Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2201 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Nightbird1974 on 6/13/2010 8:05:00 AM more reviews by Nightbird1974

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this mascara today. I had a difficult time even finding it, which really aggravated me. Well I finally found it at a CVS store. I was so thrilled. Anyway, I got it home and lined my eyes with the classic eyeliner (Maybelline of course), then put the mascara on. I then curled my lashes. I was impressed with the coverage and the softer formula. The bent wand is good for me since that is what works best with my eyes normally. I normally bend most wands if I can. Overall I love this mascara and would buy it again. I do wish they would come out with a brown or black/brown color. It's only available in black where I got it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missghoulina on 6/13/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by missghoulina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this mascara!!! I bought it on a whim since i usually buy the Collosal which i also love. But this stuff makes my lashes so long and soft!! Will definetly repurchase and i didnt have any problems applying it, i even added a second coat with no issues. Definetly worth a try if you like Maybelline mascaras!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pattonsm on 6/12/2010 6:19:00 PM more reviews by pattonsm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Just bought this product last night. Usually nto a fan of maybelline mascaras because they make my eyes tear up, however, this formula didnt surprisingly. With just two coats of the mascara, i had that falsie baby doll lash effect!!!!! Very impressed since Im usually a MAC zoom lash wearer. Will be heading back to buy in black brown. Currently own blackest black, just fyi.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Theaflower on 6/12/2010 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Theaflower

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really love this mascara! What a surprise to find that it made my lashes soft and pretty and long! Lashes look naturally longer with this and it does not clump. Generally NOT a fan of Maybelline mascaras BUT they got it right with this one. Have already purchased again.

P.S. I purchased the black-brown mascara which I feel looks better on blondes and redheads than black.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blackrosesyellow on 6/12/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by Blackrosesyellow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product the week it came out for only 3.99 so I had nothing to lose. I don't really have high expectations for washable mascaras but since I loved the normal volume express and I am a mascara junkie I tried this. I apply it to my top lashes with the concave side, just brushing through them lightly (I can't "wiggle" with washable mascaras because they get to goopy and heavy) which gives me nice fluttery lashes, but by no means "false-lash effect." The curl is maintained even on my stubborn, downwards pointing asian lashes. This can create high drama lashes if I layer more, but then I have to curl them after as well as it gets too heavy. I really like this, and will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bdawn on 6/12/2010 3:16:00 PM more reviews by bdawn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Meh...this mascara is just okay. Since I got it so cheap, it's kind of hard to complain too much about it. First time I used it I thought it was horrible beyond belief. My lashes were hard, dry and clumpy. Second time I tried it I found that using the correct side of the brush makes a huge difference. The spoon side has to be the side brushing the lashes (makes me wonder what the other side if for?), it needs to be applied quickly and you can't put on a second coat, so you have to make sure your lashes are completely coated on the first go around. Following these rules I find that this mascara adds somewhat decent length and a little volume. Nothing great and I probably won't repurchase.

Update***Okay I had to come back and give this mascara another lippy. It seems that the more I use it the better I get at applying it. It's not a HG mascara but it has become one of my favorites. Now that I have the hang of using it I find it does give my lashes some great length and nice fullness. I still don't love the way my lashes dry hard and the fact that once it's on it can't be touched up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lmf102 on 6/12/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by lmf102

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so when I first got this mascara it was awesome. After the first application I thought I was in love. Long lush lashes....good stuff. Then one day I pulled the wand out and the thing was COATED in gunk. Disappointing. For some reason I am loyal to Maybelline mascara, so I continue to use this. The wand takes a bit of getting used to at first but overall gets the job done. the only annoying thing is having to wipe off all the excess, which in my mind is a huge waste of makeup. Not HG (yet) but I'll buy again, hoping to perfect my technique

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fifimakeup on 6/12/2010 9:11:00 AM more reviews by fifimakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

What false lash effect? Did nothing, a massive disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Monicalapa on 6/11/2010 9:47:00 AM more reviews by Monicalapa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because of all of the rave reviews I saw here and overall I'm pleased with the results. The finish product does add length and volume but I'm not sure why the bristles have to be so large. I end up having wipe in excess mascara from around my eye because of this. Although this doesn't come to close to my former HG (Maybelline Lash Stylist - may you rest in peace in discontinued heaven), it will be ok for now.

I'm not loyal to Falsies and will continue my search but in the meantime, it'll do.

ps - bring back lash stylist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonymousse on 6/10/2010 4:34:00 PM more reviews by anonymousse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

WOW WOW! Ok, at first I thought this was the worst mascara ever. After I curled my lashes, I put this stuff on and the curl was pretty much destroyed and I couldn't see anything on my lashes. But then, I decided to heat my eyelash curler and curl my eyelashes after I applied the mascara while it was still wet. It didn't get clumpy unless I did it when my lashes were dry. And even if it did, I just combed through with a metal lash comb. I was astounded with the finished product. WOAH. My lashes could be seen from so far away. I LOVE LOVE this mascara and am really hoping it will continue to perform as well as it did now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products