Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2260 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 XomakeupjunkyXo on 7/3/2010 12:12:00 AM more reviews by XomakeupjunkyXo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm okay with this mascara, but it isn't amazing. It has nice lengthening properties, but shocking volume just isn't there. This is fabulous if you look for mostly length. I will say the packaging is enticing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* winddancer1323 on 7/2/2010 11:03:00 PM more reviews by winddancer1323

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I must say that after all the hype for this product, I was left extremely disappointed. The formula is very wet, so the curl is immediately taken out of my lashes. It did not add much volume or length. My eyelashes are left looking terrible- they actually look MUCH longer and separated without this product on. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lauradfromnc on 7/2/2010 3:52:00 PM more reviews by lauradfromnc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried it. It's cheap. It definitely is not even in my top 5 for mascaras.
It does not give much improvement over my lashes without mascara.
For reference, I like Diorshow which goes on quite dry, but looks more like real hair on my lashes and doesn't flake.
I also like Lancome Hypnose which goes on sort of wet and makes lashes longer and thicker as well as Maybelline Collossal Volume in the yellow tube which goes on quite sticky but makes enormous lashes on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jqsuared on 7/2/2010 6:45:00 AM more reviews by jqsuared

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm laughing after reading these reviews. "FALSIES"..... It's a name, not a promise. Do I expect my lashes to "blast" if I use Lash Blast? Not really. Did I expect fasle eyelashes when using the Falsies? Naw. But did I get really long lashes that can be compared to false lashes? YES. Did I expect the Falsies to make my lashes look fabulous and near perfect? No, but it did. I love this mascara. I have not one complaint about this mascara. It's amazing, affordable and it really does live up to it's name. Some people didn't seem to like it because they expected way to much. I never have high expectations for make up anymore and this really pulled thru. I will buy the Falsies again. In fact, this will now be my go to mascara. Thanks Maybelline. And a tip for a certain reviewer. If your mascara wand breaks but you still use it, don't blame Maybelline for almost poking your eye out. You DID decide to use it, Maybellien didn't force you.

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 taniamagaly on 7/2/2010 4:33:00 AM more reviews by taniamagaly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the best drugstore mascara I have ever tried!!! I liked the Colossal, but it didn't hold a curl like The Falsies did ;) This is why I liked it so much:
-Holds a curl
-Creates volume
-Creates length
-Doesn't clump
-Separates each lash
-Brush, for some reason I love it! Spoon makes my lashes long; I use the short side bristles for separation and it seems to work perfectly to me this way!
-Color is the blackest!
-Consistency is so light!
-2 coats is really all I need ;)
-The price is ok ;)
-Washes off very easily with soap and water.
-A plus: The cute tube!! ;)

Really, can someone ask for more? Not me! This is all I need ;) Best mascara I have found so far, and I have tried many! I have never bought ANY mascara twice but this one, I'm planning to buy as long as they have it or something better comes up which I doubt ;)! Thanks Maybelline! Never thought I would actually find my absolute best mascara in so many ways!!
-

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adrenirushxaudri on 7/1/2010 1:46:00 AM more reviews by adrenirushxaudri

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is something I received from a lovely MUA'er and I'm so glad that I did. I absolutely love this mascara - for some reason, I knew I would. I love the gentle curve in the brush and the old fashion bristles on the one side are nice. As far as a "false lash effect" I cannot comment on it. I wear glasses so I don't get to enjoy falsies, but this really gives amazing length to each individual lash w/o grouping them together. And I get a rich black coating with this mascara and I love that. This doesn't clump up on me like others that are so rich. The only downfall is that because it's so rich, it needs blotting w/ a tissue before I use it. No big deal. And the price isn't bad, either, or so I've seen. I would definitely purchase this again - it's just an overall good mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missykeyana on 6/30/2010 10:11:00 PM more reviews by missykeyana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like what the Falsies does to my eyelashes. I've never had false lashes so I can't compare, but I love how this mascara fills in the gaps and makes my lashes look full from root to tip. The formula is wet, but dries quickly, so follow the directions on the packaging and don't let it dry before you finish building the coats. It washes away easily with soap and water. I use one coat for light/no-makeup looks and two to three for more dramatic looks. I like the brush, not necessarily because of it's spoon shape but because it. has. bristles! Yes, I believe that the bristles is what makes this formula work so well. This mascara lengthens, thickens, and gives that nice fanned-out look. It does not smudge on me, and clumps are easily brushed out with the bristles on the brush. Basically, this mascara does for me what I hoped Colossal would do, and for that it gets 4 lippies. Not quite HG status because I tried this in a promotion and waterproof wasn't available. I will use this up and try the waterproof next with high expectations!

ETA 12/26/2010: Tried the waterproof Falsies. I got the same effect, but this formula clumps more and it was harder to work with. I'd buy the original formula again, but not the waterproof.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spifftiff88 on 6/30/2010 4:06:00 PM more reviews by spifftiff88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When I first tried this I really noticed a nice difference. It definitely grabbed my lashes and got just about every single one. It made them longer and possibly added some volume.. I really don't need length but I do need volume. Overall, it's a good mascara but I might try to find one that creates better volume and layer it over this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chrissyxoxo on 6/30/2010 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Chrissyxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was super excited to try Maybelline's The Falsies Volume Express mascara after trying their original Colossal Volume Express. Now, the Colossal Volume Express (yellow tube) it easily the best mascara I've ever tried, as it brought both amazing volume (as it promises in the name) and length. I wasn't as pleased with The Falsies. It has a unique spoon brush, and I must say it gave my eyelashes amazing length. Volume however, there's not much of it. Colossal is still I winner for me, I chose it over The Falsies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JuliaDominick on 6/29/2010 11:06:00 PM more reviews by JuliaDominick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, great marketing and name. It lured me in... of course I'd like the look of falsies! Unfortunately it didn't live up to the name. It's just another mediocre mascara, if that.
I actually like the consistency of the mascara, and the brush is decent. It feels really nice and smooth when applying it. But... with a name like "The Falsies", I was expecting thickness and length, and I got neither. What I got: darkened lashes that kinda grouped together and looked spiky. I seriously looked like I had fewer lashes. It also didn't hold my curl AT ALL. Boo.

This might look OK if I layer it with a defining/lengthening mascara. Why bother, though? I'm sure I can do better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products