Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies

3.4

2300 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, PARAFFIN, POTASSIUM CETYL PHOSPHATE, CERA ALBA / BEESWAX, CERA CARNAUBA / CARNAUBA WAX, ACACIA SENEGAL / ACACIA SENEGAL GUM, GLYCERIN, CETYL ALCOHOL, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE PEG/PPG-17/18 DIMETHICONE, STEARETH-20, PHENOXYETHANOL, HYDROLYZED CORN STARCH, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, SODIUM POLYMETHACRYLATE, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, HYDROGENATED JOJOBA OIL, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, SIMETHICONE, RAYON, DISODIUM EDTA, ARGININE, SERINE, GLUTAMIC ACID, 2-OLEAMIDO-1,3-OCTADECANEDIOL, SILICA,PANTHENOL


on 7/13/2010 10:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So I bought this from hearing all the hype about it on the MU board. I figured, it's a Drugstore mascara, so it won't be very expensive and if I don't like it, I can dispose of it w/o guilt. Upon the first application I wasn't very impressed and tossed it back in my stash. Then I decided to give it a second chance and be a bit more patient in the application. That's when I realized that this is a good quality product. I gently lift my lid and wiggle the brush in and pull out and immediately see results. However, it's with the second coat that you really begin to see results, this lengthens them beautifully and fans out the lash and gives a nice lift to the lashes, also. When removing the product it doesn't ball up of come off in flakes, it just sort of gently disolves. I would probably purchase again, but a better, greater mascara will probably hit stores until then.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/13/2010 9:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just put this product on for the first time today and was surprised at how amazing my lashes looked. It seperated them well and made them look almost perfect :) Love this mascara.


on 7/13/2010 12:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I feared that this would just be a redux of Collosal Volume, but this is different in a good way. This made my lashes look miles long while giving a bit of volume. I wouldn't say they looked like false lashes but it did give a dramatic effect. After 2 coats it did not clump and there was no flaking all day and even through a workout. I really like the brush design and it somehow grabs and lifts each lash. A solid drugstore buy!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2010 7:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is probably the FIRST time that I haven't had a complaint about a mascara. Most of them clump, flake, dry out too quickly, are too expensive, not dark enough, don't add enough volume, don't add enough length... I could go on. But this mascara I love. I searched high and low for this for weeks when it started getting raves on MUA and couldn't find it anywhere. It magically appeared at Target a few weeks ago and apparently everyone knows about it because they always have one or two left on the shelves when I walk by. The thing I love most is that you can build it while wet, which saves me SO much time. I also don't NEED to use a lash comb with this, which is a miracle in itself. The formula is on the wet side, but not so wet that if you blink it gets all over the place. The brush design is fabulous. It somehow gets all my lashes and fans them up and out. It doesn't clump at all. My biggest complaint with mascaras is that most of them end up flaking on me, which I HATE! This one never has. It doesn't smear by the end of the day, even though it's washable and I have oily skin. I honestly have nothing bad to say. I think it's funny people complain about the color of the tube and list that as a negative. Who the hell pulls out mascara in public and does a touch up? It'd be one thing if you paid a fortune for this, as fabulous packaging would be expected. But seriously ladies, I think I paid $6 for this. Let's be realistic here. I'd rather they spend money on the formula than the packaging, and hey, it's easy to find in a makeup bag. I highly recommend this mascara, and I've used them all, from YSL and Dior to Lashblast. I still own my mascara base from Shiseido, which I LOVE, but I don't even need to use it with this (and don't!) LOVE!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I would buy again if they come out with a waterproof version, which I usually tend to like with Maybelline's mascaras. First- there is waaay too much product on the brush! I find it easier to work with if I wipe the wand with a tissue first. Also after awhile when it starts to dry out a bit, I'm sure it will become better.
I do like the brush, it works well to get to the base of your lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2010 1:28:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Don't do it. I know it is tempting - mascara's - good ones are so hard to find. But - the hype is just that! Bought it with a free coupon at CVS and ONE USE was all I needed
to know this mascara was a mess. Slick, messy and horrid I just threw it away. Stay with Lash Blast or Lancome. Dismal the lack of really good mascaras.


on 7/12/2010 12:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Horrid....thin spider eyelashes is what I got. This is the fifth drug store mascara that does not deliver. I have to say you get what you pay for. I will spend the money on Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill..... well worth it. Best mascara yet drug store or high end.


on 7/11/2010 10:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My opinion has changed quite a bit since I first wrote a review on this.
I like this mascara, but it does get clumpy for me now...

It gives me a lot of length and some nice lift. It doesn't give much of any volume. As for the clumpyness, it isn't entirely a spider-lash thing going on, but getting kinda close. I am able to brush it out mostly though.

After experimenting with it, I find that wiping off the brush really helps.
It stops the clumping and gives more volume.

Overall I think it's a pretty decent mascara. Not sure if I'd buy it again though




Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I know that mascara preferences vary from person to person, but when you claim to give a "false eyelash effect" you had better deliver! Okay, for a DS product at around $6, it should at least meet me half-way! It took FOREVER to properly coat my lashes and when I did, my lashes were limp! Very little color and very little glam. I immediately returned this to CVS and the cashier gave me a knowing nod!Okay, I know I'm being dramatic, but I at least I offer drama, unlike the mascara! Okay, I'm over my nonsense. Teehee. All in all, at $6, it's worth a go, if you're curious. **BTW, if you can, purchase ALL of your DS items from CVS, as they have a 30 day, with receipt, "no questions asked" return policy -- SWEET!!!**

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2010 9:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I only just recently heard about this mascara after seeing a YouTube beauty guru review it. After seeing the review, I rushed out to get it, and I'm not disappointed. I love this mascara because it really does make my lashes look long, and like I'm wearing fake lashes. My lashes are normally straight, short, and point downward. I think curling your lashes after putting the mascara on makes a BIG difference. My lashes look like false ones after I put this on if I curl them afterward. This mascara doesn't smudge or flake after wearing it all day, which is hard to find in a mascara. This is the best mascara I have found in a while, and I highly recommend it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

??! ???????????????? ??????? by WeLoveFalsies



Back to Top