Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2246 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* roarwoman on 6/28/2010 4:17:00 PM more reviews by roarwoman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have never been a fan of Maybelline mascaras but after reading all of the good reviews about this product when it was released in the UK, I decided to try it. I paid $9.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart, which I consider pretty cheap, taking into consideration the $32.99 I spent at Holts for a YSL brand mascara. This is, for me, a great mascara. The wand takes a little getting used to, but after experimenting with it, I have found a few different ways to use it, depending on what effect I'm going for. If I want dark lashes with separation and some volume, I use the brush, curve side down, starting at the roots of my lashes and go straight to the tips, no back and forth, then apply a second coat. It works really well and I have never had a problem with clumps.

If I want more volume and thickness, I start with the above technique, except with my second coat I turn the wand so the curve is facing my lashes, going back and forth ( gently, to much can cause clumping) and let dry. All day wear with no flaking or smudging, a nice change for me as a lot of mascaras give me raccoon eyes by the end of the day/night.

I find this formula incredibly easy to remove, using my Jane Iredale Magic Mitt with nothing but warm water, it all comes off with little effort and no lashes falling out.

The reason I have given it four lippies is that I don't find it's great for lower lashes, they tend to spike out and look really long. This might be an ideal look for some people, for me personally, I like a little color on my bottom lashes and speration but not a lot of definition.

I would buy again and have recommended The Falsies to a few friends. Make sure you try the wand out a few different ways, it helped me a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 6/27/2010 7:24:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara gives me Kim Kardashian lashes.

SOLD.

...oh and there is no catch or any kind or other problems. Price is decent too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xpuppyluvr on 6/26/2010 6:17:00 PM more reviews by xpuppyluvr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i loveeedddd this! i just purchased it today and it was close to giving my eyelashes the false eyelash look. i was apprenhensive about it reading all the different reviews, but i really like this mascara.

pros:
it was inexpensive, the shape of the brush gives you many angles to best achieve dramatic lashes, it extends while giving curl and volume, it gives a full look to my eyelashes (i have fairly long eyelashes)

cons:
it's heavy. but thats not a con for me, because i like that heavy feeling on my eyelashes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clairebear12 on 6/26/2010 3:21:00 PM more reviews by clairebear12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara yesterday for $4.99 at Target (I had a dollar off coupon). I actually like it! At first it was a little meh, just okay. I turned the brush over to the curved side and it worked so much better! The formula is pretty gloopy though. I've found that with all the Maybelline mascaras. But for this cheap you can't go wrong with it. I would buy this again.
Edit: I tried this over Lash Blast Fusion like a reviewer reccomended and it worked really well. If you aren't happy with the results from this I would try that and to me it worked a lot better.
Edit 2: I'm knocking this up to five lippies because the more I use it the more I love it!! My lashes look amazing, volumized and huge. I would definetly buy again and I'm going to tell my friends to buy this. This is HG to me, but it still doesn't pass my beloved Lash Blast.
Edit 3: Okay now this mascara is just okay to me. I think my lashes changed because now it's just alright. I'm not that impressed. I have decided not to buy again and I am changing the rating to a 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 booboo88 on 6/26/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by booboo88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!!!!

I saw this at CVS about a week ago and it had a dollar off coupon next to it so I decided to get it. It is probably the best mascara I've ever had no joke. I've never work false lashes so I don't know if it does that but it makes my lashes look better than anything else I can get so much length, and I love the brush. the spoon shape makes it so much easier to get to my bottom lashes and It also helps get a curl since I never use an eyelash curler
(too many eyelashes pulled out and too much eyeliner rubbed off)

I'm thinking about going back and getting like 2 or 3 more of them since I'm terrified they will stop selling it here.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DiAni on 6/24/2010 6:21:00 PM more reviews by DiAni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have been looking for a mascara that can replace my HG Max Factor 2000 Calories so when Maybelline released the Falsies, I am pretty excited. It gives decent volume, length and separates my lashes well but in no way provides me the falsies look, nor quiet comparable to the Max Factor one. I use the shorter side to build up volume, then the curvy side to build up length and separates my lashes. God knows how many coats I put on my lashes trying to achieve the 'falsies' look! My lashes in the end feels heavy and crisp. The good thing is that the formula does not clump when you putting on more coats of mascara. The mascara wears well during hot and humid weather, I only have minimal smudging at the corner of my eyes. Great drugstore mascara but not my HG material.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* halfpastsunday on 6/24/2010 2:49:00 PM more reviews by halfpastsunday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was pleased to find that there was a waterproof version of The Falsies, so I immediately went out to purchase it. This mascara in no way gives me fake looking eyelashes (MUFE's Aqua Smoky Lash is the only mascara I have found that does), but this is still a good mascara for the price. The Falsies does an excellent job at lengthening my eyelashes, but could use work with volumizing and holding curl. It's good for throwing it on if you just want to add a little 'oomph' to your lashes. Plus, the purple tube is gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AxSDenied on 6/24/2010 10:40:00 AM more reviews by AxSDenied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't say this actually gives you the "falsies" look. Lash Stylist did that! Bring that back!
Anyways, I found this product to work on 1 eye and not the other because of the way the bristles slant (I'll post a pic)
It was also quite a weighty mascara, you can definitely feel you are wearing it.
I wouldn't buy it again because of the fact it makes one eye look bad and I prefer things to look symmetrical!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 6/23/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been wearing this mascara everyday since I got it. I do have to say that it does not look like I'm wearing falsies one bit! However, it gives my lashes nice length, decent volume, and it holds a curl (probably due to the curved blush). I have it in Blackest Black and it is a great deep black, living up to the shade name. The only slight problem is that it can be kind of difficult to get enough on your brush, especially since you can only use that one curved side to actually apply it. I usually have to dunk in twice to get my lashes coated to my liking. However, since it's so cheap and Maybelline is very often on BOGO, I'm not going to complain too much. Great every day mascara and I will definitely buy again.
UPDATE: Upping my review to 5 stars, as I've played around with this and it's now my HG mascara. I first use the "under" side of the spoon to load product on, then use the brush the normal way to lengthen and curl. The result is whispy, curly lashes! Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenSky25 on 6/23/2010 6:11:00 PM more reviews by JenSky25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has got to be 1 of my top 3 mascaras. I've only started using it for about 4 days & I've had compliments every day thus far. A few people really did ask if I was wearing false lashes! Love the product... just wish it came in a waterproof formula. This one tends to flake a bit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products