Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2233 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Laura22smom on 6/22/2010 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Laura22smom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on a whim because it was on sale, with no expectations at all. I usually use h/e (my hg is EL magnascopic) but I'm always open to trying something new. This BLEW ME AWAY!! I was simply delighted with the result from the very first application. The result was dramatic without clump, without flakes and without difficulties in removal. This may be as good as my all time HG...I will need to give it a bit more time to decide that but for sure this will now hold a permanent (and much more economical) spot in my make-up case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rock_chica81 on 6/22/2010 5:35:00 PM more reviews by rock_chica81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was really hoping this mascara would live up to its name. Unfortunately for me, it didn't. The formula is really wet and the brush is a bit awkward. No biggie. But, I had to really layer this on to get any kind of volume. In doing so, it weighed down my lashes and killed my curl. I didn't get much length either. Towards the end of the day, it began to flake and irritate my eyes. On the plus side, blackest black is truly dark and this mascara didn't give me racoon eyes.But my cons outweigh my pros so I will not be repurchasing. I've read that it works well with a primer underneath but I just don't have time for that extra step.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heyyeyy05 on 6/22/2010 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Heyyeyy05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE this mascara! I have naturally long, thick lashes, and this mascara lengthens them to the point that they are just about touching my eyebrows. I don't notice extensive thickening (not like lashblast), but it really does fan out my lashes creating that false-lash look. My only complaint is that you have to work fast or it will clump, and it does flake, but only after numerous hours. Will definitely repurchase over and over!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SweetTartx3 on 6/22/2010 3:46:00 AM more reviews by SweetTartx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

best drugstore mascara EVEERR!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 statuesque on 6/22/2010 3:34:00 AM more reviews by statuesque

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For a drug store mascara, this mascara owns. I am baffled that I keep seeing comparisons of this to Diorshow, though. Diorshow is utter crap, dry and flakey. This mascara beats Diorshow down when it comes to length, without question. I personally think the bias has to do with designer name loyalty, but that's just my opinion. Bottom line, if I am using a drugstore mascara, it will definitley be The Falsies. This mascara is amazing and comes in right behind my beloved Fiberwig for HG mascara for my friends and I. It should be noted that I am consistently asked if my eyelashes are real because of how long, separated and curled they are. At least once a week I am asked this, definitely a compliment and a testament to my taste in mascara. Wearing The Falsies yesterday I was asked if my lashes were real or false lashes. It was a pleasure to tell the gal to hit up this mascara! Apply it right and with patience and you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupida on 6/21/2010 4:02:00 PM more reviews by makeupida

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I went out to buy the Collosal mascara, but this one was on sale so I decided to try it. I really don't like it, especially as the false-lash-effect goes. I would rather say it gives a natural effect. The Telescopic or Voluminous give much more false-lash effect. It doesn't clump, but it weighs my lashes so they don't look so long (I always use lash curler). I'm not sure, if I'm going to use it up and I'm definitely not repurchasing it. I'm going to buy the Collosal next and I hope it's going to work better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jacqui46 on 6/21/2010 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Jacqui46

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first I wasn't too sure how to use this mascara, but after playing around with it for awhile, I found out how to use it effectively without clumps.

I use a primer! That's the key to this mascara and getting great results. I use a light coat of primer and then when it's time to use the mascara, I take of any excess and use the curve of the brush to apply, then use the sides of the brush to lift and separate...it works like a charm!

My eyelashes do look great. My coworker asked me how do I get my lashes to separate and look so long and I told her what I do. She told me she is very impressed with it being a drug store brand mascara and that she will have to try this.

I will purchase this again...I do like it alot!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcmrdh on 6/21/2010 9:47:00 AM more reviews by mcmrdh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

At first I was a bit sceptical, but this product really works!! I used to purchase high end mascara like lancome, and mac but this one works better for me than both of those. It gives my lashes volume, length and curl and doesn't smudge on my glasses at work.
Definatley my favourite even though the packaging wasn't that great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellina on 6/20/2010 9:21:00 PM more reviews by stellina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not into the whole high-tech mascara trend. In fact, my staple basic mascara is good old Great Lash and I don't care if everyone on MUA hates it... however, I've been keeping a second mascara on hand when I want a more dramatic look. Sadly, my beloved Max Factor has fled these shores so I've been trying a few replacements, but until now none have been quite what I wanted. The Falsies just might be it, though. My primary need is volume since my eyelashes are fairly long already but I do like the boost in length that this gives - it's not overdone or spidery-looking. The brush really isn't that difficult to use: start with the "spoon" side to lay on a coat & then turn it to the sides to comb through - really not complicated. The formula is a wetter one, like Great Lash, and that's an advantage because you have time to apply all the coats you want. The result is a pretty, "fringey" look. I've never worn false eyelashes so I can't compare but I'm quite happy with this mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 YADAYADAYADA on 6/20/2010 8:19:00 PM more reviews by YADAYADAYADA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'll start with the good. I somehow got this product at it's debut at Shoppers Drug Mart for $3.99 even though the sign said $9.99 so I was happy about that. I really like the hot pink tube too. And the formula I have no problem with. What I do have a problem with is the brush. Why, oh why, do I bother trying these new fangled brushes? I tried to use it every which way with no luck and while it didn't exactly make my lashes look crappy, it didn't really do anything majorly fantastic for them either. Just meh. And the awkwardness of the brush led me to toss it after just one week of use. Not worth the aggravation. Update: Forgot to state that it made numerous eyelashes fall out >:(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products