Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2170 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 SUGAJAY on 6/8/2010 1:48:00 AM more reviews by SUGAJAY

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been looking for a mascara that wud lengthen as well as give a thick look ever sincei did false lashes about two years ago n was left with literally six lashes on each lid :( sad but true, a lesson well learned lol
Anywho, ive tried a few differnt mascaras n had settled with Stilletto for combing n lengthenin n Cover girl Lash blast to get that thick full look. I hated the two seperatly n was starting to get fed up with cover girl n its rediculously clumpy mascara. I saw this in walmarts flyer n decided to go pick it up. The name n packagin is so cute! I've been using this for about 4 days now. I fell in love with it. It goes on easy, not too thick. It seperates lengthens n thickens slightly. I had to put on 2-3 coats to not have that spider affect that a previous reviewer had mentioned but thats ok cuz i decided that this is goin to be my staple mascara until i come across something better then this
ok so ive been using this for a while now (switching between cover girl lash blast and this) and im starting to like it less and less. When i apply it carefully, it comes out pretty evenly and not too wet. HOWEVER ive noticed it irritates my eyes very easily, comes off a little too easy....the cover girl goes on great but takes forever to come off n i noticed with that i lose a few lashes here and there. I'm defiantely seekin out a new mascara because there has to be something better than this although this one isnt trash....but it is leaning a little more to the trashy then classy side LOL (u get what u pay for right? lol)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mariadyan on 6/8/2010 12:18:00 AM more reviews by mariadyan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this product. In my opinion, it's way better than CG lashblast. This gives my eyelashes great length and volume. I've only used this for 2 days and I still have to see it's full potential and come back if it deserves 5 lippies. Price-wise, its on sale at CAN $3.99 at shoppers drug mart. Too bad though that waterproof wasnt available in my SDM.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Plagueofhamsters on 6/7/2010 11:27:00 PM more reviews by Plagueofhamsters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I hated this. My already long lashes looked like tree branches and it dimished the fullness of my lashes as well. I much prefer L'Oreal's Extra Volume Collagen for a False Lash Effect, or, how about Max Factor's False Lash Effect?(It's my HG for now!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* simera2371 on 6/7/2010 11:20:00 PM more reviews by simera2371

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Ok i had to get this mascara the name is so cute. Plus i am never dissapointed in maybeline mascaras. They do what they claim and i got his on sale at shoppers drug mart for 3.99. Fav right now. definitly repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LorelaiNoah on 6/7/2010 7:36:00 PM more reviews by LorelaiNoah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I'm only giving it 3 lippies...for now. Because I've only had it for one day. I bought it for $5.24 at Walmart (hate walmart... but my roommate dragged me in). The packaging is beautiful & probably my 2nd favorite mascara design...runner up to L'Oreal's collagene mascara. I think this MIGHT be my new HG mascara, seeing as the formula is fabulous! If you hated lash blast...try this stuff. :) I'll edit & update later.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erin09 on 6/7/2010 7:33:00 PM more reviews by erin09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the cheapest mascara I have ever used and the results are amazing. It does thicken and lengthen but with much more emphasis on the length. The BEST thing (next to the $5.48 price tag at walmart) is that it only takes 2 seconds per eye. Combcombcombcomb- perfect length. Combcombcombcomb- perfect length.
TaDa. You're done.

It does NOT apply like any other mascara I have used, and I am thinking that is where at least some of the bad reviews are coming from. The instructions on the back read, "For best results, hold brush with spoon side against lashes and sweep from root to tip. Repeat until desired look is achieved. Do not let dry between coats."

*ahem* Do not let dry between coats. That means do one eye and then the other. Fast fast fast.

Now that I've raved about the product and defended it to boot, it is not perfect. As others have mentioned, the pigmentation leaves a bit to be desired. I have dark brown hair and "very black" matches my natural hair/brow/lash color. If a darker shade came out, I would definitely buy it. Another thing is that you know you are wearing this stuff. You can feel it on your lashes - it's a bit gunky feeling, unlike Lash Blast Length and Fiberwig - 2 mascaras I love because you can forget that you have them on; it feels like you're not wearing anything.

I will update my review once I figure out how long a bottle takes to run out or expire, which ever comes first. My old HG was Imju Fiberwig. $20 a pop, lasted 5 months, and couldn't buy locally. Nearly 5 of these = 1 bottle of Fiberwig. 6 bottles of these = 1 tube of defincils. This stuff is cheap people. I'm giving it a 5 out of 5 because even though it's not *the perfect mascara* its the best one, overall, that I've used. Will be repurchasing.

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chiquilla01 on 6/7/2010 2:26:00 PM more reviews by Chiquilla01

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

not a bad mascara.. i have to give it another week or so, to get used to the wand, but i think i would repurchase.. more of a lengthening mascara for me.. if you have thick lashes, try this.. got it at CVS...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bruno777 on 6/7/2010 10:30:00 AM more reviews by bruno777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara sucks and does not warrant the name "falsies." I have okay lashes so it only worked a tad bit on me. If you have thick and long lashes to begin with, it may work for you. First off, the mascara has this disgusting chemical smell to it. I need three coats for my lashed to volumize and lengthen. The only plus to this mascara is that is was only a little over five bucks. I am sticking to my Mary Kay Ultimate mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mimie on 6/5/2010 10:39:00 AM more reviews by mimie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I hate this mascara.I'm generaly very into maybelline mascaras and i think they are by far the best even comparing to the most expensive ones.But the falsies...nope...
I was more than excited to try it but the result was a nightmare...no volume at all....the only result was clumping n sticking.The result was so ugly that i took off all of my make up.
The brush is huge!i can't work with it.The only way to have some descent lashes is wipe the liquid from the brush, leaving a tiny amount and after it dries i redo it.If i just apply it like any other mascara i wouldn't even dare to look at myself inthe mirror.
The only effect that gives is lenght.Too much lenght, that i don't need cause i allready have long lashes.I wouldn't recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sassyrred on 6/4/2010 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Sassyrred

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

My first day I was not really impressed, states volume but gives more lengthen & some curl. Pigment not particularly dark but ok.

My Second day I used CG lash blast first then Falsies, better but still not loving it.

My Third day I used Lancome Cils booster first then 2 coats, not bad, but still not loving it.

I will not buy again. The pigment isn't quite as dark as I like for blackest black, not thrilled with volume, gives some curl and lengthen but I have noticed it doesn't wear quite as well all day as I would want and hope.

IF you already have fab lashes this mascara may work great for you! If you want more of a natural lash you might like it, but if you are like me and want it all, volume, lengthen, dark pigment and great wear all day, then you can pass on this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products