaked terribly! If you want to layer the mascara, you cannot let the mascara dry in between coats because it will flake and clump like nothing you've seen before. Really wanted to love this, but this mascara is just too inconsistent for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products