Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2239 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 AxSDenied on 6/24/2010 10:40:00 AM more reviews by AxSDenied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't say this actually gives you the "falsies" look. Lash Stylist did that! Bring that back!
Anyways, I found this product to work on 1 eye and not the other because of the way the bristles slant (I'll post a pic)
It was also quite a weighty mascara, you can definitely feel you are wearing it.
I wouldn't buy it again because of the fact it makes one eye look bad and I prefer things to look symmetrical!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 6/23/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been wearing this mascara everyday since I got it. I do have to say that it does not look like I'm wearing falsies one bit! However, it gives my lashes nice length, decent volume, and it holds a curl (probably due to the curved blush). I have it in Blackest Black and it is a great deep black, living up to the shade name. The only slight problem is that it can be kind of difficult to get enough on your brush, especially since you can only use that one curved side to actually apply it. I usually have to dunk in twice to get my lashes coated to my liking. However, since it's so cheap and Maybelline is very often on BOGO, I'm not going to complain too much. Great every day mascara and I will definitely buy again.
UPDATE: Upping my review to 5 stars, as I've played around with this and it's now my HG mascara. I first use the "under" side of the spoon to load product on, then use the brush the normal way to lengthen and curl. The result is whispy, curly lashes! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenSky25 on 6/23/2010 6:11:00 PM more reviews by JenSky25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be 1 of my top 3 mascaras. I've only started using it for about 4 days & I've had compliments every day thus far. A few people really did ask if I was wearing false lashes! Love the product... just wish it came in a waterproof formula. This one tends to flake a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 piscesenchantress on 6/23/2010 11:27:00 AM more reviews by piscesenchantress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara does give GREAT lashes, not clumpy and very full looking. However, the brush is a pain to use and I don't care for it. Otherwise the formula is really good. I will stick with Colassal for everyday, however this would be ok when I was taking my time to get ready for a night out and not worried about easier application in a short time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lavaberry on 6/23/2010 9:45:00 AM more reviews by lavaberry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This product left my lashes feeling extremely stiff, and not any better than any other mascara that I've used. I've never worn false lashes before, but I can't imagine that they look like this. Also, the brush is extremely large, which for me causes extra mascara to get on my eyelids. It also takes a long time to dry, which is somewhat of a pain. I won't finish the tube and will probably throw it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silverlilly on 6/22/2010 11:06:00 PM more reviews by silverlilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is surprisingly good. I'm a Full n Soft girl, but after reading the reviews decided to give this a try. It absolutely does create lush, long, curled lashes much like falsies. But, I have sensitive eyes and for quite a while after I apply it, my eyes burn and sting. It hasn't gotten into my eyes at this point, so it must be the fumes being released as it dries. Too bad, because I really do love the effect...I'll give it a few more chances and update.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laura22smom on 6/22/2010 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Laura22smom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on a whim because it was on sale, with no expectations at all. I usually use h/e (my hg is EL magnascopic) but I'm always open to trying something new. This BLEW ME AWAY!! I was simply delighted with the result from the very first application. The result was dramatic without clump, without flakes and without difficulties in removal. This may be as good as my all time HG...I will need to give it a bit more time to decide that but for sure this will now hold a permanent (and much more economical) spot in my make-up case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rock_chica81 on 6/22/2010 5:35:00 PM more reviews by rock_chica81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was really hoping this mascara would live up to its name. Unfortunately for me, it didn't. The formula is really wet and the brush is a bit awkward. No biggie. But, I had to really layer this on to get any kind of volume. In doing so, it weighed down my lashes and killed my curl. I didn't get much length either. Towards the end of the day, it began to flake and irritate my eyes. On the plus side, blackest black is truly dark and this mascara didn't give me racoon eyes.But my cons outweigh my pros so I will not be repurchasing. I've read that it works well with a primer underneath but I just don't have time for that extra step.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heyyeyy05 on 6/22/2010 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Heyyeyy05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE this mascara! I have naturally long, thick lashes, and this mascara lengthens them to the point that they are just about touching my eyebrows. I don't notice extensive thickening (not like lashblast), but it really does fan out my lashes creating that false-lash look. My only complaint is that you have to work fast or it will clump, and it does flake, but only after numerous hours. Will definitely repurchase over and over!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SweetTartx3 on 6/22/2010 3:46:00 AM more reviews by SweetTartx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

best drugstore mascara EVEERR!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products