Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2251 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 JuliaDominick on 6/29/2010 11:06:00 PM more reviews by JuliaDominick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, great marketing and name. It lured me in... of course I'd like the look of falsies! Unfortunately it didn't live up to the name. It's just another mediocre mascara, if that.
I actually like the consistency of the mascara, and the brush is decent. It feels really nice and smooth when applying it. But... with a name like "The Falsies", I was expecting thickness and length, and I got neither. What I got: darkened lashes that kinda grouped together and looked spiky. I seriously looked like I had fewer lashes. It also didn't hold my curl AT ALL. Boo.

This might look OK if I layer it with a defining/lengthening mascara. Why bother, though? I'm sure I can do better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondejunkie on 6/29/2010 10:55:00 PM more reviews by blondejunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Appealed by the name, the FALSIES my eyes stopped there on the packaging...Well I got this mascara, first I thought the wand was broken. Behooved by a broken mascara wand I planned to take it back to the store. However, I was curious to try it out first. I was dreaming of false lashes. :) With this "flexible wand" that it's met to have, I thought I was going to poke my eye out! The mascara didn't behave any differently then the regular volume express mascara. I feel the regular version of this is more pigmented. I tried the blackest black mascara from the falsies and it was more like a grey black instead of a true black. I did not find it curling to my lashes, nor did it build any differently than the regular volume express mascara.

Confused, I took what I thought was my broken mascara back to Ulta for an exchange. Upon browsing, I found that the "flexible wand" was the mascara perk. Meh, I exchanged it for another colossal lash. IMO, it produces a better "falsies look."

I personally found this product annoying. I have never returned a mascara before. Maybelline, I seriously could have poked my eye out!!!!

Ladies, skip this one and try out the colossal lash, or the L'Oreal Extra Volume Collagen mascara instead...that is unless you like quirky wands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pinkys86 on 6/29/2010 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Pinkys86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It really didn't do much for my lashes and my lashes aren't very short!
Also, it does not hold a curl, that is a big deal for me with mascara's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ihavequestions on 6/28/2010 6:56:00 PM more reviews by Ihavequestions

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Definitely not the worst mascara out there (that would be Great Lash, thank you very much), but this doesn't live up to the hype. It's a bit too wet even now that I've had it a few weeks, and while it clumps less than it did the first day, I don't find that it makes my lashes look great, and I don't think it holds a curl well *at all*. In terms of easy to find DS mascara, I think that Voluminous is better and Prestige's My Blackest Lashes, which I *love*, is far better. I would be interested in trying this in waterproof to see if it would hold a curl better, but this is just okay for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kimball on 6/28/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by kimball

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been trying tons and tons of mascara's lately, high end, low end and everything in between. I almost passed this up, but considering my addiction to all things m/u related, I had to give it a go. It takes some experimenting, as the reviewer before me pointed out, but once I had it down, it is far and away the best one I've used in several years. I got it in the darkest black and it doesn't seem to have any gray tone, as has been an issue for me with many mascaras. It gives me long, dark almost completely clump free lashes. My bottom lashes get really long with this, if you like that look. I go light with it there myself. This has made me feel like chucking alllll the others I have, as I'm not reaching for them anymore, but dang, I've spent so much on 'em! Anyway, this is my new favorite, work with it and you may like it too:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* roarwoman on 6/28/2010 4:17:00 PM more reviews by roarwoman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have never been a fan of Maybelline mascaras but after reading all of the good reviews about this product when it was released in the UK, I decided to try it. I paid $9.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart, which I consider pretty cheap, taking into consideration the $32.99 I spent at Holts for a YSL brand mascara. This is, for me, a great mascara. The wand takes a little getting used to, but after experimenting with it, I have found a few different ways to use it, depending on what effect I'm going for. If I want dark lashes with separation and some volume, I use the brush, curve side down, starting at the roots of my lashes and go straight to the tips, no back and forth, then apply a second coat. It works really well and I have never had a problem with clumps.

If I want more volume and thickness, I start with the above technique, except with my second coat I turn the wand so the curve is facing my lashes, going back and forth ( gently, to much can cause clumping) and let dry. All day wear with no flaking or smudging, a nice change for me as a lot of mascaras give me raccoon eyes by the end of the day/night.

I find this formula incredibly easy to remove, using my Jane Iredale Magic Mitt with nothing but warm water, it all comes off with little effort and no lashes falling out.

The reason I have given it four lippies is that I don't find it's great for lower lashes, they tend to spike out and look really long. This might be an ideal look for some people, for me personally, I like a little color on my bottom lashes and speration but not a lot of definition.

I would buy again and have recommended The Falsies to a few friends. Make sure you try the wand out a few different ways, it helped me a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 6/27/2010 7:24:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara gives me Kim Kardashian lashes.

SOLD.

...oh and there is no catch or any kind or other problems. Price is decent too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xpuppyluvr on 6/26/2010 6:17:00 PM more reviews by xpuppyluvr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i loveeedddd this! i just purchased it today and it was close to giving my eyelashes the false eyelash look. i was apprenhensive about it reading all the different reviews, but i really like this mascara.

pros:
it was inexpensive, the shape of the brush gives you many angles to best achieve dramatic lashes, it extends while giving curl and volume, it gives a full look to my eyelashes (i have fairly long eyelashes)

cons:
it's heavy. but thats not a con for me, because i like that heavy feeling on my eyelashes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clairebear12 on 6/26/2010 3:21:00 PM more reviews by clairebear12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara yesterday for $4.99 at Target (I had a dollar off coupon). I actually like it! At first it was a little meh, just okay. I turned the brush over to the curved side and it worked so much better! The formula is pretty gloopy though. I've found that with all the Maybelline mascaras. But for this cheap you can't go wrong with it. I would buy this again.
Edit: I tried this over Lash Blast Fusion like a reviewer reccomended and it worked really well. If you aren't happy with the results from this I would try that and to me it worked a lot better.
Edit 2: I'm knocking this up to five lippies because the more I use it the more I love it!! My lashes look amazing, volumized and huge. I would definetly buy again and I'm going to tell my friends to buy this. This is HG to me, but it still doesn't pass my beloved Lash Blast.
Edit 3: Okay now this mascara is just okay to me. I think my lashes changed because now it's just alright. I'm not that impressed. I have decided not to buy again and I am changing the rating to a 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 booboo88 on 6/26/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by booboo88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!!!!

I saw this at CVS about a week ago and it had a dollar off coupon next to it so I decided to get it. It is probably the best mascara I've ever had no joke. I've never work false lashes so I don't know if it does that but it makes my lashes look better than anything else I can get so much length, and I love the brush. the spoon shape makes it so much easier to get to my bottom lashes and It also helps get a curl since I never use an eyelash curler
(too many eyelashes pulled out and too much eyeliner rubbed off)

I'm thinking about going back and getting like 2 or 3 more of them since I'm terrified they will stop selling it here.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products